Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(1)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20200233464 A1).
Re claim 7: Lee discloses an electronic device (display device 1000 in fig 1) comprising:
a plurality of housings (panel support portions 101, 102, 103 in fig 1 and paragraph 64) rotatably connected to each other with a hinge (hinge portions 151, 152 in fig 1 and paragraph 66) interposed therebetween; and
a stopper (second stopper 562 in figs 14-18 and paragraphs 136-138) located in a space provided between the plurality of housings on the hinge based on the electronic device being unfolded (see fig 14).
Re claim 8: Lee discloses the electronic device, wherein the plurality of housings comprise:
a first housing (101);
a second housing (102) disposed on one side of the first housing and rotatably connected (i.e., via hinge portion 151 in fig 1) to the first housing; and
a third housing (103) disposed on one side of the second housing and rotatably connected to (i.e., via hinge portion 152 in fig 1) the second housing;
wherein the hinge comprises: a first hinge (151) provided between the first housing and the second housing and having a first width; and a second hinge (152) provided between the second housing and the third housing and having a second width greater than the first width (see fig 1), the second hinge comprising the stopper (562).
Claim(s) 7, 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 10028395 B2).
Re claim 7: Chen discloses an electronic device (foldable display device 100 in fig 1) comprising:
a plurality of housings (first portion 113, second portion 114 in fig 1) rotatably connected to each other with a hinge (third portion 115 + hinge 117 + hinge 118 in fig 1) interposed therebetween; and
a stopper (supporting element 130 in figs 2-5) located in a space provided between the plurality of housings on the hinge based on the electronic device being unfolded (see fig 3).
Re claim 9: Chen discloses the electronic device, wherein the hinge comprises:
a hinge device comprising a hinge (117, 118 in fig 1) coupled to the plurality of housings (113, 114); and
a hinge housing (115) configured to cover at least a portion of the hinge device and provided with the stopper (130), at least a portion of the hinge housing defining an exterior of the electronic device (see figs 3-4).
Re claim 12: Chen discloses the electronic device, wherein the hinge comprises:
a hinge device including a hinge (117, 118 in fig 1) coupled to the plurality of housings (113, 114); and
a hinge housing (115) configured to cover at least a portion of the hinge device and provided with an opening (accommodating space 116 in figs 2-5), at least a portion of the hinge housing defining an exterior of the electronic device (see figs 4-5), and wherein, based on the plurality of housings rotating, the stopper (130 in figs 3-4) is configured to (i.e., functional language) cooperate with the hinge device to protrude with respect to the opening in the hinge housing (see fig 3).
Re claim 13: Chen discloses the electronic device, wherein the stopper includes a protrusion (protruding portion 134 in fig 3) protruding from the opening (116) in a state in which the electronic device is unfolded (see fig 3), and a support (flexible element 142) connected to the protrusion (i.e., indirectly connected via main body 132 in fig 3) and configured to be (i.e., functional language) in contact with the hinge device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach an electronic device including, along with other limitations, the hinge device comprising a first rotator coupled to one of the plurality of housings and comprising a first rotation part configured to rotate about a first rotation axis; and a second rotator coupled to a remaining one of the plurality of housings and comprising a second rotation part configured to rotate about a second rotation axis, and wherein the stopper is configured such that one surface of the support is in contact with the first rotation part and the second rotation part as set forth in the claim.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841