The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of November 22, 2024 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on November 22, 2024. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is considered indefinite because if the language is unclear if the strap attaches the top to the head or if the strap connects both the head and the top to the container.
Claim 14 is considered indefinite because the language is unclear as to the meaning of “shaped like”.
Claim 15 is considered indefinite because the claim has not previously set forth that the top of the container has a base or that the base is circular.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huff (USPN 3439449).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Huff (USPN 3439449) teaches a device for transferring floating biomass, the device comprising: a container (container, vessel or tank 10) for holding said floating biomass and fluid (algae and culture water) and comprising at least two orifices (conduits 20, 21), wherein said at least two orifices are horizontally aligned (as seen in the lone Figure) The language “for flowing carrier fluid through at least one of said horizontally aligned orifices to stream at least a portion of a top layer of said floating biomass out of said container and through at least one other of said horizontally aligned orifices, thereby transferring at least one layer portion of said floating biomass from said container out of said container” is considered to be a recitation of the manner in which the device is to be operated. Such recitations do not limit the structure of the device. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, the angle between two horizontally aligned orifices, as viewed from above, is between 90-180 degrees. The conduits appear to be 180 degrees apart.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, the container comprises a tank (10) and a top (door 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huff as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Howell (USPN 5518343).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Huff teaches a head (cover 12) attached between the tank and the top, yet fails to teach the head is a truncated cone shape. Howell (USPN 5518343) teaches a container (housing 22) having a truncated cone shaped head (conical top 28) between the container and a top (pipe 46). Further, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the head in a truncated cone shape as engineering expedient to transition from the diameter of the tank to the diameter of the top.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huff in view of Howell as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lockhart (USPN 2049847).
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Huff teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach a strap that attaches the head and the top. Lockhart (USPN 2049847) teaches a strap (clamping ring 6) that attaches a cover (3) to a drum (1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a strap that attaches the head and the top since the elements were known in the art and one of ordinary skill, using known methods, could have combined the elements and achieved predictable results. The strap would allow quick removal of the top.
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huff.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Huff teaches the top (door 16) that is dome shaped (as seen in the Figure), yet fails to teach the top is shaped like a circular dome. Further, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to shape the top like a circular dome as engineering expedient. A circular dome would have similar geometric features to other features of the tank (such as domes 14).
Regarding Claim(s) 15, Huff teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach a circular base of the top has a diameter of between 20 mm to 80 mm. Huff discloses the container need not have any specific shape or size [Col. 4:39-41]. Further, a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Absent evidence of the criticality of the claimed dimensions, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a circular base of the top having a diameter of between 20 mm to 80 mm as engineering expedient. The shape and size would determine the volume of the interior of the container.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to anticipate or fairly suggest elevating a fluid level of a fluid in a container to a height of at least one of horizontally aligned orifices and flowing a carrier fluid to stream a top layer of floating biomass through the other orifice, combined with the rest of the claim language. DE 102010026345 B3 teaches elevating a fluid level in a container to cause a top layer of floating biomass to flow over an overflow edge, but fails to teach orifices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE102010026345 B3 discloses a container having an overflow edge, where the liquid level is increase to move biomass from the container.
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653