Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that there is unity of invention because Nagashima (U.S. Patent No. 5094786) allegedly does not teach the entire special technical feature that the claims share. The technical feature in question being the “that the independent claims all include either: (a) "an ultraviolet-visible spectrometer, a near- infrared spectrometer, a Raman spectrometer, a fluorescence spectrometer, a refractometer, or a micro-indentation sensor;" or (b) an exemplary associated function thereof "determining at least one of: potency, water content, impurities, or a presence of polymorphs."” This is not found persuasive because this is not one technical feature that is shared by both independent claims. This is two separate limitations that, while they may or may not be related to each other, are not the same limitation. The special technical feature needs to be the same feature shared by all of the independent claims. In this case these tools do not specifically need to be used to determine one of the listed features, and the listed features do not necessarily need to be determined using these tools that are part of the method of manufacture, these features can be determined using a different tool, there is nothing in the independent claims directly and unambiguously linking these two features together as part of the same technical feature, and therefore unity of invention is not present because Nagashima teaches all of the shared technical features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant did not formally elect an invention, however invention II, consisting of claims 26-28 are labeled as “withdrawn” in the claim set filed with the response to the restriction requirement on 08/10/2026. Therefore, in the interest of compact prosecution, invention I, claims 1-25 and 30-35, will be treated as elected and examined, and claims 26-28 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-13, 29-30, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (U.S. Patent No. 5094786) in view of Lewis (US-20060282223).
Regarding claim 1, Nagashima teaches:
A pharmaceutical apparatus (Col. 1; Fig. 14) comprising:
a tablet press configured to compress a first powdered ingredient and a second powdered ingredient into a multi-layer pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 11, line 59 – Col. 12, line 43; Figs. 17-18, #38, #106, and #108); and
an analytical and quality control table physically separated from the tablet press configured to receive the pharmaceutical tablet from the tablet press (Col. 6, lines 35-45; Figs. 4 and 14, #40 and #50), the analytical and quality control table comprising at least one PAT sensor (Col. 5, lines 30-40, Col 6, lines 35-50; Figs. 4 and 14, #28 and #32); and
wherein the at least one PAT sensor is configured to assist in determining a potency of a first layer with the first powdered ingredient and at least a second layer with the second powdered ingredient of the pharmaceutical tablet (Cols. 5-12).
Nagashima does not explicitly teach:
the PAT sensor comprises at least one of: an ultraviolet-visible spectrometer, a near-infrared spectrometer, a Raman spectrometer, a fluorescence spectrometer, a refractometer, or a micro-indentation sensor; and
the PAT sensor explicitly determining the potency.
However, Lewis, in a similar field of endeavor, a pharmaceutical apparatus for analyzing tablets, teaches:
the PAT sensor comprises at least one of: an ultraviolet-visible spectrometer, a near-infrared spectrometer, a Raman spectrometer, a fluorescence spectrometer, a refractometer, or a micro-indentation sensor ([0045] – [0053]); and
the PAT sensor explicitly determining the potency ([0045] – [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the PAT sensor of Nagashima to incorporate the teachings of Lewis and include a specific type of sensor which explicitly determines the potency. The purpose, as stated by Lewis, being these other techniques would provide the additional potency and purity data necessary to fully characterize the product. The technique may also be used in conjunction with existing chemical imaging systems such as near-infrared, mid-infrared or Raman imaging systems ([0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the analytical and quality control table further comprises an imaging device configured to capture an image of each of the layers of the pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 5, lines 47-48; Figs. 4 and 14, #28, #30, and #40).
Regarding claim 4, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 2, which claim 4 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the imaging device is configured such that the image of the pharmaceutical tablet is able to assist in determining at least one characteristic of each layer of the pharmaceutical tablet, the at least one characteristic selected from: a color, an identifier, defects, or non- uniformity (Cols. 5-12).
Regarding claim 5, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 2, which claim 5 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising a programable controller (Col. 6, lines 41-44; Fig. 3, #54) configured to:
operate the tablet press (Col. 6, lines 41-44; Figs. 2-3, #38, #40, and #54);
operate the analytical and quality control table (Col. 8, lines 19-20);
receive data from the at least one PAT sensor (Col. 6, lines 41-44); receive the image from the imaging device (Col. 5, lines 16-46 and Col. 6, lines 44-45); and
the controller determining at least one of: the potency, water content, impurities, or a presence of polymorphs of the first powdered ingredient and the second powered ingredient from the data collected by the at least one PAT sensor, this limitation is taught from the controller in Nagashima combined with the teaching of the sensors measuring potency from Lewis, which was used to modify Nagashima in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the analytical and quality control table further comprises a labeler configured to mark a pharmaceutical tablet with a tablet identifier (Col. 6, lines 31-35 and Col. 11, lines 62-65).
Regarding claim 7, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 6, which claim 7 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the labeler comprises an inkjet printer configured to print the tablet identifier on an outer surface of the pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 6, lines 31-35 and Col. 8, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 8, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 8 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising: a weighing scale configured to operate with a standard deviation between 0 and 3 (Col. 7, lines 19-23); and
weight information obtained from the scale being used in combination with size data processed by the controller to determine density of each layer of the pharmaceutical tablet, Nagashima teaches determining the weight and size data, therefore the density would be a simple calculation which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (Cols. 5-12).
Regarding claim 9, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 8, which claim 9 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising an imaging device and a labeler (Col. 6, lines 31-35 and Col. 11, lines 62-65).
Regarding claim 12, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 12 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising a discharge chute configured to transfer the pharmaceutical tablet from the tablet press to the analytical and quality control table (Col. 6, lines 7-13; Fig. 2, #38, #42, and #44).
Regarding claim 13, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 13 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the PAT sensor is located downstream of the tablet press and a tablet discharge chute (Figs. 2 and 4, #28, #42 and #44), further comprising a programable controller (Col. 6, lines 41-44; Fig. 3, #54) configured to:
operate the tablet press (Col. 6, lines 41-44; Figs. 2-3, #38, #40, and #54);
operate the analytical and quality control table (Col. 8, lines 19-20); and
receive data from the at least one PAT sensor Col. 6, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 29, Nagashima teaches:
A method of manufacturing a pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 5, lines 15-20; Figs. 1-3), the method comprising:
(a) inserting an amount of a first powdered ingredient into a die of a tablet press (Col. 11, line 60 – Col. 12, line 10; Figs. 17A-C, #104);
(b) inserting an amount of a second powdered ingredient into the die of the tablet press (Col. 11, line 60 – Col. 12, line 10; Figs. 18A-C, #104);
(c) compressing the first powdered ingredient and the second powdered ingredient into the pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 11, line 60 – Col. 12, line 10; Figs. 17A - 18C, #108); and
(d) transferring the pharmaceutical tablet to an analytical and quality control station (Col. 6, lines 35-40; Fig. 4, #40 and #50) which is physically separated from the tablet press (Col. 6, lines 35-40; Figs. 1-5 and 14, #38 and #50).
Nagashima does not teach:
the analytical and quality control station comprises at least one of: an ultraviolet-visible spectrometer sensor, a near-infrared spectrometer sensor, a Raman spectrometer sensor, a fluorescence spectrometer sensor, a refractometer sensor, or a micro-indentation sensor; and
(e) using software, stored in non-transient memory, to automatically determine at least one of: potency, hardness, water content, impurities, or a presence of polymorphs of the pharmaceutical tablet, with the assistance of a signal from the sensor.
However, Lewis, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of analyzing pharmaceutical tablets, teaches:
the analytical and quality control station comprises at least one of: an ultraviolet-visible spectrometer sensor, a near-infrared spectrometer sensor, a Raman spectrometer sensor, a fluorescence spectrometer sensor, a refractometer sensor, or a micro-indentation sensor ([0045] – [0053]); and
(e) using software, stored in non-transient memory, to automatically determine at least one of: potency, hardness, water content, impurities, or a presence of polymorphs of the pharmaceutical tablet, with the assistance of a signal from the sensor, this limitation is taught from the controller in Nagashima (Nagashima; Col. 6, lines 41-44; Fig. 3, #54) combined with the teaching of the sensors measuring potency from Lewis ([0045] – [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the PAT sensor and process of Nagashima to incorporate the teachings of Lewis and include a specific type of sensor to determine potency. The purpose, as stated by Lewis, being these other techniques would provide the additional potency and purity data necessary to fully characterize the product. The technique may also be used in conjunction with existing chemical imaging systems such as near-infrared, mid-infrared or Raman imaging systems ([0052]).
Regarding claim 30, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 29, which claim 30 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the analytical and quality control station further comprises a camera (Col. 5, lines 30-40 and Col. 6, lines 35-40; Figs. 1-5 and 14, #28 and #40) capturing a dimension of each layer of the pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 5, lines 47-58).
Regarding claim 32, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 29, which claim 32 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising determining at least one characteristic of a first layer of the pharmaceutical tablet, the at least one characteristic selected from: a thickness, a color, an identifier, or a non-uniformity, with assistance of an image from the camera (Cols. 5-12).
Regarding claim 33, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 32, which claim 33 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising determining at least one characteristic of a second layer of the pharmaceutical tablet, the at least one characteristic selected from: a thickness, a color, an identifier, or a non-uniformity, with assistance of the image from the camera (Cols. 5-12).
Regarding claim 34, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 32, which claim 34 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising compressing the first powdered ingredient into a first layer of a pharmaceutical tablet before inserting the amount of the second powdered ingredient into the die of the tablet press (Col. 11, line 49 – Col. 12, line 43; Figs. 17A – 18C, #38, #106, and #108).
Claims 3, 10-11, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (U.S. Patent No. 5094786) in view of Lewis (US-20060282223), as applied to claims 2, 1, and 29, respectively, and further in view of Hahn (US-20110311623).
Regarding claim 3, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 2, which claim 3 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the imaging device assisting in determining the hardness. However, Hahn, in a similar field of endeavor, a pharmaceutical apparatus, teaches:
wherein the imaging device is configured such that the image of the pharmaceutical tablet is able to assist in determining hardness of each of the layers of the pharmaceutical tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imaging device of Nagashima in view of Lewis to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and have it explicitly assist in determining the hardness. The purpose, as stated by Hahn, being the hardness of the buffer, the shield, and the particles of the active substance including the coating layer that were used in the Examples were measured by using a physical property analyzer ([0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 10 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the first powdered ingredient comprises an active pharmaceutical ingredient (Col. 5, lines 16-20) and a programmable controller coupled to the PAT sensor (Col. 6, lines 41-44; Fig. 3, #54).
Nagashima in view of Lewis does not explicitly teach:
the programmable controller coupled to the PAT sensor automatically determines hardness of the tablet.
However, Hahn, in a similar field of endeavor, a pharmaceutical apparatus, teaches:
the programmable controller coupled to the PAT sensor, see the rejection above, automatically determines hardness of the tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the PAT sensor of Nagashima in view of Lewis to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and have it explicitly determine the hardness with the controller. The purpose, as stated by Hahn, being the hardness of the buffer, the shield, and the particles of the active substance including the coating layer that were used in the Examples were measured by using a physical property analyzer ([0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 11 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the first powdered ingredient comprises an inactive ingredient (Col. 5, lines 16-20), and a programmable controller coupled to the PAT sensor (Col. 6, lines 41-44; Fig. 3, #54).
Nagashima in view of Lewis does not explicitly teach:
the programmable controller coupled to the PAT sensor automatically determines hardness of the tablet.
However, Hahn, in a similar field of endeavor, a pharmaceutical apparatus, teaches:
the programmable controller coupled to the PAT sensor, see the rejection above, automatically determines hardness of the tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the PAT sensor of Nagashima in view of Lewis to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and have it explicitly determine the hardness with the controller. The purpose, as stated by Hahn, being the hardness of the buffer, the shield, and the particles of the active substance including the coating layer that were used in the Examples were measured by using a physical property analyzer ([0060]).
Regarding claim 31, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 29, which claim 31 depends on, but does not explicitly teach determining the hardness with assistance from the camera. However, Hahn, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of manufacturing a pharmaceutical tablet, teaches:
wherein the method further comprises determining a hardness of the pharmaceutical tablet, wherein an image from a camera assists in determining the hardness of the pharmaceutical tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Nagashima in view of Lewis to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and determine the hardness using assistance from the camera. The purpose, as stated by Hahn, being the hardness of the buffer, the shield, and the particles of the active substance including the coating layer that were used in the Examples were measured by using a physical property analyzer ([0060]).
Claims 14-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (U.S. Patent No. 5094786) in view of Hahn (US-20110311623).
Regarding claim 14, Nagashima teaches:
A pharmaceutical apparatus (Col. 1; Fig. 14) comprising:
a tablet press (Col. 8, lines 56-58; Fig. 14, #38), including a die (Col. 8, lines 56-58; Fig. 14, #104) and a punch (Col. 8, lines 56-58; Fig. 14, #108);
a first dosing unit configured to insert a first powdered ingredient into the die of the tablet press (Col. 11, line 60 – Col. 12, line 10; Figs. 17A-C);
a second dosing unit configured to insert a second powdered ingredient into the die of the tablet press (Col. 11, line 60 – Col. 12, line 10; Figs. 1BA-C); and
an analytical and quality control table (Col. 6, lines 36-36; Figs. 1-5, #40) including a transfer mechanism (Col. 6, lines 36-36; Figs. 1-5, #50) and a sensor (Col. 5, lines 15-46, Col. 6, lines 36-51; Figs. 1-5, #28 and #32);
wherein the punch of the tablet press is configured to compress at least one powdered ingredient in the die into at least a first layer of a pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 11, line 60 – Col. 12, line 10; Figs. 17A – 18C),
wherein the transfer mechanism is configured to transfer the pharmaceutical tablet to a position accessible by the sensor (Col. 6, lines 36-46; Figs. 1-5, #50);
wherein when the analytical and quality control table includes the sensor (Col. 5, lines 30-40, Col 6, lines 35-50; Figs. 4 and 14, #28 and #32).
Nagashima does not explicitly teach:
the sensor is configured to assist in determining at least one of: hardness, water content, impurities, or a presence of polymorphs of the pharmaceutical tablet.
However, Hahn, in a similar field of endeavor, a pharmaceutical apparatus, teaches:
the sensor is configured to assist in determining at least one of: hardness, water content, impurities, or a presence of polymorphs of the pharmaceutical tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor of Nagashima to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and use it to determine the hardness. The purpose, as stated by Hahn, being the hardness of the buffer, the shield, and the particles of the active substance including the coating layer that were used in the Examples were measured by using a physical property analyzer ([0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 15 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the analytical and quality control table further comprises a labeler configured to mark a pharmaceutical tablet with a tablet identifier (Col. 6, lines 31-35, Col. 11, lines 62-65).
Regarding claim 16, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 15, which claim 16 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the labeler comprises an inkjet printer configured to print the tablet identifier on an outer surface of the pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 6, lines 31-35, Col. 8, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 17, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 17 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the first powdered ingredient comprises an active pharmaceutical ingredient (Col. 5, lines 16-20).
Hahn further teaches:
the sensor automatically tests the hardness of the tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
Regarding claim 18, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 18 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the first powdered ingredient comprises an inactive ingredient (Col. 5, lines 16-20).
Hahn further teaches:
the sensor automatically tests the hardness of the tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
Regarding claim 19, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 19 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the tablet press further comprises a discharge chute configured to transfer the pharmaceutical tablet from the tablet press to the analytical and quality control table (Col. 6, lines 7-13; Fig. 2, #38, #42, and #44).
Regarding claim 20, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 20 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising a camera capturing an image of each of the layers of the pharmaceutical tablet (Col. 8, lines 36-39; Fig. 2, #32).
Hahn further teaches:
the camera assisting in determining the hardness of the pharmaceutical tablet ([0060] – [0063]).
Regarding claim 21, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 21 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising a camera capturing an image of each of the layers of the pharmaceutical tablet to assist in determining at least one characteristic of each layer of the pharmaceutical tablet, the at least one characteristic selected from: thickness, color, identifier, or non-uniformity (Col. 5-12).
Regarding claim 23, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 23 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
wherein the analytical and quality control table further comprises a weighing scale configured to operate with a standard deviation between 0 and 3 (Col. 7, lines 19-23); and
weight information obtained from the scale being used in combination with size data processed by a programmable controller to determine density of each layer of the pharmaceutical tablet, Nagashima teaches determining the weight and size data, therefore the density would be a simple calculation which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (Cols. 5-12).
Regarding claim 24, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 24 depends on. Nagashima further teaches:
further comprising a tablet printer (Col. 6, lines 31-35 and Col. 8, lines 48-50).
Claims 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (U.S. Patent No. 5094786) in view of Hahn (US-20110311623), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Lewis (US-20060282223).
Regarding claim 22, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 22 depends on, but does not explicitly teach using a specific type of sensor. However, Lewis, in a similar field of endeavor, a pharmaceutical apparatus for analyzing tablets, teaches:
wherein: the sensor comprises at least one of: an ultraviolet-visible spectrometer, a near- infrared spectrometer, a Raman spectrometer, a fluorescence spectrometer, a refractometer, or a micro-indentation sensor ([0045] – [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor of Nagashima in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Lewis and have it be a specific type of sensor. The purpose, as stated by Lewis, being these other techniques would provide the additional potency and purity data necessary to fully characterize the product. The technique may also be used in conjunction with existing chemical imaging systems such as near-infrared, mid-infrared or Raman imaging systems ([0052]).
Regarding claim 25, Nagashima in view of Hahn teaches the limitations of claim 14, which claim 25 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the PAT sensor explicitly determining the potency. However, Lewis, in a similar field of endeavor, a pharmaceutical apparatus for analyzing tablets, teaches:
the PAT sensor explicitly determining the potency ([0045] – [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the PAT sensor of Nagashima in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Lewis and have it explicitly determine the potency. The purpose, as stated by Lewis, being these other techniques would provide the additional potency and purity data necessary to fully characterize the product. The technique may also be used in conjunction with existing chemical imaging systems such as near-infrared, mid-infrared or Raman imaging systems ([0052]).
Claims 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (U.S. Patent No. 5094786) in view of Lewis (US-20060282223), as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Clark-Joseph (US-20190072492).
Regarding claim 35, Nagashima in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 29, which claim 35 depends on, but does not explicitly teach determining at least one of the water content, the impurities, or the presence of the polymorphs of the first and second ingredients. However, Clark-Joseph, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for analyzing pharmaceutical tablets, teaches:
further comprising determining at least one of the water content, the impurities, or the presence of the polymorphs of any of the first powdered ingredient or the second powdered ingredient as the first powdered ingredient flows into the first dosing unit or as the second powdered ingredient flows into the second dosing unit by the at least one sensor which includes a pre-pressing PAT sensor ([0042] – [0043], [0058] - [0060], and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Nagashima in view of Lewis to incorporate the teachings of Clark-Joseph and determine the impurities of the first and second ingredients. The purpose, as stated by Clark-Joseph, being the methods, devices, and systems described herein are capable of distinguishing between an API and one or more impurities contained in the sample ([0054]), and the method may determine characteristics of a second ingredient in the sample substantially simultaneously with the ingredient ([0084]).
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748