DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a standard characteristic value” (line 2). It is unclear what makes a characteristic value “standard”. Independent claims 27 and 34 recite similar language and are similarly rejected. Dependent claims 21-26, 29-33, and 35-40 inherit this discrepancy by nature of their dependencies. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “the standard characteristic value provided in the audio or video output of the audio or video output” (line 8). It is unclear what “the audio or video output of the audio or video output” refers to. Independent claims 27 and 34 recite similar language and are similarly rejected. Dependent claims 21-26, 29-33 and 35-40 inherit this discrepancy by nature of their dependencies. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 recites “The system” (line 1), “the sensor” (line 2), “the video game controller” (line 2), and “the audio or video output” (line 3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 recites “the adjustment value” (line 2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 31-33 recite similar language and are similarly rejected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 recites “the one or more processors” (line 2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 35 recites “The media” (line 1). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 36-40 recite similar language and are similarly rejected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 28-33 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 28 depends on itself. Dependent claims 29-33 and 35-40 inherit this discrepancy by nature of their dependencies. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 40 appears to recite the same limitations as recited in claim 33, upon which claim 40 depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 22-27, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tallarico et al., US 2021/0038998 A1 (hereinafter Tallarico) in view of Muraki, US 2010/0277452 A1 (hereinafter Muraki).
Regarding Claim 1: Tallarico discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
providing an audio or video output having a standard characteristic value (Tallarico, display output signals may be produced by the display input/output 436 and can include signals for displaying visual content produced by the gaming console 101 on a display device, such as graphics, user interfaces, video, and/or other visual content [0224]);
receiving data from a video game controller that indicates a perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by a sensor of the video game controller (Tallarico, the gaming controllers can include one or more optical sensors (e.g., HR/SPO2, ambient light sensors); for example, the optical sensors can be used for gaming and fitness applications, including capturing a player's heart rate; some games could include a “try to stay calm” and not get excited feature; being able to read optically HR/SPO2/Hydration, etc. signals is useful for gaming/fitness applications; also, for example, ambient light sensors can be added to the gaming console and/or gaming controllers for brightness adjustment (e.g., automated brightness adjustment, or other automatic functions based on detected light) [0054]).
Tallarico fails to explicitly disclose
determining an adjustment value based at least on (i) the standard characteristic value provided in the audio or video output of the audio or video output and (ii) the perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by the sensor of the video game controller; and
adjusting the audio or video output based at least on the adjustment value based on the received signal, controlling one or more audio or video or both output levels of the video game.
Muraki teaches
determining an adjustment value based at least on (i) the standard characteristic value provided in the audio or video output of the audio or video output and (ii) the perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by the sensor of the video game controller (Muraki, a video source 108, such as a wireless antenna, a cellular telephone, or memory adapter, which supplies an unprocessed video stream 110, is also coupled to the controller 106 which supplies a video stream 112 for additional processing; the ambient light level 104 from the camera 102 is also coupled to a brightness and contrast manager 114 to supply ambient light information to the video stream 112 from the controller 106 [0025]); and
adjusting the audio or video output based at least on the adjustment value based on the received signal, controlling one or more audio or video or both output levels of the video game (Muraki, the pixel brightness and contrast manager 114 adjusts a pixel brightness 116 and a contrast 118 to be compatible with the ambient light level 104 detected by the camera 102 [0026]).
Tallarico discloses gaming controllers can include one or more optical sensors (e.g., HR/SPO2, ambient light sensors) (Tallarico [0054]). Ambient light sensors can be added to the gaming console and/or gaming controllers for brightness adjustment (e.g., automated brightness adjustment, or other automatic functions based on detected light) (Tallarico [0054]).
Muraki teaches a method for operation of a mobile display control system is provided including providing a sensor for monitoring an ambient light level; modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream; generating a pixel brightness and a contrast from the video stream and the ambient light level; creating a gamma corrected stream from the pixel brightness, the contrast, and the video stream; adjusting a display for viewing a video in the ambient light level by coupling the gamma corrected stream to the display; and adjusting the display for viewing a video at a set brightness for a set time where the ambient light level is changing (Muraki [Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 22: Tallarico further discloses wherein:
the sensor comprises an ambient light sensor (Tallarico, the gaming controllers can include one or more optical sensors (e.g., HR/SPO2, ambient light sensors); for example, the optical sensors can be used for gaming and fitness applications, including capturing a player's heart rate; some games could include a “try to stay calm” and not get excited feature; being able to read optically HR/SPO2/Hydration, etc. signals is useful for gaming/fitness applications; also, for example, ambient light sensors can be added to the gaming console and/or gaming controllers for brightness adjustment (e.g., automated brightness adjustment, or other automatic functions based on detected light) [0054]).
Muraki further teaches adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a brightness level of the audio or video output (Muraki, the pixel brightness and contrast manager 114 adjusts a pixel brightness 116 and a contrast 118 to be compatible with the ambient light level 104 detected by the camera 102 [0026]).
Regarding Claim 23: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds (Muraki, once light intensity 802, which is the ambient light converted to a voltage, gets above a threshold 804, a counter in the controller 106 of FIG. 1 starts to count and the display 124 or the backlight 704 does not change [0039] and [Fig. 8]).
Regarding Claim 24: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more user-specified thresholds (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
Regarding Claim 25: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined based on previous adjustments (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
Regarding Claim 26: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined specified in a user profile (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
Regarding Claim 27: Tallarico discloses a system comprising:
one or more processors (Tallarico, one or more physical computer processors in communication with the one or more data stores, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed, configure the one or more physical computer processors [0005]), and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors (Tallarico, one or more physical computer processors in communication with the one or more data stores, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed, configure the one or more physical computer processors [0005]), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
providing an audio or video output having a standard characteristic value (Tallarico, display output signals may be produced by the display input/output 436 and can include signals for displaying visual content produced by the gaming console 101 on a display device, such as graphics, user interfaces, video, and/or other visual content [0224]);
receiving data from a video game controller that indicates a perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by a sensor of the video game controller (Tallarico, the gaming controllers can include one or more optical sensors (e.g., HR/SPO2, ambient light sensors); for example, the optical sensors can be used for gaming and fitness applications, including capturing a player's heart rate; some games could include a “try to stay calm” and not get excited feature; being able to read optically HR/SPO2/Hydration, etc. signals is useful for gaming/fitness applications; also, for example, ambient light sensors can be added to the gaming console and/or gaming controllers for brightness adjustment (e.g., automated brightness adjustment, or other automatic functions based on detected light) [0054]).
Tallarico fails to explicitly disclose
determining an adjustment value based at least on (i) the standard characteristic value provided in the audio or video output of the audio or video output and (ii) the perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by the sensor of the video game controller; and
adjusting the audio or video output based at least on the adjustment value.
Muraki teaches
determining an adjustment value based at least on (i) the standard characteristic value provided in the audio or video output of the audio or video output and (ii) the perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by the sensor of the video game controller (Muraki, a video source 108, such as a wireless antenna, a cellular telephone, or memory adapter, which supplies an unprocessed video stream 110, is also coupled to the controller 106 which supplies a video stream 112 for additional processing; the ambient light level 104 from the camera 102 is also coupled to a brightness and contrast manager 114 to supply ambient light information to the video stream 112 from the controller 106 [0025]); and
adjusting the audio or video output based at least on the adjustment value (Muraki, the pixel brightness and contrast manager 114 adjusts a pixel brightness 116 and a contrast 118 to be compatible with the ambient light level 104 detected by the camera 102 [0026]).
As recited above with respect to Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 34: Tallarico discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
providing an audio or video output having a standard characteristic value (Tallarico, display output signals may be produced by the display input/output 436 and can include signals for displaying visual content produced by the gaming console 101 on a display device, such as graphics, user interfaces, video, and/or other visual content [0224]);
receiving data from a video game controller that indicates a perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by a sensor of the video game controller (Tallarico, the gaming controllers can include one or more optical sensors (e.g., HR/SPO2, ambient light sensors); for example, the optical sensors can be used for gaming and fitness applications, including capturing a player's heart rate; some games could include a “try to stay calm” and not get excited feature; being able to read optically HR/SPO2/Hydration, etc. signals is useful for gaming/fitness applications; also, for example, ambient light sensors can be added to the gaming console and/or gaming controllers for brightness adjustment (e.g., automated brightness adjustment, or other automatic functions based on detected light) [0054]).
Tallarico fails to explicitly disclose
determining an adjustment value based at least on (i) the standard characteristic value provided in the audio or video output of the audio or video output and (ii) the perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by the sensor of the video game controller; and
adjusting the audio or video output based at least on the adjustment value.
Muraki teaches
determining an adjustment value based at least on (i) the standard characteristic value provided in the audio or video output of the audio or video output and (ii) the perceived characteristic value for the audio or video output as sensed by the sensor of the video game controller (Muraki, a video source 108, such as a wireless antenna, a cellular telephone, or memory adapter, which supplies an unprocessed video stream 110, is also coupled to the controller 106 which supplies a video stream 112 for additional processing; the ambient light level 104 from the camera 102 is also coupled to a brightness and contrast manager 114 to supply ambient light information to the video stream 112 from the controller 106 [0025]); and
adjusting the audio or video output based at least on the adjustment value (Muraki, the pixel brightness and contrast manager 114 adjusts a pixel brightness 116 and a contrast 118 to be compatible with the ambient light level 104 detected by the camera 102 [0026]).
As recited above with respect to Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tallarico, in view of Muraki, and further in view of VanWyk et al., US 11,458,386 B2 (hereinafter VanWyk).
Regarding Claim 21: Tallarico further discloses wherein:
the sensor of the video game controller comprises a microphone (Tallarico, the gaming controller can include one or more of the following: ... one or more microphones (e.g., 35) [0036]).
Tallarico, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose
adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a volume level of the audio or video output.
VanWyk teaches
adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a volume level of the audio or video output (VanWyk, a single microphone or microphone array may be configured to capture any sound in the environment of the controller 100 including ambient noise, audio content emitted by the speaker(s) of the controller 100, and the HFA tones emitted by one or more of the speakers of the controller 100; in some embodiments, filters may remove, from the audio data, background/ambient noise and/or the audio content associated with a video game in order to isolate the HFA tones [C12:22-42]; the acts further comprise determining, based at least in part on the inductance data, that an inductance value sensed by at least one of the first sensor or the second sensor satisfies a threshold; and the adjusting of the volume is based on the inductance value satisfying the threshold [Claim 4]).
Tallarico discloses gaming controllers can include one or more microphones (Tallarico [0036]).
VanWyk teaches controllers that allow for adjusting various features of the controller (VanWyk [Abstract]). The controller may include may include one or more speakers for outputting sound or audio content (VanWyk [Abstract]). A single microphone or microphone array may be configured to capture any sound in the environment of the controller 100 including ambient noise, audio content emitted by the speaker(s) of the controller 100, and the HFA tones emitted by one or more of the speakers of the controller 100; in some embodiments, filters may remove, from the audio data, background/ambient noise and/or the audio content associated with a video game in order to isolate the HFA tones (VanWyk [C12:22-42]). The acts further comprise determining, based at least in part on the inductance data, that an inductance value sensed by at least one of the first sensor or the second sensor satisfies a threshold; and the adjusting of the volume is based on the inductance value satisfying the threshold (VanWyk [Claim 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying audio based on ambient noise as taught by VanWyk to provide a display that is easier to see under changing sound conditions.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tallarico in view of VanWyk.
Regarding Claim 28: Tallarico disclose wherein:
the sensor of the video game controller comprises a microphone (Tallarico, the gaming controller can include one or more of the following: ... one or more microphones (e.g., 35) [0036]); and
Tallarico fails to explicitly disclose
adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a volume level of the audio or video output.
VanWyk teaches
adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a volume level of the audio or video output (VanWyk, a single microphone or microphone array may be configured to capture any sound in the environment of the controller 100 including ambient noise, audio content emitted by the speaker(s) of the controller 100, and the HFA tones emitted by one or more of the speakers of the controller 100; in some embodiments, filters may remove, from the audio data, background/ambient noise and/or the audio content associated with a video game in order to isolate the HFA tones [C12:22-42]; the acts further comprise determining, based at least in part on the inductance data, that an inductance value sensed by at least one of the first sensor or the second sensor satisfies a threshold; and the adjusting of the volume is based on the inductance value satisfying the threshold [Claim 4]).
As stated above with respect to claim 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying audio based on ambient noise as taught by VanWyk to provide a display that is easier to see under changing sound conditions.
Claim 29-33 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tallarico, in view of VanWyk, and further in view of Muraki
Regarding Claim 29: Tallarico further discloses wherein:
the sensor comprises an ambient light sensor (Tallarico, the gaming controllers can include one or more optical sensors (e.g., HR/SPO2, ambient light sensors); for example, the optical sensors can be used for gaming and fitness applications, including capturing a player's heart rate; some games could include a “try to stay calm” and not get excited feature; being able to read optically HR/SPO2/Hydration, etc. signals is useful for gaming/fitness applications; also, for example, ambient light sensors can be added to the gaming console and/or gaming controllers for brightness adjustment (e.g., automated brightness adjustment, or other automatic functions based on detected light) [0054]).
Tallarico, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose
adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a brightness level of the audio or video output.
Muraki teaches
adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a brightness level of the audio or video output (Muraki, the pixel brightness and contrast manager 114 adjusts a pixel brightness 116 and a contrast 118 to be compatible with the ambient light level 104 detected by the camera 102 [0026]).
As recited above with respect to Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 30: Tallarico, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Tallarico, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds.
Muraki teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds (Muraki, once light intensity 802, which is the ambient light converted to a voltage, gets above a threshold 804, a counter in the controller 106 of FIG. 1 starts to count and the display 124 or the backlight 704 does not change [0039] and [Fig. 8]).
As recited above with respect to Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 31: Tallarico, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Tallarico, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more user-specified thresholds.
Muraki teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more user-specified thresholds (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
As recited above with respect to Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 32: Tallarico, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Tallarico, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined based on previous adjustments.
Muraki teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined based on previous adjustments (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
As recited above with respect to Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 33: Tallarico, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Tallarico, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined specified in a user profile.
Muraki teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined specified in a user profile (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
As recited above with respect to Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the gaming controllers with one or more optical sensors that can be used to adjust brightness as disclosed by Tallarico with the method for modifying an unprocessed video stream based on the ambient light level from the sensor for forming a video stream as taught by Muraki to provide a display that is easier to see under changing lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 35: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the sensor of the video game controller comprises a microphone; and adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a volume level of the audio or video output (Muraki, the pixel brightness and contrast manager 114 adjusts a pixel brightness 116 and a contrast 118 to be compatible with the ambient light level 104 detected by the camera 102 [0026]).
Regarding Claim 36: Tallarico further discloses wherein:
the sensor comprises an ambient light sensor (Tallarico, the gaming controllers can include one or more optical sensors (e.g., HR/SPO2, ambient light sensors); for example, the optical sensors can be used for gaming and fitness applications, including capturing a player's heart rate; some games could include a “try to stay calm” and not get excited feature; being able to read optically HR/SPO2/Hydration, etc. signals is useful for gaming/fitness applications; also, for example, ambient light sensors can be added to the gaming console and/or gaming controllers for brightness adjustment (e.g., automated brightness adjustment, or other automatic functions based on detected light) [0054]).
Muraki further teaches
adjusting the audio or video output comprises adjusting a brightness level of the audio or video output (Muraki, the pixel brightness and contrast manager 114 adjusts a pixel brightness 116 and a contrast 118 to be compatible with the ambient light level 104 detected by the camera 102 [0026]).
Regarding Claim 37: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds (Muraki, once light intensity 802, which is the ambient light converted to a voltage, gets above a threshold 804, a counter in the controller 106 of FIG. 1 starts to count and the display 124 or the backlight 704 does not change [0039] and [Fig. 8]).
Regarding Claim 38: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more user-specified thresholds (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
Regarding Claim 39: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined based on previous adjustments (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
Regarding Claim 40: Muraki further teaches wherein:
the adjustment value is constrained according to one or more thresholds that are determined specified in a user profile (Muraki, the threshold voltage, adjustable by the user [0040]).
Conclusion
/WERNER G GARNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715