DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species H (Figs. 9A-B) in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3, 12-18, 20, 22, 24-25 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/20/2026.
New claims 112-113 are withdrawn by the Examiner as being drawn to non-elected species. Specifically, claim 112 recites a second tissue disruptor on an outward surface. This feature is discussed at least at [00129]/[00144] of the spec. as filed, where this feature is explicitly discussed as being applicable to the embodiments of Figs. 6A-C, 8A-B, 12A-C, 13A-C, and 14A-B but the embodiment of elected Figs. 9A-B is explicitly omitted from this discussion regarding the second tissue disruptor on the outward surface. Accordingly, claims 112-113 are not drawn to the elected species and therefore are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the clause beginning with “wherein maximum thickness of the probe tip”, the term “the” is missing from the element “maximum thickness of the probe tip”, as this is a previously introduced limitation finding antecedent basis earlier in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 37, 42, and 109 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 00/64389, inventors Lynch et al. (hereinafter “Lynch”) (cited in an IDS dated 02/20/2025).
Regarding claim 37, Lynch discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; and page 8, line 14 - page 17, line 6) a device for disrupting tissue in an eye (see at least page 8, lines 14-22), the device comprising: a distal portion (10, Figs. 3-4) sized and configured for ab interno insertion into an anterior chamber of the eye (see page 11, line 27 - page 12, line 2), the distal portion comprising: an elongate, flexible shaft (see page 12, lines 4-15) comprising: a distal end region (15, Figs. 3-4) having an inward surface (surface in Fig. 3 to which #15 points to), an outward surface (opposing surface to inward surface in Fig. 3), and a first thickness between the inward surface and the outward surface (thickness of #15 at left-most edge of Fig. 4); a probe tip (70) at a distal-most end of the distal end region, the probe tip having a maximum thickness between the radially inward surface of the distal end region and the radially outward surface of the distal end region (see Figs. 3-4, max thickness of #70 shown in Fig. 3 at midpoint of 70); a tissue disruptor (20) proximal of the probe tip projecting away from the radially inward surface (see Figs. 3-4); and a neck region proximal of the probe tip and distal to the tissue disruptor (Fig. 4, portion of slot 65 when blade 20 is open defines a neck region at the distal end of slot 65 adjacent to the proximal end of balloon 70), wherein the neck region has a second thickness between the radially inward surface and the radially outward surface (see Fig. 4, thickness defined at distal end of slot 65 adjacent proximal end of balloon 70 where the thickness does not include the "top" portion of the thickness of #15); and wherein, during use, the distal-most end is configured to be inserted through trabecular meshwork tissue and into a portion of Schlemm's Canal and the shaft is configured to be advanced along a circumferential contour of Schlemm's Canal away from the portion of Schlemm's Canal (see page 10, lines 6-21; moreover, this is an intended use limitation which is merely functional and does not affect the structure of the claimed invention - a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) - see also MPEP 2114(II), which states that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art), wherein the tissue disruptor is configured to disrupt trabecular meshwork tissue as the shaft advances along the circumferential contour of Schlemm's Canal (see page 10, lines 6-21, also this is an intended use limitation which is merely functional as discussed above), and wherein maximum thickness of the probe tip is greater than the first thickness of the distal end region of the shaft, and the second thickness of the neck region is less than the first thickness (as discussed above, Fig. 4 shows the max thickness of 70 as larger than the thickness of #15 at left-most edge of Fig. 4; and the thickness at the distal end of slot 65 adjacent proximal end of balloon 70 where the thickness does not include the "top" portion of the thickness of #15 and thus is less thick than the first thickness which includes the "top" portion of the thickness of #15).
Lynch further discloses (claim 42) wherein the distal end region is shaped into a curve having a central plane or is straight (see Figs. 3-4); (claim 109) wherein the probe tip at the distal-most end of the distal end region is a smooth ball tip configured for circumferential gonio-traction (see Figs. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38, 43, 44, 45, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch.
With respect to claims 38, 43, 44, 45, and 46, Lynch fails to explicitly disclose wherein the probe tip is located 1 mm - 3 mm away from the tissue disruptor; wherein the curve of the distal end region of the shaft has a radial curvature of 5-20 mm; wherein the first thickness of the distal end region of the shaft is at least 120 microns up to about 150 microns; wherein the maximum thickness of the probe tip is greater than 180 microns up to about 360 microns; and wherein the second thickness of the neck region is less than about 100 microns down to about 60 microns. These are all relative dimensions and sizes of the device. See page 12, lines 4-15 and page 15, line 16 - page 16, line 2 of Lynch, which discloses dimensions and also discloses that the device is used for performing a trabeculotomy from within Schlemm's canal. These dimensions are disclosed by Applicant at [0012] of the spec. as filed, for the purpose of also performing a trabeculotomy from within Schlemm's canal, but there is no explanation as to how these dimensions provide an advantage, are used for a particular purpose, or solve a stated problem. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have these relative dimensions because Applicant has not disclosed that these relative dimensions provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Lynch’s apparatus, and Applicant's invention, to perform equally well with either the dimensions taught by Lynch or the claimed dimensions because both would perform the same function of performing a trabeculotomy from within Schlemm's canal. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Lynch to obtain the invention specified in the claim because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Lynch. Further, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claim(s) 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch in view of US 2020/0107961 to Kahook et al. (hereinafter “Kahook”).
With respect to claims 40 and 41, Lynch fails to specifically disclose wherein the shaft is formed of a super-elastic memory shape material like Nitinol. Instead, Lynch discloses that the shaft is made from any flexible, biologically inert material (see page 12, lines 6-7; page 16, lines 2-6). Kahook discloses, in the same field of endeavor of ophthalmic tools for cutting the trabecular meshwork (see abstract), the known use of nitinol as a suitable material (nitinol is flexible and biologically inert) (see [0177]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the shaft out of nitinol, as taught by Kahook, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 39, 110, and 111 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch in view of US 2010/0280535 A1 to Yamaguchi et al. (hereinafter “Yamaguchi”).
With respect to claims 39, 110, and 111, Lynch fails to specifically disclose wherein the radially inward surface of the distal end region is connected to the radially outward surface by two lateral sides; wherein the inward surface of the distal end region is connected to the outward surface by two lateral sides; and wherein the shaft has a cross-sectional shape taken transverse to a length of the shaft between that is non-circular, and wherein the cross-sectional shape is square or rectangular. Lynch's shaft appears to have a circular cross-section, as per Figs. 3-4. Yamaguchi discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a cutting device for incising Schlemm's canal (see [0005]), wherein the device comprises a distal end portion (5) which can be either round or square (see [0045]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lynch's circular cross section to have a square cross section, as taught by Yamaguchi, as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a shaft having a given cross section suitable for use in Schlemm's canal, since Lynch teaches a circular/round cross section and Yamaguchi discloses either a circular/round or square cross-section as interchangeable equivalents. In making the proposed combination, a square cross-section would result in the radially inward and outward surfaces of the curved distal end section of Lynch be connected by the two lateral sides of the square.
Claim(s) 114-119 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch in view of US 2021/0022920 A1 to Ianchulev (hereinafter “Ianchulev”) (cited in an IDS dated 02/20/2025).
With respect to claims 114-119, Lynch discloses a proximal housing (5, Fig. 3), but fails to specifically disclose the proximal housing having an introducer tube projecting from a distal end region of the housing, at least a portion of the shaft extending through a lumen of the introducer tube, wherein the shaft is configured to be advanced from the introducer tube; wherein the introducer tube is a substantially rigid tube having a proximal end region that extends away from the proximal housing along a longitudinal axis and a distal end region that comprises a curve relative to the longitudinal axis, the curve forming an angle between a plane of a distal-most tip of the introducer tube to a plane of an outer surface of the introducer tube proximal to the curve; wherein the angle is about 90 degrees to about 120 degrees; wherein the introducer tube comprises a beveled tip comprising a heel, a distal point, and a length between the heel and the distal point; wherein the length is about 0.8 mm - 1.0 mm; and wherein a shape of the beveled tip forms a piercing and introducing spatula.
Ianchulev discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a device for removing trabecular meshwork (see abstract; Figs. 1A-2B & 16-19; and [0068]-[0122]) comprising a shaft (6/15/15E) and a proximal housing (13) having an introducer tube (17/17E+10E) projecting from a distal end region of the housing (see [0072]/[0101]), at least a portion of the shaft extending through a lumen of the introducer tube (see Figs. 16-18 and [0072]), wherein the shaft is configured to be advanced from the introducer tube (see [0072]); wherein the introducer tube is a substantially rigid tube having a proximal end region that extends away from the proximal housing along a longitudinal axis and a distal end region (21) that comprises a curve relative to the longitudinal axis (see Figs. 2A-B and [0072]), the curve forming an angle between a plane of a distal-most tip (23) of the introducer tube to a plane of an outer surface of the introducer tube proximal to the curve (see Figs. 2A-B and 16-19); wherein the introducer tube comprises a beveled tip (26E) comprising a heel (space indicated near 28E in Fig. 18), a distal point (24E, Fig. 18), and a length between the heel and the distal point (see Fig. 18); and wherein a shape of the beveled tip forms a piercing and introducing spatula (see Figs. 16-19) for the purpose of providing an introducer for facilitating insertion of a device into the trabecular meshwork and Schlemm's canal (see [0072]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lynch's device with the introducer taught by Ianchulev in order to provide an introducer for facilitating insertion of a device into the trabecular meshwork and Schlemm's canal.
With respect to the limitations wherein the angle is about 90 degrees to about 120 degrees and wherein the length is about 0.8 mm - 1.0 mm; these dimensions are disclosed by Applicant at [0012]/[0079] of the spec. as filed, for the purpose of also performing a trabeculotomy from within Schlemm's canal, but there is no explanation as to how these dimensions provide an advantage, are used for a particular purpose, or solve a stated problem. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have these relative dimensions because Applicant has not disclosed that these relative dimensions provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Lynch’s apparatus (as modified by Ianchulev), and Applicant's invention, to perform equally well with either the dimensions taught by Lynch/Ianchulev or the claimed dimensions because both would perform the same function of performing a trabeculotomy from within Schlemm's canal. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Lynch/Ianchulev to obtain the invention specified in the claim because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Lynch. Further, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached PTO-892 Notice of References cited for additional relevant prior art disclosing ophthalmic devices for cutting trabecular meshwork in the eye.
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771