DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 17 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woo H S, Korean Patent Application No 2022-0030489. As to Claim 1, Woo teaches a walled boundary (fence), paragraph 0018. The walled boundary may comprise a frame (112, 113, 114, 116, 131, 133, 134) comprising a base element (112, 113, 114) extending horizontally, paragraphs 0024, 0027 and 0036 and see Figure 2. A transparent wall element (10) may be mounted on the frame, paragraph 0037and see Figure 2. A wall support (140) may extend from the frame to the wall element, paragraph 0046 and see Figure 2. As to Claim 2, Woo teaches that a channel (groove 120) may be provided on the base element, with a lower end of the wall element mounted in the channel, paragraph 0028. As to Claim 3, Woo teaches a base element, as discussed above, which base element may be a first base element (113) further comprising a second base element (114) with the channel extending from the first base element to the second base element, see Figures 2 and 4. As to Claim 5, Woo teaches that the frame may comprise a riser (118) extending vertically from the base element, the wall support attached to the riser, paragraph 0049 and see Figure 2. As to Claim 8, Woo teaches a second wall element (10) vertically disposed on top of a first wall element (10), see Figure 2, noting that wall elements may be vertically aligned. As to Claim 11, Woo teaches that the wall element may be a rectangular plate, see Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo. As to Claim 4, Woo teaches that the frame may further comprise a lateral support (116) extending from the first base element to the second base element, the channel mounted on the lateral support, paragraph 0028 and see Figure 4. Woo does not specify that the channel may be arranged on top of the lateral support. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the channel on top of the lateral support since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Berglund et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2023/0405444. Woo substantially shows the claimed limitations as discussed above. As to Claim 6, Woo is silent as to an adjustable pole. Berglund teaches a walled boundary (panels at least partially enclosing a padel court, paragraph 0045. A wall support (14, 18) may be provided, paragraph 0046. The wall support may comprise an adjustable pole (14) noting telescopic, paragraph 0049. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Woo with an adjustable wall support, as taught by Berglund, to provide adjustment to the generally vertical orientation of the wall element to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of customizing the angle of the wall to account for a slope of a support surface. As to Claim 7, Berglund teaches that the wall support may comprise a hinge element (hinge), paragraph 0039. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Woo with a hinge element on the wall support, as taught by Berglund to provide Woo with a pivoting wall support to yield the predictable result of facilitating storage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 5 August 2026