Claims rejections under-35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
Claim(s) 1-2; 5-6; 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts(US.Pub.No.20080274687).
Regarding claim 1, Roberts et al disclose a method for managing a customized television streaming service using a computer system including one or more computers connected with each other through a global communication network, wherein a project manager and a client each include a computer system, the method including(see fig.1 to fig.2 for receiving contents from owner 101 and from media service provider 107 and an internet network 102 is used for transmitting video contents to user devices);
tasking the project manager with creating a streaming channel for the client(see fig.1 to fig.2 with media packager 104 for creating channels for transmitting video contents to user devices; 0002;0049-0050);
receiving content from the client at the project manager for streaming to an end viewer(see fig.1 to fig.2 for providing media contents the media packager 104 for streaming; 0029 ;0025-0026);
receiving content from at least one content provider other than the client at the project manager for streaming to the end viewer(see fig.1 to fig.2 with media packager 104 for receiving media contents from service provider 107; 0025) ; and
channeling the content from the client and the at least one content provider other than the client to a digital distribution service for streaming to the end viewer(see fig.1 to fig.2 for combining or mixing media contents received from media owner 101 and media provider 107 for transmission to the user devices via specific channels; 0025-0027;0002).
Regarding claim 2, Roberts et al disclose wherein the project manager is in electronic communication with a finance provider(the system is able to generate revenues;0032; 0039), the content provider, an advertising provider and an editor(see fig.1 to fig.2; media service provider 107 may provide advertisements,0025; and the system is able to edit or alter video contents;0022).
Regarding claim 5, Roberts et al disclose wherein the content is delivered to the end viewer via at least one of Free Advertising Supported Television (FAST), Authenticated Video On Demand (AUTHVOD), Advertising-Based Video On Demand (AVOD), Subscription Video On Demand (SVOD), and Transactional Video On Demand (TVOD)( Video on Demand services,0002).
Regarding claim 6, Roberts et al disclose wherein the project manager performs analytics to identify top performing content and least performing content(the system is being capable of determining media contents being most popular and lees popular; 0031-0032; 0045;0039;0083).
Regarding claim 8, Roberts et al disclose wherein the end viewer must subscribe and purchase the streaming channel to view(viewers or consumers need to buy or purchase membership to access media contents; 0027).
Regarding claim 9, Roberts et al disclose further including transferring a bundle of rights from the client to the project manager(the owner of the media contents can provide right to the media packager 104 to a percentage of each package or membership being purchased by a media consumer;0040).
Regarding claim 10, Roberts et al disclose wherein the bundle of rights includes intellectual property rights(rights ownership,0061).
Claims rejections under-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts(US.Pub.No.20080274687) in view of Loheide(US.Pub.No.20180343481) .
Regarding claim 3, Roberts et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the streaming channel includes an over-the-top (OTT) platform for delivering streamed content over the global computer network.
However, Loheide et al disclose wherein the streaming channel includes an over-the-top (OTT) platform for delivering streamed content over the global computer network(the system is able to OTT network or platform,0019;0167;0171).
It would have been obvious before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Loheide to modify Roberts by using OTT network or platform for the purpose of using specific protocols across the network accordingly.
Claim(s) 4; 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts(US.Pub.No.20080274687) in view of Vannini (US.Pub.No.20220035822).
Regarding claim 4, Roberts et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the client is an educational enterprise.
However, Vannini et al disclose wherein the client is an educational enterprise(virtual classroom education delivery 93,0129).
It would have been obvious before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Vannini to modify Roberts by providing educational contents for the purpose of improving viewing experiences accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, Roberts et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the project manager performs analytics to identify an amount of daily users and monthly users.
However, Vannini et al disclose wherein the project manager performs analytics to identify an amount of daily users( system may begin monitoring the user on a daily basis,0071)and monthly users(observation data may be collected over a predetermined period of time (e.g., 1 week, 1 month, 60 days, etc.),0021).
It would have been obvious before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Vannini to modify Roberts by collecting data for a predefined period of time resulting in “wherein the project manager performs analytics to identify an amount of daily users and monthly user” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences accordingly.
Conclusion
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425