Detailed Action
This is the first office action on the merits for US application number 18/956,985.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/607,222 filed on October 28, 2021.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 line 15 should read “to lock the jaw members”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “release member” in claims 1, 12, and 17.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 1 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 1 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 1
A surgical rotational tool driver comprising:
A surgical rotational tool driver comprising:
a substantially hollow shaft having a proximal end and a distal end;
a driveline having a proximal end connectable to a rotational power tool for applying torque through the driveline and a distal end opposite the proximal end; and
a driveline extending within the hollow shaft, the driveline having: a proximal end connectable to a rotational power tool for applying torque through the driveline; and
a head part coupled to the distal end of the driveline, the head part including:
a head part extending distally from the distal end of the shaft, the head part including connection features for connecting to a connection member of a surgical rotational tool, the head part having an axis of rotation for rotation of the surgical rotational tool on rotation of the driveline, the connection features of the head part comprising: a housing;
a first jaw member and a second jaw member, wherein each jaw member is movable between an open position to allow attachment of a surgical rotational tool to the head part and a closed position to retain the attachment of the surgical rotation tool to the head part, and
a pair of jaw members, each jaw member including a pair of jaws for receiving the connection member of the surgical rotational tool, wherein each jaw member is pivotally mounted on the housing for rotation about an axis substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the head part between: a first position for receipt of the connection member within the jaws of each jaw member; and a second position for retaining the connection member within the jaws of each jaw member to prevent removal of the surgical rotation tool from the surgical rotational tool driver; and
a locking mechanism including: a pair of ramps for engaging with a respective catch of each jaw member to lock the jaw members in the closed position,
a locking mechanism comprising: a pair of ramps for engaging with a respective catch of each jaw member to lock the jaw members in the second position,
a release member slideably moveable to release the ramps of the locking mechanism from the respective catches of the jaw members to allow the jaw members to return to the open position, and
a release member slideably moveable within the housing to release the ramps of the locking mechanism from the respective catches of the jaw members to allow the jaw members to return to the first position for removal of the surgical rotational tool from the surgical rotational tool driver; and
a leaf spring having a first end configured to bias the first jaw member to the open position and a second end configured to bias the second jaw member to the open position.
a biasing element mounted on the housing for biasing the jaw members toward the first position, wherein the biasing element includes a leaf spring having a first end for biasing a first of the jaw members and a second end for biasing a second of the jaw members.
Claims 3-5 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 3-5 are drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 2 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claims 3-5
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 2
3. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 1, wherein each ramp of the locking mechanism is attached to an opposing side of the release member and includes:
2. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 1, wherein the ramps of the locking mechanism each comprise:
a ramped surface extending laterally from the corresponding side of the release member, and
a ramped surface extending laterally from the release member; and
a retaining surface located at an end of the corresponding ramped surface.
a retaining surface located at an end of the ramped surface,
4. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 3, wherein the catches of the jaw members are configured to ride on the ramped surface of the respective ramp as the jaw members are moved from the open position to the closed position.
wherein the catches of the jaw members are operable to ride along the ramped surface as the jaw members pivot from the first position to the second position and
5. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 4, wherein the catches of the jaw members are configured to engage the retaining surface of the respective ramp when the catches reach an end of the ramped surface of the respective ramp.
engage with the retaining surfaces when they reach the end of the ramped surface to lock the jaw members in the second position.
Claim 6 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 6 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 3 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 6
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 3
The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 5, wherein the release member is slideably movable to disengage the catches of the jaw members from the retaining surface of the respective ramp to allow the jaw members to return to the open position.
The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 2, wherein the release member is slideably moveable within the housing to disengage the catches of the jaw members from the retaining surfaces of the ramps on the release member.
Claim 7 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 7 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 6 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 7
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 5
The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 1, wherein head part has an axis of rotation for rotation of the surgical rotational tool and further includes a housing, wherein each jaw member is pivotally mounted on the housing, and
The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 1,
(From claim 1:
the head part having an axis of rotation for rotation of the surgical rotational tool on rotation of the driveline, the connection features of the head part comprising: a housing;…. wherein each jaw member is pivotally mounted on the housing for rotation about an axis substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the head part between:)
wherein the locking mechanism further includes a biasing element located within the housing and configured to bias the release member along the axis of rotation of the head part in a distal direction.
wherein the locking mechanism further comprises a biasing element located within the housing for biasing the release member along the axis of rotation of the head part in a distal direction.
Claim 8 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 8 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 8 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 8
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 8
The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 1, wherein the driveline is substantially hollow, and wherein the locking mechanism further comprises an actuation member extending within the substantially hollow driveline, wherein a distal end of the actuation member is attached to the release member, and wherein the actuation member is connected to the locking mechanism for operating the release member from a position on the surgical rotational tool driver located proximally with respect to the head part.
The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 1, wherein the driveline is substantially hollow, and wherein the locking mechanism further comprises an actuation member extending within the substantially hollow driveline, wherein a distal end of the actuation member is attached to the release member, and wherein the actuation member is connected to the release mechanism for operating the release member from a position on the surgical rotational tool driver located proximally with respect to the head part.
Claim 9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 9 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 12 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 9
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 12
9. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 8, wherein the actuation member comprises a substantially flexible tension member.
The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 8, wherein the actuation member comprises a substantially flexible tension member.
Claim 12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 12 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 16 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 12
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 16
A method of operating a surgical rotational tool driver, the method comprising:
A method of operating a surgical rotational tool driver, the method comprising:
connecting a head part of the surgical rotation tool driver to a surgical rotation tool, the head part including
connecting one or more connection features of a head part of a driveline of a surgical rotational tool driver to a connection member of a surgical rotational tool, the surgical rotational tool driver comprising: a substantially hollow shaft having a proximal end and a distal end; the driveline extending within the hollow shaft, the driveline having: a proximal end connectable to a rotational power tool for applying torque through the driveline; and said head part extending distally from the distal end of the shaft, the head part having an axis of rotation for rotation of the surgical rotational tool on rotation of the driveline, the connection features of the head part comprising: a housing;
(i) a pair of jaw members movable between an open position to allow attachment of a surgical rotational tool to the head part and a closed position to retain the attachment of the surgical rotation tool to the head part and
a pair of jaw members, each jaw member including a pair of jaws for receiving the connection member of the surgical rotational tool, wherein each jaw member is pivotally mounted on the housing for rotation about an axis substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the head part between: a first position for receipt of the connection member within the jaws of each jaw member; and a second position for retaining the connection member within the jaws of each jaw member to prevent removal of the surgical rotation tool from the surgical rotational tool driver; and.
(ii) a locking mechanism including a pair of ramps for engaging with a respective catch of each jaw member to lock the jaw members in the closed position and
a locking mechanism comprising: a pair of ramps for engaging with a respective catch of each jaw member to lock the jaw members in the second position, and
a release member slideably moveable to release the ramps of the locking mechanism from the respective catches of the jaw members;
a release member slideably moveable within the housing to release the ramps of the locking mechanism from the respective catches of the jaw members to allow the jaw members to return to the first position for removal of the surgical rotational tool from the surgical rotational tool driver;
riding the catch of each jaw member along a ramped surface of a respective ramp of the locking mechanism as the jaw members move from the first position to the second position;
riding the catch of each jaw member along a respective ramped surface extending laterally from the release member as the jaw members pivot from the first position to the second position and
engaging the catch of each jaw member with a retaining surface of the respective ramp to lock the jaw embers in the closed position, wherein the retaining surface is located at an end of the ramped surface of the respective ramp;
engaging the catches of the jaw members with retaining surfaces located at an end of the respective ramped surfaces when they reach the end of the ramped surfaces, to lock the jaw members in the second position;
operating the release member to allow the jaw members to return to the open position; and
operating the release mechanism by sliding the release member within the housing; and
removing, while the jaw members are in the open position, the surgical rotational tool from the head part of the surgical rotational tool driver.
removing the surgical rotational tool from the surgical rotational tool driver.
Claim 15 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 15 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 17 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 15
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 17
The method of claim 12, wherein operating the release member comprises sliding the release member to disengage the catch of each jaw member from the retaining surface of the respective ramp.
The method of claim 16, further comprising sliding the release member within the housing to disengage the catch of each jaw member from the retaining surfaces of the respective ramped surfaces on the release member.
Claim 17 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 17 is drawn to a genus which is anticipated by the species of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 4 as identified in the below table, where differences in claim language are shown in bold.
Instant claim 17
U.S. Patent No. 12,178,452 claim 1+4
A surgical rotational tool driver comprising:
A surgical rotational tool driver comprising:
a substantially hollow shaft having a proximal end and a distal end;
a driveline having a proximal end connectable to a rotational power tool for applying torque through the driveline and a distal end opposite the proximal end; and
a driveline extending within the hollow shaft, the driveline having: a proximal end connectable to a rotational power tool for applying torque through the driveline; and
a head part coupled to the distal end of the driveline, the head part configured for attachment to a surgical rotational tool and having an axis of rotation for rotation of the surgical rotational tool, the head part including:
a head part extending distally from the distal end of the shaft, the head part including connection features for connecting to a connection member of a surgical rotational tool, the head part having an axis of rotation for rotation of the surgical rotational tool on rotation of the driveline, the connection features of the head part comprising: a housing;
a first jaw member and a second jaw member, wherein each jaw member is movable between an open position to allow attachment of a surgical rotational tool to the head part and a closed position to retain the attachment of the surgical rotation tool to the head part, and
a pair of jaw members, each jaw member including a pair of jaws for receiving the connection member of the surgical rotational tool, wherein each jaw member is pivotally mounted on the housing for rotation about an axis substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the head part between: a first position for receipt of the connection member within the jaws of each jaw member; and a second position for retaining the connection member within the jaws of each jaw member to prevent removal of the surgical rotation tool from the surgical rotational tool driver; and
a locking mechanism including: a first ramp and a second ramp, wherein each of the ramps includes a retaining surface configured to engage a respective catch of each jaw member to lock the jaw members in the closed position,
a locking mechanism comprising: a pair of ramps for engaging with a respective catch of each jaw member to lock the jaw members in the second position,
a release member slideably moveable along a direction substantially parallel to the axis of rotation of the head part to disengage the catches of the jaw members from the retaining surfaces of the ramps of the release member.
a release member slideably moveable within the housing to release the ramps of the locking mechanism from the respective catches of the jaw members to allow the jaw members to return to the first position for removal of the surgical rotational tool from the surgical rotational tool driver; and
a biasing element mounted on the housing for biasing the jaw members toward the first position, wherein the biasing element includes a leaf spring having a first end for biasing a first of the jaw members and a second end for biasing a second of the jaw members.
2. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 1, wherein the ramps of the locking mechanism each comprise: a ramped surface extending laterally from the release member; and a retaining surface located at an end of the ramped surface, wherein the catches of the jaw members are operable to ride along the ramped surface as the jaw members pivot from the first position to the second position and engage with the retaining surfaces when they reach the end of the ramped surface to lock the jaw members in the second position.
3. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 2, wherein the release member is slideably moveable within the housing to disengage the catches of the jaw members from the retaining surfaces of the ramps on the release member.
a release member slideably moveable along a direction substantially parallel to the axis of rotation of the head part to disengage the catches of the jaw members from the retaining surfaces of the ramps of the release member.
4. The surgical rotational tool driver of claim 3, wherein the release member is slideably moveable along a direction substantially parallel to the axis of rotation of the head part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crandall et al. (US 2017/0000499, hereinafter “Crandall”).
As to claim 12, Crandall discloses a method of operating a surgical rotational tool driver (10, 202, Figs. 1-8, ¶22 discloses use of 10 to secure tool 12 (Fig. 3) to spindle 202 (Fig. 8)), the method comprising: connecting a head part of the surgical rotation tool driver (24, Figs. 1-5 and 7) to a surgical rotation tool (12, Fig. 3), the head part including (i) a pair of jaw members (left of each of: portion of 26 that of defines slot 28, 134, 142 as shown in Fig. 7, right of each of: portion of 26 that of defines slot 28, 134, 142 as shown in Fig. 7, Fig. 7) capable of moving between an open position (130, Fig. 2) capable of allowing attachment of a surgical rotational tool to the head part (Fig. 2, ¶s 42 and 44) and a closed position (132, Fig. 1) capable of retaining the attachment of the surgical rotation tool to the head part (Fig. 1, ¶s 41 and 42), and (ii) a locking mechanism (68, Figs. 1-6, ¶27) including a pair of ramps (left of each of: 90, 72, surfaces of 98 and 62 as shown in Fig. 6, right of each of: 90, 72, surfaces of 98 and 62 as shown in Fig. 6, Fig. 6, ¶28) capable of engaging with a respective catch (142) of each jaw member capable of locking the jaw members in the closed position (Fig. 1) and a release member (18) capable of slidingly moving to release the ramps of the locking mechanism from the respective catches of the jaw members (at least from the ramps retaining surface 72, Figs. 1 and 2); riding the catch of each jaw member along a ramped surface of a respective ramp of the locking mechanism as the jaw members move from the first position to the second position (Figs. 1 and 2); engaging the catch of each jaw member with a retaining surface (72) of the respective ramp to lock the jaw embers in the closed position (Fig. 1), wherein the retaining surface is located at an end of the ramped surface of the respective ramp (Figs. 1-4 and 6); operating the release member to allow the jaw members to return to the open position (Fig. 2, ¶42); and removing, while the jaw members are in the open position, the surgical rotational tool from the head part of the surgical rotational tool driver (Fig. 2, ¶42).
As to claim 13, Crandall discloses that riding the catch of each jaw member along the ramped surface of the respective ramp of the locking mechanism comprises riding the catch of each jaw member along the ramped surface of the respective ramp of the locking mechanism until the catch of each jaw member engages the retaining surface of the respective ramp of the locking mechanism (Fig. 1).
As to claim 14, Crandall discloses that operating the release member comprises sliding the release member to release the ramps of the locking mechanism from the respective catches of the jaw members (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶42).
As to claim 15, Crandall discloses that operating the release member comprises sliding the release member to disengage the catch of each jaw member from the retaining surface of the respective ramp (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶42).
As to claim 16, Crandall discloses that the head part has an axis of rotation (A-A) capable of rotation of the surgical rotation tool (Fig. 3), and wherein operating the release member comprises sliding the release member along a direction substantially parallel to the axis of rotation of the head part (Figs. 1, 2, and 5, ¶39) capable of allowing the jaw members to return to the open position (Fig. 2, ¶42).
As to claim 17, Crandall discloses a surgical rotational tool driver (10, 202, Figs. 1-8, ¶22 discloses use of 10 to secure tool 12 (Fig. 3) to spindle 202 (Fig. 8)) comprising: a driveline (202) having a proximal end (left portion of 202 as shown in Fig. 8, Fig. 8) capable of connecting to a rotational power tool (due to structure shown in Fig. 8, Fig. 8, i.e. for rotation of 12 shown in Fig. 3) capable of applying torque through the driveline (due to structure shown in Fig. 8, Fig. 8, i.e. for rotation of 12 shown in Fig. 3) and a distal end (right portion of 202 as shown in Fig. 8, Fig. 8) opposite the proximal end (as defined, Fig. 8); and a head part (24, Figs. 1-5 and 7) coupled to the distal end of the driveline (via 114, ¶32), the head part capable of attaching to a surgical rotational tool (12, Fig. 3) and having an axis of rotation (A-A) capable of rotation of the surgical rotational tool (Fig. 3), the head part including: a first jaw member (left of each of: portion of 26 that of defines slot 28, 134, 142 as shown in Fig. 7, Fig. 7) and a second jaw member (right of each of: portion of 26 that of defines slot 28, 134, 142 as shown in Fig. 7, Fig. 7), wherein each jaw member is capable of moving between an open position (130, Fig. 2) capable of allowing attachment of the surgical rotational tool to the head part (Fig. 2, ¶s 42 and 44) and a closed position (132, Fig. 1) capable of retaining the attachment of the surgical rotation tool to the head part (Fig. 1, ¶s 41 and 42), and a locking mechanism (68, Figs. 1-6, ¶27) including: a first ramp (left of each of: 90, 72, surfaces of 98 and 62 as shown in Fig. 6, Fig. 6, ¶28) and a second ramp (right of each of: 90, 72, surfaces of 98 and 62 as shown in Fig. 6, Fig. 6, ¶28), wherein each of the ramps includes a retaining surface (72) capable of engaging a respective catch (142) of each jaw member capable of locking the jaw members in the closed position (Fig. 1), a release member (18) capable of slidingly moving along a direction substantially parallel to the axis of rotation of the head part (Figs. 1, 2, and 5, ¶39) capable of disengaging the catches of the jaw members from the retaining surfaces of the ramps of the release member (Fig. 2, ¶42).
Conclusion
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775