DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 11/22/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: add a space between claims 4 and 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20050213509 by Collomb et al. (hereinafter Collomb) (IDS filed 11/22/24) in view of US 20200204676 by Chiang (IDS filed 11/22/24).
Regarding claim 1, Collomb teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
performing, by a user device, one or more measurements associated with a channel condition (fig. 3, shows user terminal 21; abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection; ¶ 29, SIP is becoming a well known protocol for signaling in the next generation wireless networks; ¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23);
and transmitting, by the user device, a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) message to a SIP server (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 26, server 23; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call),
wherein the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call),
wherein the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call; abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection),
and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collomb’s teachings with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Although Collomb teaches the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session, and the at least one measurement result, Collomb does not explicitly disclose wherein the SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, wherein the reason header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to the at least one measurement result.
Chiang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message and the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to at least one measurement result (¶ 6, a SIP reason header that can be included in a SIP message sent by a UE; fig. 3, shows a SIP Reason Header 302 containing protocol value, cause value and reason-text; fig. 4, shows failure_cause of protocol value 304 which corresponds to cause value 306 of 1 which corresponds to reason-text 308 of user ends call Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 62, the reason-text 308 includes “User ends call” to indicate that the UE 102 is terminating the call based on a manual user instruction, as well as a second text portion of “Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 54, A cause value 306 can be an integer value associated with a call termination reason…a cause value 306 of “1” can indicate a different call termination reason; ¶ 55, a combination of a SIP reason header's protocol value 304 and its cause value 306 can provide some information as to why a UE 102 is terminating a call setup or an active call; ¶ 56, A SIP reason header's reason-text 308 can include a text string with more information about why a call setup or active call is being terminated. Although not explicitly stated, since call termination is based on at least QoS lost, a determination/measurement of QoS must occur in order to determine that QoS is lost). By modifying Collomb’s teachings of the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session, and the at least one measurement result with Chiang’s teachings of teaches a SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message and the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to at least one measurement result, the modification results in the SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, wherein the reason header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to the at least one measurement result.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collomb’s teachings with Chiang’s above teachings. The motivation is investigating and/or remedying causes of a session drop (Chiang abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Chiang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Collomb prior art) based on design incentives (investigating and/or remedying causes of a session drop) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the SIP message comprises at least one of: a SIP BYE message, a SIP CANCEL message, or a SIP 4XX message (Collomb ¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 326, QoS information relating to this domain is transmitted at the end of the call, that is to say in the BYE message 115 or the 200 OK message 118; ¶ 42, call terminates…by initiating a BYE message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the SIP message indicates the termination of the communication session upon the at least one measurement result reaching a threshold (Collomb ¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call; Chiang ¶ 6, a SIP reason header that can be included in a SIP message sent by a UE; fig. 3, shows a SIP Reason Header 302 containing protocol value, cause value and reason-text; fig. 4, shows failure_cause of protocol value 304 which corresponds to cause value 306 of 1 which corresponds to reason-text 308 of user ends call Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 62, the reason-text 308 includes “User ends call” to indicate that the UE 102 is terminating the call based on a manual user instruction, as well as a second text portion of “Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 54, A cause value 306 can be an integer value associated with a call termination reason…a cause value 306 of “1” can indicate a different call termination reason; ¶ 55, a combination of a SIP reason header's protocol value 304 and its cause value 306 can provide some information as to why a UE 102 is terminating a call setup or an active call; ¶ 56, A SIP reason header's reason-text 308 can include a text string with more information about why a call setup or active call is being terminated. Although not explicitly stated, since call termination is based on at least QoS lost, a determination/measurement of QoS must occur in order to determine that QoS is lost which involves determined/measured QoS satisfies/reaches/meets an unspecified threshold for declaring QoS lost).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Chiang’s teachings of a SIP message indicates termination of a communication session upon at least one measurement result reaching a threshold. The motivation is investigating and/or remedying causes of a session drop (Chiang abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one measurement result is used for statistical analysis of network conditions (Collomb fig. 3, shows user terminal 21; abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection; ¶ 29, SIP is becoming a well known protocol for signaling in the next generation wireless networks; ¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23…the QoS information can be analysed by both end-user terminals as well as by the SLA Management application 24 so that even the service provider or network operator can have a report about the QoS for the last call session and appropriate actions can be taken; ¶ 36, All these parameters constitute a set of QoS statistics relating to the current session, i.e. very useful information which can be used for checking compliance of the Service Level Agreement committed by the service or network operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Regarding claim 7, Collomb teaches a device for wireless communication (fig. 3, shows user terminal 21), comprising at least one processor that is configured to cause the device to (¶ 27, End user-terminal 21 or 22 may be any suitable terminal providing access to an Internet or an Intranet network, such as but not limited to personal computers, Personal Document Assistants (PDA), portable computers, cellular telephones, fixed telephones…):
perform one or more measurements associated with a channel condition (fig. 3, shows user terminal 21; abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection; ¶ 29, SIP is becoming a well known protocol for signaling in the next generation wireless networks; ¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23);
and transmit a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) message to a SIP server (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 26, server 23; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call),
wherein the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call),
wherein the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call; abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection),
and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collomb’s teachings with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Although Collomb teaches the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session, and the at least one measurement result, Collomb does not explicitly disclose wherein the SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, wherein the reason header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to the at least one measurement result.
Chiang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message and the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to at least one measurement result (¶ 6, a SIP reason header that can be included in a SIP message sent by a UE; fig. 3, shows a SIP Reason Header 302 containing protocol value, cause value and reason-text; fig. 4, shows failure_cause of protocol value 304 which corresponds to cause value 306 of 1 which corresponds to reason-text 308 of user ends call Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 62, the reason-text 308 includes “User ends call” to indicate that the UE 102 is terminating the call based on a manual user instruction, as well as a second text portion of “Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 54, A cause value 306 can be an integer value associated with a call termination reason…a cause value 306 of “1” can indicate a different call termination reason; ¶ 55, a combination of a SIP reason header's protocol value 304 and its cause value 306 can provide some information as to why a UE 102 is terminating a call setup or an active call; ¶ 56, A SIP reason header's reason-text 308 can include a text string with more information about why a call setup or active call is being terminated. Although not explicitly stated, since call termination is based on at least QoS lost, a determination/measurement of QoS must occur in order to determine that QoS is lost). By modifying Collomb’s teachings of the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session, and the at least one measurement result with Chiang’s teachings of teaches a SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message and the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to at least one measurement result, the modification results in the SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, wherein the reason header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with the channel condition, and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to the at least one measurement result.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collomb’s teachings with Chiang’s above teachings. The motivation is investigating and/or remedying causes of a session drop (Chiang abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Chiang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Collomb prior art) based on design incentives (investigating and/or remedying causes of a session drop) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 9 and 11 recite similar limitations of claims 3 and 5, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one measurement result is used for statistical analysis of the channel condition (Collomb fig. 3, shows user terminal 21; abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection; ¶ 29, SIP is becoming a well known protocol for signaling in the next generation wireless networks; ¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23…the QoS information can be analysed by both end-user terminals as well as by the SLA Management application 24 so that even the service provider or network operator can have a report about the QoS for the last call session and appropriate actions can be taken; ¶ 36, All these parameters constitute a set of QoS statistics relating to the current session, i.e. very useful information which can be used for checking compliance of the Service Level Agreement committed by the service or network operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Regarding claim 13, Collomb teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
establishing, by a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) server, a communication session with a user device (¶ 13, establishing a session between a first end-user terminal and a system offering a service; ¶ 26, Services provided to an end-user terminal 21 may include services offered by a dedicated server 23; ¶ 29, known SIP protocol is used for establishing a session between end-user terminal 21 and service 23);
receiving, by the SIP server, a SIP message from the user device (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 26, server 23; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call),
wherein the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call),
wherein the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with a channel condition (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 41, different parameters which are representative of the QoS are included within a specific field, defined by a specific header within the SIP message; ¶ 318, QoS information is carried in the header of a SIP message; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call; abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection),
and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session (¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23 or end-user terminal 22 (in accordance with the case considered) within a call termination message; ¶ 14, in embodiments where the process is fully-compliant with the SIP protocol; ¶ 319, QoS information is collected during the whole session and is then transmitted at the end of the transaction in a SIP message which is used for terminating the call).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collomb’s teachings with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Although Collomb teaches the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with a channel condition, the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session, and the at least one measurement result, Collomb does not explicitly disclose wherein the SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, wherein the reason header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with a channel condition, and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to the at least one measurement result.
Chiang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message and the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to at least one measurement result (¶ 6, a SIP reason header that can be included in a SIP message sent by a UE; fig. 3, shows a SIP Reason Header 302 containing protocol value, cause value and reason-text; fig. 4, shows failure_cause of protocol value 304 which corresponds to cause value 306 of 1 which corresponds to reason-text 308 of user ends call Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 62, the reason-text 308 includes “User ends call” to indicate that the UE 102 is terminating the call based on a manual user instruction, as well as a second text portion of “Media bearer or QoS lost; ¶ 54, A cause value 306 can be an integer value associated with a call termination reason…a cause value 306 of “1” can indicate a different call termination reason; ¶ 55, a combination of a SIP reason header's protocol value 304 and its cause value 306 can provide some information as to why a UE 102 is terminating a call setup or an active call; ¶ 56, A SIP reason header's reason-text 308 can include a text string with more information about why a call setup or active call is being terminated. Although not explicitly stated, since call termination is based on at least QoS lost, a determination/measurement of QoS must occur in order to determine that QoS is lost). By modifying Collomb’s teachings of the SIP message comprises a header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, the header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with a channel condition, the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session, and the at least one measurement result with Chiang’s teachings of teaches a SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message and the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to at least one measurement result, the modification results in the SIP message comprises a reason header field associated with a reason for transmitting the SIP message, wherein the reason header field is used to carry at least one measurement result determined based on the one or more measurements associated with a channel condition, and wherein the SIP message selectively indicates a termination of a communication session according to the at least one measurement result.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collomb’s teachings with Chiang’s above teachings. The motivation is investigating and/or remedying causes of a session drop (Chiang abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Chiang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Collomb prior art) based on design incentives (investigating and/or remedying causes of a session drop) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 15 and 17 recite similar limitations of claims 3 and 5, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the method of claim 13, comprising: storing the at least one measurement result for statistical analysis of the channel condition (Collomb abstract, A Process for monitoring the quality of service of the communication over an Internet or intranet network, said process being executed in a end-user terminal…monitoring the quality of service of the communication during said session; ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed; ¶ 37, QoS statistics relate to parameters concerning the transmission of voice signals; fig. 1, terminals 21 and 22 and server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 5, SIP is the core protocol enabling the setting up of conferencing, telephony, multimedia and other types of communication sessions on the Internet. It is expected to be at the heart of future high-quality voice sessions over packet networks, including wireless networks; ¶ 28, It will be understood that the described techniques may be used with any kind of connection to a network, such as, but not limited to…an 802.11 or other wireless connection; ¶ 29, SIP is becoming a well known protocol for signaling in the next generation wireless networks; ¶ 39, When the session or call terminates, in a step 44, the process executed in end-user terminal 21 transmits the QoS statistics to the service 23…the QoS information can be analysed by both end-user terminals as well as by the SLA Management application 24 so that even the service provider or network operator can have a report about the QoS for the last call session and appropriate actions can be taken; ¶ 36, All these parameters constitute a set of QoS statistics relating to the current session, i.e. very useful information which can be used for checking compliance of the Service Level Agreement committed by the service or network operator. Although not explicitly stated, possession of QoS statistics/data/information requires in some way storing the QoS statistics/data/information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches a device for wireless communication, comprising at least one processor that is configured to cause the device to implement a method of claim 13 (¶ 26, server 23; fig. 3, shows a physical server 23 connected to network 20; ¶ 1, related apparatus and computer programs; ¶ 18, . Although not explicitly stated, the server 23 must have at least one controlling entity to implement and/or control functionalities of the server; see rejection of claim 13 also).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Collomb’s one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is checking compliance of a service obtained with a service level agreements (SLA) involved (Collomb ¶ 331).
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collomb and Chiang and in further view of US 20070015536 by LaBauve et al. (hereinafter LaBauve) (IDS filed 11/22/24).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the method of claim 1.
Although the combination teaches the at least one measurement result (Collomb ¶ 14, real time measurement of the QoS of the session; ¶ 15, information representative of said quality of service comprises signaling parameters and media transmission quality parameters; ¶ 18, measured quality of service measured at one or more session endpoints; ¶ 40, QoS data measured within the end user terminal; ¶ 331, quality of the service which is actually measured by the end user terminal; ¶ 35, quality of the session is analysed and a number of parameters which are representative of the Quality of Service (QoS) of the communication are collected or computed), the combination does not explicitly disclose the at least one measurement result comprises at least one of: Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal to Noise Ratio (SINR), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), or Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI).
LaBauve in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches at least one measurement result comprises at least one of: Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal to Noise Ratio (SINR), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), or Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) (¶ 105, signal quality thresholds can use any appropriate metric (such as received signal strength indication ("RSSI"), signal/noise ratio ("SNR") etc.); ¶ 119, During the call, the VoIP system and/or the handset monitors the signal quality of the connection between the handset and the VoIP system (block 1320)…So long as the signal remains above a certain threshold (denoted on FIG. 13 as SQ.sub.1, which might or might not be the same threshold as SQ.sub.R, SQ.sub.D, and/or SQ.sub.C described above), the call is continued). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the at least one measurement result with LaBauve’s teachings of at least one measurement result comprises at least one of: Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal to Noise Ratio (SINR), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), or Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), the modification results in the at least one measurement result comprises at least one of: Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Signal to Noise Ratio (SINR), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), or Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with LaBauve’s above teachings. The motivation is providing efficient call handling (LaBauve ¶ 37). Known work in one field of endeavor (LaBauve prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Collomb prior art) based on design incentives (efficient call handling) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 8 and 14 recite similar limitations of claim 2 and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 4, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collomb and Chiang and in further view of US 20080137598 by Bouvier et al. (hereinafter Bouvier).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the method of claim 1.
Although the combination teaches the at least one measurement result is carried in in the reason header field (see rejection of claim 1), the combination does not explicitly disclose the at least one measurement result is carried in a reason-extension syntax element in the reason header field.
Bouvier in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the concept of information is carried in a reason-extension syntax element in a reason header field (Annex 3). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the at least one measurement result is carried in in the reason header field with Bouvier’s teachings of the concept of information is carried in a reason-extension syntax element in a reason header field, the modification results in the at least one measurement result is carried in a reason-extension syntax element in the reason header field.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Bouvier’s above teachings. The motivation is managing multimedia sessions (Bouvier ¶ 1). Known work in one field of endeavor (Bouvier prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Collomb prior art) based on design incentives (managing multimedia sessions) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 10 and 16 recite similar limitations of claim 4 and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collomb and Chiang and in further view of US 20080112549 by Yoon et al. (hereinafter Yoon) (IDS filed 11/22/24).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the method of claim 13.
Although the combination teaches the at least one measurement result, the combination does not explicitly disclose incorporating the at least one measurement result into one or more Call Detail Records (CDRs).
Yoon in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches disclose incorporating at least one measurement result into one or more Call Detail Records (CDRs) (¶ 25, signaling server 120 receives the QoS measuring result from the terminals 110a and 110b, collects the QoS information separately for each call, and adds the collected QoS information to a call detail record (CDR) for each call; ¶ 30, measures the QoS for the transmitted/received packets). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the at least one measurement result with Yoon’s teachings of incorporating at least one measurement result into one or more Call Detail Records (CDRs), the modification results in incorporating the at least one measurement result into one or more Call Detail Records (CDRs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Yoon’s above teachings. The motivation is providing low cost VoIP service to users while QoS is sustained at a proper level (Yoon ¶ 35). Known work in one field of endeavor (Yoon prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Collomb prior art) based on design incentives (providing low cost VoIP service to users while QoS is sustained at a proper level) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476