DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/23/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. [US2021/0001519, “Wang”].
Wang discloses a system for bonding materials, the system comprising: a constraining container (constraining container 230) comprising a base and a cover and having an interior volume (including multiple parts such as base, walls and cover), wherein the constraining container is configured to enclose at least a portion of a first material and a second material being bonded (paragraph 0126-0127); and an expandable medium (expandable element 232) configured to be disposed within the interior volume between at least a portion of the constraining container and at least one of the first material and the second material and to expand such that the expandable medium applies positive pressure to the constraining container and at least one of the first material and the second material (paragraphs 0131-0132).
With respect to claim 2, Wang discloses at least one of the base and the cover is rigid (paragraph 0069, 0112).
With respect to claim 3, Wang discloses at least a portion of at least one of the base and the cover is flexible (paragraph 0123).
With respect to claims 4-6, the first material, the second material and the adhesive are considered to be the material worked upon. Wang discloses an expandable medium that is configured to expand when a temperature of the expandable medium is raised to an activation temperature, it is noted Wang discloses heating to both cure the material worked upon and expand the expandable medium (paragraph 0132-133, 0137-0140).
With respect to claim 8, Wang discloses a heater in thermal communication with the expandable medium (paragraph 0131-0132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Fanucci [WO9013425].
Wang discloses a system for bonding materials. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Wang. Wang discloses a producing a predetermined pressure (paragraph 0138), but does not disclose a pressure detector configured for detecting an interior pressure within the interior volume.
Fanucci discloses a system for producing fiber reinforced polymers. Fanucci discloses system includes a pressure sensor which is capable of keeping a record of the pressure during the process which can verity the quality of the final product (page 3, line 32-page 4, line 20; page3 5, lines 17-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the system of Wang by including a pressure detector as taught by Fanucci in order to improve control over the process and to verify the quality of the final product made by the system.
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
June 12, 2026