DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao) in view of Muthukumar et al. (US20230370946 hereinafter Muthukumar).
Regarding claim 1. Dao teaches the method for supporting Quality of Service (QoS) in a wireless backhaul communication system by a user equipment connected to at least one end user terminal, the method comprising: registering with a mobile communication network (fig. 3 and pars. 0037-0040, teaches ED 102 forms a radio access network connection with a (Radio) Access Network ((R)AN) node 302 (which may, for example, be an gNodeB (gNB)), which is connected to a User Plane (UP) Function (UPF) 304 such as a UP Gateway over a network interface providing a defined interface such as an N3 interface. Moreover, the Session Management Function (SMF) 310 is a network function that is responsible for the allocation and management of IP addresses that are assigned to a UE and may connect to a UPF 304 through a logical interface such as network interface N4. Thus, the UPF is registered with a radio access network connection);
establishing a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session with the mobile communication network to support multiple QoS flows (fig. 5 and pars. 0075-0076, teaches UPF 304 establishing the unstructured PDU session with the SMF 310. Which includes obtaining the QFI-IP Address mapping which may provide a one-to-one mapping between a set of IP Address or address prefixes and QFIs of one or more QoS flows of the unstructured PDU session); and
for each of the at least one end user terminal, selecting one IP address … from among IP address groups corresponding to each of the multiple QoS flows (fig. 5 and par. 0076, teaches the UPF 304 may select a IP Address for the UL PDU packet based on the QFI of the received packet and the QFI-IP Address mapping provided by the SMF 310. Wherein, pars. 0075-0076, teaches there are multiple IP addresses that are mapped to one or more QoS flows within the QFI-IP Address mapping. Therefore, the UPF is selecting from among IP address groups corresponding to each of the multiple QoS flows. Whereas the language “UPF” reads as the at least one end user terminal within the context of this passage), and
allocating an IP address included in the selected IP address … to the corresponding end user terminal (fig. 5 and pars. 0076-0077, teaches the IP address selected in step 520 is a source IP address from which the UPF 304 will transmit packets towards the DN 306. The UPF 304 may then encapsulate (at 522) s the UL PDU packet into N6 IP tunnel format using the selected IP Address as the Source IP Address of the N6 encapsulated UL PDU packet. The UPF 304 may then send the N6 encapsulated UL PDU packet to the DN 306 through the N6 IP tunnel 330. Wherein, the UPF selecting the IP address and using the selected IP address reads as allocating the IP address to the corresponding end user terminal)
However, although Dao teaches , selecting one IP address … from among IP address groups corresponding to each of the multiple QoS flows (fig. 5 and pars. 0075-0076), the apparatus and methods of Dao explicitly fails to disclose, selecting one IP address group from among IP address groups, and allocating an IP address included in the selected IP address group.
Muthukumar disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for IP address groups, so Muthukumar is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Muthukumar teaches selecting one IP address group from among IP address groups (fig. 4 and pars. 0038-0039, teaches allocating, by the session management node, to the first packet routing node, a first set of IP addresses based on at least the first indication of supported IP traffic types, wherein allocating the first set of IP addresses comprises allocating only supported IP addresses and withholding allocation of unsupported IP addresses), and
allocating an IP address included in the selected IP address group (fig. 4 and pars. 0038-0039, teaches allocating, by the session management node, to the UE, the data traffic session through the first packet routing node using an IP address of the first set of IP addresses. Wherein, the language “an IP address of the first set of IP addresses” reads as an IP address included in the selected IP address group)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize selecting one IP address group from among IP address groups, and allocating an IP address included in the selected IP address group, as disclosed by Muthukumar with the method and apparatus of Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the efficiency of wireless network operations. (see Muthukumar par. 0017)
Regarding claim 10. Dao and Muthukumar teaches the method for claim 1. Dao further teaches the mobile communication network includes a 5G mobile communication network based on 3GPP standards (fig. 3A and pars. 0037-0040, teaches a network system including DN 306 a data network used to provide an operator service, or it may be outside the scope of the standardization of the Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), such as the Internet, a network used to provide third party service, and in some embodiments DN 306 may represent an Edge Computing network or resource, such as a Mobile Edge Computing (MEC) network).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao), in view of Muthukumar et al. (US20230370946 hereinafter Muthukumar), in further view of Ankapura (US20170052774).
Regarding claim 9. Dao and Muthukumar teaches the method for claim 1.
However, although Dao teaches Ethernet connections (par. 0060, teaches 5G standards currently provide support for Ethernet standards), the combination of Dao and Muthukumar explicitly fails to disclose, the user equipment is connected to the at least one end user terminal via at least one of Wi-Fi and Ethernet.
Ankapura disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for end user terminals, so Ankapura is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Ankapura teaches the user equipment is connected to the at least one end user terminal via at least one of Wi-Fi and Ethernet (par. 0024, teaches end user devices 108 may be configured to communicate with one another via Wi-Fi and Ethernet. Wherein, a first end-user communicating to a second end-user reads as the user equipment is connected to the at least one end user terminal within the context of this passage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the user equipment is connected to the at least one end user terminal via at least one of Wi-Fi and Ethernet, as disclosed by Ankapura with the combination of Dao and Muthukumar. The motivations for doing so would be to improve distribution. (see Ankapura par. 0019)
Claims 11, 12, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao) in view of Youn et al. (US20240015562 hereinafter Youn).
Regarding claim 11. Dao teaches the method for supporting QoS in a wireless backhaul communication system by a mobile communication network for at least one end user terminal connected to a user equipment, the method comprising:
performing, by a first network function of the mobile communication network, network registration for the user equipment (fig. 3 and pars. 0037-0040, teaches ED 102 forms a radio access network connection with a (Radio) Access Network ((R)AN) node 302 (which may, for example, be an gNodeB (gNB)), which is connected to a User Plane (UP) Function (UPF) 304 such as a UP Gateway over a network interface providing a defined interface such as an N3 interface. Moreover, the Session Management Function (SMF) 310 is a network function that is responsible for the allocation and management of IP addresses that are assigned to a UE and may connect to a UPF 304 through a logical interface such as network interface N4. Thus, the UPF is registered with a radio access network connection. Wherein, par. 0021, teaches electronic device (ED) may be categorized as a User Equipment (UE). Whereas the UPF 304 reads as a first network function of the mobile communication network);
establishing, by a second network function of the mobile communication network, a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session with the user equipment to support multiple QoS flows (fig. 5 and pars. 0075-0076, teaches SMF 310 establishing the unstructured PDU session with the UPF 304. Which includes obtaining the QFI-IP Address mapping which may provide a one-to-one mapping between a set of IP Address or address prefixes and QFIs of one or more QoS flows of the unstructured PDU session. Wherein, the SMF 310, reads as a second network function of the mobile communication network within the context of fig. 3A and par. 0040, which teaches the Session Management Function (SMF) 310 is a network function that is responsible for the allocation and management of IP addresses that are assigned to a UE),
wherein each of the multiple QoS flows corresponds to an IP address group to which an IP address assigned to each of the at least one end user terminal belongs (fig. 5 and par. 0076, teaches the UPF 304 may select a IP Address for the UL PDU packet based on the QFI of the received packet and the QFI-IP Address mapping provided by the SMF 310. Wherein, pars. 0075-0076, teaches there are multiple IP addresses that are mapped to one or more QoS flows within the QFI-IP Address mapping. Therefore, the UPF is selecting from among IP address groups corresponding to each of the multiple QoS flows); and
transmitting, by the second network function, at least a portion of information about the … PDU session to at least one third network function of the mobile communication network (fig. 5 and pars. 0069-0070, teaches at step 502a the SMF 310 may send one or more QoS rules to the ED 102 (e.g. via the AMF 308 and the N1 interface). Wherein, par. 0075, teaches initial steps (502a and 502b) may be performed as part of establishing the unstructured PDU session. Thus, the QoS rules that are transmitted to the AMF reads as transmitting, by the second network function, at least a portion of information about the PDU session to at least one third network function of the mobile communication network).
However, although Dao teaches transmitting, by the second network function, at least a portion of information about the … PDU session to at least one third network function of the mobile communication network (fig. 5 and pars. 0069-0075), the apparatus and methods of Dao explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, by the second network function, at least a portion of information about the established PDU session.
Youn disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PDU sessions, so Youn is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Youn teaches transmitting, by the second network function, at least a portion of information about the established PDU session (par. 0205, teaches after the MA PDU session is established, Session Management (SM) signaling related to the MA PDU session may be transmitted and received through random access. Par. 0006 teaches, Multi-Access (MA) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, by the second network function, at least a portion of information about the established PDU session, as disclosed by Youn with the method and apparatus of Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Youn par. 0006)
Regarding claim 12. Dao and Youn teaches the method for claim 11. Dao further teaches the transmitting step comprises: transmitting packet detection rules for the established PDU session to a User Plane Function (UPF) of the mobile communication network (fig. 6 and par. 0080, teaches the SMF 310 transmits QoS policy information as part of the Packet Detection Rules to the UPF 304, which may include a new QoS rule and the assigned IP address and/or the new QoS rule (for example a QoS enforcement rule) and the Packet Detection Rules. Wherein, fig. 3A and par. 0037, teaches the User Plane (UP) Function (UPF) 304 is within the mobile communication network).
Regarding claim 17. Dao and Youn teaches the method for claim 11. Dao further teaches the transmitting step comprises: transmitting QoS profile information for the established PDU session to a base station of the mobile communication network (par. 0071, teaches the SMF sends the QoS Profile to the (R)AN node 302 for the unstructured PDU session. Moreover, par. 0051, teaches at the time of PDU session establishment, the SMF 310 typically provides one or more QoS Profiles to the (R)AN node 302).
Regarding claim 20. Dao and Youn teaches the method for claim 11. Dao further teaches wherein the first network function includes an Access and Mobility Function (AMF) (fig. 3A and par. 0039, teaches the ED 102 also connects to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 308 through a logical N1 connection (although the physical path of the connection is not direct). The AMF 308 is responsible for authentication and authorization of access requests, as well as mobility management functions), and the second network function includes a Session Management Function (SMF) (fig. 5 and pars. 0075-0076, teaches SMF 310 establishing the unstructured PDU session with the UPF 304. Which includes obtaining the QFI-IP Address mapping which may provide a one-to-one mapping between a set of IP Address or address prefixes and QFIs of one or more QoS flows of the unstructured PDU session. Wherein, the SMF 310, reads as a second network function of the mobile communication network within the context of fig. 3A and par. 0040, which teaches the Session Management Function (SMF) 310 is a network function that is responsible for the allocation and management of IP addresses that are assigned to a UE).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao), in view of Youn et al. (US20240015562 hereinafter Youn), in further view of Fan et al. (US20260230900 hereinafter Fan).
Regarding claim 13. Dao and Youn teaches the method for claim 12.
However, although Dao teaches QoS parameter information (par. 0070), the combination of Dao and Youn explicitly fails to disclose, the packet detection rules include QoS parameter information for each of the multiple QoS flows.
Fan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for QoS flows, so Fan is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Fan teaches the packet detection rules include QoS parameter information for each of the multiple QoS flows (par. 0141, teaches a QoS parameter of each QoS flow of a plurality of QoS flows used for XR service transmission and a packet detection rule (packet detection rule, PDR) corresponding to each QoS flow. Par. 0073, teaches quality of service (QoS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the packet detection rules include QoS parameter information for each of the multiple QoS flows, as disclosed by Fan with the combination of Dao and Youn. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce data transmission delay. (see Fan par. 0003)
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao), in view of Youn et al. (US20240015562 hereinafter Youn), in further view of Guo (US20210006421).
Regarding claim 14. Dao and Youn teaches the method for claim 12. Dao further teaches mapping, by the UPF (par. 0070, teaches the UPF 304 may subsequently generate the mapping between the assigned set of IP addresses and QoS flows (or QFIs) of the requested unstructured PDU session),
a received downlink packet to one of the multiple QoS flows based on the received packet detection rules (par. 0078, teaches upon receipt of the DL unstructured PDU packet from the DN 306, the UPF 304 can read the destination IP address and use it to map the DL unstructured PDU packet to the appropriate QoS flow based on the applicable QoS policy. Wherein, par. 0080, teaches the SMF 310 may send QoS policy information as part of the Packet Detection Rules to the UPF 304, which may include a new QoS rule and the assigned IP address. Thus, the UPF maps a received downlink packet to one of the multiple QoS flows based on the received packet detection rules);
and transmitting, by the UPF, the downlink packet to a device of the mobile communication network according to the mapped QoS flow (par. 0078, teaches the UPF 304 can read the destination IP address and use it to map the DL unstructured PDU packet to the appropriate QoS flow, before forwarding the DL unstructured PDU packet to the ED 102 based on the applicable QoS policy).
However, although Dao teaches transmitting, by the UPF (par. 0078), the combination of Dao and Youn explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, by the UPF, the downlink packet to a base station of the communication network.
Guo disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for transmitting, by the UPF, so Guo is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Guo teaches transmitting, by the UPF, the downlink packet to a base station of the communication network (fig. 1 and par. 0087, teaches the UPF transmits the downlink data to the AN. Wherein, fig. 2 and pars. 0004-0005, teaches the architecture of the communication network of this disclosure. Par. 0002, teaches User Plane Function (UPF) and Access Network function (AN)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, by the UPF, the downlink packet to a base station of the communication network, as disclosed by Guo with the combination of Dao and Youn. The motivations for doing so would be to improve network performance. (see Guo par. 0057)
Regarding claim 16. Dao, Youn, and Guo teaches the method for claim 14. Dao further teaches the transmitting step comprises: encapsulating the received downlink packet (par. 0078, teaches the UPF 304 receives DL unstructured PDU packet. Moreover, par. 0085, teaches the UPF 304 may map the DL packet to the QoS flow and encapsulate the DL packets in N3 tunnel format and sends it to (R)AN node 302 according to the QoS policy parameter); and transmitting the encapsulated downlink packet to the base station (par. 0085, teaches the UPF 304 may map the DL packet to the QoS flow and encapsulate the DL packets in N3 tunnel format and sends it to (R)AN node 302 according to the QoS policy parameter).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao), in view of Youn et al. (US20240015562 hereinafter Youn), in view of Guo (US20210006421), in further view of Xiong (US20220224646).
Regarding claim 15. Dao, Youn, and Guo teaches the method for claim 14. Dao further teaches the transmitting step comprises: transmitting the processed downlink packet (par. 0078, teaches the UPF 304 can read the destination IP address and use it to map the DL unstructured PDU packet to the appropriate QoS flow, before forwarding the DL unstructured PDU packet to the ED 102 based on the applicable QoS policy).
However, although Dao teaches transmitting, by the UPF (par. 0078), the combination of Dao and Youn explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, by the UPF, the downlink packet to a base station of the communication network.
Guo further teaches transmitting step comprises: performing … processing on the received downlink packet (fig. 1 and pars. 0100-0105, teaches the UPF receives any downlink data of the session and then the UPF adds the second QoS identifier to the packet header of the downlink data packet of the session, and the UPF subsequently transmits the downlink data to the AN. Wherein, the language “the UPF adds the second QoS identifier to the packet header of the downlink data packet of the session” reads as performing … processing); and transmitting the processed downlink packet to the base station (fig. 1 and par. 0087, teaches the UPF transmits the downlink data to the AN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the transmitting step comprises: performing … processing on the received downlink packet; and transmitting the processed downlink packet to the base station, as disclosed by Guo with the combination of Dao and Youn. The motivations for doing so would be to improve network performance. (see Guo par. 0057)
However, although Guo teaches performing … processing on the received downlink packet (fig. 1 and pars. 0100-0105), the combination of Dao, Youn, and Guo explicitly fails to disclose, performing network address translation processing on the received downlink packet; and transmitting the processed downlink packet.
Xiong disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for network address translation processing, so Xiong is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Xiong teaches performing network address translation processing on the received downlink packet (par. 0194, teaches the UPF performs matching in the packet processing rule and NAT translation, and the downlink packet is transmitted. Moreover, par. 0212, teaches the UPF perform matching, NAT translation, and steering operations on the uplink and downlink packets. Pars. 0005-0007, teaches user plane function (UPF) and network address translation (NAT)); and transmitting the processed downlink packet (par. 0194, teaches the UPF performs matching in the packet processing rule and NAT translation, and the downlink packet is transmitted by the UPF)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing network address translation processing on the received downlink packet; and transmitting the processed downlink packet, as disclosed by Xiong with the combination of Dao, Youn, and Guo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communications. (see Xiong pars. 0056-0061)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao), in view of Youn et al. (US20240015562 hereinafter Youn), in further view of Starsinic et al. (US20260205868 hereinafter Starsinic, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/430,880, filed Dec. 7, 2022 which fully supports all citations made from Starsinic in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 18. Dao and Youn teaches the method for claim 17.
However, although Dao teaches the QoS profile information (par. 0081, teaches the QoS Profile information for the new QoS flow to the (R)AN node 302 so that the (R)AN node 302 can process the UL and DL packets), the combination of Dao and Youn explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, by the base station, a received downlink packet to the user equipment according to a scheduling policy based on the QoS profile information.
Starsinic disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for QoS profile information, so Starsinic is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Starsinic teaches transmitting, by the base station, a received downlink packet to the user equipment according to a scheduling policy based on the QoS profile information (fig. 2 and pars. 0088-0090, teaches the RAN node receives (step 212) the DL data and PDUs from the UPF. Then, the RAN Node uses the determined PDU set-based Priority Level to determine (step 216) what network resources to use/schedule in transmitting (step 218) the PDU to a WTRU. Wherein, the PDU Set Importance Rules that are received by the RAN Node at step 206, may be included as part of a QoS Profile for a PDU Session from an SMF. Par. 0009, teaches user plane function (UPF), packet data unit (PDU) and par. 0021, teaches wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs), and radio access network (RAN)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, by the base station, a received downlink packet to the user equipment according to a scheduling policy based on the QoS profile information, as disclosed by Starsinic with the combination of Dao and Youn. The motivations for doing so would be to improve user experience. (see Starsinic par. 0009)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US20190132251 hereinafter Dao), in view of Youn et al. (US20240015562 hereinafter Youn), in view of Starsinic et al. (US20260205868 hereinafter Starsinic, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/430,880, filed Dec. 7, 2022 which fully supports all citations made from Starsinic in the rejection below), in further view of Pan et al. (US20190029057 hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 19. Dao, Youn, and Starsinic teaches the method for claim 18.
However, the combination of Dao and Youn explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting to the user equipment comprises: transmitting the received downlink packet to the user equipment.
Starsinic further teaches the transmitting to the user equipment comprises: transmitting the received downlink packet to the user equipment (fig. 2 and pars. 0088-0090, teaches the RAN node receives (step 212) the DL data and PDUs from the UPF. Then, the RAN Node uses the determined PDU set-based Priority Level to determine (step 216) what network resources to use/schedule in transmitting (step 218) the PDU to a WTRU. Wherein, the PDU Set Importance Rules that are received by the RAN Node at step 206, may be included as part of a QoS Profile for a PDU Session from an SMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the transmitting to the user equipment comprises: transmitting the received downlink packet to the user equipment, as disclosed by Starsinic with the combination of Dao and Youn. The motivations for doing so would be to improve user experience. (see Starsinic par. 0009)
However, although Starsinic teaches transmitting the received downlink packet to the user equipment (fig. 2 and pars. 0088-0090), the combination of Dao, Youn, and Starsinic explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting the received downlink packet to the user equipment using a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) corresponding to the QoS flow mapped to the received downlink packet among multiple DRBs that the base station mapped to each of the multiple QoS flows after the PDU session was established.
Pan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a Data Radio Bearer (DRB), so Pan is analogous to Dao. Furthermore, Pan teaches transmitting the received downlink packet to the user equipment using a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) (par. 0392, teaches when a QoS flow is initiated by the core network (e.g. SMF), the core network provides a QoS profile related to the QoS flow to the gNB. Moreover, DL traffic belonging to the Evolved Packet System (EPS) bearer arrives on the EUTRAN base station, the EUTRAN base station use the DRB to transmit the DL traffic to the LTE UE) corresponding to the QoS flow mapped to the received downlink packet among multiple DRBs that the base station mapped to each of the multiple QoS flows after the PDU session was established (par. 0052-0053, teaches in the downlink, the NG-RAN maps QoS Flows to DRBs based on NG-U marking (QoS Flow ID) and the associated QoS profiles. Wherein, he NG-RAN may control the mapping of a PDU Session observed in the downlink packets for that DRB. Moreover, par. 0059, teaches within each PDU session, is up to NG-RAN how to map multiple QoS flows to a DRB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting the received downlink packet to the user equipment using a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) corresponding to the QoS flow mapped to the received downlink packet among multiple DRBs that the base station mapped to each of the multiple QoS flows after the PDU session was established, as disclosed by Pan with the combination of Dao, Youn, and Starsinic. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce signaling overhead. (see Pan par. 0369)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474