DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment/reconsideration filed 9/23/2026, the amendment/reconsideration has been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments been fully considered but they are not all persuasive. The applicant argues the following issues.
(A) Double Patenting Rejection
Issue: The applicant argues that the Terminal Disclaimer filed on 9/23/2026 overcomes the current Double Patenting Rejections.
The current Double Patenting rejections have been withdrawn in light of the approved Terminal disclaimer filed on 9/23/2026.
(B) Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112
Issue: The applicant argues with respect to independent claims such as claim 1 that the amended limitations overcome the current 112 rejection.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in light of the new ground of 112 rejections set forth below.
(C) Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102
Issue: The applicant argues with respect to independent claims such as claim 1 that the amended limitations overcome the current rejection.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in light of the new ground of 102 rejections set forth below.
(D) Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103
Issue: The applicant’s arguments with respect to dependent claims 4 and 14 are based on the arguments with respect to independent claims.
See Examiner’s response to applicant’s arguments directed to independent claims above.
Terminal Disclaimer
3. The terminal disclaimer filed on 9/23/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent 12155900 and US Patent 11622156 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 1, last limitation recites:
“responsive to receiving, from the viewer client device, a request corresponding to a first content item of the plurality of content items, generate, in the viewer player profile, a wager record corresponding to a wager of the plurality of wagers that corresponds to the first content item, the wager having a first predicted outcome, the wager record identifying wager parameters including a second predicted outcome that is the same as the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile”.
The scopes of and the relationship between the various predicted outcomes cannot be definitely determined.
First of all, the recited “the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile” lacks sufficient antecedent basis, because no preceding limitations recites ”a first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile.” An earlier limitation merely recites “the wager having a first predicted outcome” without limiting to being placed via any profile at all.
Secondly, It is unclear regarding the relationship between the recited “the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile” and the earlier recited “a first predicted outcome”.
Thirdly, the recited “a second predicted outcome that is the same as the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile”. Due to lack of sufficient antecedent basis for “the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile”, the scope of “a second predicted outcome that is the same as the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile” cannot be definitely determined either.
Fourthly, the relationship between the second precited outcome and the first predicted outcome is unclear due to the unclear relationship between the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile and the earlier recited a first predicted outcome.
Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets these recited predicted outcomes as any predicted outcomes with any relationship between them. Claims 2-20 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-3, 5-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Inamdar (US 2022/0270446A1).
As to claim 1, Inamdar discloses a system, comprising:
one or more processors coupled to non-transitory memory (Fig. 3), the one or more processors configured to:
maintain a session associated with a host player profile of a host of the session and a viewer player profile of a viewer of the session, the viewer player profile associated with a viewer client device ([0013], “the system enables a first user to track or otherwise follow the sporting event wagering activity associated with a second user… upon a followed sporting event wagerer placing ( or otherwise suggesting) a qualifying sporting event wager, such as a relatively complex parlay bet, the system communicates information regarding this qualifying sporting event wager to one or more following users whom previously applied to receive such communications”; [0004], “When executed by the processor responsive to an input received by the user to follow that designated sporting event wagerer, the instructions cause the processor to associate the user with that designated sporting event wagerer, and, communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a sporting event wager identified by that designated sporting event wagerer”, wherein the “follow” relationship and the continuous receipt of the followed user’s wagers functions as the host/viewer session);
transmit, during the session, a plurality of content items respectively corresponding to a plurality of wagers previously placed via the host player profile (abstract, “A system which causes an automatic publication of one or more sporting event wagers associated with one user to one or more other users”; [0013], “upon a sharable event occurring in association with the second user, the system causes information associated with the sporting event wagering activity of that second user to become available to the first user. For example, upon a followed sporting event wagerer placing ( or otherwise suggesting) a qualifying sporting event wager, such as a relatively complex parlay bet, the system communicates information regarding this qualifying sporting event wager to one or more following users whom previously applied to receive such communications”); and
responsive to receiving, from the viewer client device, a request corresponding to a first content item of the plurality of content items (see citation in rejection to the preceding limitations, e.g., [0004], “When executed by the processor responsive to an input received by the user to follow that designated sporting event wagerer, the instructions cause the processor to associate the user with that designated sporting event wagerer, and, communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a sporting event wager identified by that designated sporting event wagerer”, wherein the “follow” is a request corresponding to a first wager content. Also see [0019], “the system enables a first user to establish one or more screens to be applied to the universe of available second users that place sporting event wagers to narrow such available second users to the ones which the first user may potentially want to follow”; and [0013], “following users whom previously applied to receive such communications”),
generate, in the viewer player profile, a wager record corresponding to a wager of the plurality of wagers that corresponds to the first content item, the wager having a first predicted outcome, the wager record identifying wager parameters including a second predicted outcome that is the same as the first predicted outcome of the wager placed via the host player profile (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation stated therein. See citation in rejection to limitation 1, e.g., [0013], “the following users may then decide to act on such information and place the same sporting event wager without having to manually recreate the qualifying sporting event wager (which such users may not even know how to do)”; [0014], “while a five-leg parlay bet typically includes more than ten individual inputs to place (e.g., at least five inputs for each of the five sporting events selected, five inputs for each of the individual legs selected and one input for an amount of the sporting event wager), the same five-leg parlay bet made by a user of the system of the present disclosure takes two individual inputs to place ( e.g., one input to select the five-leg parlay bet from the followed user without having to identify the individual legs of the parlay bet, and one input for the amount of the sporting event wager)”; [0003], “responsive to a receipt, by an input device, of a second, lower quantity of inputs made by the first user, the instructions cause the processor to cause a placement of the second sporting event wager on the outcome of the sporting event”. Here, the “second sporting event wager…based on the first sporting event wager” is a generated corresponding record that enables the following user to perform the matching wager with the same (or substantially the same) parameters, wherein the parameters include predicted outcomes, see [0032], “the sporting event wagerer parameter include a type of sporting event wager available to be placed that a sporting event wagerer historically places. In this embodiment, the different types of sporting event wagers available include, but are not limited to, any suitable moneyline wager on an outcome of a sporting event ( e.g., Team X will win the game), any suitable wager on an outcome of a sporting event which accounts for a point spread (e.g., Team X will win the game by ten points)”).
As to claim 11, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 2, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide, to the viewer client device, instructions to cause the viewer client device to present a user interface including a set of wager parameters corresponding to the first content item ([0003], “communicate data that results in a display, by a display device, of a second sporting event wager, wherein the second sporting event wager is based on the first sporting event wager”; [0013], “the system communicates information regarding this qualifying sporting event wager to one or more following users whom previously applied to receive such communications”).
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 3, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the set of wager parameters comprise odds values ([0031], “a sporting event wagerer parameter includes the odds of the outcomes of the sporting events on which a sporting event wagerer historically places”).
As to claim 13, see similar rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 5, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: establish the session in response to receiving a request from a host client device of the host player profile (see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., [0004], “When executed by the processor responsive to an input received by the user to follow that designated sporting event wagerer, the instructions cause the processor to associate the user with that designated sporting event wagerer”, wherein the host user who places the shareable wagers results in the system to enable the association (session) once the host’s activity is made available for following. The “request from a host client device” is the functional equivalent of the host making (or enabling their wagers shareable. It is to be noted that the claim does not require that the host client device’s request is the only activity that the session establishment is in response to).
As to claim 15, see similar rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 6, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: update a configuration of the host player profile to enable sharing of records of wager placed via the host player profile during the session ([0016], “In certain of these embodiments, regardless of if any users are charged any amount to follow the sporting event wagering activity of other user, the system provides a benefit (in monetary and/or non-monetary form) to the user whose sporting event wagering activities are shared with other users. In such embodiments, in view of the various time saving benefits, error reduction benefits and sporting event wagering teaching benefits realized, the system compensates certain users who facilitate such benefits by sharing part or all of their sporting event wagering activities”, indicating that sharing with other users is not default but instead updatable/configurable by a user).
As to claim 16, see similar rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 7, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of a wager placed via the host player profile during the session; and update the session to include the indication of the event ([0004], “communicate data which results in a display, by a display device, of a notification of that designated sporting event wagerer. When executed by the processor responsive to an input received by the user to follow that designated sporting event wagerer, the instructions cause the processor to associate the user with that designated sporting event wagerer, and, communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a sporting event wager identified by that designated sporting event wagerer”).
As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 7.
As to claim 8, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: update a session feed of the session comprising the plurality of content items to include an additional content item corresponding to the wager (abstract, “A system which causes an automatic publication of one or more sporting event wagers associated with one user to one or more other users”; [0013], “upon a followed sporting event wagerer placing (or otherwise suggesting) a qualifying sporting event wager, such as a relatively complex parlay bet, the system communicates information regarding this qualifying sporting event wager to one or more following users whom previously applied to receive such communications”; [0004], “communicate data which results in a display, by a display device, of a notification of that designated sporting event wagerer. When executed by the processor responsive to an input received by the user to follow that designated sporting event wagerer, the instructions cause the processor to associate the user with that designated sporting event wagerer, and, communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a sporting event wager identified by that designated sporting event wagerer”; [0032], “any suitable parlay/accumulator multiple sporting event wagers (including but not limited to a progressive parlay wager, a teaser and pleaser wager, a grand salami wager, and/or a round robin wager) and/or any combination of these different available sporting event wagers“. Disclosed here is an ongoing, automatically updated steam of shareable wagers from a followed (host) user that is delivered to one or more following (viewer) users. Each newly placed wager by the host is published as an additional item of information that the followers receive).
As to claim 18, see similar rejection to claim 8.
As to claim 9, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit the session feed comprising the plurality of content items to an additional client device associated with an additional player profile responsive to the additional player profile being identified in the session as a viewer ([0013], “the system enables a first user to track or otherwise follow the sporting event wagering activity associated with a second user… upon a followed sporting event wagerer placing (or otherwise suggesting) a qualifying sporting event wager, such as a relatively complex parlay bet, the system communicates information regarding this qualifying sporting event wager to one or more following users whom previously applied to receive such communications”).
As to claim 19, see similar rejection to claim 9.
As to claim 10, Inamdar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, from the viewer client device, a request to permit automatic population of records corresponding to wagers placed via the host player profile during the session ([0013], “the system enables a first user to track or otherwise follow the sporting event wagering activity associated with a second user… upon a followed sporting event wagerer placing (or otherwise suggesting) a qualifying sporting event wager, such as a relatively complex parlay bet, the system communicates information regarding this qualifying sporting event wager to one or more following users whom previously applied to receive such communications).
As to claim 20, see similar rejection to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inamdar, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Malek (US 2019/0147702).
As to claim 4, Inamdar discloses the claimed invention substantially as discussed in claim 1, including detecting a time period of the session expiration (Fig. 3, “Countdown” timer) but does not expressly disclose terminate the session responsive to such detection. Malek discloses terminating a wager session upon expiration (0800],“expiring an offer to bet”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Inamdar with Malek. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to terminate accepting offers (Malek, [0800]).
As to claim 14, see similar rejection to claim 4.
Prior Art Cited but not Applied in the Rejection
14. Below is a list of prior art reference(s) cited but not applied in the rejection:
a) Inamdar et al (US 2023/0196871), disclosing automatic publication of one or more sporting event wagers to a user based on attributes of that user and another user.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA FAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426