Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tian (CN 113904104A). (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches an electronic device 10 comprising:
a housing 20 comprising a front surface and a rear surface;
a display (implicitly taught) on the front surface of the housing;
a shielding member 140 being inside the housing;
a printed circuit board 130 on the shielding member, comprising:
a first antenna area 121 including a first pattern,
a second antenna area 122 including a second pattern, and
a bending area 123 (Figure 1), which is at least partially bent to interconnect the first antenna area and the second antenna area; and
a rear surface plate on the rear surface of the housing (implicitly taught) to cover the printed circuit board,
wherein the second pattern 1222 extends to outside of the first pattern 121 and at least partially faces a portion of the first pattern.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the second antenna area 122 is formed integrally with the first antenna area 121 and is folded from inside of the first antenna area to outside of the first antenna area.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the second antenna area 122 is electromagnetically connected to the first antenna area 121, and at least a portion of the second pattern faces a portion of the first pattern in the first antenna area.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Tian (Figure 2) teaches that the bending area 123 of the printed circuit board comprises at least one hole 133.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the first pattern 121 and the second pattern 122 are integrated to the printed circuit board 130.
Regarding claim 12, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches a printed circuit board 130 comprising:
a first antenna area 121 on a shielding member 140 included in an electronic device 10 and comprising a first pattern;
a second antenna area 122 comprising a second pattern that extends to outside of the first pattern and at least partially faces a portion of the first pattern as the second antenna area is folded from inside to outside of the first antenna area; and
a bending area 123 at least partially bent to interconnect the first antenna area and the second antenna area.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the second antenna area 122 is formed integrally with the first antenna area 121 and folded from inside to outside of the first antenna area, and wherein at least a portion of the second pattern faces a portion of the first pattern in the first antenna area and is electromagnetically connected with the first antenna area.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 12, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the bending area 123 of the printed circuit board 130 comprises at least one hole 133.
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 12, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the first pattern 121 and the second pattern 122 are integrated to the printed circuit board 130, wherein at least a portion of the second pattern 122 of the printed circuit board is disposed in the bending area 123, and wherein the bending area comprises a hole 133 provided in an area other than the area where the second pattern is disposed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian.
Regarding claim 5, Tian teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the second antenna area is included in the first antenna area. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the second antenna area to be included in the first antenna area for the purpose of achieving a desired range or operation for wireless communication.
Regarding claim 6, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, and further comprises a support member (rear case of the electronic device) on which at least a portion of the printed circuit board is disposed. Tian does not further teach that the support member comprises an opening through which the bending area of the printed circuit board passes. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the support member of Tian to also include an opening through which the bending area of the printed circuit board passes to reduce bending stress on the bending area.
Regarding claim 8, Tian teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 7, Tian (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that at least a portion of the second pattern 122 of the printed circuit board is disposed in the bending area 123, and wherein the bending area comprises a hole 133 provided in an area other than the area where the second pattern is disposed.
Regarding claim 9, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide a communication circuit on the printed circuit board, and wherein the first pattern of the first antenna area is connected to the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 10, Tian teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except further mentioning an adhesive member that bonds surfaces of the first antenna area and the second antenna area facing each other. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include an adhesive member bonding surfaces of the first antenna area and the second antenna area facing each other in order to maintain the antenna areas to be fixed to each other in the bending state.
Regarding claim 11, Tian teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the shielding member 140 to shield noise generated by electromagnetic force and/or operating frequency of the printed circuit board.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oh et al (US 2023/0216199 A1) discloses an electronic device comprising first and second antenna patterns disposed on a printed circuit board.
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845