DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,616,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,616,999 implies that signatures will be generated from the requests without explicitly claiming them, as the apparatus is “ to automate recording of media for signature creation”. The outstanding application explicitly recites generating said signatures.
Application No. 18/9578,299 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 11,616,999 Claim 1
A method comprising:
An apparatus to automate recording of media for signature creation comprising:
receiving a reference signature request for a media content, the reference signature request including capture instructions and media information associated with a media content;
employee interface circuitry to receive a plurality of reference signature requests, wherein a first reference signature request in the plurality of reference signature requests corresponds to a first media title, a first capture date, and a first set of signatures
determining, using the media information, that the media content is available at a digital media platform;
performed by the claimed “automated capture tool circuitry”
controlling, using the capture instructions, a media player to play the media content on the digital media platform; and
automated capture tool circuitry to play media, the media described by the reference signature request
generating, using a meter, a reference signature from the media content being played on the media player.
Implied by nature of apparatus
Claims 2-20 are similarly unpatentable in view of claims 2-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,616,999.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,626. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,626 implies utilizing a media player to determine media content is available and used to render the media content, see claim 2, which recites “initiating playback”.
Application No. 18/9578,299 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 11,616,999 Claim 1
A method comprising:
A computing system comprising
receiving a reference signature request for a media content, the reference signature request including capture instructions and media information associated with a media content;
receiving a first reference signature request corresponding to a first capture date and a first set of signatures associated with first media content;
determining, using the media information, that the media content is available at a digital media platform; controlling, using the capture instructions, a media player to play the media content on the digital media platform; and
To initiate playback, see claim 2 which states “initiating, based on the prioritization, playback of the first media content before initiating playback of the second media content.”
generating, using a meter, a reference signature from the media content being played on the media player.
creating a first reference signature from the first set of signatures;
Claims 2-20 are similarly unpatentable in view of claims 2-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,626.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramanathan et al. (10,579,668) [Ramanathan].
Regarding claims 1, 8, 12, and 16, Ramanathan discloses a method comprising:
receiving a reference signature request for a media content, the reference signature request including capture instructions and media information associated with a media content (identification of at least one clip to extract signatures from, col. 9 lines 20-39);
determining, using the media information, that the media content is available at a digital media platform (via multimedia stream 302, fig. 3);
controlling, using the capture instructions, a media player to play the media content on the digital media platform; and generating, using a meter, a reference signature from the media content being played on the media player (fig. 3, signature generation 312).
Regarding claims 2, 4-5, 9-11, Ramanathan discloses the method and system of claims 1 and 8, wherein the reference signature request is a first reference signature request, wherein the media content is a first media content, wherein the reference signature is a first reference signature, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second reference signature request for a second media content different than the first media content prior to generating the first reference signature, assigning a priority to the first reference signature request over the second reference signature request, and generating said second signature (priority is the order in which requests are entered, col. 9 lines 20-39).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Ramanathan discloses the method and computer readable medium of claims 1 and 16, further comprising: storing, in a database, the reference signature in association with metadata for the media content (Fig. 2C reference database 208).
Regarding claim 7, Ramanathan discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: transmitting, after the generating, a notification that the reference signature was generated (when matches are found, fig. 2E).
Regarding claims 13, 14, and 19, Ramanathan discloses the system and computer readable medium of claims 8, 12, and 16, wherein the capture instructions comprise playing the media content from a first time interval until a second time interval (clips are distinct pieces of multimedia content comprising a temporal duration, col. 9 lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 17, Ramanathan discloses the computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the digital media platform is a streaming application (col. 6 lines 59 – col. 7 line 10).
Regarding claim 20, Ramanathan discloses the computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the set of operation further comprises storing, in a database, a status associated with generating the reference signature (inherent, as a finished signature is itself indicative of a “completed” status).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan.
Regarding claim 15, Ramanathan disclose the system of claim 14, but fails to specifically disclose recording, in the database, a language of the media content, a title of media content, an episode associated with the media content, and a season associated with the media content.
Examiner takes official notice that including metadata descriptive of the language, title, episode, and season (when applicable) in a database of video content was notoriously well known in the art at the time of effective filing.
It would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ramanathan to include recording, in the database, a language of the media content, a title of media content, an episode associated with the media content, and a season associated with the media content for the conventional benefit of rigorously identifying video contents referenced by a database.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Said claims are directed towards specific prioritization of signature generation, as previously found allowable in U.S. Patent numbers 11,616,999 and 12,160,626.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421