DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 2019/0283450).
With regard to claim 1, Cheng discloses a printhead (202) [Para. 0051; Fig. 2A] comprising:
a first burn line (222A) of heating elements disposed on a first surface of the printhead [left side of surface (206A); Fig. 2B]; and,
a second burn line (222B) of heating elements disposed on a second surface of the printhead [right side of surface of (206A); Fig. 2B], wherein the second surface is opposite to the first surface [Fig. 2B], wherein one of the first burn line of heating elements or the second burn line of heating elements is configured to perform a printing operation.
With regard to claim 6, Cheng discloses wherein the printhead is configured to be received within a printhead bracket (204) in one or more orientations [Para. 0060; Fig. 2A].
With regard to claim 9, Cheng discloses a printing apparatus [Fig. 1A] comprising:
a printhead bracket (204) [Para. 0051]; and,
a printhead (202) [Para. 0051; Fig. 2A] configured to be received in the printhead bracket in at least one of a first orientation and a second orientation, wherein the printhead comprises:
a first burn line (222A) of heating elements disposed on a first surface of the printhead [left side of surface (206A); Para. 0058]; and,
a second burn line (222B) of heating elements disposed on a second surface of the printhead [right side of surface (206A); Para. 0058], wherein the second surface is opposite to the first surface [Fig. 2B], wherein one of the first burn line of heating elements or the second burn line of heating elements is configured to perform a printing operation [Para. 0036].
With regard to claim 14, Cheng discloses wherein the printhead comprises a plurality of fasteners (210, 212, 214) [Para. 0085] configured to secure the printhead within the printhead bracket in a first orientation and in a second orientation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2019/02834501) and in view of McNestry (US 2020/0001635).
With regard to claim 4, Cheng does not disclose further comprising one or more sensors configured to generate an orientation signal based on an orientation of the printhead, wherein the orientation signal is deterministic of the orientation of the printhead.
McNestry teaches a printhead position sensor arranged to generate a signal indicative of a position of the printhead [Para. 0151]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize one or more sensors configured to generate an orientation signal based on an orientation of the printhead as taught by McNestry for the purpose accurately controlling the printhead position.
With regard to claim 5, Cheng does not disclose further comprising a controller communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors, wherein the controller is configured to activate one of the first burn line of heating elements or the second burn line of heating elements based on the orientation signal.
McNestry teaches a controller communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors [Para. 0085], wherein the controller is configured activate heating elements (65) based on the orientation signal [printhead comprises a plurality of heating elements mounted on a ceramic substrate and which are provided in a linear array along a first edge of the printhead; Para. 0403-0404]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a controller coupled to one or more sensors as taught by McNestry in view of Cheng for the purpose of controlling the movement of the printhead during phases of movement.
With regard to claim 12, Cheng does not disclose further comprising one or more sensors configured to generate an orientation signal based on an orientation of the printhead, wherein the orientation signal is deterministic of the orientation of the printhead.
McNestry teaches a printhead position sensor arranged to generate a signal indicative of a position of the printhead [Para. 0151]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize one or more sensors configured to generate an orientation signal based on an orientation of the printhead as taught by McNestry for the purpose of controlling the energization of an electromagnet.
With regard to claim 13, Cheng does not disclose further comprising a controller communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors, wherein the controller is configured to activate one of the first burn line of heating elements or the second burn line of heating elements based on the orientation signal.
McNestry teaches a controller communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors [Para. 0085], wherein the controller is configured activate heating elements (65) based on the orientation signal [printhead comprises a plurality of heating elements mounted on a ceramic substrate and which are provided in a linear array along a first edge of the printhead; Para. 0403-0404]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a controller coupled to one or more sensors as taught by McNestry in view of Cheng for the purpose of controlling the movement of the printhead during phases of movement.
Claim(s) 7-8, 14-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2019/0283450) and in view of Wong (US 2020/0316970).
With regard to claim 7, Cheng does not disclose further comprising a plurality of fasteners configured to secure the printhead within the printhead bracket in a first orientation and in a second orientation.
Wong teaches a printhead comprises a plurality of fasteners (210, 212, 214) [Para. 0085] configured to secure the printhead within the printhead bracket in a first orientation and in a second orientation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a plurality of fasteners as taught by Wong in view of Cheng for the purpose of enabling adjustment or changing the alignment of various components of the printing assembly.
With regard to claim 8, Cheng discloses wherein the first orientation and the second orientation of the printhead is modified by a user, wherein the user unfastens the plurality of fasteners, removes the printhead from the printhead bracket, reorients the printhead, attaches the reoriented printhead to the printhead bracket and fastens the plurality of fasteners [Para. 0069].
With regard to claim 14, Cheng does not disclose wherein the printhead comprises a plurality of fasteners configured to secure the printhead within the printhead bracket in a first orientation and in a second orientation.
Wong teaches Wong teaches a printhead comprises a plurality of fasteners (210, 212, 214) [Para. 0085] configured to secure the printhead within the printhead bracket in a first orientation and in a second orientation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a plurality of fasteners as taught by Wong in view of Cheng for the purpose of enabling adjustment of the printhead in response to manual manipulation.
With regard to claim 15, Cheng discloses wherein the first orientation and the second orientation of the printhead is modified by a user, wherein the user unfastens the plurality of fasteners, removes the printhead from the printhead bracket, reorients the printhead, attaches the reoriented printhead to the printhead bracket and fastens the plurality of fasteners [Para. 0069].
With regard to claim 17, Cheng disclose A method for operating a printing apparatus [Fig. 1A], the method comprising:
a controller, controlling a printhead (202) [Fig. 2A] in the printing apparatus [Para. 0069], wherein the printhead comprises a first burn line (222A) of heating elements and a second burn line (222B) of heating elements disposed on a first surface of the printhead and a second surface of the printhead [Para. 0058], respectively; and,
performing, by the controller, a printing operation using one of the first burn line of heating elements or the second burn line of heating elements based on the orientation of the printhead [Para. 0036].
Cheng does not disclose determining, by a controller, an orientation of a printhead in the printing apparatus.
Wong teaches a controller (404, 426) [control unit in conjunction with processing module] for manipulating rotational adjustment fastener to align the printhead (206) of the printing assembly at a second alignment; Para. 0165]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine an orientation of the printhead of Cheng as taught by Wong, for the purpose of generating an input signal based on the detected print quality of the printing operation.
With regard to claim 20, Cheng discloses further comprising performing the printing operation using the first burn line of heating elements in an instance in which the printhead is in a first orientation, and performing the printing operation using the second burn line of heating elements in an instance in which the printhead is in a second orientation [printhead is in a first orientation and after rotation, is in a second orientation; Fig. 3D-3F].
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2019/0283450) and in view of Shinoda (US 2019/0351680).
With regard to claim 16, Cheng discloses wherein the printhead further comprises:
a first connector (208A) and a second connector (208B), wherein the first connector is coupled to a first mating connector (210) and the second connector is coupled to a second mating connector (210) [Para. 0054].
Cheng does not disclose wherein the first connector is configured for sending data to the printhead and the second connector is configured to supply power to the printhead.
Shinoda teaches a connector (not illustrated) configured for sending data to the printhead [USB cable (not illustrated) connected to the connector; Para. 0028] and a connector (not illustrated) configured to supply power to the printhead (power source cord is connected to the connector; Para. 0028].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the first connector and second connector of Cheng to send data and supply power to the printhead, respectively as taught by Shinoda for the purpose of operating the printer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 10-11 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 2-3 is the inclusion of the limitations of a switch element electrically coupled to the first burn line of heating elements and the second burn line of heating elements, wherein the switch element selects one of the first burn line of heating elements or the second burn line of heating elements to perform the printing operation. It is these limitation(s) found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 10-11 is the inclusion of the limitations of a switch element electrically coupled to the first burn line of heating elements and the second burn line of heating elements, wherein the switch element selects one of the first burn line of heating elements or the second burn line of heating elements to perform the printing operation. It is this/these limitation(s) found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 18-19 is the inclusion of the method step of activating/operating a switch element to toggle between the first burn line of heating elements and the second burn line of heating elements, wherein the switch element executes switching of the first burn line of heating elements and the second burn line of heating elements to perform the printing operation.. It is this limitation(s) found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853