DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 November 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "1" and "40" (in paragraph 30) have both been used to designate the filling connector.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “40” has been used to designate both structure and filling connector (in paragraph 30).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 11b, 14, and 22.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the presence of phrasing that can be implied, namely “the invention relates to”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses. Specifically, the reference character “A” for axis needs to be in parentheses in claims 1-4.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenal (U.S. Patent 12,117,127) in view of Takeda (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0178399).
Regarding claim 1, Frenal discloses a conditioning device configured to cooperate with a fluid filling or tapping connector 1 of a pressurized fluid container 18, said conditioning device comprising a structure 2 extending along a longitudinal axis, the conditioning device comprising a valve pusher 11 that is movable along the longitudinal axis in a fluid transfer line 7 of said structure to open at least one valve 19 of an internal circuit 20 of the fluid filling or tapping connector when the structure is brought into contact with the connector to bring the fluid transfer line into fluidic communication with the internal circuit of the fluid filling or tapping connector, wherein the valve pusher comprises a body 11 and at least one protective element (bottom surface of 11) arranged on said body, said at least one protective element being configured to come into contact at least in part with said valve when said valve is opened, said body of the valve pusher being made of a first material (FIG. 1; Col. 5 ln 15-47, Col. 5 ln 65-Col. 7 ln 7, Col. 8 ln 17-26).
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element being made at least in part of a second material, said second material having a hardness lower than the hardness of said first material.
However, Takeda teaches a body 54 of the valve pusher 53/54 being made of a first material and said at least one protective element 55 being made at least in part of a second material, said second material having a hardness lower than the hardness of said first material (FIG. 2; Paragraph 91).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective element that is separate from the body of the valve pusher, the protective element being made of a material with a lower hardness than the first material that makes up the body of the valve pusher, as taught by Takeda, for the purpose of providing a means to decrease the impact of the valve pusher on the valve.
Regarding claim 2, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal further discloses said body comprises at least one downstream surface (bottom portion of 11 that slides into 20, modified to have the protective element as taught by Takeda on the bottom surface) extending generally orthogonally to the longitudinal axis, said at least one protective element being arranged on said downstream surface (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal/Takeda further teaches said at least one protective element is composed of a discontinuous set of elements 55 arranged on said body (FIG. 2; Paragraph 91).
Regarding claim 9, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal/Takeda further teaches the second material (an elastic member) has a hardness of between 25 Hv and 90 Hv on the Shore A scale or between 30 Hv and 70 Hv on the Shore D scale (typical elastic O-rings have a hardness of around 70 Hv on the Shore A scale) (Paragraph 91).
Regarding claim 13, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal further discloses a conditioning system for a pressurized fluid container, comprising:
a conditioning device according to claim 1,
a fluid filling or tapping connector 1 of a pressurized fluid container 18, said connector comprising:
a first end (top of 1) configured to be connected to the conditioning device and comprising a valve 19, the valve being opened by the displacement of the valve pusher on the valve,
a second end (bottom of 1) configured to be connected to a pressurized fluid container,
a fluid circuit 20 arranged between said first end and said second end (FIG. 1; Col. 5 ln 15-47, Col. 5 ln 65-Col. 7 ln 7, Col. 8 ln 17-26) (Takeda FIG. 2; Paragraph 91).
Claims 3-5, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenal in view of Takeda in further view of Danielson (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0174928).
Regarding claim 3, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal further discloses said body comprises at least one lateral surface (vertical sidewalls of 11) extending along the longitudinal axis (FIG. 1).
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element being arranged on said lateral surface.
However, Danielson teaches a valve pusher body 112, the body having a lateral surface extending along the longitudinal axis, and at least one protective element 122 being arranged on a side lateral surface within a groove (FIG. 8; Paragraph 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective element that is positioned at the bottom of the lateral surface of the body of the valve pusher, as taught by Danielson, for the purpose of preventing fluid to pass between the valve pusher and the connector.
Regarding claim 4, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal further discloses said body comprises a protuberance (bottom of 11 that slides into 20) extending along the longitudinal axis, at least a portion of said protuberance projecting into an internal recess (through 20 into 19) of said valve when said valve is opened (FIG. 1; Col. 8 ln 60-63).
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element being arranged on a surface of said protuberance.
However, Danielson teaches a valve pusher body 112, the body having a lateral surface extending along the longitudinal axis, and at least one protective element 122 being arranged on a side lateral surface within a groove (FIG. 8; Paragraph 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective element that is positioned at the bottom of the lateral surface of the body of the valve pusher, as taught by Danielson, for the purpose of preventing fluid to pass between the valve pusher and the connector.
Regarding claim 5, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element is arranged in at least one groove formed on an outer surface of the body.
However, Danielson teaches a valve pusher body 112, the body having a lateral surface extending along the longitudinal axis, and at least one protective element 122 being arranged on a side lateral surface within a groove (FIG. 8; Paragraph 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective element that is positioned at the bottom of the lateral surface of the body of the valve pusher, as taught by Danielson, for the purpose of preventing fluid to pass between the valve pusher and the connector.
Regarding claim 10, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal is silent regarding the second material is selected from the group consisting of: a polytetrafluoroethylene, a polyoxymethylene, a rubber and a polyurethane.
However, Danielson teaches making gaskets 114 out of rubber (Paragraph 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by making the second material rubber, as taught by Danielson, for the purpose of providing a known material for a sealing ring that with resist undesired wear.
Regarding claim 12, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element comprises at least one O-ring.
However, Danielson teaches a valve pusher body 112, the body having a lateral surface extending along the longitudinal axis, and at least one protective element 122 being arranged on a side lateral surface within a groove (FIG. 8; Paragraph 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective element that is positioned at the bottom of the lateral surface of the body of the valve pusher in the form of an O-ring, as taught by Danielson, for the purpose of preventing fluid to pass between the valve pusher and the connector.
Claims 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenal in view of Takeda in further view of McAlister (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0169180).
Regarding claim 6, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element is a surface coating deposited on at least a portion of an outer surface of the body.
However, McAlister teaches at least one protective element is a surface coating deposited on at least a portion of an outer surface of the body 155E (FIG. 1W; Paragraph 67, 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective surface coating deposited on the outer surface of the body, as taught by McAlister, for the purpose of preventing fluid to pass between the valve pusher and the connector.
Regarding claim 7, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element forms a sleeve about said body, at least partially covering an outer surface of the body.
However, McAlister teaches at least one protective element is a surface coating deposited on at least a portion of an outer surface of the body 155E creating a sleeve about the body (FIG. 1W; Paragraph 67, 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective surface coating deposited on the outer surface of the body thus forming a sleeve about the outer surface, as taught by McAlister, for the purpose of preventing fluid to pass between the valve pusher and the connector.
Regarding claim 11, Frenal, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Frenal is silent regarding said at least one protective element is made in part of a third material, said third material having a hardness lower than the hardness of said first material.
However, McAlister teaches at least one protective element is made of a third material (a surface coating), said third material having a hardness lower than the hardness of said first material (FIG. 1W; Paragraph 67, 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Frenal by adding a protective surface coating deposited on the outer surface of the body, the hardness of the coating being less than that of the body, as taught by McAlister, for the purpose of preventing fluid to pass between the valve pusher and the connector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bernard (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0122497) discloses a conditioning device similar to the one disclosed in the present application.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753