DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first device" which makes the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the first device” is the same as “a terminal device” recited in the preamble or a wholly new first/terminal device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0179667 A1 herein Zheng.
Claim 1, Zheng discloses a sidelink positioning method (Title, Method), the method comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a configuration parameter of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) (0042; 0044, the first terminal acquires the time-frequency resource configuration parameter of the SL PRS before transmission), wherein the first SL PRS occupies a part or all of an SL PRS resource (0046-0048, the first resource is determined from at least one of a first preset dedicated resource set and a PSSCH resource set; 0105; FIG. 5, a plurality of first terminals reuse the same dedicated resource set with their resources kept orthogonal, each terminal thus occupying part of the set; 0130; FIG. 8, only the SL PRS is mapped to the first preset dedicated resource set);
wherein the configuration parameter is used to indicate one or more of following information:
a frequency domain resource, used for transmitting the first SL PRS, in the SL PRS resource (0055, frequency domain pattern configuration information; 0063; FIG. 2, comb size information comprising a comb size, a start mapping RE location of each PRB of a start symbol, and a mapping offset at an RE granularity on each symbol, the example being comb size 4, start index=0, offsets {0, 2, 1, 3}); or an SL PRS sequence of the first SL PRS.
Claim 2, Zheng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein if the configuration parameter is used to indicate the frequency domain resource for the first SL PRS, the configuration parameter comprises a first frequency domain offset value corresponding to a resource used for transmitting an SL PRS on a reference time domain unit of the SL PRS resource; and/or a comb size corresponding to the first SL PRS transmitted in the SL PRS resource (0063, comb size information includes a comb size and start mapping RE location of each PRB of a start symbol).
Claim 3, Zheng discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein if the configuration parameter comprises the first frequency domain offset value, the reference time domain unit is an earliest time domain unit in time domain units comprised in the SL PRS resource (0063; FIG. 2, the start mapping RE location is given on the start symbol, the 1st symbol).
Claim 4, Zheng discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the SL PRS resource further comprises a first time domain unit used for transmitting the first SL PRS, and a frequency domain offset value corresponding to a resource used for transmitting the first SL PRS in the first time domain unit is determined based on the first frequency domain offset value and/or a first parameter, wherein the first parameter is used to indicate a quantity of time domain units between the reference time domain unit and the first time domain unit in the SL PRS resource (0063; FIG. 2, a mapping offset at an RE granularity on each symbol, the offsets on four symbols being {0, 2, 1, 3} with the start symbol at index=0 and the pattern on the left of FIG. 2 obtained by offsetting the pattern on the right, a given symbol's offset thus following from the start-symbol location and that symbol's position after it).
Claim 5, Zheng discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein if the configuration parameter is used to indicate the comb size corresponding to the first SL PRS, the comb size is used to indicate a frequency domain spacing between two adjacent SL PRSs transmitted but e terminal device in the SL PRS resource (0063; FIG. 2, the frequency domain pattern is comb size information, the example being a comb size of 4 with a start mapping RE location of index=0, the comb size thus setting the frequency domain spacing of the terminal's SL PRS REs).
Claim 6, Zheng discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the configuration parameter belongs to a configuration parameter set, and the configuration parameter set comprises a candidate value of one or more configuration parameters (0052; 0061, the time-frequency resource configuration parameter includes at least one of the configuration information items, each item therefore a candidate; 0055; 0063, the frequency domain pattern information supplying the comb size is one such item, comb size 4 in the example).
Claim 7, Zheng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration parameter is used to indicate a comb size corresponding to the first SL PRS (0055; 0063, comb size information), and the comb size is determined by one or more of following manners: selection from a configuration parameter set by the terminal device (0062, each parameter is RRC configured, preconfigured, or determined based on information about the first terminal), or indication from the configuration parameter set by a network device.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Zheng discloses a terminal device (Title, Apparatus), and comprising: a processor and a memory (0274; 0275 processing element and a memory holding the module as program code, the processing element being a CPU), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (0274, the module is stored in the memory as program code), and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory (0274, the processing element invokes the program code and executes the module's function).
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of US 2022/0201774 A1 herein Bao.
Claim 8, Zheng discloses a sidelink positioning method (Title, Method), the method comprising:
a configuration parameter of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) to a terminal device (0042; 0044, the first terminal acquires the time-frequency resource configuration parameter of the SL PRS before transmission), wherein the first SL PRS occupies a part or all of an SL PRS resource (0046-0048, the first resource is determined from at least one of a first preset dedicated resource set and a PSSCH resource set; 0105; FIG. 5, a plurality of first terminals reuse the same dedicated resource set with their resources kept orthogonal, each terminal thus occupying part of the set; 0130; FIG. 8, only the SL PRS is mapped to the first preset dedicated resource set);
wherein the configuration parameter is used to indicate one or more of following information:
a frequency domain resource, used for transmitting the first SL PRS, in the SL PRS resource (0055; 0063; FIG. 2, comb size information comprising a comb size, a start mapping RE location of each PRB of a start symbol, and a per-symbol RE offset); or an SL PRS sequence of the first SL PRS.
Zheng may not explicitly disclose sending, by a network device, a configuration parameter of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) to a terminal device.
Bao discloses sending, by a network device, a configuration parameter of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) to a terminal device (0072; 0076, the TRP and the server each hold a UE-UE PRS unit that provides SL PRS configuration data to the UEs; 0110; FIG. 7, each sends an SL PRS-related data message to the target UE carrying a transmission pattern with offsets and comb number; 0103; 0106, in mode 1 the serving TRP provides the PRS configuration parameters and its pattern is given priority). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng to include a network device sending the SL PRS configuration parameter to the terminal device, as taught by Bao, so as to help improve reception and measurement of the SL PRS (0104).
Claim 9, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 10, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 11, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 12, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 13, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 14, Zheng in view of Bao discloses the method according to claim 9. Zheng may not explicitly disclose wherein: the network device is an access network device or a core network device. Bao discloses wherein: the network device is an access network device or a core network device (0110; 0121, the target UE receives the data from at least one of a base station or a server; 0036; 0074, the LMF sits in the 5G Core Network and is the server). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng to include a network device sending the SL PRS configuration parameter to the terminal device, as taught by Bao, so as to help improve reception and measurement of the SL PRS (0104).
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 8. Bao discloses a network device (0070, the TRP is a base station), and comprising: a transceiver (0070; 0071, a wireless and a wired transceiver, each with a transmitter and receiver), a memory (0070, memory storing software), and a processor (0070, a processor coupled to the memory and transceiver by a bus), wherein the memory is configured to store a program (0070, the software is executable code that causes the processor to perform the described functions), and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory and control the transceiver to send and receive a signal (0070; 0072, the processor executes the stored software and with the transceiver forms the UE-UE PRS unit that provides SL PRS-related data to the UEs).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230397150 A1 –Disclosed are a method for transmitting a response PRS, the method comprising the steps of: receiving slot configuration information for configuration of a plurality of slot groups related to the PRS; receiving a request PRS for requesting transmission of the response PRS in one slot group among the plurality of slot groups; and transmitting the response PRS and positioning information on the basis of the slot configuration information, wherein the response PRS is transmitted in a second slot determined on the basis of the slot configuration information and a position of a first slot, in which the request PRS has been received, from among a plurality of slots included in the one slot group, and whether the positioning information is transmitted with the response PRS in the second slot is determined on the basis of whether the first slot and the second slot are continuous in a time domain.
US 20220338213 A1 – Aspects relate to signaling at least one relaying parameter for a wireless communication device that supports relaying operations. In some examples, the wireless communication device may send such a relaying parameter to a scheduling entity. The scheduling entity may then schedule a relaying operation for the wireless communication device based on the relaying parameter. For example, the scheduling entity may select the resources to be used for the relaying operation based on the relaying parameter. In some examples, a relaying parameter may indicate one or more of a relaying capability of a wireless communication device, an operational condition (e.g., requirement) for relaying by a wireless communication device, a relaying configuration for a wireless communication device, or a combination thereof.
Conclusion
/Mehmood B. Khan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463
MEHMOOD B. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463