DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 27 and 34 recite “wherein the machine learning model is indicated to the machine transcription service,” which is not adequately described in the specification, as originally filed.
Paragraph [0029] describes a transcription job request 310 as specifying job type, data source, redaction type, redaction sensitivity, and transcription destination, but does not describe indicating “a machine learning model.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25, 28-32, 35-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behre et al. (US 2023/0352009 A1, “Behre”) in view of DiPaulo et al. (US 2023/0353606 A1, “DiPaulo”).
As to claims 21, 28, 35, Behre discloses a system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of computing devices, respectively comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the plurality of computing devices implement a machine transcription service of a provider network (plurality of third party systems 120 utilize a computing system 110 to produce output transcription data, para. 0030-0032);
wherein the machine transcription service is configured to:
obtain audio data to generate a text transcription of the audio data (input audio data 141 is to be converted to text data or transcription data, para. 0036-0039);
apply an automatic speech recognition technique to the audio data to generate text data (ASR model 146 configured to generated transcription data from input audio, para. 0031);
apply a number of inverse text normalization models to the text data to generate normalized text data, the number of inverse text normalization models being determined for the text transcription of the audio data (apply an inverse text normalization model 222, para. 0062);
apply a machine learning model, trained to recognize profanity for redaction, to the normalized text data to identify one or more portions of the normalized text data for redaction (apply disfluency handling model 220 that removes disfluencies, para. 0062);
remove the identified one or more portions of the normalized text data (para 0062); and
provide the redacted text data to a destination (final sentences 234 are transmitted to the user/remote systems 232, para. 0066).
Behre differs from claims 21, 28, 35 in that it does not disclose the above underlined limitation.
DiPaulo teaches the use of machine learning trained to identify and remove objectionable, harmful, or inappropriate content in a video conference, such as swearing, offensive language, etc., including a separate model for identifying harmful content in text (Abstract, para. 0010-0011, 0075-0076, 0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Behre with the above teaching of DiPaulo in order to improve the trust and safety of received content, as taught by DiPaulo (para. 0001).
As to claims 22, 29, 36, Behre in view of DiPaulo teaches: wherein to remove the identified one or more portions of the normalized text data, the machine transcription service is configured to apply a character string indicating the removed one or more portions of the normalized text data (DiPaulo: harmful content may be obfuscated, para. 0011).
As to claims 23, 30, 37, Behre in view of DiPaulo teaches: wherein the machine learning model, trained to recognize profanity is applied in accordance with a request received at the machine transcription service to apply profanity recognition (DiPaulo: harmful content can be identified and removed according to moderation settings configured by a user, para. 0013, 0065, 0081).
As to claims 24, 31, 38, Behre in view of DiPaulo teaches: wherein the destination displays the redacted text data (harmful content may be presented to a moderator for editing, para. 0089).
As to claims 25, 32, 39, Behre in view of DiPaulo teaches: wherein the machine transcription service is further configured to apply a rules-based capitalization technique to the normalized text data (Behre: capitalization model 226, para. 0065).
Claim(s) 26, 33, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behre in view of DiPaulo, as applied to claims 21, 28, 35 above, and further in view of Zarecki et al. (US 2022/0292218 A1, “Zarecki”).
Behre in view of DiPaulo differs from claims 26, 33, 40 in that it does not teach: wherein the destination is specified in a request received at the machine transcription service.
Zarecki teaches requesting a redacted transcript from a redaction system and including an intended destination for the redacted transcript (para. 0020). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Behre in view of DiPaulo with the above teaching of Zarecki in order to provide for transcript requests after the conference.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,498 in view of DiPaulo.
Claim 21 (present application)
Claim 1 (US 12,182,498)
A system, comprising:
A system, comprising:
a plurality of computing devices, respectively comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the plurality of computing devices implement a machine transcription service of a provider network;
at least one processor; and a memory, storing program instructions that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to implement a machine transcription system,
wherein the machine transcription service is configured to:
configured to:
obtain audio data to generate a text transcription of the audio data;
obtain text data generated from one or more automated speech recognition techniques for redaction;
apply an automatic speech recognition technique to the audio data to generate text data;
text data generated from one or more automated speech recognition techniques for redaction;
apply a number of inverse text normalization models to the text data to generate normalized text data, the number of inverse text normalization models being determined for the text transcription of the audio data;
cause application of a number of inverse text normalization models to the text data to generate normalized text data based, at least in part, on a predicted normalization by a first inverse text normalization model for the text data;
apply a machine learning model, trained to recognize profanity for redaction, to the normalized text data to identify one or more portions of the normalized text data for redaction;
cause application of a machine learning model, trained to recognize text for redaction, to identify one or more portions of the normalized text data for redaction;
remove the identified one or more portions of the normalized text data; and
redact the identified one or more portions of the normalized text data; and
provide the redacted text data to a destination.
provide the redacted text data to a destination.
Claim 1 of the patent differs from claim 21 of the present application in that it does not recite: apply a machine learning model, trained to recognize profanity for redaction.
DiPaulo teaches the use of machine learning trained to identify and remove objectionable, harmful, or inappropriate content in a video conference, such as swearing, offensive language, etc., including a separate model for identifying harmful content in text (Abstract, para. 0010-0011, 0075-0076, 0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of the patent with the above teaching of DiPaulo in order to improve the trust and safety of received content, as taught by DiPaulo (para. 0001).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cai et al. (US 2023/0385320 A1) teach a censor model trained to identify offensive content.
Springer et al. (US 2023/0353704 A1) teach redacting profanity from conference content.
Tolle et al. (US 2023/0254350 A1) teach filtering comments containing profanity.
Zhu et al. (US 2021/0375289 A1) teach using inverse text normalization.
STELLA L. WOO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/Stella L. Woo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693