Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abe et al. (US 2021/0161004).
Regarding claim 1, Abe teaches an elastic circuit board comprising a laminate stack (Abe abstract; Fig. 1; para 51-57). The laminate comprises stretchable wiring layer composed of resin materials such as rubbers (3, corresponds to a resin layer (A)) and a land part that is a good conductor (2, corresponds to a conductive layer (B)) (Abe Fig. 1; para 37, 40-43, and 51). The conductive layer (B) is buried via connection portion (item 5) in the resin layer (A) and exposed on any one surface of the resin layer (A), such as a side surface (Abe Fig. 1; para 51).
Regarding claim 2, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches the conductive layer (B) contains copper or silver (Abe para 37-39).
Regarding claim 3, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches the land part (conductive layer (B)) may be composed of copper foil or conductive particles such as silver or copper (Abe para 37-39) which corresponds to non-stretchable conductive materials according to Applicant’s specification (Applicant’s specification: para 31). Thus, the land part may be considered non-stretchable.
Regarding claim 6, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches a second landing part (2, a second conductive layer B’) which is buried in the resin layer (A) (item 3) and is exposed on a surface of said resin layer (A) opposite to a surface of the conductive layer (B) is exposed (Abe see adapted Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 7, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 6. Abe further teaches the land part (2, second conductive layer (B’)) may be composed of copper foil or conductive particles such as silver or copper (Abe para 37-39) which corresponds to non-stretchable conductive materials according to Applicant’s specification (Applicant’s specification: para 31). Thus, the land part may be considered non-stretchable.
Regarding claim 8, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches a second landing part (2, a second conductive layer B’) which is on a surface of said resin layer (A) (item 3) opposite to a surface of the conductive layer (B) is exposed (Abe see adapted Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 9, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 8. Abe further teaches the land part (2, second conductive layer (B’)) may be composed of copper foil or conductive particles such as silver or copper and may also be mixed with a stretchable resin such as acrylic or silicone or epoxy resins (Abe para 37-39) which corresponds to stretchable conductive materials according to Applicant’s specification (Applicant’s specification: para 31). Thus, the land part may be considered stretchable.
Regarding claim 10, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 8. Abe further teaches the landing part (2, corresponds to the conductive layer (B)) and the second conductive layer (B’) are conductive (Abe para 37-39).
Regarding claim 11, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 8. Abe further teaches a reinforcing layer (11, corresponds to a second resin layer (A’)) that is located on the resin layer (A) (item 3), wherein the second conductive layer (B’) is buried in the second resin layer (A’) as shown in Fig. 7 as it is embedded within said second resin layer (A’), and a third conductive layer (B’’, the third and middle landing part (2)) on a side opposite to a surface in which the conductive layer (B’) is buried as they are sandwiching a portion of said second resin layer (A’) (Abe Fig. 7; para 64, 66, and 68).
Regarding claim 12, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches the laminate may further comprise a stretchable base material (1, a support substrate) (Abe Fig. 1; para 50).
Regarding claim 13, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches the laminate may have a protective layer (10) (Abe Fig. 6; para 62).
Regarding claim 14, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches the laminate may be used in conjunction with an electronic circuit board (an electronic component) and may be implemented into a device (Abe abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Abe as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Abe teaches the laminate required by claim 1. Abe further teaches the stretchable wiring (resin layer (A)) may have a stretchability of 50% or more and a tensile modulus (tensile stress) is from 0.5 MPa to 0.5 GPa, which overlaps with the claimed elongation after fracture and the claimed tensile stress (Abe para 28-31). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Additionally/alternatively, the resin layer (the stretchable wiring) may be composed of the same materials and have overlapping thicknesses with those disclosed in Applicant’s specification. Thus, the resin layer (A) would be expected to exhibit the same elongation and tensile stress properties required by the claim (Abe para 40-48 and Applicant’s specification: para 23 and 25). When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 9/30/26