DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: translation module, as recited in claims, 1, 3, and 19.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the Specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (see MPEP 2181(I)(A)).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informality: “response data, indicative of the response message” recited in claim 1, ln. 12 and claim 19, ln. 13 should likely read “response data[[,]] indicative of the response message”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in part “A computer-implemented method”. However, it is indefinite as to how the method is implemented by a computer, wherein the method comprises capturing data by an Automated Teller Machine (ATM) and a computing device of a remote bank teller and providing for communicating between the ATM and the computing device, and the Specification does not offer further guidance.
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasoning.
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (TWM640316U) (hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Sodano et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0265222 A1) (hereinafter “Sodano”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a computer-implemented method for enabling a hearing-impaired user to communicate with a bank teller (p. 1, ln. 12-14 & 32-49, method for enabling a customer (hearing-impaired user) to communicate with a bank teller), comprising the steps of:
capturing, by at least one imaging device, a video feed of a hearing-impaired user performing at least one signed expression of a signed language, the at least one signed expression representing a message to a bank teller (p. 1, ln. 41-47; p. 2, ln. 53-55; p. 3, ln. 14-23 & 55-59, where the customer inputs sign language through an input device (i.e., camera));
transmitting video data associated with the video feed to a translation module that is configured to identify the at least one signed expression represented in the video data and, based on the at least one signed expression, generate text and/or audio data for producing text and/or audio corresponding to the message to the bank teller (p. 1, ln. 51-56; p. 3, ln. 1-23; p. 3, ln. 55-p. 4, ln. 10, where a sign language recognition module receives the sign language input and translates the sign language input to produce an output result, which may be a voice message, text message, image message, or a combination thereof); and
responsive to the text and/or audio data being transmitted to a computing device of the bank teller and the bank teller providing a response message, receiving response data, indicative of the response message (p. 2, ln. 31-38; p. 2, ln. 48-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, wherein the disclosed system is used to provide communication between customers and bank staff using multiple communication devices 200, the communication devices including an input device and output device, wherein the customer input device is preferably a camera, tablet, microphone, or combination thereof, and the bank teller input device is preferably a keyboard, microphone, or combination thereof, and wherein responsive to the message received from the customer (output result provided as a voice message, text message, image message, or combination thereof), the bank teller similarly inputs a message (i.e., text or voice) through the input device and transmits it to the customer).
Lee does not disclose wherein the customer (hearing-impaired user) is a user of an Automated Teller Machine (ATM), and wherein the bank teller is thus a remote bank teller. However, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant component of an ATM, wherein sign language can be captured by a camera of the ATM, converted to text, and transmitted to the remote teller assistant). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses receiving the response data as response text data directly from the computing device of the bank teller (p. 2, ln. 31-38; p. 2, ln. 48-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, wherein responsive to the message received from the customer (output result provided as a voice message, text message, image message, or combination thereof), the bank teller similarly inputs a message (i.e., text or voice) through the input device and transmits it to the customer); and displaying, on a display, text based on the response text data (p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln.18-22, wherein the customer output device may be a display, and the displayed output result may be a text message).
Again, while Lee may not disclose the communication method comprising an ATM for receiving data from a remote bank teller and displaying the data, Sodano teaches this limitation ([0021]; [0031-0032], the ATM further comprising a display). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further discloses providing, by the computing device of the bank teller, the response text data responsive to receiving, by the computing device, at least one typed message received via a keyboard and/or touchscreen connected to the computing device (p. 1, ln. 46-47; p. 2, ln. 31-38 & 48-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, the text provided by the input device (i.e., keyboard) of the communication device of the bank teller).
Again, while Lee does not disclose a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 8, Lee further discloses providing, by the computing device of the bank teller, the response text data responsive to receiving, by the computing device, response audio data via a microphone connected to the computing device; and converting, via a speech-to-text module, the response audio data into the response text data (p. 1, ln. 41-49; p. 1, ln. 58-p. 2, ln. 4; p. 2, ln. 48-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, wherein the response message from the bank teller may be a voice message received via microphone of the communication device of the bank teller and which is transmitted to a text and speech recognition module to generate text results/output).
Again, while Lee does not disclose a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses receiving the response data as response audio data directly from the computing device of the bank teller and captured by a microphone of the computing device; and outputting, by at least one speaker, at least one audio signal based on the response audio data (p. 1, ln. 41-49; p. 1, ln. 58-p. 2, ln. 4; p. 2, ln. 48-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, wherein the response message from the bank teller may be a voice message received via microphone of the communication device of the bank teller and which is transmitted to the output device of the customer, wherein the output device may be a speaker).
Again, while Lee may not disclose the communication method comprising an ATM for receiving and displaying the data from a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches this limitation ([0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0031-0032]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 10, Lee further discloses receiving, at the computing device of the bank teller, the text data (p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-23; p. 3, ln. 55-p. 4, ln. 10, where the output to the bank teller may be a text message).
Again, while Lee does not disclose a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 11, Lee further discloses displaying, on a display of the computing device of the bank teller, text produced based on the text data (p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-23; p. 3, ln. 55-p. 4, ln. 10, where the output to the bank teller may be a text message displayed on a display).
Again, while Lee does not disclose a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 12, Lee further discloses converting, via a text-to-speech module, the text data into audio data for producing at least one audio signal representing an audible version of the text data; and outputting, via at least one speaker connected to the computing device of the remote bank teller, the at least one audio signal based on the audio data (p. 1, ln. 32-39 & 49; p. 1, ln. 58-p. 2, ln. 13; p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-31, wherein the output may be a voice message, text message, or combination thereof).
Regarding claim 13, Lee further discloses detecting an input event indicating that the hearing-impaired user wants to communicate with the bank teller (p. 3, ln. 55-59, wherein the customer inputs sign language or a voice message through the input device (i.e., camera or microphone) to begin a communication with the bank teller).
Lee does not disclose wherein the customer (hearing-impaired user) is a user of an ATM, and wherein the bank teller is thus a remote bank teller. However, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0005]; [0009]; [0017]; [0019]; [0021]; [0031-0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant component of an ATM, wherein the hearing-impaired user indicates a desire to communicate with the remote bank teller via user input (e.g., a hand gesture or the insertion of a card & PIN for authenticating the user and initiating an interaction with the ATM). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 14, Lee further discloses establishing a communication link between the communication devices of the customer and bank teller (p.1, ln. 32-39; p. 2, ln. 31-46 & 53-58, communication between customers and bank staff using multiple communication devices). However, Lee does not disclose establishing a communication link between an ATM and computing device of a remote bank teller. Nevertheless, Sodano teaches this limitation (Fig. 1; [0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 13 presented above (see further, Sodano, [0005]; [0017]; [0019], the ATM comprising a keypad for user input).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is a computing system of claim 1 and is thereby rejected for similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is a computer program comprising instructions for executing the method of claim 1, and is thereby rejected for similar reasoning as claim 1.
Claims 2-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Sodano, as applied to claims 1 and 13, and in further view of Simmons (U.S. Pub. 2014/0171036 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lee further discloses receiving the response data as response video data; and displaying the video message comprising at least one signed expression to communicate the response message to the hearing-impaired user via signed language (p. 1, ln. 46-49; p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, where the bank teller input (response message) may be converted and output as sign language).
However, Lee may not further explicitly disclose displaying the response message on a display of an ATM. Nevertheless, Sodano teaches communication between a customer and a bank teller using an ATM comprising a display screen ([0009]; [0019-0021]; [0031-0032]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Moreover, Lee may not further disclose the video message comprising an avatar performing the at least one signed expression to communicate the response message to the hearing-impaired user via signed language. However, Simmons, directed to instantaneous communication between a hearing impaired person and a hearing person ([0007]), teaches this limitation (Fig. 1; [0012]; [0020-0021]; [0038-0042], the hearing person utilizing a first communication device and the hearing impaired person using a second communication device, wherein each device is capable of performing audio and text to sign language translation, wherein the figures/gestures may be displayed via a half body (as shown in Fig. 1), a fully body animated, a virtual person, or signing hands). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the video (sign language) response data to the hearing impaired person using an avatar performing the at least one signed expression in order to accomplish the two-way communication between the hearing person and hearing impaired person (Simmons, [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses transmitting, by the computing device of the bank teller, response text data indicative of the response message to the translation module that is further configured to convert the response text data into the response video data; and receiving the response video data (p. 1, ln. 46-49; p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, where the bank teller input (response message) (i.e., text) may be converted and output as sign language).
Again, while Lee does not disclose wherein the customer (hearing-impaired user) is a user of an ATM, and wherein the bank teller is thus a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user ([0002]; [0005]; [0009]; [0017]; [0019]; [0021]; [0031-0032]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further discloses providing, by the computing device of the bank teller, the response text data responsive to receiving, by the computing device, at least one typed message received via keyboard and/or touchscreen connected to the computing device (p. 1, ln. 46-49; p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, where the bank teller input (response message) (i.e., text) is provided via input device (e.g., keyboard) of the communication device and may be converted and output as sign language).
Again, while Lee does not disclose wherein the customer (hearing-impaired user) is a user of an ATM, and wherein the bank teller is thus a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user ([0002]; [0005]; [0009]; [0017]; [0019]; [0021]; [0031-0032]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses providing, by the computing device of the bank teller, the response text data responsive to receiving, by the computing device, response audio data via a microphone connected to the computing device; and converting, via a speech-to-text module, the response audio data into response text data (p. 1, ln. 46-49; p. 2, ln. 53-58; p. 3, ln. 1-8; p. 4, ln. 12-22, where the bank teller input (response message) (i.e., voice) is provided via input device (e.g., microphone) of the communication device and may be transmitted to a text and speech recognition module to perform text recognition before being converted and output as sign language).
Again, while Lee does not disclose wherein the customer (hearing-impaired user) is a user of an ATM, and wherein the bank teller is thus a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user ([0002]; [0005]; [0009]; [0017]; [0019]; [0021]; [0031-0032]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Regarding claim 18, Lee may not further disclose responsive to said detecting, executing, by the ATM, a terminal application that is configured to communicate with a teller application executing on the computing device of the remote bank teller; responsive to executing the terminal application, sending, by the ATM, a notification to the computing device indicating that the hearing-impaired user wishes to communicate with the remote bank teller; and responsive to receiving the notification, executing, by the computing device, the teller application. However, Simmons teaches where the communication devices of the hearing person and hearing impaired person, which communicate with each other, are configured with a software application for use by each person, and wherein upon detecting an input from a user (e.g., hearing impaired person), the hearing person is notified via execution of the application and display of the message on the screen or monitor of the hearing person’s device ([0007-0009]; [0020-0021]; [0028-0030]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to execute respective applications on communication devices of the users, as taught by Simmons, in the invention of Lee in order to achieve the two-way communication between the users of the devices.
While neither Lee nor Simmons teaches the instantaneous communication session occurring between a user of an ATM and thus a remote bank teller, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a remote bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0009]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant component of an ATM, wherein sign language can be captured by a camera of the ATM and converted to text and transmitted to the remote teller assistant). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the system of Sodano for communication in the invention of Lee in view of Simmons as an alternative communication method/platform to achieve the communication between two users who may be remote from each other (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Sodano, as applied to claim 15, and in further view of Yun (KR2026047435A).
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Sodano may not further teach determining, by the ATM, that the hearing-impaired user wishes to communicate via signed language by detecting a second selection made via the keypad or touchscreen of the ATM by the hearing-impaired user indicating that the hearing-impaired user wishes to communicate using signed language. However, Yun, directed to a kiosk for operation by a hearing-impaired person (p. 2), teaches a kiosk hearing impairment selection unit that determines whether a person standing in front of the kiosk activates sign language or captioning functions (pp. 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the device used by the hearing-impaired user in the invention of Lee in view of Sodano to be configured for selection by the user (e.g., via the keypad) to indicate hearing impairment/desire to use sign language, as taught by Yun, in order to quickly determine a hearing impairment and/or activate appropriate functions.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Sodano, as applied to claim 15, and in further view of Matson et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0215686 A1) (hereinafter “Matson”).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses determining that the hearing-impaired user wishes to communicate via signed language (p. 3, ln. 55-59, wherein the customer inputs sign language or a voice message through the input device (i.e., camera or microphone) to begin a communication with the bank teller).
While Lee does not disclose wherein the customer (hearing-impaired user) is a user of an ATM, Sodano teaches wherein communication between a hearing-impaired user and a bank teller may take place remotely through the use of an ATM operated by the hearing-impaired user (Fig. 1; [0002]; [0005]; [0009]; [0017]; [0019]; [0021]; [0031-0032], where a hearing-impaired user can interact with a remote teller assistant component of an ATM, wherein the hearing-impaired user indicates a desire to communicate with the remote bank teller via user input (e.g., a hand gesture or the insertion of a card & PIN for authenticating the user and initiating an interaction with the ATM). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the sign language translation system disclosed in Lee for remote communication between the customer and bank teller through the use of an ATM, as taught by Sodano, as an alternative communication method/platform (Sodano, [0009]; [0019], wherein ATMs offer a different mode of communication between a customer and bank teller; see further Lee, p. 1, ln. 31-38; p. 4, ln. 24-28, wherein the purpose is to provide communication between customers and bank staff using communication devices).
Lee in view of Sodano may not further teach where the determining, by the ATM, that the hearing-impaired user wishes to communicate via signed language is performed by transmitting card details of a card of the hearing-impaired user inserted into the ATM to a server where at least one preference for the user is stored, the at least one preference comprising data indicating that the user has a hearing impairment, and receiving, at the ATM, preference data for the at least one preference comprising the data indicating that the user has a hearing impairment. However Matson, directed to ATMs ([0001]), teaches these limitations ([0019-0020], where a user inserts a card into the ATM, the card storing data indicating that the user is hearing impaired and which thereby causes the ATM to perform additional functions). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store preference data indicative of a user impairment (e.g., hearing impairment) on the ATM card of the user which is then received by the ATM, as taught by Matson, in the invention of Lee in view of Sodano in order to quickly determine a hearing impairment of the user and/or activate appropriate/accommodating functions.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. U.S. 12,131,586 B2 – This reference teaches sign language translation for hearing-impaired and hearing-capable users.
b. U.S. Pub. 2025/0322768 A1 – This reference is directed to improving service to hearing impaired customers who may be located remotely from a brick-and-mortar organization (e.g., financial center), wherein sign language is converted into text or speech, and text or speech can be converted into sign language and presented using characters/avatars such that real-time communication can be conducted between a customer who is communicating with sign language and an agent who does not know sign language.
c. U.S. Pub. 2024/0233745 A1 – This reference teaches converting sign language to verbal language and vice versa during a real-time communication session between a hearing-impaired user and a hearing- capable user.
d. U.S. Pub. 2023/0343011 A1 – This reference teaches real-time communication between a signing entity and a non-signing entity, wherein sign language is translated to spoken or written language, and vice versa, and wherein an avatar signs the translation of the spoken or written language.
e. U.S. Pub. 2023/0316952 A1 – This reference teaches the use of two computing devices which communicate using sign language and spoken language.
f. TWM665328U – This reference teaches a sign language interaction system for ATM, where an ATM includes a camera to capture a user’s sign language image and to display a sign language response image (e.g., via virtual character).
g. KR20250045748A – This reference is directed to a real-time sign language translation system, wherein a hearing-impaired person’s terminal recognizes speech of a hearing person and converts it to sign language (e.g., output via avatar) and text, and wherein the hearing person’s terminal may convert sign language into text or speech.
h. KR20240019484A – This reference teaches a kiosk configured to convert sign language into a voice, and conversely convert a voice to sign language to facilitate communication between two users.
i. CN112420046B – This reference teaches converting sign language into voice output and voice into sign language.
/ALYSSA N BIANCAMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3715