Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5, 8, 9, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 3, 4, and 17 have been canceled. Claims 1, 2, 5-15, 18, 19, and 20 are pending and rejected in the application. This action is Final.
Claim Objection
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 13, the limitation “wherein the the plurality…etc” needs to be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant Argues
Applicant submits that independent claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea, and further the claim integrates any such concept into a practical application and recites significantly more than any alleged judicial exception. Initially, claim 1 recites a specific and technologically grounded process including "generating, via a query embedding manager, a query embedding representing a query via a high-dimensional vector," and "identifying, from a plurality of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace, a data embedding…that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding." Such claim aspects include the use of high-dimensional vector representations and similarity computations across a plurality of embeddings. Such operations are inherently computational and cannot practically be performed in
the human mind, particularly where the embeddings represent large-scale, heterogeneous data sources and are arranged within a high-dimensional space. Further, the claim includes various components and technologies that preclude the claim from being performed in a human mind. Thus, the claim does not recite a mental process.
Examiner Responds:
Applicant's 35 USC § 101 arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 5-15, 18, 19, and 20 have been considered and are not persuasive.
MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) provides:
“The courts have not provided an explicit test for this consideration, but have instead illustrated how it is evaluated in numerous decisions. These decisions, and a detailed explanation of how examiners should evaluate this consideration are provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a). In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel").”
Here, the claim remains subject to 35 U.S.C. § 101 because, under the Alice/Mayo framework, the limitations, when considered as a whole, are directed to the abstract idea of identifying information relevant to a query based on similarity between data representations, generating content from the identified information, and displaying the resulting content. The recited “query embedding manager,” high-dimensional vector, hyperspace, embedding model, similarity threshold, data store, and generative AI models merely describe the use of generic computer components and mathematical techniques to perform the abstract information-processing steps; they do not impose a particular improvement to the functioning of the computer itself or to another technology. In particular, generating a query embedding, comparing embeddings based on a similarity threshold, identifying corresponding data, and using that data to generate and display content are conventional information retrieval, analysis, and presentation operations, even when implemented using AI or vector representations.
At Alice step two, the claim does not recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application because the claimed computing media, processors, graphical user interface, data store, embedding model, and generative AI models are recited at a high level of generality and are used for their ordinary intended functions. The limitation that the hyperspace positions similar embeddings closer together and dissimilar embeddings farther apart merely characterizes the mathematical representation itself and does not establish a technological improvement. Likewise, the use of generative AI to produce content from the retrieved data amounts to applying a known computational technique to the abstract information-processing scheme rather than integrating the abstract idea into a practical technological application. Accordingly, the claim, viewed as an ordered combination, amounts to no more than collecting, organizing, analyzing, retrieving, generating, and presenting information using generic computer technology, and therefore remains ineligible under § 101.
Applicant Argues
Applicant submits that the cited references fail to teach or suggest each and every feature of independent claim 1. For example, the cited references fail to teach or suggest "identifying, from a plurality of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace, a data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding, wherein the hyperspace comprises a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings, generated via an embedding model, are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart," as recited in claim 1.
Examiner Responds:
Applicant's 35 USC § 103 argument with respect to claims 1, 2, 5-15, 18, 19, and 20 has been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 5-16, and18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-2 and 5-8 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 1 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a system which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 1 recites one or more computer storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method, the method comprising:
generating, via a query embedding manager, a query embedding representing a query via a high-dimensional vector;
identifying, from a plurality of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace, a data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding, wherein the hyperspace comprises a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings, generated via an embedding model, are positioned further apart;
identifying the data stored in a data store, represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query;
generating, via one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, content based on at least a portion of the query and the data identified as relevant to the query;
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “one or more computer storage media”, “one or more processors”, “via a query embedding manager”, and “one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “one or more computer storage media”, “one or more processors”, “via a query embedding manager”, and “one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 1 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, but for a query embedding manager, “generating, via a query embedding manger, a query embedding representing a query via a high-dimensional vector;” encompasses mentally a person generating a query embedding representing a query via a high-dimensional vector.
Next, “identifying, from a plurality of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace, a data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding, wherein the hyperspace comprises a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings, generated via an embedding model, are positioned further apart” encompasses mentally a person identifying, from a plurality of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace, a data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding, wherein the hyperspace comprises a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings, generated via an embedding model, are positioned further apart.
In addition, “identifying the data stored in a data store, represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query” encompasses mentally a person identifying the data stored in a data store, represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query.
Next, but for one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, “generating, via one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, content based on at least a portion of the query and the data identified as relevant to the query” encompasses mentally a person generating content based on at least a portion of the query and the data identified as relevant to the query. The mere nominal recitation of a system does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites
“causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content.”
In addition, “causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content.” amounts to an insignificant post solution extra solution activity of displaying data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 1 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere evaluating a query and generating content based on the query cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 1 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content.” step is considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content.” is merely display data on a user interface. U.S. Patent Publication (2018/0212904) is proof of displaying data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content.” step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “wherein the query is related to a campaign and includes a goal.” of dependent claim 2 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person determining a query is related to a campaign and includes a goal. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 2 is directed to an abstract idea.
The limitation “further comprising generating the data embedding representing the data in the hyperspace using an embedding model and storing the data embedding in the data store.” of dependent claim 5 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 5 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
The limitation “further comprising obtaining the data represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding.” of dependent claim 6 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 6 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
The limitation “wherein the at least the portion of the query and the data identified as relevant to the query are included in a prompt provided as input to the one or more generative AI models.” of dependent claim 7 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 7 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein identifying the data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding comprises searching an index of data embeddings using a search algorithm and generating a similarity score in association therewith.” of dependent claim 8 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person identifying the data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding comprises searching an index of data embeddings using a search algorithm and generating a similarity score in association therewith. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 8 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 9-14 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 9 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 9 recites a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating, via an embedding model, a set of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace comprising a high-dimensional space in which similar data embedding are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart;
generating, via the embedding model, a query embedding representing a query;
comparing, via an embedding matching identifier, the query embedding to at least a portion of the set of data embeddings to identify a data embedding that matches the query embedding based on the data embedding satisfying a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding; and
generating, via one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, content relevant to the query based on at least a portion of the query and data represented by the data embedding identified to match the query embedding. The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “an embedding model” and “one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “an embedding model” and “one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 9 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, but for an embedding model, “generating, via an embedding model, a set of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace comprising a high-dimensional space in which similar data embedding are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart;” encompasses mentally a person generating a query embedding representing a query.
Next, but for an embedding model, “generating, via the embedding model, a query embedding representing a query;” encompasses mentally a person generating a query embedding representing a query.
In addition, but for an embedding model, “comparing, via an embedding matching identifier, the query embedding to at least a portion of the set of data embeddings to identify a data embedding that matches the query embedding based on the data embedding satisfying a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding;” encompasses mentally a person comparing the query embedding to at least a portion of the set of data embeddings to identify a data embedding that matches the query embedding based on the data embedding satisfying a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding.
Next, but for one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, “generating, via one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, content relevant to the query based on at least a portion of the query and data represented by the data embedding identified to match the query embedding” encompasses mentally a person generating content relevant to the query based on at least a portion of the query and data represented by the data embedding identified to match the query embedding. The mere nominal recitation of a system does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 9 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere evaluating a query and generating content based on the query cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 9 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
The limitation “further comprising causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content.” of dependent claim 10 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant post solution extra solution activity of displaying data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 10 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein generating the content relevant to the query comprises: generating a prompt that includes the at least the portion of the query and the data represented by the data embedding identified to match the query embedding;” of dependent claim 11 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person generating a prompt that includes the at least the portion of the query and the data represented by the data embedding identified to match the query embedding. In addition, “providing the prompt as input into the one or more generative AI models” of dependent claim 11 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). In addition, “obtaining, as output from the one or more generative AI models, content generated based on the prompt.” of dependent claim 11 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 11 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein the data embedding is identified to match the query embedding based on a similarity score that indicates a measure of similarity between the data embedding and the query embedding.” of dependent claim 12 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person wherein the data embedding is identified to match the query embedding based on a similarity score that indicates a measure of similarity between the data embedding and the query embedding. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 12 is directed to an abstract idea.
The limitation “wherein the the plurality of data sources comprises data associated with product data, social media data, analytics data, organizational data, brand data, and/or a combination thereof.” of dependent claim 13 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 13 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein generation of the content is further based on at least a second data identified as relevant to the query in accordance with the comparison of the query embedding to the at least the portion of the set of data embeddings.” of dependent claim 14 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person generation of the content is further based on at least a second data identified as relevant to the query in accordance with the comparison of the query embedding to the at least the portion of the set of data embeddings. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 14 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 15-16 and 18-20 are ineligible:
As to step one, claim 15 recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a system which is a statutory category.
As to step 2A-prong one, claim 15 recites a computing system comprising:
identifying a set of data embeddings, representing data in a hyperspace comprising a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart, that is similar to a query embedding representing a query based on the set of data embeddings satisfying a similarity threshold relative to query embedding;
identifying data stored in a data store, represented by the set of data embeddings identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query;
generating a prompt including an instruction to generate content, an indication of at least a portion of the query, and an indication of at least a portion of the data relevant to the query;
providing the prompt, as input into a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model, to generate the content in accordance with the at least the portion of the query and the at least the portion of the data relevant to the query.
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. The “a processor” and “one or more computer storage media” amounts to mere generic computer components. That is other than reciting “a processor” and “one or more computer storage media” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, claim 15 is not patentable eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
For example, “identifying a set of data embeddings, representing data in a hyperspace comprising a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart, that is similar to a query embedding representing a query based on the set of data embeddings satisfying a similarity threshold relative to query embedding” encompasses mentally a person identifying a set of data embeddings, representing data in a hyperspace comprising a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart, that is similar to a query embedding representing a query based on the set of data embeddings satisfying a similarity threshold relative to query embedding.
Next, “identifying data stored in a data store, represented by the set of data embeddings identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query;” encompasses mentally a person identifying data stored in a data store, represented by the set of data embeddings identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query.
In addition, “generating a prompt including an instruction to generate content, an indication of at least a portion of the query, and an indication of at least a portion of the data relevant to the query;” encompasses mentally a person generating a prompt including an instruction to generate content, an indication of at least a portion of the query, and an indication of at least a portion of the data relevant to the query.
Next, but for one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, “providing the prompt, as input into a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model, to generate the content in accordance with the at least the portion of the query and the at least the portion of the data relevant to the query;” encompasses mentally a person providing the prompt, as input into a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model, to generate the content in accordance with the at least the portion of the query and the at least the portion of the data relevant to the query. The mere nominal recitation of a system does not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping. If claim limitation(s), under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As to Step 2A-prong two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 15 recites
a processor; and
one or more computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
obtaining, as output from the generative AI model, the content.
Here, “a processor; and one or more computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:” amounts to mere generic computer components to apply the abstract idea which does not amount to an inventive concept.
In addition, “obtaining, as output from the generative AI model, the content.” amounts to an insignificant post extra-solution activity of outputting data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea.
As to step 2B, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claim 15 additional limitation amounts to no more than mere extra solution activity and generic computer components do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the generic computer components are implementing the limitations in a generic manner. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere evaluating a query and generating content based on the query cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 15 is not patentable eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the “obtaining, as output from the generative AI model, the content.” step is considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the limitations are anything other than extra solution activity.
Here, “obtaining, as output from the generative AI model, the content.” is merely data gathering. OIP Techs court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere retrieving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “obtaining, as output from the generative AI model, the content.” step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Next, “wherein the operations further comprise providing, for display via a user interface, the content.” of dependent claim 16 is abstract because the claim amounts to an insignificant application of displaying data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 16 is directed to an abstract idea.
Next, “wherein the operations further comprise providing, for display via a user interface, the content.” of dependent claim 16 is abstract because the claim amounts to an insignificant application of displaying data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 16 is directed to an abstract idea.
The limitation “further comprising generating the set of data embeddings and the query embedding using an embedding model.” of dependent claim 18 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 18 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Next, “wherein the query is related to a campaign and includes an indication of a goal associated with the campaign.” of dependent claim 19 is abstract because the claim encompasses mentally a person wherein the query is related to a campaign and includes an indication of a goal associated with the campaign. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claim 19 is directed to an abstract idea.
The limitation “further comprising obtaining the data represented by the set of data embeddings identified to be similar to the query embedding.” of dependent claim 20 is abstract because the claim encompasses insignificant extra-solution activity and amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim does not recite additional limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is insignificant extra-solution because 2106.05(d) court decision OIP Techs court states retrieving data is extra solution activity. Thus, claim 20 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jootoo Ramesh Bapu et al. U.S. Patent (2026/0003874; hereinafter: Jootoo) in view of Coutinho et al. U.S. Patent (12,547,836; hereinafter: Coutinho) and further in view of Mei et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0303288; hereinafter: Mei)
Claim 1
As to claim 1, Jootoo discloses one or more computer storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method, the method comprising:
generating, via a query embedding manager, a query embedding representing a query via a high-dimensional vector (paragraph[0032], the reference describes generating a query embeddings based on a received query.);
generating, via one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, content based on at least a portion of the query and the data identified as relevant to the query (paragraph[0058], the reference describes generating an answers based on the query and retrieved content.); and
causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content (paragraph[0204], the reference describes displaying the response.).
Jootoo does not appear to explicitly disclose
identifying, from a plurality of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace, a data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding, wherein the hyperspace comprises a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings, generated via a embedding model, are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart;
identifying the data stored in a data store, represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query;
However, Coutinho discloses identifying, from a plurality of data embeddings representing a plurality of data sources in a hyperspace, a data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding (column 9, lines 10-35, the reference describes using a similarity threshold score to determine a match of a query.), wherein the hyperspace comprises a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings, generated via a embedding model, are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart (column 6, lines 13-32, the reference describes embeddings positions based in similarity in an hyperspace.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho to identify similarities between different embeddings which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho to efficiently interpret and retrieve the correct information in a way that the adoption of new facts can be easy and fast to support new capabilities (Coutinho: column 1, lines 29-32).
The combination of Jootoo and Coutinho do not appear to explicitly disclose
identifying the data stored in a data store, represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query;
However, Mei discloses identifying the data stored in a data store, represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query (paragraph[0033]-paragraph[0034], the reference describes finding embeddings in a hyperspace related to a query.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho and Mei to execute search hyperspaces for embeddings similar to a query which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho and Mei to efficiently predict future engagement and generate suggested content that can be provided to the user (Mei: paragraph[0003]).
Claim 5
As to claim 5, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, and Mei further disclose comprising generating the data embedding representing the data in the hyperspace using an embedding model and storing the data embedding in the data store (paragraph[0028], the reference describes storing embeddings in a hyperspace.).
Claim 6
As to claim 6, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, and Mei further disclose comprising obtaining the data represented by the data embedding identified to be similar to the query embedding (paragraph[0033], the reference describes gathering data similar to the embeddings.).
Claim 7
As to claim 7, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, and Jootoo further disclose wherein the at least the portion of the query and the data identified as relevant to the query are included in a prompt provided as input to the one or more generative AI models (paragraph[0050], the reference describes proving data to models to produce an answer.).
Claim 8
As to claim 8, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, and Mei further disclose wherein identifying a data embedding representing data in the hyperspace that satisfies a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding comprises searching an index of data embeddings using a search algorithm and generating a similarity score in association therewith (paragraph[0025], the reference describes determining a similarity score using embedding vectors.).
Claim 9
As to claim 9, Jootoo discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating, via the embedding model, a query embedding representing a query(paragraph[0032], the reference describes generating a query embeddings based on a received query.);
generating, via one or more generative artificial intelligence (AI) models, content relevant to the query based on at least a portion of the query and data represented by the data embedding identified to match the query embedding(paragraph[0058], the reference describes generating an answers based on the query and retrieved content.).
Jootoo does not appear to explicitly disclose generating, via an embedding model, a set of data embeddings representing various data in a hyperspace;
comparing, via an embedding matching identifier, the query embedding to at least a portion of the set of data embeddings to identify a data embedding that matches the query embedding based on the data embedding satisfying a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding;
However, Coutinho discloses comparing, via an embedding matching identifier, the query embedding to at least a portion of the set of data embeddings to identify a data embedding that matches the query embedding based on the data embedding satisfying a similarity threshold relative to the query embedding(column 9, lines 10-35, the reference describes using a similarity threshold score to determine a match of a query.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho to identify similarities between different embeddings which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho to efficiently interpret and retrieve the correct information in a way that the adoption of new facts can be easy and fast to support new capabilities (Coutinho: column 1, lines 29-32).
The combination of Jootoo and Coutinho do not appear to explicitly disclose generating, via an embedding model, a set of data embeddings representing various data in a hyperspace;
However, Mei discloses generating, via an embedding model, a set of data embeddings representing various data in a hyperspace (paragraph[0033]-paragraph[0034], the reference describes embeddings in a hyperspace related to a query.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho and Mei to execute search hyperspaces for embeddings similar to a query which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho and Mei to efficiently predict future engagement and generate suggested content that can be provided to the user (Mei: paragraph[0003]).
Claim 10
As to claim 10, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 9, as noted above, and Jootoo further disclose comprising causing display, via a graphical user interface, of the content (paragraph[0204], the reference describes displaying the response.).
Claim 11
As to claim 11, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 9, as noted above, and Jootoo further disclose wherein generating the content relevant to the query comprises:
generating a prompt that includes the at least the portion of the query and the data represented by the data embedding identified to match the query embedding(paragraph[0050], the reference describes proving data to models to produce an answer.);
providing the prompt as input into the one or more generative AI models(paragraph[0050], the reference describes proving data to models to produce an answer.); and
obtaining, as output from the one or more generative AI models, content generated based on the prompt(paragraph[0050], the reference describes proving data to models to produce an answer.).
Claim 12
As to claim 12, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 9, as noted above, and Jootoo further disclose wherein the data embedding is identified to match the query embedding based on a similarity score that indicates a measure of similarity between the data embedding and the query embedding (paragraph[0025], the reference describes determining a similarity score using embedding vectors.).
Claim 13
As to claim 13, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 9, as noted above, and Mei further disclose wherein the plurality of data sources comprises data associated with product data, social media data, analytics data, organizational data, brand data, and/or a combination thereof (paragraph[0028], the reference describes social media data.).
Claim 14
As to claim 14, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 9, as noted above, and Mei further disclose wherein generation of the content is further based on at least a second data identified as relevant to the query in accordance with the comparison of the query embedding to the at least the portion of the set of data embeddings.
Claim 15
As to claim 15, Jootoo discloses a computing system comprising:
a processor (paragraph[0101], the reference describes using a processor.); and
one or more computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (paragraph[0101], the reference describes using a storage and executing software.):
generating a prompt including an instruction to generate content, an indication of at least a portion of the query, and an indication of at least a portion of the data relevant to the query (paragraph[0050], the reference describes proving data to models to produce an answer.);
providing the prompt, as input into a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model, to generate the content in accordance with the at least the portion of the query and the at least the portion of the data relevant to the query(paragraph[0058], the reference describes generating an answers based on the query and retrieved content.); and
obtaining, as output from the generative AI model, the content(paragraph[0058], the reference describes generating an answers based on the query and retrieved content.).
Jootoo does not appear to explicitly disclose identifying a set of data embeddings, representing data in a hyperspace comprising a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart, that is similar to a query embedding representing a query based on the set of data embeddings satisfying a similarity threshold relative to query embedding;
identifying data stored in a data store, represented by the set of data embeddings identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query;
However, Coutinho discloses identifying a set of data embeddings, representing data in a hyperspace comprising a high-dimensional space in which similar data embeddings are positioned close to each other and dissimilar data embeddings are positioned further apart(column 6, lines 13-32, the reference describes embeddings positions based in similarity in an hyperspace.), that is similar to a query embedding representing a query based on the set of data embeddings satisfying a similarity threshold relative to query embedding(column 9, lines 10-35, the reference describes using a similarity threshold score to determine a match of a query.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho to identify similarities between different embeddings which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho to efficiently interpret and retrieve the correct information in a way that the adoption of new facts can be easy and fast to support new capabilities (Coutinho: column 1, lines 29-32).
The combination of Jootoo and Coutinho do not appear to explicitly disclose identifying data stored in a data store, represented by the set of data embeddings identified to be similar to the query embedding, as relevant to the query;
However, Mei discloses identifying a set of data embeddings, representing data in a hyperspace, that is similar to a query embedding representing a query (paragraph[0033]-paragraph[0034], the reference describes embeddings in a hyperspace related to a query.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho and Mei to execute search hyperspaces for embeddings similar to a query which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho and Mei to efficiently predict future engagement and generate suggested content that can be provided to the user (Mei: paragraph[0003]).
Claim 16
As to claim 16, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 15, as noted above, and Jootoo further disclose wherein the operations further comprise providing, for display via a user interface, the content (paragraph[0204], the reference describes displaying the response.).
Claim 18
As to claim 18, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 15, as noted above, and Jootoo further disclose comprising generating the set of data embeddings and the query embedding using an embedding model (paragraph[0222], the reference describes using embedding models.).
Claim 20
As to claim 20, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 15, as noted above, and Mei further disclose obtaining the data represented by the set of data embeddings identified to be similar to the query embedding(paragraph[0033], the reference describes gathering data similar to the embeddings.).
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jootoo Ramesh Bapu et al. U.S. Patent (2026/0003874; hereinafter: Jootoo) in view of Coutinho et al. U.S. Patent (12,547,836; hereinafter: Coutinho) and further in view of Mei et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0303288; hereinafter: Mei) and further in view of Magdon-Ismail et al. U.S. Patent Publication (2008/0195462; hereinafter: Magdon)
Claim 2
As to claim 2, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 1, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the query is related to a campaign and includes a goal.
However, Magdon discloses wherein the query is related to a campaign and includes a goal (paragraph[0046], the references describes a query having the advertisement and goals.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho, Mei, and Magdon to have query elements including advertisement goals similar to a query which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho, Mei, and Magdon to efficiently provide a system that implement a marketing campaign and feedback to advertisers on the effectiveness of their campaign (Magdon: paragraph[0008]).
Claim 19
As to claim 19, the combination of Jootoo, Coutinho, and Mei discloses all the elements in claim 15, as noted above, but do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the query is related to a campaign and includes an indication of a goal associated with the campaign..
However, Magdon discloses wherein the query is related to a campaign and includes an indication of a goal associated with the campaign (paragraph[0046], the references describes a query having the advertisement and goals.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho, Mei, and Magdon to have query elements including advertisement goals similar to a query which would result in the claim invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve the teachings of Jootoo with the teachings of Coutinho, Mei, and Magdon to efficiently provide a system that implement a marketing campaign and feedback to advertisers on the effectiveness of their campaign (Magdon: paragraph[0008]).
Final Action
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/DAWAUNE A CONYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159
/DAWAUNE A CONYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152 February 24, 2024