DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 07/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that allegedly, the Office action does not provide a sufficient explanation as to why there would be a serious search and/or examination burden. The Applicant further states that “The Office does not provide any facts or details as to why these reasons would apply, such as which classes and subclasses would need to be searched for each inventions.”
This is not found persuasive because the Office action provided explanation for at least two reasons the restriction is proper:
with respect to A) Separate classification which shows that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search, the Examiner provided different classification for the Invention I and Invention II at the very beginning of the Office action in Section 1. For the Applicant’s convenience, this is also repeated below:
[AltContent: oval]“I. Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15, drawn to a radio frequency module, classified in H04B 1/0064.
[AltContent: oval]II. Claims 2, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14 and 16, drawn to a radio frequency module, classified in H04B 1/0067.”
As may be seen, separate classification is clearly indicated for each invention. This also means that this specific classification would need to be searched.
with respect to (C) A different field of search where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries), the Examiner provided indication of different search strings that would need to be utilized in Section 2. For the Applicant’s convenience, this is also repeated below (italicized portions indicate different search parameters):
“In the instant case, subcombination II has separate utility such as radio front end using a single antenna for different frequency bands, while subcombination I has separate utility such as radio front end using different antennas for different frequency bands.”
Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210408984 (Arkiszewski).
Regarding claim 1, Arkiszewski teaches or fairly suggests “A radio frequency module (different embodiments are shown in FIG 10 and 11 with corresponding description) comprising:
a first semiconductor device comprising a circuit for a signal in a first frequency band (shown as the first radio frequency signal path 822 in FIG 10 and 11. Paragraph 0134: the first radio frequency signal path 822 can be arranged to process an output signal provided by the first power amplifier 802 in the first mode. The first radio frequency signal path 822 can include one or more filters (e.g., one or more filters having a passband associated with the first mode), one or more matching networks, one or more switches, one or more radio frequency couplers, the like, or any suitable combination thereof. Paragraph 0025: the radio frequency signal can be associated with a fourth generation technology or a fifth generation technology in the first mode. Paragraph 0187: Power amplifier systems can generate RF signals at frequencies within FR1 of a 5G NR specification. Therefore, signal path 822 in FIG 10 and 11 comprises “a circuit for a signal in a first frequency band”. Although “a first semiconductor device” that comprises the circuitry of signal path 822 is not explicitly disclosed, it is either implicitly present, or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement, at least some of the circuitry of signal path 822, as an integrated circuit (“a first semiconductor device”). Doing so would have miniaturized the device as well as reduced the space taken by the components as well as the assembly costs);
a second semiconductor device comprising a circuit for a signal in a second frequency band (shown as the second radio frequency signal path 824 in FIG 10 and 11. Paragraph 0135: The second radio frequency signal path 824 can be arranged to process an output signal provided by the first power amplifier 802 in the second mode. The second radio frequency signal path 824 can include one or more filters (e.g., one or more filters having a passband associated with the second mode), one or more matching networks, one or more switches, one or more radio frequency couplers, the like, or any suitable combination thereof. Paragraph 0025: The radio frequency signal can be associated with a second generation technology in the second mode. The Examiner takes an official notice that it is well known in the art that the second generation technology uses frequencies which are generally different from the frequencies of 5G. Therefore, signal path 824 in FIG 10 and 11 comprises “a circuit for a signal in a second frequency band”. Although “a second semiconductor device” that comprises the circuitry of signal path 824 is not explicitly disclosed, it is either implicitly present, or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement, at least some of the circuitry of signal path 824, as an integrated circuit (“a second semiconductor device”). Doing so would have miniaturized the device as well as reduced the space taken by the components as well as the assembly costs), the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band (2G technology uses different frequency ranges than 5G technology. At least there is a non-overlapping frequency range that is included in 5G technology and not included in 2G technology. For example, paragraph 0075 teaches using NR Band n1 transmissions. It is well known in the art that this band utilizes 2100 MHz, which is not part of 2G technology. Paragraph 0102: Broad-banding of the existing 2G PAs may be desired to allow for coverage of a wider frequency range of dual connectivity band combinations. Such broad-banding can involve increasing the bandwidth of a PA. Paragraph 0132: the first power amplifier 802 is arranged to have a broader bandwidth to operate in the first mode and the second mode than a similar power amplifier arranged to operate in only one of these modes. This means that the power amplifier may be able to cover wider frequency range associated with 5G technology. Summarizing, “the first frequency band” corresponds to the 5G band, while “the second frequency band” corresponds to the 2G band, which is narrower than the 5G band. Thus, the bands are different, as is required by the claim.);
a first external connection terminal that receives a transmit signal in the first frequency band (paragraphs 0144 – 0145: input switching can select which transmitter to electrically connect to an input of a power amplifier for different modes. For example, an input switch can provide a 2G signal to the input of the PA in a 2G mode and provide a 4G/5G EN-DC signal to the input of the PA in an EN-DC mode. FIG. 11 is a schematic block diagram of a power amplifier system 1100 with an input switch 1102. The input switch 1102 can electrically connect different transmitters to an input of the power amplifier 802 in different modes. The input switch 1102 can be implemented together with any other embodiments of power amplifier systems and/or modules disclosed including the one of FIG 10. The input switch 1102 can be included in a packaged module. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to include switch 1102 at the input of power amplifier 802 shown in FIG 10, as suggested by paragraph 0145. When this is implemented, “a first external connection terminal that receives a transmit signal in the first frequency band” corresponds to the upper input to the packaged module that includes the switch 1102 in FIG 11);
a second external connection terminal that receives a transmit signal in the second frequency band ( in view of the explanation above, corresponds to the lower input to the packaged module that includes the switch 1102 in FIG 11);
a first switch that is selectively electrically connected to the first external connection terminal or to the second external connection terminal (switch 1102 in FIG 11);
a power amplifier that receives a signal outputted from the first switch (paragraph 0128: The first power amplifier 802 is arranged to be active in a first mode and to be active in a second mode. Paragraph 0131: the first power amplifier 802 can provide a 4G or a 5G signal in the first mode and a 2G signal in the second mode.);
a third external connection terminal that receives a selectively-transported output signal from the power amplifier and that is electrically connected to an external first antenna (although not explicitly disclosed, this corresponds to the connection between antenna 1042 and the output of the signal path 822, which may be implemented as the “first semiconductor device”, the obviousness of which was explained above. In this case, this would correspond to the terminal of this device to be connected with antenna 1042); and
a fourth external connection terminal that receives a selectively-transported output signal from the power amplifier and that is electrically connected to an external second antenna (although not explicitly disclosed, this corresponds to the connection between antenna 1043 and the output of the signal path 824).”
Regarding claim 3, Arkiszewski teaches or fairly suggests “further comprising: a second switch that receives an output signal from the power amplifier (paragraph 0133: The switch 810 is arranged to electrically connect the output of the first power amplifier 802 to the first radio frequency signal path 822 in the first mode and to electrically connect the output of the first power amplifier 802 to the second radio frequency signal path 824 in the second mode.);
a first bandpass filter that is between the second switch and the third external connection terminal (paragraph 0134: The first radio frequency signal path 822 can include one or more filters (e.g., one or more filters having a passband associated with the first mode). The position of this filter would be exactly as the claim requires. Although this filter is not disclosed as a “bandpass filter”, a filter with such characteristic is disclosed elsewhere, for example, in FIG 7 as bandpass filter 340. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement the filter within the signal path 822 as a “bandpass filter” simply as design choice with predictable results, the results being the capability of passing through only the frequencies associated with the frequency band of transmission, and no lower and higher frequencies are to be transmitted by the antenna, thus reducing any potential interference to other components and/or systems); and
a second bandpass filter that is between the second switch and the fourth external connection terminal (paragraph 0135: The second radio frequency signal path 824 can include one or more filters (e.g., one or more filters having a passband associated with the second mode). The position of this filter would be exactly as the claim requires. Although this filter is not disclosed as a “bandpass filter”, a filter with such characteristic is disclosed elsewhere, for example, in FIG 7 as bandpass filter 340. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement the filter within the signal path 824 as a “bandpass filter” simply as design choice with predictable results, the results being the capability of passing through only the frequencies associated with the frequency band of transmission, and no lower and higher frequencies are to be transmitted by the antenna, thus reducing any potential interference to other components and/or systems).”
Regarding claim 5, Arkiszewski teaches or fairly suggests “further comprising: an impedance matching circuit that is in a first path that connects the first external connection terminal to the first switch, a second path that connects the second external connection terminal to the first switch, a third path that connects the first switch to the power amplifier, a fourth path that connects the power amplifier to the third external connection terminal (paragraph 0134: The first radio frequency signal path 822 can include one or more matching networks. This signal path 822 “connects the power amplifier to the third external connection terminal”), or a fifth path that connects the power amplifier to the fourth external connection terminal (paragraph 0135: The first radio frequency signal path 824 can include one or more matching networks. This signal path 824 “connects the power amplifier to the fourth external connection terminal”).”
Regarding claim 7, Arkiszewski teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the first switch is configured to not receive the transmit signal in the first frequency band and the transmit signal in the second frequency band at the same time (indeed, paragraph 0144: input switching can select which transmitter to electrically connect to an input of a power amplifier for different modes. For example, an input switch for a PA can provide a 2G signal to the input of the PA in a 2G mode and provide a 4G/5G EN-DC signal to the input of the PA in an EN-DC mode. Therefore, the transmit signal associated with 2G (thus corresponding to “the second frequency band” of 2G) may not be simultaneously received with the transmit signal associated with 4G/5G EN-DC (thus corresponding to “the first frequency band” of 4G/5G EN-DC)).”
Regarding claim 9, Arkiszewski teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the power amplifier is in the second semiconductor device (paragraph 0135: The second radio frequency signal path 824 can include radio frequency processing circuitry of a power amplifier module. When the signal path 824 is implemented as “the second semiconductor device”, the obviousness of which was explained in the rejection of claim 1, this would mean that the power amplifier module would be part of “the second semiconductor device”).”
Regarding claim 11, Arkiszewski teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the power amplifier is in the first semiconductor device (paragraph 0134: The first radio frequency signal path 822 can include radio frequency processing circuitry of a power amplifier module. When the signal path 822 is implemented as “the first semiconductor device”, the obviousness of which was explained in the rejection of claim 1, this would mean that the power amplifier module would be part of “the first semiconductor device”).”
Regarding claim 13, Arkiszewski teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the power amplifier is in a third semiconductor device (paragraph 0100: One or more PAs can be implemented as a stand-alone module of one or more Low Band (LB) and/or one or more Mid Band (MB) PAs. Since it is not combined with any of the signal path circuitry 822 and 824, this implementation of the power amplifier as a stand-alone module would represent “a third semiconductor device”).”
Regarding claim 15, Arkiszewski does not teach “wherein the first frequency band is an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) band, and wherein the second frequency band is an Ultra High Band (UHB) band.”
However, the Examiner takes an official notice that these bands were well known in the art at the effective filing date of the application. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Arkiszewski power amplifier arrangement in the combination of bands recited by the claim since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190131941 (Ishihara) in view of US 20210408984 (Arkiszewski).
Regarding claim 1, Ishihara teaches or fairly suggests “A radio frequency module (different embodiments are shown in FIG 1, 3, 5 – 14 with corresponding description) comprising:
a first semiconductor device comprising a circuit for a signal in a first frequency band (mapped to disclosed in paragraph 0033 a first matching circuit LBMN (low band matching network), also shown in FIG 2, as well as disclosed in paragraph 0041 the first filter FL1. Paragraph 0031: The frequency band of the second signal HB is higher than that of the first signal LB. Thus, “a first frequency band” corresponds to low band LB. Although “a first semiconductor device” that would comprise the circuitry of the first matching circuit LBMN and first filter FL1 is not explicitly disclosed, it is either implicitly present, or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement, at least some of the circuitry of the first matching circuit LBMN and first filter FL1, as an integrated circuit (“a first semiconductor device”). Doing so would have miniaturized the device as well as reduced the space taken by the components as well as the assembly costs);
a second semiconductor device comprising a circuit for a signal in a second frequency band (mapped to disclosed in paragraph 0033 a second matching circuit HBMN (high band matching network), also shown in FIG 2, as well as disclosed in paragraph 0042 the second filter FL2. Paragraph 0031: The frequency band of the second signal HB is higher than that of the first signal LB. Thus, “a second frequency band” corresponds to high band HB. Although “a second semiconductor device” that would comprise the circuitry of the second matching circuit HBMN and second filter FL2 is not explicitly disclosed, it is either implicitly present, or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement, at least some of the circuitry of the second matching circuit HBMN and second filter FL2, as an integrated circuit (“a second semiconductor device”). Doing so would have miniaturized the device as well as reduced the space taken by the components as well as the assembly costs), the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band (Paragraph 0031: The frequency band of the second signal HB is higher than that of the first signal LB.);
a first external connection terminal that receives a transmit signal in the first frequency band (paragraph 0032: In the power amplifier circuit 1, the first signal LB is inputted from the first input terminal LBin shown in FIG 1, 3, 5 – 12);
a second external connection terminal that receives a transmit signal in the second frequency band (paragraph 0032: In the power amplifier circuit 1, the second signal HB is inputted from the second input terminal HBin);
a first switch that is selectively electrically connected to the first external connection terminal or to the second external connection terminal (paragraph 0036: A switch SW11 is disposed between the first input terminal LBin and the first power amplifier PA1, while a switch SW12 is disposed between the second input terminal HBin and the first power amplifier PA1. The switch SW11 turns ON and OFF the inputting of the first signal LB into the first power amplifier PA1. The switch SW12 turns ON and OFF the inputting of the second signal HB into the first power amplifier PA1. Combination of the switches SW11 and SW12 corresponds to the claimed “first switch”);
a power amplifier (combination of PA1 and PA2 in FIGs) that receives a signal outputted from the first switch (paragraph 0036: The switch SW11 turns ON and OFF the inputting of the first signal LB into the first power amplifier PA1. The switch SW12 turns ON and OFF the inputting of the second signal HB into the first power amplifier PA1.);
a third external connection terminal that receives a selectively-transported output signal from the power amplifier (paragraph 0032: the first signal LB is outputted from the first output terminal LBout)…”
“…a fourth external connection terminal that receives a selectively-transported output signal from the power amplifier (paragraph 0032: the second signal HB is outputted from the second output terminal HBout.)…”
Ishihara does not explicitly disclosed that the third connection terminal “is electrically connected to an external first antenna” and that the fourth connection terminal “is electrically connected to an external second antenna.”
In similar art, Arkiszewski also teaches a power amplifier capable of amplification of signals of different frequency ranges as well as communication standards (see FIG 10). Comparing Ishihara’s FIG 1 with Arkiszewski’s FIG 10, a similarity may immediately be seen. Indeed, both systems have a power amplifier output of which is connected to a switch. Further, as stated in Arkiszewski’s paragraph 0134, the first radio frequency signal path 822 can be arranged to process an output signal provided by the first power amplifier 802 in the first mode. The first radio frequency signal path 822 can include one or more filters (e.g., one or more filters having a passband associated with the first mode), one or more matching networks, which is very similar to the combination of LBMN and FL1 of Ishihara. Likewise, as stated in Arkiszewski’s paragraph 0135, the second radio frequency signal path 824 can be arranged to process an output signal provided by the first power amplifier 802 in the second mode. The second radio frequency signal path 824 can include one or more filters (e.g., one or more filters having a passband associated with the second mode), one or more matching networks, which is very similar to the combination of HBMN and FL2 of Ishihara. However, Arkiszewski explicitly shows that each path connects to its own external antenna.
Therefore, since Ishihara does not show how the antennas are connected in FIG 1, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to implement disclosed by Arkiszewski usage of separate antennas for each of the transmission paths, in the system of Ishihara. Doing so would have simply filled in where Ishihara is silent as well as allowed to use individual antennas specifically tuned to the respective frequency range, thus improving efficiency of the antennas.
Regarding claim 3, Ishihara teaches or fairly suggests “further comprising: a second switch that receives an output signal from the power amplifier (corresponds to the combination of switches Sw1 and SW2 in the embodiment of FIG 3);
a first bandpass filter that is between the second switch and the third external connection terminal (corresponds to the combination of filter FL1 in the embodiment of FIG 3 as well as filtering properties of LBMN shown in FIG 2 and described in paragraph 0046. Function of the filter FL1 in LB operation is described in paragraph 0052. Together filter FL1 and LBMN pass the signal within the Low Band (i.e. having “bandpass” function) to LBout terminal (“the third external connection terminal”) and stop the signal within the High Band from reaching the LBout terminal. As further stated in paragraph 0048, the first matching circuit LBMN and the second matching circuit HBMN are not restricted to the described configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize any other topology for the “first bandpass filter” simply as design choice with predictable results); and
a second bandpass filter that is between the second switch and the fourth external connection terminal (corresponds to the combination of filter FL2 in the embodiment of FIG 3 as well as filtering properties of HBMN shown in FIG 2 and described in paragraph 0047. Function of the filter FL2 in HB operation is described in paragraph 0055. Together filter FL2 and HBMN pass the signal within the High Band (i.e. having “bandpass” function) to HBout terminal (“the fourth external connection terminal”) and stop the signal within the Low Band from reaching the HBout terminal. As further stated in paragraph 0048, the first matching circuit LBMN and the second matching circuit HBMN are not restricted to the described configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize any other topology for the “second bandpass filter” simply as design choice with predictable results).”
Regarding claim 4, Ishihara teaches “further comprising: a diplexer that receives an output signal from the power amplifier, wherein the diplexer is electrically connected to the third external connection terminal, and wherein the diplexer is electrically connected to the fourth external connection terminal (implemented as combination of filters FL1 and FL2 in FIG 1 connected exactly as the claim requires. Alternatively, may be mapped to the combination of FL1, FL2 as well as LBMN and HBMN shown in FIG 2. Also shown in the embodiment of FIG 13 (although this embodiment has a single antenna, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application that the diplexer of FIG 13 may also be used in the embodiment of FIG 1)).”
Regarding claim 5, Ishihara teaches “further comprising: an impedance matching circuit that is in a first path that connects the first external connection terminal to the first switch, a second path that connects the second external connection terminal to the first switch, a third path that connects the first switch to the power amplifier, a fourth path that connects the power amplifier to the third external connection terminal (paragraph 0033: The power amplifier circuit 1 includes a first matching circuit LBMN between the filter unit FLT and the first output terminal LBout (“the third external connection terminal”)), or a fifth path that connects the power amplifier to the fourth external connection terminal (paragraph 0033: The power amplifier circuit 1 includes a second matching circuit HBMN between the filter unit FLT and the second output terminal HBout (“the fourth external connection terminal”)).).”
Regarding claim 7, Ishihara teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the first switch is configured to not receive the transmit signal in the first frequency band and the transmit signal in the second frequency band at the same time (paragraph 0036: The switch SW11 turns ON and OFF the inputting of the first signal LB into the first power amplifier PA1. The switch SW12 turns ON and OFF the inputting of the second signal HB into the first power amplifier PA1. Also paragraphs 0060 and 0062 describing operation of the switches. Paragraph 0034: The power amplifier unit AMP amplifies one of the first signal LB and the second signal HB. Nowhere does it say that both switches SW11 and SW12 may be ON at the same time. Therefore, the requirement of this claim is fulfilled).”
Regarding claim 9, Ishihara does not teach “wherein the power amplifier is in the second semiconductor device.”
In the rejection of claim 1 above in this section, it was explained the obviousness of implementing the second matching circuit HBMN as well as the second filter FL2 as an integrated circuit (“the second semiconductor device”). It was also shown the similarity between the structure of Arkiszewski’s FIG 10 and the structure of Ishihara’s FIG 1, so that Arkiszewski’s second radio frequency signal path 824 is very similar to the combination of HBMN and FL2 of Ishihara, while Arkiszewski’s first radio frequency signal path 822 is very similar to the combination of LBMN and FL1 of Ishihara.
However, Arkiszewski also teaches in paragraph 0135 that the second radio frequency signal path 824 can include radio frequency processing circuitry of a power amplifier module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to take Arkiszewski’s suggestion with respect to physical location of the power amplifier circuitry as being within and/or together with the signal path 824, and apply this teaching to the system of Ishihara, so that “the second semiconductor device” comprising Ishihara’s circuitry of the HBMN and FL2 would also physically and structurally contain the circuit of the power amplifier. Doing so would have simply been a matter of design choice with predictable results since, according to the Supreme Court, “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, Ishihara does not teach “wherein the power amplifier is in the first semiconductor device.”
In the rejection of claim 1 above in this section, it was explained the obviousness of implementing the first matching circuit LBMN as well as the first filter FL1 as an integrated circuit (“the first semiconductor device”). It was also shown the similarity between the structure of Arkiszewski’s FIG 10 and the structure of Ishihara’s FIG 1, so that Arkiszewski’s second radio frequency signal path 824 is very similar to the combination of HBMN and FL2 of Ishihara, while Arkiszewski’s first radio frequency signal path 822 is very similar to the combination of LBMN and FL1 of Ishihara.
However, Arkiszewski also teaches in paragraph 0134 that the first radio frequency signal path 822 can include radio frequency processing circuitry of a power amplifier module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to take Arkiszewski’s suggestion with respect to physical location of the power amplifier circuitry as being within and/or together with the signal path 822, and apply this teaching to the system of Ishihara, so that “the first semiconductor device” comprising Ishihara’s circuitry of the LBMN and FL1 would also physically and structurally contain the circuit of the power amplifier. Doing so would have simply been a matter of design choice with predictable results since, according to the Supreme Court, “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, Ishihara teaches “wherein the power amplifier is in a third semiconductor device (paragraph 0034: The first and second power amplifiers PA1 and PA2 are formed on a single semiconductor chip (PA Die). Also shown in FIG 1 that the power amplifier is on its own die).”
Regarding claim 15, Ishihara does not disclose “wherein the first frequency band is an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) band, and wherein the second frequency band is an Ultra High Band (UHB) band.” In fact, Ishihara does not place any restrictions on specific frequencies for the Low Band or the High Band, thus leaving particular implementation to a person reading his disclosure.
The Examiner takes an official notice that Ultra Wide Band (UWB) and Ultra High Band (UHB) were well known in the art at the effective filing date of the application. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Ishihara power amplifier arrangement in the combination of bands recited by the claim simply as design choice with predictable results and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/GENNADIY TSVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648