DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-10, 16, 17, and 21-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,280,915 in view of Faucette (US 2021/0222388).
U.S. Patent No. 12,280,915 claims essentially the same structural elements as the claimed invention, except does not expressly claim the diamond shape of the knitted pattern as claimed.
However, Faucette teaches constructing a knitted net container wherein the netting material can have a mesh opening pattern including diamond, hexagonal, etc. (para 0037) as claimed.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the knitted pattern of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient including diamond as taught by Faucette. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 16, 17, and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rice (US 5845994) in view of Coombs (US 2006/0185343) and Faucette (US 2021/0222388).
Rice discloses a knitted net carrier comprising a netting comprising a plurality of strands of yarn knitted together in the form of a pattern (Fig. 3), wherein the netting is substantially in the shape of a tube having a length, a first end, and a second end, wherein the first end and the second end are fastened shut (via 10, 14; see Figs. 1, 2); except does not expressly disclose the yarn being high tenacity polyester or the pattern comprising diamond shapes as claimed.
However, Coombs teaches yarn being manufactured as high tenacity polyester yarn (para 0014) as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use high tenacity polyester yarn as taught by Coombs to construct the carrier taught by Rice, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Further, Faucette teaches constructing a knitted net container wherein the netting material can have a mesh opening pattern including diamond, hexagonal, etc. (para 0037) as claimed.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the knitted pattern of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient including diamond as taught by Faucette. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claims 5-10 and 21-26, each of the dependent claims includes properties of the polyester yarns which were known in the prior art since before the invention by applicant as evidenced by the various cited, but unapplied, prior art references included herewith. Modifying the properties of the known polyester material to have known features or values was well within the level of ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use polyester yarn with the claimed features/values to construct the carrier taught by Rice as modified above, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claims 16, 17, and 27-30, Rice as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the exact number of stitches forming the diamond shapes as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use whatever number of stitched was appropriate to form the diamond shapes, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
July 30, 2026