DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al (US Pub. 2019/0043180) in view of Kuklinski et al (US Pub. 2017/0132866).
With respect to claim 1, Mayer discloses A computer-implemented method for verifying an image, the method comprising:
receiving a first image of a document, (see figure 1A, 110A a first image);
segmenting the first image into a plurality of segments, wherein the plurality of segments include a first segment with an imperfection and a second segment without the imperfection, (see figure 1A, 110A first image with the glare on a portion of the image 112A, and the other portions of the image without any glare “without the imperfection”, also in paragraph 0041, capture device can extract different sets of document features “segmenting”);
receiving a second image of the document including the first segment without the imperfection, (see figure 1A, 110B second image without the glare on the same position “the first portion of the feature without the imperfection”);
creating a composite image of the document by aligning spatial domains for the first segment from the second image with spatial domains for the second segment from the first image, (see figure 1A, 110C for the final image without the glare and paragraph 0041, …capture device can generate the third image… features extracted from first and second image “composite image”; and see figure 3A-C, and paragraph 0055, the capture device …reconstructed image by re-mapping second image so that the document …aligns with the document shown in the buffer for the reconstructed image…);
and
However, Mayer fails to explicitly disclose determining that a color or texture of words in the first segment of the composite image is consistent with a color or texture of words in the second segment of the composite image to, as claimed.
Kuklinski teaches determining that a color or texture of words in the first segment of the composite image is consistent with a color or texture of words in the second segment of the composite image, (see figures 12-15, paragraph 0161-0165, wherein … an image of the ID and dividing the image into sub-regions in the form of a grid of Feature Regions (FRs)… properties, such as luminance, 1202, standard deviation (SD), 1203, and hue, 1204, can be calculated for each sample… In order to evaluate the consistency of the feature and establish the range of values that is to be expected for each property, statistics are calculated… However, not all FRs are best characterized by a single measurement type, 1503. Each FR has multiple measurements applied that consider such regional properties as brightness, color, line content, shading, and the statistical properties of any of these properties over the region, 1504…), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the two references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of stitching two images to verify them using image analysis. Teachings of Kuklinski to evaluate the composite image of an ID by comparing various segments for the consistency using the various properties can be incorporated into Mayers system (see figure 1A, numerical 110C, composite image), for suggestion, and modifying the system yields a better document authentication system, for motivation.
With respect to claim 2, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses receiving, based on the determining, a comparison between the aligned spatial domains of the composite image and an authentic image of the document to further verify the authenticity of the document. (see Mayer paragraph 0055, the capture device …reconstructed image by re-mapping second image so that the document …aligns with the document shown in the buffer for the reconstructed image…; and paragraph 0031, wherein, …final digital image of the ID document can be compared to an image of a person captured at the time of authentication.…), as claimed.
With respect to claim 3, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses restarting an image capture process when the color or the texture of words in the first segment is inconsistent with the color or the texture of words in the second segment in the composite image, (see Mayer paragraph 0039, wherein, ….If the capture device 102 determines that features do not match “feature in the composite image is inconsistent” …the capture device 102 can determine further images of the document need to be captured “restarting an image capture process”…), as claimed.
With respect to claim 4, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses identifying one or more characteristics of the first and second images of the document, wherein the one or more characteristics include an edge of the document, a pixel in the first image and the second image of the document, or the imperfection in the first image, (see Mayer paragraph 0055, portions of the pixels corresponds to the same coordinates of the pixels of the document for aligning the images); and determining the spatial domains for the first segment from the second image and the spatial domains for the second segment from the first image based on the one or more characteristics, (see Mayer figure 3A-C, and paragraph 0055, the capture device …reconstructed image by re-mapping second image so that the document …aligns with the document shown in the buffer for the reconstructed image…), as claimed.
With respect to claim 6, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses wherein the segment comprises a security feature or a non-security feature, (see Mayer figure 1B, numerical 152 for various features), as claimed.
With respect to claim 7, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses wherein the plurality of segments are determined based on at least one of: a number of features in the document, a type of each of the features in the document, and a location of each of the features in the document. (see Mayer figure 1B, 152 various feature “number of features”), as claimed.
With respect to claim 8, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses wherein the imperfection is a glare, a shadow, or a lack of resolution, (see Mayer figure 1A, numerical 112A glare), as claimed.
With respect to claim 9, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses receiving the first image and the second image from a camera of a user device, (see Mayer figure 1A, numerical 102A, camera), as claimed.
With respect to claim 10, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski further discloses wherein the document is one of: a driver’s license, identification card, passport, birth certificate, or credit card, (see Mayer figure 1A, numerical 110A, drivers license), as claimed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al (US Pub. 2019/0043180) in view of Kuklinski et al (US Pub. 2017/0132866) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Azanza Ladron et al (US Pub. 2019/0251774) and Borchers et al (US 6,289,107).
With respect to claim 5, combination of Mayer and Kuklinski discloses all the elements as claimed and as rejected in claim 1 above.
However, they fail to disclose determining whether an amount of time between a first timestamp of the first image and a second timestamp of the second image exceeds a predetermined threshold; and restarting an image capture process when the amount of time between the first timestamp of the first image and the second timestamp of the second image exceeds the predetermined threshold, as claimed.
Azanza Ladron teaches determining whether an amount of time between a first timestamp of the first image and a second timestamp of the second image exceeds a predetermined threshold, (see paragraph 0183, wherein, …at least wo photos may be taken ….separated by a random time lapse…, and paragraph 0184, wherein, …photos may be almost simultaneously taken “an amount of time between a first timestamp of the first image and a second timestamp of the second image exceeds a predetermined threshold”, and this is done for the verification of the document), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of ID imaging. The teaching of Azanza Ladron to use two images of the document taken simultaneously can be incorporated in to Mayer’s system as suggested in figure 1A, taking two images of Mayer, … identification documents .. may be used to verify…, (for suggestion) and modification to the system yields a automatic classification system (see Azanza Ladron paragraph 0001) for motivation.
And, Borchers teaches restart the capturing of the image “restarting an image capture” if the ratio is not less than 1 “exceeding threshold” (see col. 12 lines 26-27), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of identifying objects using image analysis. The teaching of Borchers to restart capturing the images depending on a threshold can be incorporated in to Mayer, Kuklinski and Azanza Ladron system as suggested in figure 1A, taking images of Mayer, … identification documents .. may be used to verify…, (for suggestion) and modification to the system yields a system that makes sure to obtain the best images for the ID documents in order to accurately authenticate the documents, for motivation.
Claims 11-16 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claim 1, 2, 3, 8, 10 and 9, because claims 11-16 are claiming subject matter of similar scope as claimed in claims 1, 2, 3, 8, 10 and 9 respectively.
Claims 17-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claim 1-4, because claims 17-20 are claiming subject matter of similar scope as claimed in claims 1-4 respectively.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,175,780. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in the instant application are of similar version of the patented claims. Substantially all claimed elements of claims 1-20 in the instant application are contained in claims 1-20 of U. S. Patent No. 12,175,780. It has been held that a generic invention is anticipated by the species. MPEP 804(I)(B) and In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/VIKKRAM BALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663