Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 3, “rear flat surface” should read --a rear flat surface--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the key includes a key shank, and wherein the grip shank defines a blind bore that receives the grip shank” which is indefinite. It is not clear how a bore of a piece receives the piece. Figs. of the invention show the key shank is received inside the blind bore of the grip shank. Therefore the above limitation is interpreted to be:--the key includes a key shank, and wherein the grip shank defines a blind bore that receives the key shank--.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; the following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for.";and
Claim 8 recites “a first retention element configured to retain the first driver bit within the first socket”.The three prong tests are:
The third prong is not met and therefore this claim limitation is not going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f.
Claim 8 recites “a second retention element configured to retain the second driver bit within the second socket”. The three prong tests are:
The third prong is not met and therefore this claim limitation is not going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f.
Claim 17 recites “a retention element configured to retain the second driver bit within the socket”. The three prong tests are:
The third prong is not met and therefore this claim limitation is not going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuang (US 20160311106 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a fastener driver (hand tool shown in Figs. 1-11) comprising: a first driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 8); a second driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 10); and a handle (handle 20) coupled to the first driver bit, the handle (20) and the first driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 8) extending along a longitudinal axis (L2), the handle including a base having a grip portion and a grip shank (28); a grip housing (27) coupled to the grip shank (grip housing 27 is located inside grip shank 28), the grip housing at least partially defining a socket (socket comprises connection portion 31 and driving recess 211) configured to removably receive the second driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 10); and a key coupled to the grip shank (key is interpreted to be the end portion of the grip housing 27), the key defining a socket aperture (driving recess 211) that at least partially defines the socket, wherein the socket extends along a second axis (L1) that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (L2).
Regarding claim 2, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the key includes a key shank, and wherein the grip shank defines a blind bore (longitudinal bore of 28 is blinded by grip housing 27 inside 28) that receives the key shank.
Regarding claim 3, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the handle includes a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis (L2), and wherein the handle is coupled to the first driver bit at the first end, and wherein the second end includes the socket.
Regarding claim 7, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the socket is a second socket, and wherein the grip portion defines a first socket (31 in Fig. 8) configured to removably receive the first driver bit (272 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a first retention element configured (magnet 29) to retain the first driver bit within the first socket; and a second retention element (magnet 29) configured to retain the second driver bit within the second socket.
Regarding claim 18, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a fastener driver (hand tool shown in Figs. 1-11) comprising: a first driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 8); a second driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 10); and a handle (handle 20) coupled to the first driver bit, the handle (20) and the first driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 8) extending along a longitudinal axis (L2), the handle including a base including a grip portion and a grip shank (28); a grip housing (27) coupled to the grip shank (grip housing 27 is located inside grip shank 28), the grip housing at least partially defining a socket (socket comprises connection portion 31 and driving recess 211) configured to removably receive the second driver bit (tool bit 272 shown in Fig. 10); wherein the socket extends along a second axis (L1) that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (L2).
Regarding claim 19, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a key coupled to the grip shank (key is interpreted to be the end portion of the grip housing 27), the key defining a socket aperture (driving recess 211) that at least partially defines the socket, wherein the key includes a key shank, and wherein the grip shank defines a blind bore (longitudinal bore of 28 is blinded by grip housing 27 inside 28) that receives the key shank.
Regarding claim 20, Chuang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the socket is a second socket, and wherein the grip portion defines a first socket (31 in Fig. 8) configured to removably receive the first driver bit (272 in Fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-17 are allowed.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 9 is Chuang. However Chuang does not teach the claimed first and second dimensions. These limitations, with other claimed limitations in a whole, make the instant invention neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the best prior art in record.
Claims 10-17 are allowed due to dependency on allowed claim 9.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-6 would be allowable due to dependency on allowable claim 4.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723