DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 11/22/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 10, and 20 are independent claims.
This application claims benefit of Foreign Priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a-d) from Republic of Korea Patent Application No. KR10-2022-0086533, filed on 7/13/2022 and Republic of Korea Patent Application No. KR10-2022-0096817, filed on 8/3/2022.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10, 11, 16, 17, 18, and 20 recite the limitation “in response to”, “based on”, and “in case”. Each of these “in response to”, “in case” and “based on” clauses indicates that the associated limitations occur only when the criteria of these clauses are met. However, the present claims never affirmatively require such events to occur. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations does not require these conditional steps to be performed. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential) where the board held that when method steps are to be carried out only upon the occurrence of a condition precedent, the broadest reasonable interpretation holds that those steps are not required to be performed. As such, the limitations followed or preceded by “in response to”, “based on”, and “in case” clauses do not appear to have patentable weight since they are contingent upon a condition occurring. Examiner suggests positively reciting the criteria occurring prior to each of the “in response to”, “based on”, and “in case” limitations.
Examiner suggests, for example, for claim 1 “ , in response to the determining that the emergency call profile of the LTE communication does not exist, identify” or similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9-10, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu, US Patent Application No. 20110028120, effectively filed on 7/19/2010 (hereinafter Wu).
As for independent claim 1, Wu discloses an electronic device comprising:
memory storing instructions (a memory unit 210);
communication circuitry (a communication interfacing unit 220); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory and the communication circuitry (FIG. 2), wherein the instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (The communication interfacing unit 220 may be preferably a radio transceiver and accordingly exchanges wireless signals according to processing results of the processor 200), cause the electronic device to:
(Wu paragraph [0031] discloses “Please refer to FIG. 2, which illustrates a schematic diagram of an exemplary communication device 20. The communication device 20 may be the mobile devices or the network shown in FIG. 1 and may include a processor 200 such as a microprocessor or ASIC, a memory unit 210 and a communication interfacing unit 220. The memory unit 210 may be any data storage device that can store program code 214 for access by the processor 200. Examples of the memory unit 210 include but are not limited to a subscriber identity module (SIM), read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory (RAM), CD-ROMs, magnetic tapes, hard disks, and optical data storage devices. The communication interfacing unit 220 may be preferably a radio transceiver and accordingly exchanges wireless signals according to processing results of the processor 200.”)
detect, based on information related to a network to which the electronic device is connected (the UE initially camps on a cell C4A served by the network NT4A), movement to a service area supporting an emergency call (Step 404A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the IMS domain) based on long-term evolution (LTE) communication (In the process 40A, the UE initially camps on a cell C4A served by the network NT4A that may be referred as to ETURAN in the LTE system),
(Wu paragraph [0043] discloses “Assuming the first service domain is the IMS domain and the second service domain is the CS domain, the aforementioned description can be further exemplified by a process 40A. Please refer to FIG. 4A, which is a flow chart of the exemplary process 40A used for handling call origination for a UE in a wireless communication system. In the process 40A, the UE initially camps on a cell C4A served by the network NT4A that may be referred as to ETURAN in the LTE system. The process 40A may be compiled into the program code 214 and include the following steps:”
Paragraph [0046] discloses “Step 404A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the IMS domain?”)
identify, based on the detection of the movement to the service area (If the UE is registered to the network, the UE may receive paging and notification messages from the PLMN and initiate call setup for outgoing calls or the other actions. If the UE is unable to find any suitable cell to camp on, or a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) is not inserted into the UE, or if the location registration is failed, the UE attempts to camp on a cell irrespective of the PLMN, and enters the "limited service" state)(the process 40A, the UE initially camps on a cell C4A served by the network NT4A that may be referred as to ETURAN in the LTE system), whether an emergency call profile of the LTE communication (Step 404A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the IMS domain?) , which corresponds to a home network of the electronic device, exists (Step 406A: Originate the service in the IMS domain and go to the Step 420A)(FIG. 4A, step 404A selects Yes),
(Wu paragraph [0043] discloses “Assuming the first service domain is the IMS domain and the second service domain is the CS domain, the aforementioned description can be further exemplified by a process 40A. Please refer to FIG. 4A, which is a flow chart of the exemplary process 40A used for handling call origination for a UE in a wireless communication system. In the process 40A, the UE initially camps on a cell C4A served by the network NT4A that may be referred as to ETURAN in the LTE system. The process 40A may be compiled into the program code 214 and include the following steps:”
Paragraph [0046] discloses “Step 404A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the IMS domain?”
Paragraph [0047] discloses “Step 406A: Originate the service in the IMS domain and go to the Step 420A.”
Paragraph [0007] discloses “In the LTE system, levels of services which are provided by the network to the UE are defined as follows: (1) Normal service; (2) Limited service; (3) Operator service. When a UE is switched on, the UE selects a public land mobile network (PLMN) and camp on a "suitable cell" of the PLMN for the normal service. The suitable cell shall fulfill some requirements (basically detailed in 3GPP specification (3GPP TS 23.167), and thus omitted herein). The UE using the normal service may receive system information or registration area information from a public land mobile network (PLMN) as well as receive access stratum (AS) and non-access stratum (NAS) information. If the UE is registered to the network, the UE may receive paging and notification messages from the PLMN and initiate call setup for outgoing calls or the other actions. If the UE is unable to find any suitable cell to camp on, or a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) is not inserted into the UE, or if the location registration is failed, the UE attempts to camp on a cell irrespective of the PLMN, and enters the "limited service" state. In the limited service state, the UE can only make emergency calls.”; Paragraph [0008] discloses “the UE performs a ‘Tracking Area Update’ procedure to notify the core network of a geographical location change when selecting the new cell capable of handling the IMS emergency call in another PLMS. This may delay the IMS emergency call origination as well”)
in response to a determination that the emergency call profile of the LTE communication (In the process 40A, the UE initially camps on a cell C4A served by the network NT4A that may be referred as to ETURAN in the LTE system), which corresponds to the home network of the electronic device, does not exist (Step 408A: Originate the service in the CS domain)( FIG. 4A, step 404A selects No),
(Wu paragraph [0043] discloses “Assuming the first service domain is the IMS domain and the second service domain is the CS domain, the aforementioned description can be further exemplified by a process 40A. Please refer to FIG. 4A, which is a flow chart of the exemplary process 40A used for handling call origination for a UE in a wireless communication system. In the process 40A, the UE initially camps on a cell C4A served by the network NT4A that may be referred as to ETURAN in the LTE system. The process 40A may be compiled into the program code 214 and include the following steps:”
Paragraph [0046] discloses “Step 404A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the IMS domain?”
Paragraph [0048] discloses “Step 408A: Originate the service in the CS domain.”)
identify, based on connection information to the network to which the electronic device is connected, whether the network supports circuit switching (CS) communication (Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain?),
(Wu paragraph [0049] discloses “Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain? If so, go to the Step 412A; otherwise, go to the Step 416A.”)
obtain, based on the determination that the network does not support CS communication (Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain?)(otherwise, go to the Step 416A), the emergency call profile of the LTE communication, which corresponds to the network to which the electronic device is connected (Step 416A: Select a new cell C4B in a legacy network NT4B, which supports the service of the CS domain), and
(Wu paragraph [0049] discloses “Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain? If so, go to the Step 412A; otherwise, go to the Step 416A.”
Paragraph [0052] discloses “Step 416A: Select a new cell C4B in a legacy network NT4B, which supports the service of the CS domain.”)
provide, based on the emergency call profile of the LTE communication (Step 404A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the IMS domain)( IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) emergency calls are supported in the specification and the UE may initiate an IMS emergency call on the packet switch (PS) domain if the network supports the IMS emergency call service), which corresponds to the network, the emergency call based on the LTE communication (Step 406A: Originate the service in the IMS domain and go to the Step 420A)( IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) emergency calls are supported in the specification and the UE may initiate an IMS emergency call on the packet switch (PS) domain if the network supports the IMS emergency call service).
(Wu paragraph [0046] discloses “Step 404A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the IMS domain?”
Paragraph [0047] discloses “Step 406A: Originate the service in the IMS domain and go to the Step 420A.”
Paragraph [0008] discloses “IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) emergency calls are supported in the specification and the UE may initiate an IMS emergency call on the packet switch (PS) domain if the network supports the IMS emergency call service. “)
As for claim 5, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Wu discloses the electronic device, wherein
the memory storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine that the network does not support CS communication (Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain?) in case that the service area of the network of the electronic device is included in a CS communication restriction service area list (The message msg30 may be referred as to a broadcast message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message, for example, ATTACH ACCEPT message or tracking area update (TAU) ACCEPT message)(When the message msg30 indicates that the network NT3A supports the service of the first service (e.g. IMS emergency call)).
(Wu paragraph [0040] discloses “The message msg30 may indicate whether the network NT3A supports the service of the first service domain (e.g. IMS emergency call). The message msg30 may be referred as to a broadcast message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message, for example, ATTACH ACCEPT message or tracking area update (TAU) ACCEPT message. When the message msg30 indicates that the network NT3A supports the service of the first service (e.g. IMS emergency call), the UE may perform the service in the first service domain (e.g. IMS emergency call). When the message msg30 indicates that the network NT3A does not support the service of the first service domain (e.g. IMS emergency call), the UE may perform the service in the second service domain (e.g. CS emergency call). In other words, the UE may determine the service domain after acquiring network capability rather than determine the service domain when originating the service.”
Paragraph [0049] discloses “Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain? If so, go to the Step 412A; otherwise, go to the Step 416A.”)
As for claim 9, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Wu discloses the electronic device, wherein
the instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to provide an emergency call based on the CS communication (the UE may perform the service in the second service domain (e.g. CS emergency call)) in case of the determination that the network supports the CS communication.
(Wu paragraph [0049] discloses “Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain? If so, go to the Step 412A; otherwise, go to the Step 416A.”
Paragraph [0052] discloses “Step 416A: Select a new cell C4B in a legacy network NT4B, which supports the service of the CS domain.”
Paragraph [0040] discloses “When the message msg30 indicates that the network NT3A does not support the service of the first service domain (e.g. IMS emergency call), the UE may perform the service in the second service domain (e.g. CS emergency call). In other words, the UE may determine the service domain after acquiring network capability rather than determine the service domain when originating the service.”)
As for independent claim 10, claim 10 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 17, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 17 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 9, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 20, claim 20 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-4, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Watfa et al., US Patent Publication No. 20120002545, effectively filed on 6/6/2011 (hereinafter Watfa).
As for claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Wu discloses the electronic device wherein
the memory storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine that the network does not support CS communication (Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain?)( otherwise, go to the Step 416A)
(Wu paragraph [0049] discloses “Step 410A: Determine whether the network NT4A supports the service of the CS domain? If so, go to the Step 412A; otherwise, go to the Step 416A.”
Paragraph [0040] discloses “According to the process 30, the UE may originate the service and establish the RRC connection corresponding to the service. The service may be referred as to an emergency call, a voice call, a video call, unstructured supplementary service data (USSD) supplementary service, CS data call, short message service (SMS) service, or location service (LCS), but not limited herein. The first service domain may be referred as to an IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) domain or a circuit switched (CS) domain. The second service domain may be referred as to the IMS domain or the CS domain. Then, the UE may receive the message msg30 from the network NT3A via the RRC connection. The network NT3A may be referred as to the EUTRAN. The message msg30 may indicate whether the network NT3A supports the service of the first service domain (e.g. IMS emergency call). The message msg30 may be referred as to a broadcast message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message, for example, ATTACH ACCEPT message or tracking area update (TAU) ACCEPT message. When the message msg30 indicates that the network NT3A supports the service of the first service (e.g. IMS emergency call), the UE may perform the service in the first service domain (e.g. IMS emergency call). When the message msg30 indicates that the network NT3A does not support the service of the first service domain (e.g. IMS emergency call), the UE may perform the service in the second service domain (e.g. CS emergency call). In other words, the UE may determine the service domain after acquiring network capability rather than determine the service domain when originating the service.”
Wu discloses the UE may determine the service domain after acquiring network capability rather than determine the service domain when originating the service. This is done through RRC or attach procedure.)
Wu does not appear to explicitly disclose
in case that a type of the connection of the electronic device to the network is evolved packet system (EPS) connection (EPS attach) or in case that the type of the connection of the electronic device to the network is combined connection (combined EPS/international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) attach) and an additional update type is “short message service (SMS) only.
However, Watfa discloses the electronic device
in case that a type of the connection of the electronic device to the network is evolved packet system (EPS) connection (EPS attach) or in case that the type of the connection of the electronic device to the network is combined connection (combined EPS/international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) attach) and an additional update type is “short message service (SMS) only (WTRU 105 to use the PS domain to receive CS services, such as SMS, as well as place a CS call. However, other services, such as CS voice and location services, require that the CS domain be used for the purpose of actual exchange of voice or location service data. In order for the WTRU 105 to have access to both the PS and CS domains, the WTRU 105 performs a combined EPS/international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) registration procedure).
(Watfa paragraph [0002] discloses “The conventional EPS architecture 100 of FIG. 1A enables the WTRU 105 to use the PS domain to receive CS services, such as SMS, as well as place a CS call. However, other services, such as CS voice and location services, require that the CS domain be used for the purpose of actual exchange of voice or location service data. In order for the WTRU 105 to have access to both the PS and CS domains, the WTRU 105 performs a combined EPS/international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) registration procedure.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Watfa with Wu for the benefit of having an electronic device capable of registering with both PS and CS domain to provide emergency service. Further benefit to combine is to give the device capability to have a fallback capability when emergency service is being switched from one domain to another. The device will receive capability prior to the RRC session being released.
As for claim 3, limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed above. Watfa discloses the electronic device wherein
the type of the connection of the electronic device to the network (CS call, location service, or supplementary service) is obtained from an EPS connection result information element (EPS attach result IE) of a TAU acceptance-related message (The indications about the unavailability of the CS domain may be in the form of a new information element (IE) or a new bit position in existing IEs, such as the EPS network feature support IE) or a connection acceptance-related message received from the network to which the electronic device is connected (Due to the temporarily restricted access to the CS domain, the MME 115 may send a service reject message (180) to the WTRU 105 to indicate, using a cause value, (e.g., #39), that the CS domain will temporarily not be available for a predetermined period of time, as defined by a timer value in the service reject message).
(Watfa paragraph [0004] discloses “FIG. 1C is a signal flow diagram of a CSFB call establishment procedure performed in the conventional EPS architecture 100, whereby access to the CS domain is temporarily restricted due to congestion or the implementation of an operator policy. When the WTRU 105 is registered to both the PS and CS domains after sending an attach or TAU message, the WTRU 105 is combined EPS/IMSI attached (170). The WTRU 105 may initiate a CSFB request procedure by sending an MO CSFB ESR message (175) to the MME 115. Due to the temporarily restricted access to the CS domain, the MME 115 may send a service reject message (180) to the WTRU 105 to indicate, using a cause value, (e.g., #39), that the CS domain will temporarily not be available for a predetermined period of time, as defined by a timer value in the service reject message. The timer 140, (i.e., T3442), in the WTRU 105 may be set to the timer value included in the service reject message and activated (182). The WTRU 105 has to wait for the timer 140 to expire (184) before being able to send another ESR message (186).”
Paragraph [0051] discloses “On the other hand, if the WTRU 305 is in connected mode, (i.e., with at least a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling connection), when it receives a notification for an MT CS service, (e.g., CS call, location service, or supplementary service)”
Paragraph [0056] discloses “In the second embodiment, a timer value, for setting the timer 325 in the WTRU 305, may be included in other NAS messages sent by the MME 315 or the E-UTRAN 310 to inform the WTRU 305 about the duration of the unavailability of the CS domain. The WTRU 305 may autonomously reselect to the CS domain in case an emergency call is requested and the WTRU 305 does not support IMS emergency calls. The indications about the unavailability of the CS domain may be in the form of a new information element (IE) or a new bit position in existing IEs, such as the EPS network feature support IE.”)
As for claim 4, limitations of parent claim 2 have been discussed above. Watfa discloses the electronic device, wherein
the additional update type is obtained from an additional update type IE of a TAU acceptance-related message or a connection acceptance-related message received from the network to which the electronic device is connected.
(Watfa paragraph [0056] discloses “In the second embodiment, a timer value, for setting the timer 325 in the WTRU 305, may be included in other NAS messages sent by the MME 315 or the E-UTRAN 310 to inform the WTRU 305 about the duration of the unavailability of the CS domain. The WTRU 305 may autonomously reselect to the CS domain in case an emergency call is requested and the WTRU 305 does not support IMS emergency calls. The indications about the unavailability of the CS domain may be in the form of a new information element (IE) or a new bit position in existing IEs, such as the EPS network feature support IE.”)
As for claim 11, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 11 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 2 and claim 5, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 12, limitation of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. Claim 12 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 3, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 13, limitation of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. Claim 13 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 4, and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chaponniere et al., US Patent Publication No. 20150063227, published on 3/5/2015 (hereinafter Chaponniere).
As for claim 6, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Chaponniere discloses the electronic device, wherein
the instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to obtain an emergency call profile of the LTE communication (At step 717, P-CSCF 703 sends a SIP 380 with an emergency indication), which corresponds to a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC) of the network to which the electronic device is connected (At step 719, the UE 701 selects a CS network and examines the MCC/MNC for this CS network, as discussed above in order to determine whether to retry the call as a normal call or as an emergency call).
(Chaponniere paragraph [0057] discloses “FIG. 7 is a flow diagram 700 illustrating the third approach of the disclosure. The flow diagram 700 includes a UE 701, a P-CSCF 703, an MSC 705, and a PSAP 707. The UE 701, the P-CSCF 703, the MSC 705, and the PSAP 707 may respectively correspond with the UE 102, the P-CSCF 120 of the IMS network in EPS 100, the MSC 155 of the CS network 150, and the PSAP 130 of FIG. 1. The UE 701 initially attaches to an LTE network that contains an IMS network. At step 711, the user dials a number using the UE 701, where the dialed number includes an emergency number and possibly a prefix and/or postfix number. At step 713, because the UE 701 does not recognize the number dialed at step 711 as an emergency number, the UE 701 initiates a call attempt as a normal call with the dialed number via the P-CSCF 703 of the IMS network. At step 715, the P-CSCF 703 recognizes the emergency call by recognizing the dialed number received in step 713 as an emergency number. At step 717, P-CSCF 703 sends a SIP 380 with an emergency indication. At step 719, the UE 701 selects a CS network and examines the MCC/MNC for this CS network, as discussed above in order to determine whether to retry the call as a normal call or as an emergency call. At this point, the UE may attach to the CS network (e.g., if the UE is not already attached to the CS network).”)
As for claim 7, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Chaponniere discloses the electronic device, wherein
the memory storing an emergency call profile database of the LTE communication, and
wherein the instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to obtain an emergency call profile of the LTE communication (can handle the session as an emergency session if the UE is attempting the call in an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) (e.g., the LTE network 100)( The UE 701, the P-CSCF 703, the MSC 705, and the PSAP 707 may respectively correspond with the UE 102, the P-CSCF 120 of the IMS network in EPS 100) as an emergency session)(after SIP 380 (Alternative Service) response to a non UE detectable emergency session), which corresponds to the network to which the electronic device is connected (if the MCC or MCC/MNC in use match those of a country or an operator), in the database (from pre-configured information in the UE).
(Chaponniere paragraph [0044] discloses “A user may use a UE such as the UE 102, UE 206 or UE 350 to dial a number that will not be recognized by the UE as an emergency number. However, the dialed number may still be recognized by a serving network of the UE as an emergency number (e.g., may be recognized as an emergency number by the P-CSCF 120 or the MSC 155 in the case of UE 102 in FIG. 1). For instance, the UE may be in country A that has special local emergency numbers (e.g., 110) for country A that are not stored in the UE's Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM). Thus, when the user dials a number 110 on the UE in country A, the UE may not recognize the number 110 as an emergency number. It is noted that while "110" might be stored in the UE's memory as an emergency number, the rules for LTE access in 3GPP may prohibit the UE from making use of this due to the availability of the USIM of the UE. The UE may then initiate a normal call to the serving network and provide the dialed number 110. The serving network connected to the UE in country A may then recognize the number 110 as an emergency number. The network can handle the call as an emergency call if the UE is attempting the call in a circuit-switched (CS) domain (e.g., the CS network 150) or can handle the session as an emergency session if the UE is attempting the call in an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) (e.g., the LTE network 100) as an emergency session. The network can handle the call as an emergency call/session by connecting the call to the PSAP such as the PSAP 130.”
Paragraph [0056] discloses “According to the third approach, the UE determines whether the CS call is to be a normal call or an emergency call, based on a dialed number and an operator/country, where the dialed number includes an emergency number and possibly a prefix number. If the original dialed number is available and is not included in any local emergency number list received from the system providing CS services, and if the MCC or MCC/MNC in use match those of a country or an operator, respectively, that is known (e.g., from pre-configured information in the UE) to require a CS emergency call after SIP 380 (Alternative Service) response to a non UE detectable emergency session, the UE sets up a CS emergency call. If the original dialed number is available and is not included in any local emergency number list received from the system providing CS services, and if the MCC or MCC/MNC in use does not match those of a country or an operator, respectively, that require a CS emergency call after SIP 380 (Alternative Service) response to a non UE detectable emergency session, the UE sets up a CS normal call.”
Paragraph [0057] discloses “FIG. 7 is a flow diagram 700 illustrating the third approach of the disclosure. The flow diagram 700 includes a UE 701, a P-CSCF 703, an MSC 705, and a PSAP 707. The UE 701, the P-CSCF 703, the MSC 705, and the PSAP 707 may respectively correspond with the UE 102, the P-CSCF 120 of the IMS network in EPS 100.”
FIG.7 discloses step 717 for SIP 380 with Emergency Indication, the message allow the UE to validate the MCC/MNC at step 719. The Emergency indication indicates system support LTE or CS emergency service by the operator.)
As for claim 8, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Chaponniere discloses the electronic device, wherein
the instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to provide, based on a profile related to the emergency call of the LTE communication (At step 717, P-CSCF 703 sends a SIP 380 with an emergency indication), the emergency call based on the LTE communication in case that an emergency call profile of the LTE communication (can handle the session as an emergency session if the UE is attempting the call in an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) (e.g., the LTE network 100) as an emergency session))( the UE 102, the P-CSCF 120 of the IMS network in EPS 100), which corresponds to the home network of the electronic device, exists (The UE 701 initially attaches to an LTE network that contains an IMS network).
(Chaponniere paragraph [0044] discloses “A user may use a UE such as the UE 102, UE 206 or UE 350 to dial a number that will not be recognized by the UE as an emergency number. However, the dialed number may still be recognized by a serving network of the UE as an emergency number (e.g., may be recognized as an emergency number by the P-CSCF 120 or the MSC 155 in the case of UE 102 in FIG. 1). For instance, the UE may be in country A that has special local emergency numbers (e.g., 110) for country A that are not stored in the UE's Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM). Thus, when the user dials a number 110 on the UE in country A, the UE may not recognize the number 110 as an emergency number. It is noted that while "110" might be stored in the UE's memory as an emergency number, the rules for LTE access in 3GPP may prohibit the UE from making use of this due to the availability of the USIM of the UE. The UE may then initiate a normal call to the serving network and provide the dialed number 110. The serving network connected to the UE in country A may then recognize the number 110 as an emergency number. The network can handle the call as an emergency call if the UE is attempting the call in a circuit-switched (CS) domain (e.g., the CS network 150) or can handle the session as an emergency session if the UE is attempting the call in an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) (e.g., the LTE network 100) as an emergency session. The network can handle the call as an emergency call/session by connecting the call to the PSAP such as the PSAP 130.”
Paragraph [0057] discloses “FIG. 7 is a flow diagram 700 illustrating the third approach of the disclosure. The flow diagram 700 includes a UE 701, a P-CSCF 703, an MSC 705, and a PSAP 707. The UE 701, the P-CSCF 703, the MSC 705, and the PSAP 707 may respectively correspond with the UE 102, the P-CSCF 120 of the IMS network in EPS 100, the MSC 155 of the CS network 150, and the PSAP 130 of FIG. 1. The UE 701 initially attaches to an LTE network that contains an IMS network. At step 711, the user dials a number using the UE 701, where the dialed number includes an emergency number and possibly a prefix and/or postfix number. At step 713, because the UE 701 does not recognize the number dialed at step 711 as an emergency number, the UE 701 initiates a call attempt as a normal call with the dialed number via the P-CSCF 703 of the IMS network. At step 715, the P-CSCF 703 recognizes the emergency call by recognizing the dialed number received in step 713 as an emergency number. At step 717, P-CSCF 703 sends a SIP 380 with an emergency indication. At step 719, the UE 701 selects a CS network and examines the MCC/MNC for this CS network, as discussed above in order to determine whether to retry the call as a normal call or as an emergency call. At this point, the UE may attach to the CS network (e.g., if the UE is not already attached to the CS network).”)
As for claim 14, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 14 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 6, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 15, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 15 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 7, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 16, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 16 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 8, and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Tiwari et al., US Patent Publication No. 20210029776, effectively filed on 1/9/2019 (hereinafter Tiwari).
As for claim 18, limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Tiwari discloses the method, wherein
the detecting of the movement of the electronic device to the service area supporting the emergency call based on long-term evolution (LTE) (EPC emergency services support indicator) communication includes:
(Tiwari paragraph [0122] discloses “The E-UTRAN connected to both EPC and 5GC broadcasts one indicator (e.g. EPC emergency services support indicator) to indicate support of IMS emergency services by EPC and another indicator (e.g. 5GC emergency services support indicator) to indicate support of IMS emergency services by 5GC in system information block type X where is X is an integer. In one example the system information block type X may be System Information Block Type 1.”
LTE/4G type of service relied on core functions within the evolved packet core (EPC).)
determining that the network supports a voice over LTE (VOLTE) emergency call type (FIG. 3A shows procedure to support eCall over IMS for the UE) based on a control message received from the network (indicator is set to value “TRUE”. In one example the indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC is ims-EmergencySupport-r9 in SystemInformationBlockType1).
(Tiwari paragraph [0024] discloses “FIG. 3A shows procedure to support eCall over IMS for the UE in Normal service state or limited service state on a cell of E-UTRAN.”
Paragraph [0123] discloses “If the EPC supports IMS emergency services then the E-UTRAN broadcasts the system information block type X containing an indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC. The indicator indicates that the IMS emergency services by EPC are supported. In one scenario the indicator is set to value “TRUE”. In one example the indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC is ims-EmergencySupport-r9 in SystemInformationBlockType1.”)
As for claim 19, limitations of parent claim 18 have been discussed above. Tiwari discloses the method,
wherein
the control message includes a system information block type 1 (SIB1) and
wherein the determining that the network to which the electronic device is connected supports the VOLTE emergency call type (The indicator indicates that the IMS emergency services by EPC are supported. In one scenario the indicator is set to value “TRUE”) includes:
(Tiwari paragraph [0123] discloses “If the EPC supports IMS emergency services then the E-UTRAN broadcasts the system information block type X containing an indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC. The indicator indicates that the IMS emergency services by EPC are supported. In one scenario the indicator is set to value “TRUE”. In one example the indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC is ims-EmergencySupport-r9 in SystemInformationBlockType1.”)
when a value of an ims-EmergencySupport-r9 field of the SIB1 is configured to be true, determining that the network supports the VOLTE emergency call type (the indicator is set to value “TRUE”. In one example the indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC is ims-EmergencySupport-r9 in SystemInformationBlockType1).
(Tiwari paragraph [0123] discloses “If the EPC supports IMS emergency services then the E-UTRAN broadcasts the system information block type X containing an indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC. The indicator indicates that the IMS emergency services by EPC are supported. In one scenario the indicator is set to value “TRUE”. In one example the indicator related to support of IMS emergency services by EPC is ims-EmergencySupport-r9 in SystemInformationBlockType1.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chong et al., US Patent Publication No. 20160309314, published on 10/20/2016.
The MME first notifies the eNB of emergency-triggered CSFB, then sends a handover request to the MSC including cell information for the 3G cell or the LTE camped cell. The MSC uses that information to select the emergency center, often by querying a DNS, and then proceeds with call setup. [0011], [0017], [0019], [0044], [0100], [0212]-[0213]
Gou et al., US Patent Publication No. 20100255808, published on 10/7/2010.
The UE performs an emergency attachment, the network selects a local gateway and the service entity, and the service entity then establishes an emergency voice bearer and associated signaling path. In some embodiments, the service entity is an eMSC; in others it may be an IMS P-CSCF, depending on network deployment. The arrangement lets the packet network simulate CS emergency calling while preserving emergency priority and local handling. [0015]-[0019], [0035]-[0036], [0049]-[0051]
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646