DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bobuk et al (pub #20250164810), see provisional application 63/601698 filed on Nov. 21, 2023 for support of priority, in view of Sugihara et al (pub # 20150042544).
Consider claim 1. Bobuk et al teaches A wearable display device, (abstract, augmented-reality glasses). comprising:
a display frame; (Fig. 7A and paragraph 0214, frame 704).
a securement arm including a proximal end removably coupled to the display frame and a distal end opposite the proximal end, (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0031, The temple arm 100 (FIGS. 1G and 1H) is configured to (mechanically) couple with a frame of a pair of augmented-reality glasses. In particular, the frame of the pair of augmented-reality glasses is configured to couple with two temple arms 100 (e.g., a first temple arm and a second temple arm, opposite the first temple arm).).
the securement arm defining a singular seamless shell; (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0032, each temple arm 100 is formed of an external-environment-facing temple arm housing 105 and a skin-facing temple arm cover 190.).
a battery disposed within the shell; (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, second power source 170b. Paragraph 0033, one or more power sources 170 (e.g., batteries, battery packs, or battery cells)).
a speaker disposed within the shell distal to the battery; (Figs. 1C-1D and paragraph 0036, speaker 145 distal to the power source 170a).
and a printed circuit board (PCB) coupled to the battery (Figs. 1E-1D and paragraph 0069, the first power sources 170a is coupled over the second RFPCA (rigid flex printed circuit assembly) portion 160b).
and electrically coupled to the speaker via an electric conductor, (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0064, the rigid or semi rigid portion 165 of the RFPCA 160 can include one or more connectors for connecting the sensor deck 149, the one or more power sources 170, the speaker 145, and or other electrical components with the RFPCA 160 and other electronic components of the augmented-reality glasses.).
a length of the conductor being greater than a distance between the PCB and the speaker; (Fig. 1F, length of the RFPCA 160 which includes the one or more connectors is longer than the distance between RFPCA portion 160b and the speaker 145).
Bobuk et al does not specifically disclose wherein the shell defines an opening at the proximal end of the arm sized for removal of battery and the PCB without interrupting the electrical coupling between the PCB and the speaker via the conductor. However Sugihara et al in at least Figs. 7A and 7B as well as paragraph 0161 discloses a battery 16 disposed within a temple tip 12 of an eyeglass-type wearable device comprising connections lines LB1 to LB4 for providing power to the wearable device. Paragraph 0161 specifically discloses that “The temple tip part 12 provided with the battery 16 is designed to be removable. The battery 16 provided in the temple tip part 12 can be charged using a charging device or the like by removing the temple tip part 12 from the temple part 10”, thus the battery 16 could be removed to be charged while maintaining connection through lines LB1 to LB4. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Sugihara et al with the invention of Bobuk et al so that convenience to the user can be improved (Sugihara et al paragraph 0107).
Consider claim 7. Bobuk et al teaches A wearable electronic device, (abstract, augmented-reality glasses). comprising:
a display frame coupled to a display window; (Fig. 7A and paragraph 0215, The AR device 700 includes mechanical glasses components, including a frame 704 configured to hold one or more lenses (e.g., one or both lenses 706-1 and 706-2).
a securement arm, the securement arm comprising: a proximal arm (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0031, The temple arm 100 (FIGS. 1G and 1H) is configured to (mechanically) couple with a frame of a pair of augmented-reality glasses. In particular, the frame of the pair of augmented-reality glasses is configured to couple with two temple arms 100 (e.g., a first temple arm and a second temple arm, opposite the first temple arm).).
comprising a shell pivotally coupled to the display frame at a proximal end of the shell, the shell having a distal end opposite the proximal end; (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0032, each temple arm 100 is formed of an external-environment-facing temple arm housing 105 and a skin-facing temple arm cover 190.).
and a distal arm coupled to the distal end, the distal end defining an internal volume having a first curvature; (Figs. 1A-1H and paragraph 0032, The external-environment-facing temple arm housing 105 can be a curved temple arm housing 110 having a head shaped curvature to contour a portion of the user's head (e.g., when the temple arm 100 is worn).
a first battery disposed within the shell (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, second power source 170b. Paragraph 0033, one or more power sources 170 (e.g., batteries, battery packs, or battery cells)).
and a second battery disposed within the distal arm, the second battery having a second curvature that approximates the first curvature to fit within the internal volume (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, first power source 170a. Paragraph 0033, one or more power sources 170 (e.g., batteries, battery packs, or battery cells). Power source 170a has curvature to match the curve of the temple arm).
Bobuk et al does not specifically disclose and removable from the securement arm through an opening defined at the proximal end of the shell; and being removable from the securement arm. However Sugihara et al in at least Figs. 7A and 7B as well as paragraph 0161 discloses a battery 16 disposed within a temple tip 12 of an eyeglass-type wearable device comprising connections lines LB1 to LB4 for providing power to the wearable device. Paragraph 0161 specifically discloses that “The temple tip part 12 provided with the battery 16 is designed to be removable. The battery 16 provided in the temple tip part 12 can be charged using a charging device or the like by removing the temple tip part 12 from the temple part 10”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Sugihara et al with the invention of Bobuk et al so that convenience to the user can be improved (Sugihara et al paragraph 0107).
Consider claim 13. Bobuck et al teaches A securement arm (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0031, The temple arm 100). for a wearable electronic device, , (abstract, augmented-reality glasses). the securement arm comprising:
a proximal housing having a first proximal end and a first distal end opposite the first proximal end; (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0032, each temple arm 100 is formed of an external-environment-facing temple arm housing 105 and a skin-facing temple arm cover 190.).
a distal housing defining a first curve configured to accommodate an ear of a user, (Figs. 1A-1H and paragraph 0032, The external-environment-facing temple arm housing 105 can be a curved temple arm housing 110 having a head shaped curvature to contour a portion of the user's head (e.g., when the temple arm 100 is worn).
the distal housing having:
a second proximal end; (Figs. 1A-1H).
and a second distal end opposite the second proximal end; (Figs. 1A-1H).
a battery disposed within the distal housing, the battery defining a second curve that approximates the first curve; (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, first power source 170a. Paragraph 0033, one or more power sources 170 (e.g., batteries, battery packs, or battery cells). Power source 170a has curvature to match the curve of the temple arm).
and a charging port disposed at the second distal end.(Fig. 1C and paragraph 0041, power device mount 130).
Bobuk et al does not specifically disclose removably coupled to the first distal end of the proximal housing. However Sugihara et al in at least Figs. 7A and 7B as well as paragraph 0161 discloses a battery 16 disposed within a temple tip 12 of an eyeglass-type wearable device comprising connections lines LB1 to LB4 for providing power to the wearable device. Paragraph 0161 specifically discloses that “The temple tip part 12 provided with the battery 16 is designed to be removable. The battery 16 provided in the temple tip part 12 can be charged using a charging device or the like by removing the temple tip part 12 from the temple part 10”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Sugihara et al with the invention of Bobuk et al so that convenience to the user can be improved (Sugihara et al paragraph 0107).
Consider claim 2. Bobuk et al further teaches The wearable display device of claim 1, further comprising: a transparent window coupled to the display frame; (paragraph 0215, one or both lenses 706-1 and 706-2).
and a projector configured to direct light displayed at the transparent window. (paragraph 0213, The head-wearable devices can use display projectors (e.g., display projector assemblies 707A and 707B) and/or waveguides for projecting representations of data to a user.).
Consider claim 3. Bobuk et al further teaches The wearable display device of claim 1, wherein the conductor comprises a flexible printed circuit. (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0064, the rigid or semi rigid portion 165 of the RFPCA 160 can include one or more connectors for connecting the sensor deck 149, the one or more power sources 170, the speaker 145, and or other electrical components with the RFPCA 160 and other electronic components of the augmented-reality glasses.).
Consider claim 4. Bobuk et al further teaches The wearable display device of claim 1, further comprising a curved arm tip secured to the distal end of the securement arm. (Figs. 1A-1H and paragraph 0041, tip-end portions of the respective curved temple arm housings 110).
Consider claim 5. Bobuk et al further teaches The wearable display device of claim 4, wherein: the battery is a first battery; (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, second power source 170b).
and the wearable display device further comprises a second battery disposed within the curved arm tip. (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, first power source 170a disposed in the curved arm tip).
Consider claim 6. Bobuk et al does not specifically disclose The wearable display device of claim 4, wherein the curved arm tip is removably secured to the distal end of the securement arm. However Sugihara et al in at least Figs. 7A and 7B as well as paragraph 0161 discloses a battery 16 disposed within a temple tip 12 of an eyeglass-type wearable device comprising connections lines LB1 to LB4 for providing power to the wearable device. Paragraph 0161 specifically discloses that “The temple tip part 12 provided with the battery 16 is designed to be removable. The battery 16 provided in the temple tip part 12 can be charged using a charging device or the like by removing the temple tip part 12 from the temple part 10”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Sugihara et al with the invention of Bobuk et al so that convenience to the user can be improved (Sugihara et al paragraph 0107).
Consider claim 8. Bobuk et al further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 7, further comprising a charging port cap removably secured to the distal end of the distal arm. (Figs. 1F and 1H as well as paragraph 0042, power input device 142 can be a slider that can be opened and closed).
Consider claim 9. Bobuk et al does not specifically disclose The wearable electronic device of claim 7, wherein the second battery is configured to be fixedly attach to the charging port cap and removable from the distal arm. However Sugihara et al in at least Figs. 7A and 7B as well as paragraph 0161 discloses a battery 16 disposed within a temple tip 12 of an eyeglass-type wearable device comprising connections lines LB1 to LB4 for providing power to the wearable device. Paragraph 0161 specifically discloses that “The temple tip part 12 provided with the battery 16 is designed to be removable. The battery 16 provided in the temple tip part 12 can be charged using a charging device or the like by removing the temple tip part 12 from the temple part 10”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Sugihara et al with the invention of Bobuk et al so that convenience to the user can be improved (Sugihara et al paragraph 0107).
Consider claim 10. Bobuk et al further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 7, the distal arm further comprising a first shell and a second shell, wherein the second shell includes a housing of the second battery. (Fig. 1E, power source 170b disposed a part of the temple arm closer to the frame, thus a first shell, and the power source 170a disposed in a tip of the temple arm, thus a second shell).
Consider claim 11. Bobuk et al does not specifically disclose The wearable electronic device of claim 7, wherein the distal arm is removable from the proximal arm. However Sugihara et al in at least Figs. 7A and 7B as well as paragraph 0161 discloses a battery 16 disposed within a temple tip 12 of an eyeglass-type wearable device comprising connections lines LB1 to LB4 for providing power to the wearable device. Paragraph 0161 specifically discloses that “The temple tip part 12 provided with the battery 16 is designed to be removable. The battery 16 provided in the temple tip part 12 can be charged using a charging device or the like by removing the temple tip part 12 from the temple part 10”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Sugihara et al with the invention of Bobuk et al so that convenience to the user can be improved (Sugihara et al paragraph 0107).
Consider claim 12. Bobuk et al does not specifically disclose The wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein the second shell is removable from the distal arm. However Sugihara et al in at least Figs. 7A and 7B as well as paragraph 0161 discloses a battery 16 disposed within a temple tip 12 of an eyeglass-type wearable device comprising connections lines LB1 to LB4 for providing power to the wearable device. Paragraph 0161 specifically discloses that “The temple tip part 12 provided with the battery 16 is designed to be removable. The battery 16 provided in the temple tip part 12 can be charged using a charging device or the like by removing the temple tip part 12 from the temple part 10”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Sugihara et al with the invention of Bobuk et al so that convenience to the user can be improved (Sugihara et al paragraph 0107).
Consider claim 14. Bobuk et al further teaches The securement arm of claim 13, wherein the battery comprises a housing including the distal housing. (Figs. 1A-1H, power source 170a within the housing of the temple arm 110).
Consider claim 15. Bobuk et al further teaches The securement arm of claim 13, wherein the charging port is removably coupled to the second distal end of the distal housing. (Figs. 1F and 1H as well as paragraph 0042, power input device 142 can be a slider that can be opened and closed).
Consider claim 16. Bobuk et al further teaches The securement arm of claim 13, wherein: the battery is a first battery; (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, first power source 170a. Paragraph 0033, one or more power sources 170 (e.g., batteries, battery packs, or battery cells). Power source 170a has curvature to match the curve of the temple arm).
and the securement arm further comprises a second battery disposed within the proximal housing. (Fig. 1E and paragraph 0035, a second power source 170b to the curved temple arm housing 110).
Consider claim 17. Bobuk et al further teaches The securement arm of claim 13, wherein the charging port cap defines a through-hole extending through a thickness of the distal housing. (paragraph 0049, the curved temple arm housing 110 includes one or more mounting fixtures 156 (e.g., rises, posts, screw holes, anchor holes, etc.)).
Consider claim 20. Bobuk et al further teaches The securement arm of claim 13, further comprising: a first seal disposed between the first distal end and the second proximal end and defining an external surface of the securement arm; (Fig. 1B and paragraph 0053, the hinge mount 135 and the hinge assembly 137 form an airtight seal when coupled with the curved temple arm housing 110.).
and a second seal disposed within the proximal housing and between the proximal housing and the distal housing. (Paragraph 0075, The adhesive 185 covers the perimeter of the curved temple arm housing 110 such that the adhesive 185 forms a hermetic seal when the skin-facing temple arm cover 190 is coupled with the curved temple arm housing 110.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 18. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious The securement arm of claim 13, further comprising a blind connection mechanism including: a biasing member adjustably engaged with an inner surface at or near the first distal end; a groove defined by the second proximal end configured to engage the biasing member when the second proximal end is inserted into the first distal end; and a canted surface defined by the biasing member or the second proximal end and configured to expand the biasing member when the second proximal end is inserted into the first distal end.
Claim 19 objected to due to its dependency from claim 18.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624