Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis et al. (U.S. 2024/0170903A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lewis et al. disclose a quick release housing system (fig. 3) comprising:
an electric module (106,110, fig. 3); and
a housing (102, 118, and computer system connected thereto) receiving the electric module (106, 110) in a latched state (figs. 1E, 1F, 1G) and configured to move to an unlatched state (fig. 1J) to release the electric module for removal (figs. 1K and 3),
wherein the electric module (106, 110) includes a plural number of catches (111),
wherein the housing (102, 118) includes a number of latch arms (116) that engage the plural number of catches (111) in the latched state (figs. 1E, 1F, 1G),
wherein the housing (102, 118) includes at least one actuator (506, para 0082) moveable (“upward force 126”, fig. 1J) to simultaneously disengage the number of latch arms (116) from the plural number of catches (111) in the unlatched state (as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Lewis et al. disclose wherein the at least one actuator (506, para 0082) comprises two actuators (506, see fig. 3), one at each end of the electric module (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Lewis et al. disclose wherein the electric module (106,110, fig. 3) has a stop (114, 114a, fig. 1D) and the housing (102, 118) has a receiver (114B, fig. 1D) for receiving the stop to limit movement of the electric module into the housing (see fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 7, Lewis et al. disclose wherein each of the number of latch arms (116) has a free end and another end (end connected to 102) connected to the at least one actuator (when 116 is connected to 111, the system is mechanically connected).
Regarding claim 11, Lewis et al. disclose a quick release housing system (fig. 3) comprising:
an electric module (106, 110, fig. 3) having a first end and a second end disposed opposite the first end (as shown in fig. 3);
a housing (102, 118, and computer system connected thereto) receiving the electric module (106, 110) in a latched state (figs. 1E, 1F, 1G) and configured to move to an unlatched state (fig. 1J) to release the electric module for removal (figs. 1K and 3),
wherein the electric module (106, 110) includes a plural number of catches (111),
wherein the housing (102, 118) includes a number of latch arms (116) that engage the plural number of catches (111) in the latched state (figs. 1E, 1F, 1G),
wherein the housing (102, 118) includes a first actuator (506, para 0082) at the first end of the electric module (106, 110) and a second actuator (506) at the second end of the electric module (106, 110), wherein the first and the second actuators (506, para 0082) are moveable (“upward force 126”, fig. 1J) to simultaneously disengage the number of latch arms (116) from the plural number of catches (111) in the unlatched state (as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Lewis et al. disclose wherein the electric module (106,110, fig. 3) has a stop (114, 114a, fig. 1D) shaped as an elongated boss projecting from the electric module (see fig. 1D), and the housing (102, 118) has a receiver (114B, fig. 1D) for receiving the stop to limit movement of the electric module into the housing (see fig. 1D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-5, 8-10, 12-15, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Regarding claim 20, Lewis et al. disclose a quick release housing system (fig. 3), the quick release housing system (fig. 3) comprising:
an electric module (106, 110) having a first end and a second end disposed opposite the first end (as shown in fig. 3), the electric module (106, 110) having a control panel (500) and a bottom opposite the control panel (as shown in fig. 3);
a housing (102, 118) receiving the electric module (106, fig. 3) in a latched state (figs. 1E, 1F, 1G) and configured to move to an unlatched state (fig. 1J) to release the electric module for removal (figs. 1K and 3),
wherein the electric module (106, 110) includes a plural number of catches (111),
wherein the housing (102, 118) includes a number of latch arms (116) that engage the plural number of catches (111) at the surfaces in the latched state (figs. 1E, 1F, 1G),
wherein the housing (102, 118) includes a first actuator (506, para 0082) at the first end of the electric module (106, 110) and a second actuator (506, para 0082) at the second end of the electric module (106, 110), wherein the first and the second actuators (506, para 0082) are moveable to simultaneously disengage the number of latch arms (116) from the surfaces of the plural number of catches (111) in the unlatched state (as shown in fig. 3).
However, Lewis et al. fail to teach that the quick release housing system is for an electrical system of a vehicle, wherein the housing is connected to the vehicle, wherein each catch having a surface disposed substantially parallel to the bottom and facing the bottom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takano (U.S. 2023/0260724A1), Churak (U.S. 10,490,041B1), Martinez (U.S. 2015/0144469A1), Mori et al. (U.S. 2014/0231232A1), Fils (U.S. 7,831,756B1), and Klarner (U.S. 2008/0076287A1).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672