DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the end-of-stroke system is coupled to the needle and is arranged at an axial distance, namely measured along the longitudinal axis, other than zero from the gasket to be farther from the injection nozzle with respect to the gasket; and wherein the end-of-stroke system in each position does not interrupt the feeding channel and thus does not prevent the gaseous fuel from flowing along the feeding channel towards the injection nozzle passing alongside the end-of-stroke system as recited in lines 26-35 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “according to one of claim 1” should read --according to claim 1.-- Same objection applies to claims 9 and 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "which is arranged at the injection valve to obtain the valve seat" in line 20. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "…is arranged at an axial distance, namely measured along the longitudinal axis, other than zero from the gasket to be farther from the injection nozzle with respect to the gasket" in lines 27-30. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect. Especially it is unclear what is the meaning of “other than zero from the gasket?”
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the stroke of the needle" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “bulb-like shape” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “bulb-like shape” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Modern LED bulb comes with various shape and geometry, the exact size, shape or geometry to meet the claim limitation is not known. Clarification is respectfully requested.
The term “adjacent” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “adjacent” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The closeness to meet the claim limitation is not known. Clarification is respectfully requested.
The above are just examples of inconsistencies and problematic issues noted by the Examiner. Applicant is advised to carefully review and amend the application to correct other deficiencies. For the purpose of examination, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohlhafer (DE102014224340).
With respect to claim 1, Ohlhafer discloses a fuel injector (Fig. 1-4) for a gaseous fuel and comprising: an injection nozzle (1); a support body (7) with a tubular shape, which has a longitudinal axis (X) and is provided therein with a feeding channel (11) ending in the injection nozzle; an injection valve (2 and 6) configured to adjust the gaseous fuel flow through the injection nozzle and provided with a movable shutter (10 or bottom disk end of 2) arranged outside the support body and with a valve seat (22); an actuator ([0020]), configured to move the shutter between a closed position of the injection valve (Fig. 1, 3), in which the shutter is pressed against the valve seat, and an open position of the injection valve (Fig. 2, 4), in which the shutter is separate from the valve seat to create a passage opening (3) through which the gaseous fuel flows; a needle (2) which supports the shutter; an elastomeric material gasket (6), which is arranged at the injection valve to obtain the valve seat and comes into contact with the shutter in the closed position of the injection valve; and an end-of-stroke system (4/3, [0027]), which determines (controls or limits) the closed position and is separate from and independent of the gasket; wherein the end-of-stroke system is coupled to the needle and is arranged at an axial distance, namely measured along the longitudinal axis, other than zero from the gasket to be farther from the injection nozzle with respect to the gasket; and wherein the end-of-stroke system in each position does not interrupt the feeding channel and thus does not prevent the gaseous fuel from flowing along the feeding channel towards the injection nozzle passing alongside the end-of-stroke system.
With respect to claim 2, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 1, wherein the end-of-stroke system is calibrated (designed) so that, in the closed position, the shutter is in contact with the gasket and elastically compresses the gasket (Fig. 1, 3).
With respect to claim 3, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 1, wherein the end-of-stroke system is configured to (capable of) stop a movement of the shutter regardless of the contact of the shutter against the gasket which defines the valve seat.
With respect to claim 4, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 1, wherein the end-of-stroke system comprises a first abutment member (at 21) integral with the needle, and a second abutment member (lower end of 7), which is integral with the support body, faces the first abutment member and comes into contact with the first abutment member to stop the movement of the needle (Fig. 1, 3).
With respect to claim 5, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 4, wherein the two members of the end-of-stroke system are arranged inside the feeding channel and occupy only partially the feeding channel so that in each position the fuel is free to flow along the feeding channel towards the injection nozzle passing alongside the end- of-stroke system (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 9, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 1, wherein the shutter is arranged on the outside of the support body and, in order to shift from the closed position to the open position of the injection valve, it moves towards the outside of the support body in a same direction of movement as a fuel feeding direction (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 10, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 1, wherein the end-of-stroke system is not adjacent to the gasket (relative to the gap between bottom of 7 and 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlhafer in view of Shi (GB2613396).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 1, except for wherein: the actuator comprises a closing spring configured to push the shutter towards the closed position; and the end-of-stroke system is configured to stop the stroke of the needle pushed by the closing spring (Claim 6), and wherein the stroke of the needle, which moves due to the thrust exerted by the closing spring, does not stop because of the contact between the shutter and the gasket, but it stops because of the contact occurring in the end-of-stroke system (Claim 7).
However, Shi teaches a fuel injector (Figs. 1-11) comprising an actuator (26) comprises a closing spring (50) configured to push the shutter (42 of 40) towards the closed position; and the end-of-stroke system (44) is configured to (capable of) stop the stroke of the needle (24) pushed by the closing spring (Claim 6), and wherein the stroke of the needle, which moves due to the thrust exerted by the closing spring, does not stop because of the contact between the shutter and the gasket (seat 34), but it stops because of the contact occurring in the end-of-stroke system (Claim 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a closing spring, as taught by Shi, to Ohlhafer’s actuator, in order to constantly close the passage (page 9, third paragraph and Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 8, Ohlhafer discloses the fuel injector according to claim 1, wherein the shutter has a (flat) bulb-like shape and comprises: an initial (upper) portion which is coupled to the valve seat and has, along the longitudinal axis, a progressively increasing outer diameter; an intermediate (middle) portion having, along the longitudinal axis, a constant outer diameter; and an end (lower) portion,
Ohlhafer fails to disclose the end portion, which is closer to the injection nozzle and has, along the longitudinal axis, a progressively decreasing outer diameter.
However, Shi teaches a fuel injector (Figs. 1-11) comprising a shutter (40) has a bulb-like shape (Fig. 3) and comprises: an initial (upper) portion which is coupled to the valve seat and has, along the longitudinal axis, a progressively increasing outer diameter; an intermediate (middle) portion having, along the longitudinal axis, a constant outer diameter; and an end (lower) portion, which is closer to the injection nozzle and has, along the longitudinal axis, a progressively decreasing outer diameter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a bulb-like shape shutter, as taught by Shi, to Ohlhafer’s shutter, in order to provide a specific passage to the spraying fuel (page 12 and Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a fuel injector: Neitz, Yanagihara, Rynhart, Potz, Fuseya, Beck, Coldren, Kappel, Tian, Fochtman, Stier, Borissov and Wing.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 9, 2026