DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: camera module in claims 1, 9, and 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. US 2023/0202406.
As to claim 1, Jeong teaches a video recording device, comprising: a camera module configured to obtain a video of surroundings of a vehicle; [abstract; fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0046] a motion detection sensor configured to detect a motion of a nearby object; [fig. 1; abstract; ¶ 0047-0048] a first memory configured to store the video; [abstract; ¶ 0045; ¶ 0057] and a controller configured to control the storing of the video, wherein the controller comprises a second memory storing instructions for storing the video, [Fig. 1; fig. 18; ¶ 0056-0058; ¶ 0142-0144] and a processor configured to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions cause, when executed by the processor, the controller to determine whether to store the video according to a set condition for motion detection within a set distance. [fig. 1; fig. 18; ¶ 0012; ¶ 0047-0048; ¶ 0056-0058; ¶ 0142-0144]
As to claim 2, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 1. Jeong teaches wherein the determining whether to store the video comprises, when the set condition for motion detection within the set distance is satisfied, determining to store the video. [¶ 0056-0057]
As to claim 3, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 2. Jeong teaches wherein the determining whether to store the video comprises, when the set condition for motion detection within the set distance is not satisfied, determining not to store the video. [¶ 0056-0057]
As to claim 4, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 3. Jeong teaches wherein the determining whether to store the video further comprises determining to store the video without applying the set condition to a motion detected outside the set distance. [¶ 0056-0057]
As to claim 8, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 1. Jeong teaches wherein the motion detection sensor comprises a radar installed inside the vehicle. [¶ 0047-0049]
As to claim 11, Jeong teaches a method of controlling a video recording device comprising a camera module configured to obtain a video of surroundings of a vehicle, [abstract; fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0046] a motion detection sensor configured to detect a motion of a nearby object, [fig. 1; abstract; ¶ 0047-0048] a first memory configured to store the video, [abstract; ¶ 0045; ¶ 0057] and a controller comprising a second memory storing instructions for storing the video [Fig. 1; fig. 18; ¶ 0056-0058; ¶ 0142-0144] and a processor configured to execute the instructions, the method comprising: determining, by the processor executing the instructions, whether to store the video according to a set condition for motion detection within a set distance. [fig. 1; fig. 18; ¶ 0012; ¶ 0047-0048; ¶ 0056-0058; ¶ 0142-0144]
As to claim 12, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 11. Jeong teaches wherein the determining whether to store the video comprises, when the set condition for motion detection within the set distance is satisfied, determining to store the video. [¶ 0056-0057]
As to claim 13, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 12. Jeong teaches wherein the determining whether to store the video comprises, when the set condition for motion detection within the set distance is not satisfied, determining not to store the video. [¶ 0056-0057]
As to claim 14, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 13. Jeong teaches wherein the determining whether to store the video further comprises determining to store the video without applying the set condition to a motion detected outside the set distance. [¶ 0056-0057]
As to claim 18, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 11. Jeong teaches wherein the motion detection sensor comprises a radar installed inside the vehicle. [¶ 0047-0049]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-10, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. US 2023/0202406 in view of Hehl DE 102023120134.
As to claim 5, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 1. Jeong does not explicitly teach wherein the set condition comprises an occupant absence condition related to an absence of an occupant in the vehicle.
Hehl teaches wherein the set condition comprises an occupant absence condition related to an absence of an occupant in the vehicle. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Hehl with the teachings of Jeong allowing for improved targeted monitoring.
As to claim 6, Jeong (modified by Hehl ) teaches the limitations of claim 5. Hehl teaches wherein the instructions further cause the controller to determine the occupant absence condition using at least one of a door open/close signal, a seat occupancy sensor signal, and a rear occupant alert (ROA) signal of the vehicle. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
As to claim 7, Jeong (modified by Hehl ) teaches the limitations of claim 6. Hehl teaches wherein the instructions further cause the controller to determine the occupant absence condition using at least one of the seat occupancy sensor signal or the ROA signal, along with the door open/close signal. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
As to claim 9, Jeong teaches a video recording device, comprising: a camera module configured to obtain a video of surroundings of a vehicle; [abstract; fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0046] a motion detection sensor configured to detect a motion of a nearby object; [fig. 1; abstract; ¶ 0047-0048] a first memory configured to store the video; [abstract; ¶ 0045; ¶ 0057] and a controller configured to control the storing of the video, wherein the controller comprises a second memory storing instructions for storing the video, [Fig. 1; fig. 18; ¶ 0056-0058; ¶ 0142-0144] and a processor configured to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to, when the motion is detected outside a set distance, store the video, and when the motion is detected within the set distance, [fig. 1; fig. 18; ¶ 0012; ¶ 0047-0048; ¶ 0056-0058; ¶ 0142-0144]
Jeong does not explicitly teach store the video based on an occupant absence condition related to the absence of an occupant in the vehicle.
Hehl teaches store the video based on an occupant absence condition related to the absence of an occupant in the vehicle. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Hehl with the teachings of Jeong allowing for improved targeted monitoring.
As to claim 10, Jeong (modified by Hehl ) teaches the limitations of claim 9. Hehl teaches wherein the instructions further cause the controller to determine the occupant absence condition using at least one of a door open/close signal, a seat occupancy sensor signal, and a rear occupant alert (ROA) signal of the vehicle. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
As to claim 15, Jeong teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Jeong does not explicitly teach wherein the set condition comprises an occupant absence condition related to an absence of an occupant in the vehicle.
Hehl teaches wherein the set condition comprises an occupant absence condition related to an absence of an occupant in the vehicle. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Hehl with the teachings of Jeong allowing for improved targeted monitoring.
As to claim 16, Jeong (modified by Hehl ) teaches the limitations of claim 15. Hehl teaches further comprising determining the occupant absence condition using at least one of a door open/close signal, a seat occupancy sensor signal, and a rear occupant alert (ROA) signal of the vehicle. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
As to claim 17, Jeong (modified by Hehl ) teaches the limitations of claim 16. Hehl teaches wherein determining the occupant absence condition comprises determining the occupant absence condition using at least one of the seat occupancy sensor signal or the ROA signal, along with the door open/close signal. [pg. 3 lines 34-47; pg. 5 line 45 - pg. 6 line 14; pg. 8 lines 36-43]
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483