DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “The device” should be replaced with --The chip-- Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2-15 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of US Patent No.10,985,082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-25 of US Patent No. 10,985,082 encompasses the limitations of claims 2-15 of instant application. Moreover, omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is well settled that the omission of an element and its functions is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements performs the same function as before In re Karison, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 uspq 375 (Bd. App. 1969).
More specifically, the independent claims 2-15 of the present application are same scope, same function and same results as claims 1-25 of the US Patent No. 10,985,082. In addition, even though the claims of present application omitted or simply rearranged claimed structure, or added the limitation using similar claimed elements, the function and results of claimed invention of the US Patent No. 10,985,082 is same as claimed invention of the present application.
In addition, the independent claim 2 of the present application is the same invention as the independent claim 1 of the US Patent No. 10,985,082. The subject matter in the instant application is fully disclosed in the US Patent No. 10,985,082 and is covered by the US Patent No. 10,985,082 since the US Patent No. 10,985,082 and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows, and the difference of the limitations are wordings differently.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 10,985,082, Application No. 17/007,614
2. A chip for transmitting or receiving data, comprising:
a layered structure comprising a first material; and
a second material that is different than said first material,
wherein said second material has an average value of thermal conductivity greater than or equal to 1,000 Watts per meter Kelvin (W/mK), and
wherein said layered structure and said second material are configured to permit said chip to transmit or receive said data at a transfer rate of at least 500 megabits per second.
1. A device for transmitting or receiving signals, comprising:
a layered structure comprising a first material; and
a substrate adjacent to said layered structure, which substrate comprises a second material that is different than said first material,
wherein said second material has an average value of thermal conductivity greater than or equal to about 1,000 Watts per meter Kelvin (W/mK), and wherein said layered structure and said substrate are configured to permit said device to amplify said signals and generate an output power of at least about 0.1 nano Watts (nW).
8. The device of claim 1, wherein said layered structure and said substrate are configured to permit said device to transmit or receive said signals at an average transfer rate of at least about 100 megabits per second.
3. The device of claim 2, wherein said layered structure and said substrate are configured to permit said device to transmit or receive said signals having a bandwidth of at least 50 mega Hertz (MHz) at a threshold frequency.
6. The device of claim 1, wherein said layered structure and said substrate are configured to permit said device to transmit or receive said signals having a bandwidth of at least about 10 mega Hertz (MHz) at a threshold frequency.
4. The device of claim 3, wherein said threshold frequency is at least 1 giga Hertz (GHz).
7. The device of claim 6, wherein said threshold frequency is at least about 500 mega Hertz (MHz).
5. The device of claim 2, wherein said second material exhibits a sp3 carbon peak at 1332 wavenumbers (cm-1) having a full width half maximum less than or equal to 5.0 cm-1 as measured by Raman spectroscopy.
13. The device of claim 1, wherein said second material exhibits an sp3 carbon peak at about 1332 wavenumbers (cm.sup.−1) having a full width half maximum less than or equal to about 5.0 cm.sup.−1 as measured by Raman spectroscopy.
6. The device of claim 2, wherein said second material exhibits said sp3 carbon peak which is equal to or greater than 10% of a local background intensity.
15. The device of claim 13, wherein said second material exhibits said sp3 carbon peak which is equal to or greater than about 10% of a local background intensity.
7. The device of claim 2, wherein said second material comprises diamond.
17. The device of claim 1, wherein said second material comprises diamond.
8. The device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises a semiconductor.
18. The device of claim 1, wherein said first material comprises a semiconductor.
9. The device of claim 8, wherein said semiconductor is a wide-bandgap semiconductor.
19. The device of claim 18, wherein said semiconductor is a wide-bandgap semiconductor.
10. The device of claim 8, wherein said semiconductor comprises silicon.
20. The device of claim 18, wherein said semiconductor comprises silicon.
11. The device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of GaN, AIN, InGaN, InAIN, AIGaN, InGaAIN, Ga2O3, and derivatives or combinations of thereof.
21. The device of claim 1, wherein said layered structure comprises a material selected from the group consisting of GaN, AlN, InGaN, InAlN, AlGaN, InGaAlN, Ga2O3, ScAlN, and derivatives or combinations of thereof.
12. The device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises gallium and nitrogen.
22. The device of claim 1, wherein said first material comprises gallium and nitrogen.
13. The device of claim 2, further comprising a transistor comprising said second material.
23. The device of claim 1, further comprising a transistor that comprises said layered structure.
15. The chip of claim 2, wherein said second material comprises silicon.
20. The device of claim 18, wherein said semiconductor comprises silicon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922), and further in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521).
Regarding claim 2, Aulnette teaches a chip for transmitting or receiving data, comprising: a layered structure comprising a first material; and a second material that is different than said first material (claim 6; Paragraphs [0015, 0019, and 0074], especially paragraph [0074]……..a method provides an efficient sequence of steps to produce a semiconductor structure which has a top layer of a second material having material characteristics that are different from the substrate of a first material), but does not specifically teach wherein said second material has an average value of thermal conductivity greater than or equal to 1,000 Watts per meter Kelvin (W/mK), and wherein said layered structure and said second material are configured to permit said chip to transmit or receive said data at a transfer rate of at least 500 megabits per second.
However, in related art, Twitchen teaches wherein said second material has an average value of thermal conductivity greater than or equal to 1,000 Watts per meter Kelvin (W/mK) (Claims 6 and 7; Paragraph [0048]), especially claim 6……a semiconductor device component according to claim 1, wherein the surface layer has an average thermal conductivity no less than 400 W/mK, 600 W/mK, 800 W/mK, 1000 W/mK, 1200 W/mK, 1400 W/mK, 1600 W/mK, 1800 W/mK, 2000 W/mK, 2200 W/mK, 2400 W/mK, 2600 W/mK, 2800 W/mK, or 3000 W/mK). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Twitchen’s teaching about wherein said second material has an average value of thermal conductivity greater than or equal to 1,000 Watts per meter Kelvin (W/mK) with Aulnette’s invention in order to effectively transfer heat from the semiconductor device during operation.
The combination of Aulnette and Twitchen fail to teach wherein said layered structure and said second material are configured to permit said chip to transmit or receive said data at a transfer rate of at least 500 megabits per second.
However, in related art, Hsu teaches wherein said layered structure and said second material are configured to permit said chip to transmit or receive said data at a transfer rate of at least 500 megabits per second (Paragraphs [0002-0004]), especially Paragraph [0004]…… SerDes cores are intended primarily for providing chip-to-chip, and card-to-card interconnection, having transmitter and/or receiver units that operate at signal switching speeds above about 500 MHz, at data rates from above about 500 megabits per second (Mbs) up to many gigabits per second (Gbs)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Hsu’s teaching about wherein said layered structure and said second material are configured to permit said chip to transmit or receive said data at a transfer rate of at least 500 megabits per second with Aulnette’s and Twitchen’s invention so that more efficient and highly reliable communication can be realized.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Hsu teaches the device of claim 2, wherein said layered structure and said substrate are configured to permit said device to transmit or receive said signals having a bandwidth of at least 50 mega Hertz (MHz) at a threshold frequency (Paragraphs [0002-0004]), especially Paragraph [0004]…… SerDes cores are intended primarily for providing chip-to-chip, and card-to-card interconnection, having transmitter and/or receiver units that operate at signal switching speeds above about 500 MHz (at least 50 MHz or more), at data rates from above about 500 megabits per second (Mbs) up to many gigabits per second (Gbs)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu teach all the claimed elements in claim 3. In addition, Hsu teaches the device of claim 3, wherein said threshold frequency is at least 1 giga Hertz (GHz) (Paragraphs [0002-0004]), especially Paragraph [0004]…… SerDes cores are intended primarily for providing chip-to-chip, and card-to-card interconnection, having transmitter and/or receiver units that operate at signal switching speeds above about 500 MHz (at least 50 MHz or more), at data rates from above about 500 megabits per second (Mbs) up to many gigabits per second (Gbs)) (threshold frequency is at least 1 giga Hertz (GHz) or more).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Aulnette teaches the device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises a semiconductor (See abstract; Paragraphs [0076 and 0012-0020]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Aulnette teaches the device of claim 8, wherein said semiconductor comprises silicon (Paragraphs [0003-0004).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Aulnette teaches the chip of claim 2, wherein said second material comprises silicon (Paragraphs [0003-0010, 0015, and 0075]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521), and further in view of Pinneo (US Patent #6,656,444).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu fail to teach the device of claim 2, wherein said second material exhibits a sp3 carbon peak at 1332 wavenumbers (cm-1) having a full width half maximum less than or equal to 5.0 cm-1 as measured by Raman spectroscopy.
However, in related art, Pinno teaches the device of claim 2, wherein said second material exhibits a sp3 carbon peak at 1332 wavenumbers (cm-1) having a full width half maximum less than or equal to 5.0 cm-1 as measured by Raman spectroscopy (Col 4, lines 53-63……..One means of establishing purity of a CVD diamond material, and a means commonly employed in the art, is through use of Raman spectroscopy. So measured, the Raman signature of commercially useful CVD diamond shows an sp.sup.3 (diamond-bonded carbon) peak having a full width at half maximum value of 12 wavenumbers or less, and exhibits non-sp.sup.3 features of intensity less than 50% of the sp.sup.3 peak intensity in the wavenumber region from 1200 cm-1 to 1700 cm-1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Pinno’s teaching about wherein said second material exhibits a sp3 carbon peak at 1332 wavenumbers (cm-1) having a full width half maximum less than or equal to 5.0 cm-1 as measured by Raman spectroscopy with Aulnette’s, Twitchen’s, and Hsu’s invention in order to determine the species of carbon allotropes present, and their degree of order.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521), and further in view of Mcclymont (US 2016/0250691).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu fail to teach the device of claim 2, wherein said second material exhibits said sp3 carbon peak which is equal to or greater than 10% of a local background intensity.
However, in related art, Mcclymont teaches the device of claim 2, wherein said second material exhibits said sp3 carbon peak which is equal to or greater than 10% of a local background intensity (See abstract; Paragraphs [0024, 0042, 0052, 0076, and 0088]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Mcclymont’s teaching about wherein said second material exhibits said sp3 carbon peak which is equal to or greater than 10% of a local background intensity with Aulnette’s, Twitchen’s, and Hsu’s invention in order to achieve minimum thermal resistance.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521), and further in view of Teo et al. (US 2017/0018639).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu fail to teach the device of claim 2, wherein said second material comprises diamond.
However, in related art, Teo teaches the device of claim 2, wherein said second material comprises diamond (See abstract; Paragraphs [0009-0011 and 0033-0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Teo’s teaching about wherein said second material comprises diamond with Aulnette’s, Twitchen’s, and Hsu’s invention in order to achieve efficient heat spreading.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521), and further in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2018/0308838).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu fail to teach the device of claim 8, wherein said semiconductor is a wide-bandgap
semiconductor.
However, in related art, Nakamura teaches the device of claim 8, where said semiconductor is a wide-bandgap semiconductor (Paragraph [0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Nakamura’s teaching about where said semiconductor is a wide-bandgap semiconductor with Aulnette’s, Twitchen’s, and Hsu’s invention in order to minimize conductivity during poling of the film.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521), and further in view of Ejeckam et al. (US 2018/0269130).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu fail to teach the device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of GaN, AIN, InGaN, InAIN, AIGaN, InGaAIN, Ga2O3, and derivatives or combinations of thereof.
However, in related art, Ejeckam teaches the device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of GaN, AIN, InGaN, InAIN, AIGaN, InGaAIN, Ga2O3, and derivatives or combinations of thereof (See abstract; Paragraphs [0015, 0030, and 0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ejeckam’s teaching about wherein said first material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of GaN, AIN, InGaN, InAIN, AIGaN, InGaAIN, Ga2O3, and derivatives or combinations of thereof with Aulnette’s, Twitchen’s, and Hsu’s invention in order to optimize the thermal properties.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521), and further in view of Raring et al. (US Patent #9,653,642).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu fail to teach the device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises gallium and nitrogen.
However, in related art, Raring teaches the device of claim 2, wherein said first material comprises gallium and nitrogen (Col 1, lines 15-17; Col 4, lines 15-38; Col 4, lines 50-59; Col 5, line 52-Col 6, line 7; Col 6, line 54-Col 7, line 31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Raring’s teaching about wherein said first material comprises gallium and nitrogen with Aulnette’s, Twitchen’s, and Hsu’s invention in order to improve performance (See Raring, Col 6, lines 54-57).
Claim 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aulnette et al. (US 2004/0150006) in view of Twitchen (US 2015/0294922) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0180521), and further in view of Pidin (US 2006/0214241).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, and Hsu fail to teach the device of claim 2, further comprising a transistor comprising said second material.
However, in related art, Pidin teaches the device of claim 2, further comprising a transistor comprising said second material (Paragraph [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Pidin’s teaching about transistor comprising said second material with Aulnette’s, Twitchen’s, and Hsu’s invention in order to enhance the performance of the device.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Aulnette, Twitchen, Hsu, and Pidin teach all the claimed elements in claim 13. In addition, Pidin teaches the chip of claim 13, wherein said transistor has a feature size less than 40 nanometers (nm) (Paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Larsen (US Patent #12,456,803), Van Rooyen et al. (US 2024/0170102), Zhamu et al. (US 2019/0292671), Ghandi et al. (US 2019/0245035), Chen et al. (US 2019/0164859), Wu (US 2019/0123103), Mcginty et al. (US 2019/0104650), Cho et al. (US 2019/0035995), Chen et al. (US 2018/0337125), Rantala et al. (US 2018/0212113), Bitz et al. (US 2018/0130773), Eshraghi et al. ( US Patent #9,791,551), Muller et al. (US 2017/0054271), Dodson et al. (US 2016/0320534), Huang et al. (US Patent #9,425,363), Jiang et al. (US 2016/0233370), Nasser-Faili (US 2016/0197027), Mollart et al. (US 2016/0186362), Park et al. (US Patent #9,221,683), Im et al. (US 2015/0340630), Pickles et al. (US 2015/0315700), Sankaran et al. (US 2015/0274534), Grankin et al. (US 2014/0369323), Lundberg (US 2014/0159231), Avramescu et al. (US 2014/0146842), Kub et al. (US 2014/0110722), Shiota et al. (US 2013/0240912), Pettus et al. (US Patent #8,477,070), Chang et al. (US 2013/0140637), Pyeon (US 2013/0068509), Litgen et al. (US 2013/0039374), Batres et al. (US 2012/0199841), Nishimura et al. (US 2012/0153342), and Higuma et al. (US 2012/0112236).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132