DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “blocking member” in claims 1-7 and 9-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCulloch (9354010) in view of Mayhak (4970819).
In reference to claim 1, McCulloch discloses a firearm lower (figures 1 and 2A, frame 14) to which other components are mounted (e.g. a slide 28, a barrel 16, etc.), comprising:
a trigger as claimed (figures 1 and 2A: trigger 24, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage includes a non-exposed portion that is not visible in the drawings, said non-exposed portion extending from the exposed portion of the trigger 24 that is visible, wherein said non-exposed portion is located inside the frame 14 to interact with other components of the firing mechanism in the same manner as trigger 334 of figure 3, and the exposed portion is inside the trigger guard and surrounded thereby, in a manner identical to Applicant’s; column 6, lines 16-19: discloses that the firearm 300 of figure 3 and the firearm 10 of figures 1 and 2 can include much of the same componentry, e.g., firearm 300 can include the system 12, which is disclosed as including lock system 200; figures 1-3: firearm 300 clearly has a pivoting trigger 334 with exposed and non-exposed portions analogous to those of trigger 24; figures 1 and 2A: a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage that trigger 24 can be a pivoting trigger, in the same manner as trigger 334; column 2, lines 52-60: discloses that the invention is applicable to many types of firearm, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage that some of these of types of firearms are known to include pivoting triggers);
a blocking member that is in an operable relationship with the actuator, disposed adjacent to the trigger guard of the firearm lower, and cooperatively arranged in relation to the trigger to extend, in response to the actuator, to retain the trigger in the first position by extending or rotating in front of a rear surface of the trigger and by way of connection to the trigger, disable the trigger from firing the firearm (figure 2A: blocking member 204+206, trigger guard 26);
wherein the aperture is positioned on a trigger guard surface configured to be adjacent, i.e., close to, a barrel mounted to the firearm lower (column 6, lines 16-19: discloses that the firearm 300 of figure 3 and the firearm 10 of figures 1 and 2 can be similar and include much of the same componentry, e.g., firearm 300 can include the system 12, which is disclosed as including lock system 200; thus, looking at figures 1-3, it is clear that the aperture in the trigger guard 26, through which the blocking member 204+206 extends, is configured to be close to the breech end of the barrel);
an electromechanical actuator configured to actuate the blocking member (figure 2A: element 202; column 4, lines 58-63);
Thus, McCulloch discloses the claimed invention, except for a trigger member, as claimed, wherein the blocking member interacts with a blocking side of the trigger member to selectively disable the trigger. McCulloch shows trigger (24) in both figures 1 and 2A. In figure 1, it appears that trigger (24) has a member integrally protruding from the rear side, i.e., right-hand side (see black/dark structure on the rear side of trigger 24), but said member is unlabeled and not described in the spec. However, in figure 2A, which is a more schematic drawing, this integrally protruding member is not shown at all. This raises a question as to how the trigger can be formed, e.g., the trigger features or geometries that can be used in carrying out the invention (e.g., trigger bow geometry, width, protruding features, etc.).
Mayhak teaches it is known to provide a trigger with an integrally protruding trigger member, protruding from a rear surface of the trigger, such that the trigger member interacts with a blocking member of a firearm for selective disablement of the trigger, in order to provide a defined, positively engaging, and dedicated member for interaction with the blocking member, so as to ensure reliable function no matter the geometry of the trigger bow (figure 1: trigger 14, trigger member 19, blocking member 18). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the trigger of Mayhak with an integrally protruding trigger member, protruding from a rear surface of the trigger, such that the trigger member interacts with the blocking member to disable the trigger, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a defined, positively engaging, and dedicated member for interaction with the blocking member, so as to ensure reliable function no matter the geometry of the trigger bow.
In reference to claim 2, McCulloch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, including a power source configured to power the actuator (McCullouch: column 4, lines 58-63: a solenoid requires a power source to operate; column 6, lines 16-19, discloses that the firearm 300 of FIG. 3 and the firearm 10 of FIGS. 1 and 2 can include much of the same componentry, e.g., firearm 300 can include the system 12, which is disclosed as including lock system 200; firearm 300 includes a battery 314 that is internal to the firearm; thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage that the solenoid of firearm 10 or 300 can be powered by a battery internal to the frame 14).
In reference to claim 3, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, including an electronic trigger lock housing integrally formed with the frame (firearm lower), as claimed (McCullouch: figure 2A: frame 14 has a housing formed therein, wherein the housing includes the space that houses elements 202 and 204; element 202 is an electromechanical actuator, which is illustrated as housed in a portion of frame 14; the housing formed in the frame 14 is the space in the frame designed to house components including a power source and circuitry; column 4, lines 58-63: a solenoid requires a power source to operate; column 6, lines 16-19, discloses that the firearm 300 of FIG. 3 and the firearm 10 of FIGS. 1 and 2 can include much of the same componentry, e.g., firearm 300 can include the system 12, which is disclosed as including lock system 200; firearm 300 includes a battery 314 that is internal to the firearm; thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage that the solenoid of firearm 10 or 300 can be powered by a battery internal to the frame 14).
In reference to claim 5, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 2 (McCullouch: see figure 2A, and column 4, lines 43-61).
In reference to claim 6, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (the trigger is a pivoting trigger, and, thus, the blocking member block rotation of the trigger to disable the trigger).
In reference to claim 7, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (McCullouch: figures 1 and 2A, if the firearm is aimed upwardly, then the back of the trigger pivots downwardly).
In reference to claim 8, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1.
In reference to claim 9, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, including electronic circuitry comprising a wireless receiver configured to receive remote signals and control the actuator (McCullouch: column 4, lines 21-42 and 58-63).
In reference to claim 10, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (Mayhak teaches the trigger member being formed with the trigger as a single piece).
In reference to claim 11, McCulloch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention (McCulloch: column 4, lines 21-42).
In reference 12, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1.
In reference 13, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claims 1 and 10.
In reference to claim 14, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claims 1 and 2.
In reference to claim 15, McCullouch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claims 1-3.
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCulloch in view of Mayhak and further in view of Byer et al. (2007/0115955).
McCulloch in view of Mayhak makes obvious the claimed invention, except for wherein the power source is a rechargeable battery and wherein the firearm frame further comprises contacts disposed on an outer surface of the frame, each contact being electrically connected to a terminal of the battery and the contacts being configured to receive power from an external battery charger to charge the battery. However, Byer teaches that it is known to form a power source for a firearm as a rechargeable battery housed in a frame of the firearm, wherein the frame further comprises contacts disposed on an outer surface thereof, each contact being electrically connected to a terminal of the battery and the contacts being configured to receive power from an external battery charger to charge the battery, in order to provide charging without battery removable (paragraph 23 and figure 2, battery 8 and charging contacts 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the power source of McCulloch as a rechargeable battery housed in the firearm frame, wherein the frame further comprises contacts disposed on an outer surface thereof, each contact being electrically connected to a terminal of the battery and the contacts being configured to receive power from an external battery charger to charge the battery, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide charging without battery removal (quick and easy charging).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12152847. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recite each and every limitation of the application claims. The difference being that the patent claims are more specific than the application claims, and, thus, “anticipate” the invention of the application claims. Thus, the application claims are patentably indistinct from the patent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached Notice of References Cited.
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641