DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 11/22/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are independent claims.
This application claims benefit of Priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) from U.S. Patent Application No. 17878343, filed on 8/1/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12192058. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. All the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application are recited in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12192058.
Current Application (18957350)
US Patent No. (12192058)
Claim 1
Claim 1
A method for network slicing with programmable data-plane pipelines, the method comprising: creating slice contexts for each of a plurality of network slices; mapping resources of network switch hardware to the slice contexts to create a resource mapping for the slice contexts; instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware using the resource mapping; receiving frames from one or more external sources; identifying a network slice corresponding to each frame; and enriching a header of each of the frames, based upon the identification of the network slice for each frame, to direct each frame to a data-plane pipeline.
A method for network slicing with programmable data-plane pipelines, the method comprising: creating slice contexts, wherein creating the slice contexts comprises: creating control-plane data for each of a plurality of network slices; creating data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices; and storing the control-plane data and the data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices to produce slice contexts; mapping resources of network switch hardware to the slice contexts to create a resource mapping for the slice contexts; instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware using the resource mapping; receiving frames from one or more external sources; identifying a network slice corresponding to each frame; and enriching a header of each of the frames, based upon the identification of the network slice for each frame, to direct each frame to a data-plane pipeline.
Claim 2
Claim 2
The method of claim 1, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing direct partitioning of network switch hardware.
The method of claim 1, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing direct partitioning of network switch hardware.
Claim 3
Claim 3
The method of claim 1, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing a slicer visor abstraction layer.
The method of claim 1, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing a slicer visor abstraction layer.
Claim 4
Claim 4
The method of claim 1, wherein the mapping of resources comprises tailoring the mapping to specific network switch hardware based upon specified requirements.
The method of claim 1, wherein the mapping of resources comprises tailoring the mapping to specific network switch hardware based upon specified requirements.
Claim 5
Claim 5
The method of claim 1 comprising: receiving network slice requirements from a 5G control plane; wherein creating slice contexts comprises creating control-plane data and data-plane data based upon the network slice requirements received from the 5G control plane to create a slice context defined by the 5G control plane.
The method of claim 1 comprising: receiving network slice requirements from a 5G control plane; wherein the creation of control-plane data and data-plane data is based upon the network slice requirements received from the 5G control plane to create a slice context defined by the 5G control plane.
Claim 6
Claim 6
The method of claim 1, wherein creating slice contexts comprises creating control-plane data and data-plane data to produce a slice context with capabilities beyond a 5G network.
The method of claim 1, wherein the creation of control-plane data and data- plane data produces a slice context with capabilities beyond a 5G network.
Claim 7
Claim 7
The method of claim 1 wherein the instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware comprises programming the network switch hardware based upon a type of slice defined by data-plane data; wherein the method comprises: triggering packet processing actions based on slice types.
The method of claim 1 wherein the instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware comprises programming the network switch hardware based upon a type of slice defined by data-plane data; wherein the method comprises: triggering packet processing actions based on slice types.
Claim 8
Claim 8
The method of claim 1 wherein each of the data-plane pipelines comprises a slice-specific data-plane processing pipeline, and wherein each slice context is associated with a data plane program corresponding to one or more network slice requirements for a respective network slice.
The method of claim 1 wherein each of the data-plane pipelines comprises a slice-specific data-plane processing pipeline, and wherein each slice context is associated with a data plane program corresponding to one or more network slice requirements for a respective network slice.
Claim 9
Claim 9
The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more network slice requirements comprise one or more of security, 5G traffic processing, 5G capability, 5G proximity to access networks, and storage.
The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more network slice requirements comprise one or more of security, 5G traffic processing, 5G capability, 5G proximity to access networks, and storage.
Claim 10
Claim 10
A system configured for network slicing with programmable data-plane pipelines, comprising: network switch hardware; one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: create slice contexts for each of a plurality of network slices; map resources of the network switch hardware to the slice contexts to create a resource mapping for the slice contexts; instantiate the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware using the resource mapping; receive frames from one or more external sources; identify a network slice corresponding to each frame; and enrich a header of each of the frames, based upon the identification of the network slice for each frame, to direct each frame to a data-plane pipeline.
A system configured for network slicing with programmable data-plane pipelines, comprising: network switch hardware; one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: create slice contexts, wherein creating the slice contexts comprises: create control-plane data for each of a plurality of network slices; create data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices; and store the control-plane data and the data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices to produce slice contexts; map resources of the network switch hardware to the slice contexts to create a resource mapping for the slice contexts; instantiate the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware using the resource mapping; receive frames from one or more external sources; identify a network slice corresponding to each frame; and enrich a header of each of the frames, based upon the identification of the network slice for each frame, to direct each frame to a data-plane pipeline.
Claim 11
Claim 11
The system of claim 10, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing direct partitioning of network switch hardware.
The system of claim 10, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing direct partitioning of network switch hardware.
Claim 12
Claim 12
The system of claim 10, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing a slicer visor abstraction layer.
The system of claim 10, wherein the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing a slicer visor abstraction layer.
Claim 13
Claim 13
The system of claim 10, wherein the mapping of resources comprises tailoring the mapping to specific network switch hardware based upon specified requirements.
The system of claim 10, wherein the mapping of resources comprises tailoring the mapping to specific network switch hardware based upon specified requirements.
Claim 14
Claim 14
The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to: receive network slice requirements from a 5G control plane; and wherein the instructions to create slice contexts comprises instructions to create control-plane data and data-plane data based upon the network slice requirements received from the 5G control plane to create a slice context defined by the 5G control plane.
The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to: receive network slice requirements from a 5G control plane; and wherein the creation of control-plane data and data-plane data is based upon the network slice requirements received from the 5G control plane to create a slice context defined by the 5G control plane.
Claim 15
Claim 15
The system of claim 10, wherein the instructions to create slice contexts comprises instructions to create control-plane data and data-plane data that produces a slice context with capabilities beyond a 5G network.
The system of claim 10, wherein the creation of control-plane data and data- plane data produces a slice context with capabilities beyond a 5G network.
Claim 16
Claim 16
The system of claim 10, wherein the instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware comprises programming the network switch hardware based upon a type of slice defined by data-plane data; and wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to: trigger packet processing actions based on slice types.
The system of claim 10, wherein the instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware comprises programming the network switch hardware based upon a type of slice defined by the data-plane data; and wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to: trigger packet processing actions based on slice types.
Claim 17
Claim 17
The system of claim 10, wherein each of the data-plane pipelines comprises a slice-specific data-plane processing pipeline, and wherein each slice context is associated with a data plane program corresponding to one or more network slice requirements for a respective network slice.
The system of claim 10, wherein each of the data-plane pipelines comprises a slice-specific data-plane processing pipeline, and wherein each slice context is associated with a data plane program corresponding to one or more network slice requirements for a respective network slice.
Claim 18
Claim 18
The system of claim 17, wherein the one or more network slice requirements comprise one or more of security, 5G traffic processing, 5G capability, 5G proximity to access networks, and storage.
The system of claim 17, wherein the one or more network slice requirements comprise one or more of security, 5G traffic processing, 5G capability, 5G proximity to access networks, and storage.
Claim 19
Claim 19
A non-transitory, tangible processor readable storage medium, encoded with processor readable instructions to perform a method for network slicing with programmable data-plane pipelines, the method comprising: creating slice contexts, wherein creating the slice contexts comprises: creating control-plane data for each of a plurality of network slices; creating data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices; and storing the control-plane data and the data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices to produce slice contexts; mapping resources of network switch hardware to the slice contexts to create a resource mapping for the slice contexts; instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware using the resource mapping; receiving frames from one or more external sources; identifying a network slice corresponding to each frame; and enriching a header of each of the frames, based upon the identification of the network slice for each frame, to direct each frame to a data-plane pipeline.
A non-transitory, tangible processor readable storage medium, encoded with processor readable instructions to perform a method for network slicing with programmable data-plane pipelines, the method comprising: creating slice contexts, wherein creating the slice contexts comprises: creating control-plane data for each of a plurality of network slices; creating data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices; and storing the control-plane data and the data-plane data for each of the plurality of network slices to produce slice contexts; mapping resources of network switch hardware to the slice contexts to create a resource mapping for the slice contexts; instantiating the plurality of network slices on the network switch hardware using the resource mapping; receiving frames from one or more external sources; identifying a network slice corresponding to each frame; and enriching a header of each of the frames, based upon the identification of the network slice for each frame, to direct each frame to a data-plane pipeline.
Claim 20
Claim 20
The non-transitory processor readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein, each of the data-plane pipelines comprises a slice-specific data-plane processing pipeline, each slice context is associated with a data plane program corresponding to one or more network slice requirements for a respective network slice, and the one or more network slice requirements comprise one or more of security, 5G traffic processing, 5G capability, 5G proximity to access networks, and storage.
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein, each of the data-plane pipelines comprises a slice-specific data-plane processing pipeline, each slice context is associated with a data plane program corresponding to one or more network slice requirements for a respective network slice, and the one or more network slice requirements comprise one or more of security, 5G traffic processing, 5G capability, 5G proximity to access networks, and storage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altay et al., US Patent Application No. 20190223023, published on 7/18/2019 (hereinafter Altay) in view of Choyi et al., US Patent Application No. 20220217540, effectively filed on 1/7/2021 (hereinafter Choyi).
As for independent claim 1, Altay discloses a method for network slicing with programmable data-plane pipelines, the method comprising:
creating slice contexts for each of a plurality of network slices (slice is generated per user; network slice according to a profile);
(Altay paragraph [0013] discloses “An integrated virtual CPE slice is generated per user-group wherein a user-group profile includes: percentage/ratio of uplink and downlink RAN resource blocks, a virtual portion of the MME configured with the IP addresses of users and associated S-P Gateways. It also includes the partitioning of the SDN switch resources (e.g., buffers, ports and processing capacity), transport network resources (e.g. transmission bandwidth), and virtual network function capacity according to a policy. “
Paragraph [0015] discloses “In one embodiment, the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch, the method executed by a special control agent comprising the steps of: (a) receiving directives to control the control agent from a control infrastructure hosted in a remote site, the remote site storing user-group information and associated profiles, and (b) slicing components of the CPE according to the storing user-group information and associated profiles by assigning different network resources to user groups by programing any of, or a combination of the following: the local RAN, Mobility Management Entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW) components of the local CN, the at least one VNF, and the at least one programmable switch.”)
mapping resources of network switch hardware (It also includes the partitioning of the SDN switch resources (e.g., buffers, ports and processing capacity)) to the slice contexts to create a resource mapping for the slice contexts (slicing components of the CPE according to the storing user-group information and associated profiles by assigning different network resources to user groups by programing any of, or a combination of the following: the local RAN, Mobility Management Entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW) components of the local CN, the at least one VNF, and the at least one programmable switch);
(Altay paragraph [0015] discloses “In one embodiment, the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch, the method executed by a special control agent comprising the steps of: (a) receiving directives to control the control agent from a control infrastructure hosted in a remote site, the remote site storing user-group information and associated profiles, and (b) slicing components of the CPE according to the storing user-group information and associated profiles by assigning different network resources to user groups by programing any of, or a combination of the following: the local RAN, Mobility Management Entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW) components of the local CN, the at least one VNF, and the at least one programmable switch.”
Paragraph [0013] discloses “An integrated virtual CPE slice is generated per user-group wherein a user-group profile includes: percentage/ratio of uplink and downlink RAN resource blocks, a virtual portion of the MME configured with the IP addresses of users and associated S-P Gateways. It also includes the partitioning of the SDN switch resources (e.g., buffers, ports and processing capacity), transport network resources (e.g. transmission bandwidth), and virtual network function capacity according to a policy.”)
(an SDN controller of the remote control center programmed by the policy server to control the control agent or the at least one programmable SDN switch directly by sending directive to slice the at least one programmable switch);
(Altay paragraph [0016] discloses “In another embodiment, the present invention provides a system providing a sliceable local communications network further providing wire line, wireless, and cellular data communications services to a group of users, and that is comprised of at least a local area network (LAN), a local Radio Access Network (RAN) and associated local core network (CN) and at least one programmable switch interconnecting the local CN, a local data network and at least one wide area network (WAN), wherein customer premises equipment (CPE) is controlled by a local control agent, which is in communications with a remote control center, wherein groups of users of the CPE with different profiles are given different slices of the RAN, CN, at least one programmable SDN switch, at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and transport facilities, the system comprising: (a) a policy server of the remote control center that stores user-group policies and associated UE data such as UE International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), Media Access Control (MAC) address, and username/password; (b) an orchestrator of the remote control center programmed by the policy server to control either the control agent or the VNF directly by sending directive to slice the VNF; (c) an SDN controller of the remote control center programmed by the policy server to control the control agent or the at least one programmable SDN switch directly by sending directive to slice the at least one programmable switch; (d) a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) controller of the remote control center programmed by the policy server to send directives to the control agent for slicing a Mobility Management Entity (MME), the RAN and a Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW); and (d) the control agent residing within the customer premises equipment: (i) receiving directives from the remote control center, and (i)) applying said directives to local network components.”)
receiving frames from one or more external sources (Each packet stream that matches the criteria is called a ‘flow’. Using flow-tables, the controller can (a) direct traffic originated from different users in a local network and targeted to an outside destination to different types of networks (e.g., MPLS, private line, DSL etc.), (b) allocate switch buffers and processing resources to different type of users to achieve different grades of quality of service (e.g., low latency and high throughput));
(Altay paragraph [0008] discloses “A rule in the flow table is comprised of a match criteria and actions. The match criteria are multi-layer traffic classifiers that inspect specific fields in the packet header (source MAC address, destination MAC address, VLAN ID, source IP address, destination IP address, source port, etc.), and identify the set of packets to which the actions will be applied. The actions may involve modification of the packet header and/or forwarding through a defined output port. Each packet stream that matches the criteria is called a ‘flow’. Using flow-tables, the controller can (a) direct traffic originated from different users in a local network and targeted to an outside destination to different types of networks (e.g., MPLS, private line, DSL etc.), (b) allocate switch buffers and processing resources to different type of users to achieve different grades of quality of service (e.g., low latency and high throughput)”)
identifying a network slice corresponding to each frame (Another key aspect of this disclosure is slicing of the integrated virtual CPE according to user-group profiles so as to map users and their applications to different network segments that offer various levels of quality of services); and
(Altay paragraph [0006] discloses “In one embodiment, a system called integrated virtual CPE is described that includes a local cellular network (RAN and core network) as a new type of virtual network function (VNF) in addition to wireline and wireless local networks, wherein the system is remotely controlled by a service provider. Aforementioned cellular network can run in total isolation from mobile network operators network, or it can connect to one or more mobile operator networks, in which case the users can use their operator-provided telephone numbers as opposed to special private numbers. Another key aspect of this disclosure is slicing of the integrated virtual CPE according to user-group profiles so as to map users and their applications to different network segments that offer various levels of quality of services.”)
enriching a header of each of the frames (The actions may involve modification of the packet header and/or forwarding through a defined output port), based upon the identification of the network slice for each frame (A rule in the flow table is comprised of a match criteria and actions. The match criteria are multi-layer traffic classifiers that inspect specific fields in the packet header (source MAC address, destination MAC address, VLAN ID, source IP address, destination IP address, source port, etc.), and identify the set of packets to which the actions will be applied.)( Another key aspect of this disclosure is slicing of the integrated virtual CPE according to user-group profiles so as to map users and their applications to different network segments that offer various levels of quality of services), to direct each frame to a data-plane pipeline (The concept of slicing is widely known in prior art and achieved using principles of software defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV). SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions).
(Altay paragraph [0007] discloses “The concept of slicing is widely known in prior art and achieved using principles of software defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV). SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions, and assigns the control function to a logically centralized controller, which is the ‘brain’ of the network. Similarly, NFV decouples network functions from the underlying hardware so that they can run as software images on commercial off-the-shelf hardware anywhere in the network, and can be controlled centrally. The key enablers for a sliceable integrated virtual CPE are therefore (a) a centralized (remote) control, or a remote control along with a local control component totally separated from the transport data network, and (b) policy services that store the user-group profiles and associated network usage policies.”
Paragraph [0008] discloses “The controller configures the packet forwarding behavior of switches by setting packet-processing rules in a so-called ‘flow table’. A rule in the flow table is comprised of a match criteria and actions. The match criteria are multi-layer traffic classifiers that inspect specific fields in the packet header (source MAC address, destination MAC address, VLAN ID, source IP address, destination IP address, source port, etc.), and identify the set of packets to which the actions will be applied. The actions may involve modification of the packet header and/or forwarding through a defined output port. Each packet stream that matches the criteria is called a ‘flow’. Using flow-tables, the controller can (a) direct traffic originated from different users in a local network and targeted to an outside destination to different types of networks (e.g., MPLS, private line, DSL etc.), (b) allocate switch buffers and processing resources to different type of users to achieve different grades of quality of service (e.g., low latency and high throughput)”
Paragraph [0006] discloses “In one embodiment, a system called integrated virtual CPE is described that includes a local cellular network (RAN and core network) as a new type of virtual network function (VNF) in addition to wireline and wireless local networks, wherein the system is remotely controlled by a service provider. Aforementioned cellular network can run in total isolation from mobile network operators network, or it can connect to one or more mobile operator networks, in which case the users can use their operator-provided telephone numbers as opposed to special private numbers. Another key aspect of this disclosure is slicing of the integrated virtual CPE according to user-group profiles so as to map users and their applications to different network segments that offer various levels of quality of services.”).)
Altay does not appear to explicitly disclose
instantiating the plurality of network slices
However, Choyi discloses a method to
instantiating the plurality of network slices on (SOP 110 may provide network assets with different security ratings (e.g., designed and tested), incorporate the assets into architected network slices 102, and deploy the network slices 102 over edge and core networks of provider network 100)
(Choyi paragraph [0022] discloses “SOP 110 includes logic for designing, testing, deploying, and adapting network slices 102. For example, SOP 110 may provide network assets with different security ratings (e.g., designed and tested), incorporate the assets into architected network slices 102, and deploy the network slices 102 over edge and core networks of provider network 100. The overall SAL of each network slice 102 may be scored, for example, based on the compilation of asset scores in each network slice 102. Assets may be security infrastructure components dedicated to security functions (e.g. virtualized firewall or DDoS prevention functions) or may be functions that perform security related functions (e.g., hardware assets, virtual assets, network functions, software functions, forwarding graph descriptors, virtual link descriptor, etc.). SOP 110 may catalog deployed security infrastructure and associated assets with a service in inventory.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choyi with Altay for the benefit of having a method to create network slice with requirements as part of the profile and using SOP (Slice Orchestrator Platform) to deploy the network slices. Further benefit to combine is for having an efficient method to dynamically adjust the network's flows to meet the changing needs while optimizing the network resource usage to the network slice.
As for claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method wherein
the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources utilizing direct partitioning of network switch hardware (It also includes the partitioning of the SDN switch resources (e.g., buffers, ports and processing capacity)).
(Altay paragraph [0013] discloses “An integrated virtual CPE slice is generated per user-group wherein a user-group profile includes: percentage/ratio of uplink and downlink RAN resource blocks, a virtual portion of the MME configured with the IP addresses of users and associated S-P Gateways. It also includes the partitioning of the SDN switch resources (e.g., buffers, ports and processing capacity), transport network resources (e.g. transmission bandwidth), and virtual network function capacity according to a policy.”)
As for claim 3, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method wherein
the mapping of resources comprises allocating resources (slicing components of the CPE according to the storing user-group information and associated profiles by assigning different network resources to user groups by programing any of, or a combination of the following: the local RAN, Mobility Management Entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW) components of the local CN, the at least one VNF, and the at least one programmable switch) utilizing a slicer visor abstraction layer (receiving directives to control the control agent from a control infrastructure hosted in a remote site, the remote site storing user-group information and associated profiles).
(Altay paragraph [0015] discloses “In one embodiment, the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch, the method executed by a special control agent comprising the steps of: (a) receiving directives to control the control agent from a control infrastructure hosted in a remote site, the remote site storing user-group information and associated profiles, and (b) slicing components of the CPE according to the storing user-group information and associated profiles by assigning different network resources to user groups by programing any of, or a combination of the following: the local RAN, Mobility Management Entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW) components of the local CN, the at least one VNF, and the at least one programmable switch.”
FIG. 1 discloses virtual customer premises equipment 110 according to prior art. The virtual CPE is comprised of SDN switch 101 that connects Local Area Network (LAN) 106 to Internet 105 and Server 102. Server 102 hosts virtualized network functions (VNF)s used by the customer premises. The network function such as the control agent is a software layer to manage the SDN switch.)
As for claim 4, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method wherein
the mapping of resources comprises tailoring the mapping to specific network switch hardware (the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile)(at least one programmable switch) based upon specified requirements (In another embodiment, network slicing can be per application type. There are applications that are latency-sensitive (video conferencing and gaming), or high throughput (streaming video) or delay insensitive and low throughput (email). Network slicing defined according to such network performance criteria is inclusive of this invention).
(Altay paragraph [0015] discloses “In one embodiment, the present invention provides a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch.”
Paragraph [0035] discloses “Network slicing is specified per user-group for simplicity in one embodiment. An exemplary set of user-groups of an enterprise can be employees, visitors, management team, and Internet of Things (IOT), each of which has different rights and requirements. In another embodiment, network slicing can be per application type. There are applications that are latency-sensitive (video conferencing and gaming), or high throughput (streaming video) or delay insensitive and low throughput (email). Network slicing defined according to such network performance criteria is inclusive of this invention.”)
As for claim 6, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method wherein
creating slice contexts comprises creating control-plane data and data-plane data (SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions, and assigns the control function to a logically centralized controller, which is the ‘brain’ of the network) to produce a slice context with capabilities beyond a 5G network (The embodiments apply to 4G and any radio technology beyond 5G).
(Altay paragraph [0007] discloses “The concept of slicing is widely known in prior art and achieved using principles of software defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV). SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions, and assigns the control function to a logically centralized controller, which is the ‘brain’ of the network. Similarly, NFV decouples network functions from the underlying hardware so that they can run as software images on commercial off-the-shelf hardware anywhere in the network, and can be controlled centrally. The key enablers for a sliceable integrated virtual CPE are therefore (a) a centralized (remote) control, or a remote control along with a local control component totally separated from the transport data network, and (b) policy services that store the user-group profiles and associated network usage policies.”
Paragraph [0036] discloses “The terms Enhanced Packet Core (EPC) or core network are used synonymously. The Next Generation Core (NG-Core), being defined by 3GPP, should also be considered with the coverage of this invention, even though its subcomponents are named and distributed differently than the EPC. The terms 4G and LTE are used synonymously. The embodiments apply to 4G and any radio technology beyond 5G.”)
As for claim 7, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method wherein
(An integrated virtual CPE slice is generated per user-group wherein a user-group profile)( It also includes the partitioning of the SDN switch resources (e.g., buffers, ports and processing capacity)) comprises programming the network switch hardware based upon a type of slice defined by data-plane data (SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions, and assigns the control function to a logically centralized controller, which is the ‘brain’ of the network)( policy services that store the user-group profiles and associated network usage policies); wherein
(Altay paragraph [0013] discloses “An integrated virtual CPE slice is generated per user-group wherein a user-group profile includes: percentage/ratio of uplink and downlink RAN resource blocks, a virtual portion of the MME configured with the IP addresses of users and associated S-P Gateways. It also includes the partitioning of the SDN switch resources (e.g., buffers, ports and processing capacity), transport network resources (e.g. transmission bandwidth), and virtual network function capacity according to a policy.”
Paragraph [0007] discloses “The concept of slicing is widely known in prior art and achieved using principles of software defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV). SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions, and assigns the control function to a logically centralized controller, which is the ‘brain’ of the network. Similarly, NFV decouples network functions from the underlying hardware so that they can run as software images on commercial off-the-shelf hardware anywhere in the network, and can be controlled centrally. The key enablers for a sliceable integrated virtual CPE are therefore (a) a centralized (remote) control, or a remote control along with a local control component totally separated from the transport data network, and (b) policy services that store the user-group profiles and associated network usage policies.”)
the method comprises: triggering packet processing actions based on slice types (Each packet stream that matches the criteria is called a ‘flow’. Using flow-tables, the controller can)( allocate switch buffers and processing resources to different type of users to achieve different grades of quality of service (e.g., low latency and high throughput).
(Altay paragraph [0008] discloses “The match criteria are multi-layer traffic classifiers that inspect specific fields in the packet header (source MAC address, destination MAC address, VLAN ID, source IP address, destination IP address, source port, etc.), and identify the set of packets to which the actions will be applied. The actions may involve modification of the packet header and/or forwarding through a defined output port. Each packet stream that matches the criteria is called a ‘flow’. Using flow-tables, the controller can (a) direct traffic originated from different users in a local network and targeted to an outside destination to different types of networks (e.g., MPLS, private line, DSL etc.), (b) allocate switch buffers and processing resources to different type of users to achieve different grades of quality of service (e.g., low latency and high throughput)”)
Altay does not appear to explicitly disclose
instantiating the plurality of network slices
However, Choyi discloses a method to
instantiating the plurality of network slices on (SOP 110 may provide network assets with different security ratings (e.g., designed and tested), incorporate the assets into architected network slices 102, and deploy the network slices 102 over edge and core networks of provider network 100)
(Choyi paragraph [0022] discloses “SOP 110 includes logic for designing, testing, deploying, and adapting network slices 102. For example, SOP 110 may provide network assets with different security ratings (e.g., designed and tested), incorporate the assets into architected network slices 102, and deploy the network slices 102 over edge and core networks of provider network 100. The overall SAL of each network slice 102 may be scored, for example, based on the compilation of asset scores in each network slice 102. Assets may be security infrastructure components dedicated to security functions (e.g. virtualized firewall or DDoS prevention functions) or may be functions that perform security related functions (e.g., hardware assets, virtual assets, network functions, software functions, forwarding graph descriptors, virtual link descriptor, etc.). SOP 110 may catalog deployed security infrastructure and associated assets with a service in inventory.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choyi with Altay for the benefit of having a method to create network slice with requirements as part of the profile and using SOP (Slice Orchestrator Platform) to deploy the network slices. Further benefit to combine is for having an efficient method to dynamically adjust the network's flows to meet the changing needs while optimizing the network resource usage to the network slice.
As for claim 8, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method wherein
each of the data-plane pipelines comprises a slice-specific data-plane processing pipeline (slice 1 has a dedicated S/P GW)( slice 1 uses both VNF type 1 and type 2), and wherein each slice context is associated with a data plane program corresponding to one or more network slice requirements (user-groups of slice 2 and slice 3 are permitted to use only VNF type 1) for a respective network slice (slice 2 and slice 3).
(Altay paragraph [0065] discloses “FIG. 8 depicts three exemplary slices of the integrated virtual CPE defined for three types of user-groups within an enterprise. Note that the user-groups of slice 2 and slice 3 are permitted to use only VNF type 1 (web services), while slice 1 uses both VNF type 1 and type 2 (email). While slice 1 has a dedicated S/P GW, the other two slices share the same S/P GW. All three slices use separate virtual MME's. The QoS levels and the WAN connection usage are also configured separately for each user-group. Furthermore, slice 1 and 2 users may be allowed to use mobile operator networks for inbound and outbound calling, while slice 3 may stay purely local (e.g., when the users are IOT). The slice attributes for each user-group are stored within the policy server and attributes relevant to different service types are pushed down to SDN controller, orchestrator and LTE controller.”)
As for claim 9, limitations of parent claim 8 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method wherein
the one or more network slice requirements (In another embodiment, network slicing can be per application type. There are applications that are latency-sensitive (video conferencing and gaming), or high throughput (streaming video) or delay insensitive and low throughput (email). Network slicing defined according to such network performance criteria is inclusive of this invention) comprise one or more of security (different rights and requirements), 5G traffic processing (latency-sensitive)(high throughput), 5G capability, 5G proximity to access networks, and storage (The Next Generation Core (NG-Core), being defined by 3GPP, should also be considered with the coverage of this invention, even though its subcomponents are named and distributed differently than the EPC. The terms 4G and LTE are used synonymously. The embodiments apply to 4G and any radio technology beyond 5G).
(Altay paragraph [0035] discloses “Network slicing is specified per user-group for simplicity in one embodiment. An exemplary set of user-groups of an enterprise can be employees, visitors, management team, and Internet of Things (IOT), each of which has different rights and requirements. In another embodiment, network slicing can be per application type. There are applications that are latency-sensitive (video conferencing and gaming), or high throughput (streaming video) or delay insensitive and low throughput (email). Network slicing defined according to such network performance criteria is inclusive of this invention.”
Paragraph [0036] “In another embodiment, the software components of the remote control center may be distributed to multiple computers for load balancing and improved reliability. The control of VNFs may be through a system named other than orchestrator. Such architectural alternatives should be considered within the coverage of this invention. The terms Enhanced Packet Core (EPC) or core network are used synonymously. The Next Generation Core (NG-Core), being defined by 3GPP, should also be considered with the coverage of this invention, even though its subcomponents are named and distributed differently than the EPC. The terms 4G and LTE are used synonymously. The embodiments apply to 4G and any radio technology beyond 5G.”)
As for claim 10, claim 10 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
network switch hardware (of a plurality of interconnected hardware components: (a) router/switch/hub);
(Altay paragraph [0012] discloses “The disclosed subject matter has an integrated virtual CPE that is comprised of a plurality of interconnected hardware components: (a) router/switch/hub, (b) server (computer) hosting a plurality of virtual network functions including a core network, and (c) micro base station. Wireline and radio networks interconnect these components locally. ”)
one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions (non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer readable program code which, when executed by a processor ) to: create slice contexts for each of a plurality of network slices (implements a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources);
(Altay paragraph [0017] discloses “In yet another embodiment, the present invention provides an article of manufacture comprising non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer readable program code which, when executed by a processor in a single node, implements a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch, the medium comprising: (a) computer readable program code executed by the processor to receive directives to control the control agent from a control infrastructure hosted in a remote site, the remote site storing user-group information and associated profiles, and (b) computer readable program code executed by the processor to slice components of the CPE according to the storing user-group information and associated profiles by assigning different network resources to user groups by programing any of, or a combination of the following: the local RAN, Mobility Management Entity (MME) and Packet Data Network Gateway (P-GW) components of the local CN, the at least one VNF, and the at least one programmable switch.”)
As for claim 11, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 11 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 12, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 12 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 13, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 13 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 15, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 15 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
instructions to create
(Altay paragraph [0017] discloses “In yet another embodiment, the present invention provides an article of manufacture comprising non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer readable program code which, when executed by a processor in a single node, implements a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch”)
As for claim 16, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 16 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 7 and is rejected along the same rationale.
the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to
(Altay paragraph [0017] discloses “In yet another embodiment, the present invention provides an article of manufacture comprising non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer readable program code which, when executed by a processor in a single node, implements a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch”)
As for claim 17, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 17 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 8 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 18, limitation of parent claim 17 have been discussed above. Claim 18 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 19, claim 19 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
a non-transitory, tangible processor readable storage medium, encoded with processor readable instructions to perform
(Altay paragraph [0017] discloses “In yet another embodiment, the present invention provides an article of manufacture comprising non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer readable program code which, when executed by a processor in a single node, implements a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch”)
As for claim 20, limitation of parent claim 19 have been discussed above. Claim 20 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 8 with claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altay in view of Choyi in view of Dhammawat et al., US Patent Application No. 20220386179, effectively filed on 5/25/2021 (hereinafter Dhammawat).
As for claim 5, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Altay discloses the method comprising:
receiving network slice requirements (At the remote control center 100, policy server 1030 is where each enterprise user-group (or application type) policies are stored. Policy server 1030 sends directives to (a) SDN controller 130 regarding traffic routing policies (QoS, bandwidth reservation, etc.) of each user-group which enable configuration of SDN switch 101 accordingly, (b) orchestrator 120 regarding usage of virtualized network functions by user-groups) from a [control plane] (5G infrastructures); wherein
(Altay paragraph [0001] discloses “The subject matter disclosed herein relates generally to wireline and wireless voice and data communications, and more particularly in supporting slicing of a virtual CPE using Software Defined Networks (SDN), Network Function Virtualization (NFV) and 5G infrastructures.”
Paragraph [0054] discloses “Remote control center 100 controls a plurality of enterprise's integrated virtual CPE 110. At the remote control center 100, policy server 1030 is where each enterprise user-group (or application type) policies are stored. Policy server 1030 sends directives to (a) SDN controller 130 regarding traffic routing policies (QoS, bandwidth reservation, etc.) of each user-group which enable configuration of SDN switch 101 accordingly, (b) orchestrator 120 regarding usage of virtualized network functions by user-groups”)
creating slice contexts comprises creating control-plane data and data-plane data (SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions, and assigns the control function to a logically centralized controller, which is the ‘brain’ of the network) based upon the network slice requirements (policy services that store the user-group profiles and associated network usage policies) received from the (The key enablers for a sliceable integrated virtual CPE are therefore (a) a centralized (remote) control, or a remote control along with a local control component totally separated from the transport data network, and (b) policy services that store the user-group profiles and associated network usage policies)(any radio technology beyond 5G).
(Altay paragraph [0007] discloses “The concept of slicing is widely known in prior art and achieved using principles of software defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV). SDN achieves the decoupling of the control plane from the data plane of forwarding functions, and assigns the control function to a logically centralized controller, which is the ‘brain’ of the network. Similarly, NFV decouples network functions from the underlying hardware so that they can run as software images on commercial off-the-shelf hardware anywhere in the network, and can be controlled centrally. The key enablers for a sliceable integrated virtual CPE are therefore (a) a centralized (remote) control, or a remote control along with a local control component totally separated from the transport data network, and (b) policy services that store the user-group profiles and associated network usage policies.”
Paragraph [0036] discloses “The terms Enhanced Packet Core (EPC) or core network are used synonymously. The Next Generation Core (NG-Core), being defined by 3GPP, should also be considered with the coverage of this invention, even though its subcomponents are named and distributed differently than the EPC. The terms 4G and LTE are used synonymously. The embodiments apply to 4G and any radio technology beyond 5G.”))
Altay does not appear to explicitly disclose
5G control plane.
However, Dhammawat discloses a method comprise a
5G control plane (control plane function).
(Dhammawat paragraph [0008] discloses “FIG. 1A is an illustrative representation of a basic network architecture of an enterprise private Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network, which is (more specifically) a private Fifth Generation (5G) network, which may include a user plane function (UPF) and a control plane function which may be or include a session management function (SMF);”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 8B is an illustrative representation of the system that includes the user plane function node of FIG. 8A, where each network slice may be divided into a plurality of different predefined service subclassifications, and where each one of the different predefined service subclassifications may be associated with different QoS Flow resource types (e.g. Guaranteed Bit Rate “GBR” types and non-GBR types) in the network slice according to some implementations of the present disclosure;”
Paragraph [0049] discloses “With such QoS Flow management procedures, what may be utilized for proper QoS treatment is a mapping of stored associations between a plurality of application identifiers (IDs) and/or names of applications (e.g. “5G applications”) and 5QIs and/or corresponding QoS profiles (as well as other relevant information, if and as needed). This mapping may be stored at and/or used by the control plane function (e.g. the SMF). With reference back to FIG. 1A, it is illustrated that information for 5G applications may be input to (e.g. by a network administrator) and sent from network controller 110 to control plane function 108 for use with the private 5G network. The information may include a mapping of 130 of stored associations between applications, data networks, and business intents of the 5G private network. Control plane function 108 may obtain the information that includes mapping 130, and use this information to build or generate a mapping 132 of stored associations between a plurality of application IDs/names associated with the applications and a plurality of 5QIs associated with QoS profiles.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dhammawat with Altay and Choyi for the benefit of having a method to create requirements for user and control plan to bind to a network slice. Further benefit to combine to make the method capable of supporting 5G control plane for proper QoS mapping of stored associations between a plurality of application identifiers (IDs) and/or names of applications (e.g. “5G applications”) and 5QIs and/or corresponding QoS profiles.
As for claim 14, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 14 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to:
(Altay paragraph [0017] discloses “In yet another embodiment, the present invention provides an article of manufacture comprising non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer readable program code which, when executed by a processor in a single node, implements a slicing method for customer premises equipment (CPE), wherein each user-group or application type is mapped to a local network slice according to a profile, wherein slicing provides a subdivision of all network resources associated with the CPE comprising a local radio access network (RAN) and an associated local core network (CN), a local area network (LAN), at least one virtualized network function (VNF), and at least one programmable switch”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kozlova et al., US Patent Application No. 20230276211, effectively filed on 2/28/2022.
The system first defines domain-level or root-level NSSTs, optionally using labels to control placement, then combines them into an NST that represents the full service. A visual design studio supports creation, editing, validation, and catalog storage of these templates. Deployment then follows the assembled NST, so provisioning is driven by reusable template composition rather than manual configuration [0121]-[0127]
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646