DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AMINI et al. (US 2021/0258804 A1) (herein after AMINI).
As to claim 1, AMINI teaches a method [0004: “wireless communications systems operable to manage workload of their constituents based on thermal conditions”] comprising:
causing, by a network device [see fig-2, wireless base station 204], a first network connection between the network device and a user device according to a first configuration of a set of parameters associated with a first power consumption level associated with the network device [0006 - “to adaptively control the operating configurations, the device selects a frequency band with lower power consumption for one or more client devices to reduce the temperature of the networking device”];
determining, based on the first network connection, a temperature of the network device [“0037 - monitoring thermal conditions in a communications device including one or more network interfaces”];
based on the temperature of the network device, determining a second power consumption level associated with the network device [0005 - “adjusting operating configurations in a networking device to regulate thermal conditions in the networking device”]; and causing, based on the second power consumption level, a second network connection between the network device and the user device according to a second configuration of the set of parameters [0005 - “instructions can be sent to another device communicating with the networking device to modify communications in order to regulate the thermal conditions”. 0006 - “the device selects a frequency band with lower power consumption for one or more client devices to reduce the temperature of the networking device”].
As to claim 2, AMINI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one or more of the first configuration of the set of parameters or the second configuration of the set of parameters are based on a power consumption table [0076 – “executing instructions stored in memory 214, 315, 403, 503”. 0041 - “the possible operating configurations are learned based on the operating configurations and characteristics of the communication activity when the monitored thermal conditions leave and return the thermal range. In one embodiment, software is used that receives training data that includes a plurality of positive examples of operating configurations or control schemes with corresponding thermal indicators and a plurality of negative examples of operating configurations or control schemes with thermal indicators for machine learning. The processor then analyzes the training data set using machine learning to train a machine learning-based detection (MLD) control schemes profile that can be used to classify combinations of configurations and calculate thermal metrics for the MLD control schemes. In another embodiment, when the monitored thermal conditions leave and return the thermal range to learn possible operating configuration, the learning module can inventory or catalog the operating configurations for each component of the networking device, characteristics of the communication activity on each component and/or interface and thermal conditions.”]
As to claim 3, AMINI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the set of parameters comprise one or more of a frequency band, a Wi-Fi standard, a bandwidth, a modulation coding scheme index, a guard interval, or a number of antennas [0043 - “Adaptively controlling the operating configurations can include combinations of controls such as changing power amplifier operating parameters based on the monitored thermal conditions, capping a duty cycle for a specific communication client, switching a frequency band for a portion of communication activity, adjusting power allocated to one or more transmit chains of one or more radios, changing a protocol governing a portion of the communications activity to an older compatible version of the protocol, etc.”].
As to claim 5, AMINI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second power consumption level is lower than the first power consumption level. [0075- wherein causing the radio (e.g., 400) to operate in the second mode comprises causing the radio (e.g., 300) to use a second amount of power which is less than the first amount of power];
As to claim 6, AMINI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second configuration of the set of parameters comprises one or more of a same frequency band, a same modulation, a same guard interval, or a same number of antennas as the first configuration of the set of parameters [0051-“Example implementations also pertain to managing thermal conditions of a multi-band wireless base station, a wireless router, a wireless access point, etc. that includes more than one wireless radio in the same frequency band”].
As to claim 7, AMINI teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, based on the second network connection, a second temperature of the network device [0075- wherein causing the radio (e.g., 400) to operate in the second mode comprises causing the radio (e.g., 300) to use a second amount of power which is less than the first amount of power];
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 3 [0043 - “Adaptively controlling the operating configurations”].
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 3 [0043 - “Adaptively controlling the operating configurations”].
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, since both claim 1 & 10 recite identical claim limitations with insignificant change in wording.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 2, since both claims 2 & 11 recite identical claim limitations with insignificant change in wording.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 3, since both claims 12 & 3 recite identical claim limitations with insignificant change in wording.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 5, since both claims 13 & 5 recite identical claim limitations with insignificant change in wording.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 6, since both claims 14& 6 recite identical claim limitations with insignificant change in wording.
As to claim 15, AMINI teaches a method comprising: causing, by a first device, a first network connection between the first device and a second device according to a first configuration of a set of parameters associated with a first power consumption level associated with the first device [0006 - “to adaptively control the operating configurations, the device selects a frequency band with lower power consumption for one or more client devices to reduce the temperature of the networking device”];
based on a data throughput associated with the first network connection, determining a second power consumption level associated with the first device [0046 – “Some thermal control schemes involve moving client devises from a frequency band with higher power consumption to a frequency band with lower power consumption (e.g., from 5 GHz to 2 GHz, or 6 GHz to 5 GHz, or 6 GHz to 2 GHz)”]; and causing, based on the second power consumption level, a second network connection between the first device and the second device according to a second configuration of the set of parameters [0075- wherein causing the radio (e.g., 400) to operate in the second mode comprises causing the radio (e.g., 300) to use a second amount of power which is less than the first amount of power].
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 2, since both claim 16 & 2 recite identical claim limitations with insignificant change in wording.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 3, since both claims 17 & 3 recite identical claim limitations with insignificant change in wording.
As to claim 18, AMINI teaches, wherein based on the data throughput associated with the first network connection, determining the second power consumption level associated with the first device comprises based on the data throughput falling below a threshold, determining a second power consumption level that is lower than the first power consumption level [0046 – “Some thermal control schemes involve moving client devises from a frequency band with higher power consumption to a frequency band with lower power consumption (e.g., from 5 GHz to 2 GHz, or 6 GHz to 5 GHz, or 6 GHz to 2 GHz)”].
As to claim 19, AMINI teaches, wherein based on the data throughput associated with the first network connection, determining the second power consumption level associated with the first device comprises based on the data throughput rising above a threshold, determining a second power consumption level that is greater than the first power consumption level [0049 – “In some examples, control scheme will be implemented in radios operating in higher frequency bands (e.g., 5 gigahertz (GHz)) before being implemented in radios operating in lower frequency bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz)”. 0069 – “When power allocated to one or sub-streams 516 or transmit chains 528 is reduced (as part of a control scheme), power allocated to one or more other sub-streams 516 or transmit chains 528 is increased”. 0043 – “Adaptively controlling the operating configurations can include combinations of controls such as changing power amplifier operating parameters based on the monitored thermal conditions, capping a duty cycle for a specific communication client, switching a frequency band for a portion of communication activity, adjusting power allocated to one or more transmit chains of one or more radios, changing a protocol governing a portion of the communications activity to an older compatible version of the protocol, etc.”].
As to claim 20, AMINI teaches, further comprising based on a data throughput associated with the second network connection rising above a threshold, causing a third network connection (e.g. second and third radios e.g., 206, 208) between the first device and the second device according to the first configuration of the set of parameters [0057 – “The wireless base station 204 includes a first radio (e.g., 205) operable in a first frequency band (e.g., frequency band X) and second and third radios (e.g., 206, 208) operable at a second frequency band (e.g., frequency band Y). The frequency bands X and Y can be any of permissible frequency bands used for wireless communication”. 0074 – “Control schemes can include causing one or more radios (e.g., 300) to operate in different frequency band, or to communicate with a different radio (e.g., 205, 206, 300), wireless base station 104, 105, 204, or with a different repeater”].
.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMINI et al. (US 2021/0258804 A1) in view of Alan et al. (hereinafter ‘Alan’) US 2022/0345171A1.
Regarding claim 4, AMINI teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein a fan is activated based on the temperature of the network device. However, Alan teaches wherein a fan is activated based on the temperature of the network device [0054 – “the IHS platform thermal management controls 316 may include one or more of 1) the speed(s) of one or more cooling fans controlled by the IHS”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AMINI with the teaching of Alan to include the feature in order to dissipate heat. Alan improves on AMINI because including a cooling fan to dissipate heat will prevent damage to the system.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 09, 2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application on November 22, 2024 the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Contact
/AFRINA MURSHID/Examiner, Art Unit 2176
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176