DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendments filed on December 16, 2024. Claim(s) 1-20 have been canceled. Claim(s) 21-40 have been added. Therefore, Claim(s) 21-40 is/are pending and have been considered as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/5/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-28, 31-33, 36-38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geng et al. (non-patented literature, “Redundancy Policy for Redundancy Protection”, hereinafter Geng).
As to New Claim 21, Geng discloses a method, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a first network device, a segment routing (SR) policy, wherein the SR policy comprises identification information, and the identification information indicates a type of at least one of the SR policy, a candidate path in the SR policy, or a segment list in the candidate path ((Geng; [pg. 3, section 3.1]), where Geng discloses obtaining a routing policy from a packet.); and
determining, by the first network device based on the identification information, a processing behavior corresponding to at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, or the segment list in the candidate path ((Geng; [pg. 3, section 3.1; pg. 4, sections 3.2 & 3.3]), where Geng discloses determining routing policy and candidate path.).
As to New Claim 22, Geng discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the type comprises a multi-fed and selective receiving type, the multi-fed and selective receiving type indicates to determine at least two forwarding paths according to the SR policy, and the at least two forwarding paths are used to send a same service packet (Geng; [pg. 4, section 3.2]).
As to New Claim 23, Geng discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein determining, by the first network device based on the identification information, the processing behavior corresponding to at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, or the segment list in the candidate path comprises:
determining, by the first network device based on the identification information, at least two forwarding paths from at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, or the segment list in the candidate path; replicating, by the first network device, a first service packet to obtain a second service packet; and sending, by the first network device, the first service packet through a first forwarding path of the at least two forwarding paths, and sending the second service packet through a second forwarding path of the at least two forwarding paths (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1]).
As to New Claim 26, Geng discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein when the identification information indicates that the type of the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type, the at least two forwarding paths are at least two candidate paths in the SR policy;
when the identification information indicates that the type of the candidate path in the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type and each of at least two candidate paths in the SR policy corresponds to the identification information, the at least two forwarding paths are the at least two candidate paths in the SR policy (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]); or
when the identification information indicates that the type of the candidate path in the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type and one candidate path in the SR policy corresponds to the identification information, the at least two forwarding paths correspond to at least two segment lists in the candidate path in the SR policy (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]); or
when the identification information indicates that the type of the segment list in the candidate path in the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type and each of at least two segment lists in the candidate path corresponds to the identification information, the at least two forwarding paths correspond to the at least two segment lists (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]).
As to New Claim 27, Geng discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the type comprises a composite type, and the composite type indicates that the SR policy comprises a plurality of nested sub-SR policies (Geng; [pg. 4, section 3.1-3.2]).
As to New Claim 28, Geng discloses the method according to claim 27, wherein determining, by the first network device based on the identification information, the processing behavior corresponding to the at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, and the segment list in the candidate path comprises:
determining, by the first network device based on the identification information, a forwarding path from a sub-SR policy corresponding to at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, and the segment list in the candidate path; and sending, by the first network device, a service packet based on the forwarding path (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]).
As to New Claim 31, Geng discloses an apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Geng; [pg. 2, section 2]); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Geng; [pg. 2, section 2]), wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to:
obtain a segment routing (SR) policy, wherein the SR policy comprises identification information, and the identification information indicates a type of at least one of the SR policy, a candidate path in the SR policy, or a segment list in the candidate path ((Geng; [pg. 3, section 3.1]), where Geng discloses obtaining a routing policy from a packet.); and
determine, based on the identification information, a processing behavior corresponding to at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, or the segment list in the candidate path ((Geng; [pg. 3, section 3.1; pg. 4, sections 3.2 & 3.3]), where Geng discloses determining routing policy and candidate path.).
As to New Claim 32, Geng discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the type comprises a multi-fed and selective receiving type, the multi-fed and selective receiving type indicates to determine at least two forwarding paths according to the SR policy, and the at least two forwarding paths are used to send a same service packet (Geng; [pg. 4, section 3.2]).
As to New Claim 33, Geng discloses the apparatus according to claim 32, wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on the identification information, the at least two forwarding paths from at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, or the segment list in the candidate path; replicate a first service packet to obtain a second service packet; and send the first service packet through a first forwarding path of the at least two forwarding paths, and send the second service packet through a second forwarding path of the at least two forwarding paths (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1]).
As to New Claim 36, Geng discloses the apparatus according to claim 32, wherein when the identification information indicates that the type of the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type, the at least two forwarding paths are at least two candidate paths in the SR policy;
when the identification information indicates that the type of the candidate path in the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type and each of at least two candidate paths in the SR policy corresponds to the identification information, the at least two forwarding paths are the at least two candidate paths in the SR policy (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]); or
when the identification information indicates that the type of the candidate path in the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type and one candidate path in the SR policy corresponds to the identification information, the at least two forwarding paths correspond to at least two segment lists in the candidate path in the SR policy (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]); or
when the identification information indicates that the type of the segment list in the candidate path in the SR policy is the multi-fed and selective receiving type and each of at least two segment lists in the candidate path corresponds to the identification information, the at least two forwarding paths correspond to the at least two segment lists (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]).
As to New Claim 37, Geng discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the type comprises a composite type, and the composite type indicates that the SR policy comprises a plurality of nested sub-SR policies (Geng; [pg. 4, section 3.1-3.2]).
As to New Claim 38, Geng discloses the apparatus according to claim 37, wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on the identification information, a forwarding path from a sub-SR policy corresponding to at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, and the segment list in the candidate path; and send a service packet based on the forwarding path (Geng; [pg. 2, section 1; pg. 4, section 3.2]).
As to New Claim 40, Geng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising instructions, wherein when the instructions are run on at least one processor, the instructions configure the at least one processor for:
obtaining, by a first network device, a segment routing (SR) policy, wherein the SR policy comprises identification information, and the identification information indicates a type of at least one of the SR policy, a candidate path in the SR policy, or a segment list in the candidate path ((Geng; [pg. 3, section 3.1]), where Geng discloses obtaining a routing policy from a packet.); and
determining, by the first network device based on the identification information, a processing behavior corresponding to at least one of the SR policy, the candidate path in the SR policy, or the segment list in the candidate path ((Geng; [pg. 3, section 3.1; pg. 4, sections 3.2 & 3.3]), where Geng discloses determining routing policy and candidate path.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25, 29-30, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. (non-patented literature, “Redundancy Policy for Redundancy Protection”, hereinafter Geng), in view of Geng et al. (non-patent literature “SRv6 for Redundancy Protection”, hereinafter Geng:SRv6).
As to New Claim 24, Geng discloses the method according to claim 23, wherein the first network device is an intermediate node on a forwarding path, and sending, by the first network device, the first service packet through the first forwarding path of the at least two forwarding paths, and sending the second service packet through the second forwarding path of the at least two forwarding paths comprises: but does not disclose encapsulating, by the first network device, path information of the first forwarding path into the first service packet, and encapsulating path information of the second forwarding path into the second service packet; and sending, by the first network device, the encapsulated first service packet through the first forwarding path, and sending the encapsulated second service packet through the second forwarding path.
In an analogous art, Geng:SRv6discloses encapsulating, by the first network device, path information of the first forwarding path into the first service packet, and encapsulating path information of the second forwarding path into the second service packet; and sending, by the first network device, the encapsulated first service packet through the first forwarding path, and sending the encapsulated second service packet through the second forwarding path ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 4, section 4; pg. 8, section 6]), where Geng:Sv6 discloses a redundancy policy and variations of the SR policies. The ability to encapsulate packs based on the policy and topological instructions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng to include encapsulating, by the first network device, path information of the first forwarding path into the first service packet, and encapsulating path information of the second forwarding path into the second service packet; and sending, by the first network device, the encapsulated first service packet through the first forwarding path, and sending the encapsulated second service packet through the second forwarding path as taught by Geng-SRv6 to provide a high reliability of service transmission (Geng:SRv6; [abs]).
As to New Claim 25, Geng-Geng:SRv6 discloses the method according to claim 24, wherein encapsulating, by the first network device, the path information of the first forwarding path into the first service packet, and the encapsulating path information of the second forwarding path into the second service packet comprises:
performing steps of:
encapsulating, by the first network device, a first packet header into an outer layer of the first service packet, wherein the first packet header comprises the path information of the first forwarding path; and encapsulating, by the first network device, a second packet header into an outer layer of the second service packet, wherein the second packet header comprises the path information of the second forwarding path ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 4, section 4; pg. 8, section 6]), where Geng:Sv6 discloses a redundancy policy and variations of the SR policies. The ability to encapsulate packs based on the policy and topological instructions.); or
performing steps of:
inserting, by the first network device, the path information of the first forwarding path into a segment routing header (SRH) of the first service packet; and inserting, by the first network device, the path information of the second forwarding path into an SRH of the second service packet ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 4, section 4; pg. 8, section 6]), where Geng:Sv6 discloses a redundancy policy and variations of the SR policies. The ability to encapsulate packs based on the policy and topological instructions.).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to New Claim 29, Geng discloses the method according to claim 21, but does not disclose wherein when the identification information indicates the type of the candidate path in the SR policy, the identification information is carried in a field corresponding to a binding segment identifier (BSID) of the candidate path.
In an analogous art, Geng:SRv6 discloses wherein when the identification information indicates the type of the candidate path in the SR policy, the identification information is carried in a field corresponding to a binding segment identifier (BSID) of the candidate path ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 5, section 4.1]), where Geng disclsoes comprising a Binding SIG parameter associated with the path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng to include wherein when the identification information indicates the type of the candidate path in the SR policy, the identification information is carried in a field corresponding to a binding segment identifier (BSID) of the candidate path as taught by Geng-SRv6 to provide a high reliability of service transmission (Geng:SRv6; [abs]).
As to New Claim 30, Geng-Geng:SRv6 discloses the method according to claim 29, wherein in a segment routing over internet protocol version 6 (SRv6) network, the identification information is carried in a behavior field corresponding to the BSID of the candidate path (Geng:SRv6; [pg. 5, section 4; pg. 6]).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to New Claim 34, Geng discloses the apparatus according to claim 33, wherein a device on which the apparatus is located is an intermediate node on a forwarding path, and the instructions executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to: but does not disclose encapsulate path information of the first forwarding path into the first service packet, and encapsulate path information of the second forwarding path into the second service packet; and send the encapsulated first service packet through the first forwarding path, and send the encapsulated second service packet through the second forwarding path.
In an analogous art, Geng:SRv6discloses encapsulate path information of the first forwarding path into the first service packet, and encapsulate path information of the second forwarding path into the second service packet; and send the encapsulated first service packet through the first forwarding path, and send the encapsulated second service packet through the second forwarding path ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 4, section 4; pg. 8, section 6]), where Geng:Sv6 discloses a redundancy policy and variations of the SR policies. The ability to encapsulate packs based on the policy and topological instructions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng to include encapsulate path information of the first forwarding path into the first service packet, and encapsulate path information of the second forwarding path into the second service packet; and send the encapsulated first service packet through the first forwarding path, and send the encapsulated second service packet through the second forwarding path as taught by Geng-SRv6 to provide a high reliability of service transmission (Geng:SRv6; [abs]).
As to New Claim 35, Geng-Geng:SRv6 discloses the apparatus according to claim 34, wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to:
perform steps to:
encapsulate a first packet header into an outer layer of the first service packet, wherein the first packet header comprises the path information of the first forwarding path; and encapsulate a second packet header into an outer layer of the second service packet, wherein the second packet header comprises the path information of the second forwarding path ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 4, section 4; pg. 8, section 6]), where Geng:Sv6 discloses a redundancy policy and variations of the SR policies. The ability to encapsulate packs based on the policy and topological instructions.); or
perform steps to:
insert the path information of the first forwarding path into a segment routing header (SRH) of the first service packet; and insert the path information of the second forwarding path into an SRH of the second service packet ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 4, section 4; pg. 8, section 6]), where Geng:Sv6 discloses a redundancy policy and variations of the SR policies. The ability to encapsulate packs based on the policy and topological instructions.).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to New Claim 39, Geng discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, but does not disclose wherein when the identification information indicates the type of the candidate path in the SR policy, the identification information is carried in a field corresponding to a binding segment identifier BSID of the candidate path.
In an analogous art, Geng:SRv6 discloses wherein when the identification information indicates the type of the candidate path in the SR policy, the identification information is carried in a field corresponding to a binding segment identifier BSID of the candidate path ((Geng:SRv6; [pg. 5, section 4.1]), where Geng disclsoes comprising a Binding SIG parameter associated with the path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng to include wherein when the identification information indicates the type of the candidate path in the SR policy, the identification information is carried in a field corresponding to a binding segment identifier BSID of the candidate path as taught by Geng-SRv6 to provide a high reliability of service transmission (Geng:SRv6; [abs]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BENJAMIN M THIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441 2.17.2026