DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claims 2 and 11 depend upon independent claims 1 and 10. The term “UWB” in claims 2 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “UWB” is not defined by those claims. Therefore, claims 2 and 11 are rejected under U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANGELO (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0329076 A1) in view of ZHOU et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0207974 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SANTANGELO discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions, the executable instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform a method (Paragraphs [0108]-[0109], the apparatuses and methods described in this application may be partially or fully implemented by a special purpose computer created by configuring a general purpose computer to execute one or more particular functions embodied in computer programs. The functional blocks and flowchart elements described above serve as software specifications, which can be translated into the computer programs by the routine work of a skilled technician or programmer ... The computer programs include processor-executable instructions that are stored on at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium ...), the method comprising:
receiving a set of images (FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the tag 800 includes sensors 824 ... The sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video) associated with a real-world environment (Paragraphs [0072]-[0073], FIG. 10 depicts a tunnel 1002 with a plurality of vehicles traveling through the tunnel 1002 ... The first vehicle 1004 and the second vehicle 1006 may each include a location tag, such as tag 800);
receiving first positional measurements (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include an IMU that includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer. In various implementations, the sensors 824 may include navigation sensors such as sonar, infrared, distance, and pressure sensors ...) generated at or near a time that a first subset of the set of images are captured by an image capture device at a first location (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the first positional measurements indicating a position relative to positioning signals provided by one or more anchor systems (Paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 only needs to receive a signal from two location anchors to accurately determine its current position. In other words, the plurality of anchors are used to create zones of only two anchors. For example, when the vehicle 1302 is located between the location anchor 1308 and the location anchor 1310, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may calculate a current position by determining the distance to the location anchor 1308 and the distance to the location anchor 1310. Using the two determined distances, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to calculate up to two potential positions; paragraph [0095], a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals. The RTLS may be used to provide supplementary communication and positioning to autonomous vehicles. The system includes a plurality of units (e.g., location anchors and location tags) that calculate and provide the relative distances between each unit. In this way, it is possible to calculate the absolute position of a unit—for example, using triangulation, trilateration, or multilateration. In various implementations, the current position of a location tag may be determined if the absolute positions of at least three location anchors are known ...) that are positioned in different locations in the real-world environment (Paragraph [0090], the plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the one or more anchor systems being separate and external (Paragraph [0090], the plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) from the image capture device that captured at least the subset of images (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...; paragraph [0092], location tags, such as tag 800 ...); and
generating a navigational system Paragraph [0028], the location tag may also be configured to provide the determined position to a location device, such as a navigation system located in a vehicle. In other implementations, a location anchor may be configured to transmit GPS signals that may be received and used by standard GPS receivers) using the first positional measurements associated with different subsets of the set of images (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) to increase accuracy of the model of the real-world environment (Paragraph [0064], the tag 800 may also include a servo control module 830. The servo control module 830 is configured to provide a connection between the microprocessor 804 and navigational controls of a vehicle, such as the UAV 104. For example, via the servo control module 830, the microprocessor 804 is able to control the steering and propulsion of the UAV 104. This in turn allows the microprocessor 804 to navigate the UAV 104 based on the current position of the tag 800 without any external input—for example, instructions or controls from a human operator; paragraph [0087], a plurality of location anchors—for example, location anchors 1010-1020—transmitting GPS signals may provide all of the GPS signals required by the GPS receiver to determine a current location. In other words, a standard GPS receiver may be able to determine a current position without receiving signal for GPS satellites; paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to accurately determine its current position by only receiving UWB signals from two location anchors).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose generating a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images.
In additional, ZHOU discloses generating a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images (Paragraph [0023], the system and method further includes performing object recognition analysis in order to determine labels associated with objects using image recognition processing based at least on a user command to locate one or more objects of interest and the unique characteristics associated with the bounded physical environment. The system and method yet further includes generating a world map representation with editable object tags associated with the one or more objects of interest and the unique characteristics associated with the bounded physical environment. The system and method further includes providing navigation instructions to guide the user device to the one or more objects of interest based on a distance analysis of a current location of the user device to a destination location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO incorporate the teachings of ZHOU, and applying the system and method associated with expedient determination of location of one or more objects in a bounded 3D environment taught by ZHOU to have the capability for generating a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images and provide navigation instructions to guide the user device to the objects of interest based on a distance analysis of a current location of the user device to a destination location. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO according to the relied-upon teachings of ZHOU to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the one or more anchor systems provide UWB signals as the first positioning signals (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the one or more anchor systems include at least three anchor systems that provide the first positioning signals (Paragraph [0027], the plurality of location anchors may automatically determine the position of each location anchor. In other implementations, the location of each location anchor may be determined, for example, by an operator and then provided to the anchors. The locations anchors may also broadcast UWB signals that include the position of each location anchor. The location tag may use the broadcasted information to determine relative distances to three of more location anchors. Based on the determined distances and the positions of the three or more location anchors, the location tag determines its current position).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the set of images includes a second subset of images captured by the image capture device at a second location (FIGS. 4 and 5; paragraph [0038], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of location anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list ...; FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; FIG. 13; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the second subset of images being taken by the image capture device of the real-world environment (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include an IMU that includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer. In various implementations, the sensors 824 may include navigation sensors such as sonar, infrared, distance, and pressure sensors. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 824 may include environmental sensors such as temperature, humidity, and chemical sensors. Further, the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video; paragraph [0095], the principals of the present disclosure provide a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals. ...), the first subset of images being a different portion of the real-world environment relative to the second subset of images (FIG. 7; paragraph [0049], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list of anchors), and generating the navigational model comprises using the first positional measurements associated with both the first subset of images and the second subset of images (Paragraph [0028], the location tag may use GPS signals to determine a current position. In some implementations, the location anchor may use both GPS signals and UWB signals to determine a current position. The location tag may also be configured to provide the determined position to a location device, such as a navigation system located in a vehicle ...; paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0064], the tag 800 may also include a servo control module 830. The servo control module 830 is configured to provide a connection between the microprocessor 804 and navigational controls of a vehicle, such as the UAV 104. For example, via the servo control module 830, the microprocessor 804 is able to control the steering and propulsion of the UAV 104. This in turn allows the microprocessor 804 to navigate the UAV 104 based on the current position of the tag 800 without any external input—for example, instructions or controls from a human operator; paragraph [0087], a plurality of location anchors—for example, location anchors 1010-1020—transmitting GPS signals may provide all of the GPS signals required by the GPS receiver to determine a current location. In other words, a standard GPS receiver may be able to determine a current position without receiving signals for GPS satellites; paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to accurately determine its current position by only receiving UWB signals from two location anchors).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4), and SANTANGELO discloses further comprising receiving second positional measurements generated at or near a time that the second subset of the set of images (FIGS. 4 and 5; paragraph [0038], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of location anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list ...; FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; FIG. 13; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signal. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) are captured by the image capture device at the second location (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include an IMU that includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer. In various implementations, the sensors 824 may include navigation sensors such as sonar, infrared, distance, and pressure sensors. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 824 may include environmental sensors such as temperature, humidity, and chemical sensors. Further, the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video; paragraph [0095], the principals of the present disclosure provide a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals ...; FIG. 7; paragraph [0049], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list of anchors), the second positional measurements indicating a second position relative to positioning signals provided by the one or more anchor systems (FIG. 13; paragraph [0089], when the vehicle 1302 is located between the location anchor 1308 and the location anchor 1310, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may calculate a current position by determining the distance to the location anchor 1308 and the distance to the location anchor 1310. Using the two determined distances, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to calculate up to two potential positions. However, only one of the positions will be within the pipeline. Therefore, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to accurately determine its current position by only receiving UWB signals from two location anchors; paragraph [0095], a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals. The RTLS may be used to provide supplementary communication and positioning to autonomous vehicles. The system includes a plurality of units (e.g., location anchors and location tags) that calculate and provide the relative distances between each unit. In this way, it is possible to calculate the absolute position of a unit—for example, using triangulation, trilateration, or multilateration. In various implementations, the current position of a location tag may be determined if the absolute positions of at least three location anchors are known ... Thus, receive a first UWB signal from a first anchor of the plurality of location anchors and the first anchor has a first position; receive a second UWB signal from a second anchor of the plurality of location anchors and the second anchor has a second position that is different than the first position; then determine a current position based on the first UWB signal and the second UWB signal).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the image captured device (FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the tag 800 includes sensors 824 ... The sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ..) by the one or more anchor systems (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position), each of the one or more anchor system determining a vector directed to the image capture device based on the positioning signals (Paragraph [0070], considering the set of squared distances between each location anchor of the zone and the tag 800 and the propagation time of the signal, it is possible to write a set of K equations that could be arranged into a system of equations 4 ...).
Regarding claim 10, SANTANGELO discloses a method comprising:
receiving a set of images (FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the tag 800 includes sensors 824 ... The sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video) associated with a real-world environment (Paragraphs [0072]-[0073], FIG. 10 depicts a tunnel 1002 with a plurality of vehicles traveling through the tunnel 1002 ... The first vehicle 1004 and the second vehicle 1006 may each include a location tag, such as tag 800);
receiving first positional measurements (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include an IMU that includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer. In various implementations, the sensors 824 may include navigation sensors such as sonar, infrared, distance, and pressure sensors ...) generated at or near a time that a first subset of the set of images are captured by an image capture device at a first location (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the first positional measurements indicating a position relative to positioning signals provided by one or more anchor systems (Paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 only needs to receive a signal from two location anchors to accurately determine its current position. In other words, the plurality of anchors are used to create zones of only two anchors. For example, when the vehicle 1302 is located between the location anchor 1308 and the location anchor 1310, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may calculate a current position by determining the distance to the location anchor 1308 and the distance to the location anchor 1310. Using the two determined distances, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to calculate up to two potential positions; paragraph [0095], a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals. The RTLS may be used to provide supplementary communication and positioning to autonomous vehicles. The system includes a plurality of units (e.g., location anchors and location tags) that calculate and provide the relative distances between each unit. In this way, it is possible to calculate the absolute position of a unit—for example, using triangulation, trilateration, or multilateration. In various implementations, the current position of a location tag may be determined if the absolute positions of at least three location anchors are known ...) that are positioned in different locations in the real-world environment (Paragraph [0090], the plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the one or more anchor systems being separate and external (Paragraph [0090], the plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) from the image capture device that captured at least the subset of images (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...; paragraph [0092], location tags, such as tag 800 ...); and
generating a navigational system Paragraph [0028], the location tag may also be configured to provide the determined position to a location device, such as a navigation system located in a vehicle. In other implementations, a location anchor may be configured to transmit GPS signals that may be received and used by standard GPS receivers) using the first positional measurements associated with different subsets of the set of images (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) to increase accuracy of the model of the real-world environment (Paragraph [0064], the tag 800 may also include a servo control module 830. The servo control module 830 is configured to provide a connection between the microprocessor 804 and navigational controls of a vehicle, such as the UAV 104. For example, via the servo control module 830, the microprocessor 804 is able to control the steering and propulsion of the UAV 104. This in turn allows the microprocessor 804 to navigate the UAV 104 based on the current position of the tag 800 without any external input—for example, instructions or controls from a human operator; paragraph [0087], a plurality of location anchors—for example, location anchors 1010-1020—transmitting GPS signals may provide all of the GPS signals required by the GPS receiver to determine a current location. In other words, a standard GPS receiver may be able to determine a current position without receiving signals for GPS satellites; paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to accurately determine its current position by only receiving UWB signals from two location anchors).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose generating a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images.
In additional, ZHOU discloses generating a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images (Paragraph [0023], the system and method further includes performing object recognition analysis in order to determine labels associated with objects using image recognition processing based at least on a user command to locate one or more objects of interest and the unique characteristics associated with the bounded physical environment. The system and method yet further includes generating a world map representation with editable object tags associated with the one or more objects of interest and the unique characteristics associated with the bounded physical environment. The system and method further includes providing navigation instructions to guide the user device to the one or more objects of interest based on a distance analysis of a current location of the user device to a destination location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO incorporate the teachings of ZHOU, and applying the system and method associated with expedient determination of location of one or more objects in a bounded 3D environment taught by ZHOU to have the capability for generating a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images and provide navigation instructions to guide the user device to the objects of interest based on a distance analysis of a current location of the user device to a destination location. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO according to the relied-upon teachings of ZHOU to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the one or more anchor systems provide UWB signals as the first positioning signals (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the one or more anchor systems include at least three anchor systems that provide the first positioning signals (Paragraph [0027], the plurality of location anchors may automatically determine the position of each location anchor. In other implementations, the location of each location anchor may be determined, for example, by an operator and then provided to the anchors. The locations anchors may also broadcast UWB signals that include the position of each location anchor. The location tag may use the broadcasted information to determine relative distances to three of more location anchors. Based on the determined distances and the positions of the three or more location anchors, the location tag determines its current position).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the set of images includes a second subset of images captured by the image capture device at a second location (FIGS. 4 and 5; paragraph [0038], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of location anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list ...; FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; FIG. 13; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the second subset of images being taken by the image capture device of the real-world environment (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include an IMU that includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer. In various implementations, the sensors 824 may include navigation sensors such as sonar, infrared, distance, and pressure sensors. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 824 may include environmental sensors such as temperature, humidity, and chemical sensors. Further, the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video; paragraph [0095], the principals of the present disclosure provide a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals. ...), the first subset of images being a different portion of the real-world environment relative to the second subset of images (FIG. 7; paragraph [0049], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list of anchors), and generating the navigational model comprises using the first positional measurements associated with both the first subset of images and the second subset of images (Paragraph [0028], the location tag may use GPS signals to determine a current position. In some implementations, the location anchor may use both GPS signals and UWB signals to determine a current position. The location tag may also be configured to provide the determined position to a location device, such as a navigation system located in a vehicle ...; paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0064], the tag 800 may also include a servo control module 830. The servo control module 830 is configured to provide a connection between the microprocessor 804 and navigational controls of a vehicle, such as the UAV 104. For example, via the servo control module 830, the microprocessor 804 is able to control the steering and propulsion of the UAV 104. This in turn allows the microprocessor 804 to navigate the UAV 104 based on the current position of the tag 800 without any external input—for example, instructions or controls from a human operator; paragraph [0087], a plurality of location anchors—for example, location anchors 1010-1020—transmitting GPS signals may provide all of the GPS signals required by the GPS receiver to determine a current location. In other words, a standard GPS receiver may be able to determine a current position without receiving signals for GPS satellites; paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to accurately determine its current position by only receiving UWB signals from two location anchors).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), and SANTANGELO discloses further comprising receiving second positional measurements generated at or near a time that the second subset of the set of images (FIGS. 4 and 5; paragraph [0038], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of location anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list ...; FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; FIG. 13; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) are captured by the image capture device at the second location (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include an IMU that includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer. In various implementations, the sensors 824 may include navigation sensors such as sonar, infrared, distance, and pressure sensors. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 824 may include environmental sensors such as temperature, humidity, and chemical sensors. Further, the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video; paragraph [0095], the principals of the present disclosure provide a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals ...; FIG. 7; paragraph [0049], the first anchor receives UWB signals from nearby anchors and generates a second list of anchors. The first anchor includes the ID and position, if known, of each anchor that a signal is received from in the second list of anchors), the second positional measurements indicating a second position relative to positioning signals provided by the one or more anchor systems (FIG. 13; paragraph [0089], when the vehicle 1302 is located between the location anchor 1308 and the location anchor 1310, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may calculate a current position by determining the distance to the location anchor 1308 and the distance to the location anchor 1310. Using the two determined distances, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to calculate up to two potential positions. However, only one of the positions will be within the pipeline. Therefore, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to accurately determine its current position by only receiving UWB signals from two location anchors; paragraph [0095], a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals. The RTLS may be used to provide supplementary communication and positioning to autonomous vehicles. The system includes a plurality of units (e.g., location anchors and location tags) that calculate and provide the relative distances between each unit. In this way, it is possible to calculate the absolute position of a unit—for example, using triangulation, trilateration, or multilateration. In various implementations, the current position of a location tag may be determined if the absolute positions of at least three location anchors are known ... Thus, receive a first UWB signal from a first anchor of the plurality of location anchors and the first anchor has a first position; receive a second UWB signal from a second anchor of the plurality of location anchors and the second anchor has a second position that is different than the first position; then determine a current position based on the first UWB signal and the second UWB signal).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the image captured device (FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the tag 800 includes sensors 824 ... The sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ..) by the one or more anchor systems (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position), each of the one or more anchor system determining a vector directed to the image capture device based on the positioning signals (Paragraph [0070], considering the set of squared distances between each location anchor of the zone and the tag 800 and the propagation time of the signal, it is possible to write a set of K equations that could be arranged into a system of equations 4 ...).
Regarding claim 19, SANTANGELO discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor (Paragraph [0101], a processor circuit (shared, dedicated, or group) that executes code); and
memory, the memory containing instructions to control the at least one processor (Paragraphs [0108]-[0109], the apparatuses and methods described in this application may be partially or fully implemented by a special purpose computer created by configuring a general purpose computer to execute one or more particular functions embodied in computer programs. The functional blocks and flowchart elements described above serve as software specifications, which can be translated into the computer programs by the routine work of a skilled technician or programmer ... The computer programs include processor-executable instructions that are stored on at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium ...) to:
receive a set of images (FIG. 8; paragraph [0063], the tag 800 includes sensors 824 ... The sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video) associated with a real-world environment (Paragraphs [0072]-[0073], FIG. 10 depicts a tunnel 1002 with a plurality of vehicles traveling through the tunnel 1002 ... The first vehicle 1004 and the second vehicle 1006 may each include a location tag, such as tag 800);
receive first positional measurements (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include an IMU that includes at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a magnetometer. In various implementations, the sensors 824 may include navigation sensors such as sonar, infrared, distance, and pressure sensors ...) generated at or near a time that a first subset of the set of images are captured by an image capture device at a first location (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the first positional measurements indicating a position relative to positioning signals provided by one or more anchor systems (Paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 only needs to receive a signal from two location anchors to accurately determine its current position. In other words, the plurality of anchors are used to create zones of only two anchors. For example, when the vehicle 1302 is located between the location anchor 1308 and the location anchor 1310, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may calculate a current position by determining the distance to the location anchor 1308 and the distance to the location anchor 1310. Using the two determined distances, the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to calculate up to two potential positions; paragraph [0095], a real-time location system (RTLS) based on UWB signals. The RTLS may be used to provide supplementary communication and positioning to autonomous vehicles. The system includes a plurality of units (e.g., location anchors and location tags) that calculate and provide the relative distances between each unit. In this way, it is possible to calculate the absolute position of a unit—for example, using triangulation, trilateration, or multilateration. In various implementations, the current position of a location tag may be determined if the absolute positions of at least three location anchors are known ...) that are positioned in different locations in the real-world environment (Paragraph [0090], the plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...), the one or more anchor systems being separate and external (Paragraph [0090], the plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) from the image capture device that captured at least the subset of images (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...; paragraph [0092], location tags, such as tag 800 ...); and
generate a navigational system Paragraph [0028], the location tag may also be configured to provide the determined position to a location device, such as a navigation system located in a vehicle. In other implementations, a location anchor may be configured to transmit GPS signals that may be received and used by standard GPS receivers) using the first positional measurements associated with different subsets of the set of images (Paragraph [0063], the sensors 824 may include one or more cameras that are configured to capture images and/or video. The nonvolatile storage module 806 may be used to store data collected from the sensors 824—pictures or video from the one or more cameras; paragraph [0088], FIG. 13 shows a vehicle 1302 traveling in a pipeline 1304 ...; paragraph [0090], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 may transmit sensor data—such as telemetry data, environmental data, and images/video—to an operator's terminal (not shown) using UWB signals. The plurality of location anchors 1308-1316 may be used to relay the data transmitted from the location tag of the vehicle 1302 ...) to increase accuracy of the model of the real-world environment (Paragraph [0064], The tag 800 may also include a servo control module 830. The servo control module 830 is configured to provide a connection between the microprocessor 804 and navigational controls of a vehicle, such as the UAV 104. For example, via the servo control module 830, the microprocessor 804 is able to control the steering and propulsion of the UAV 104. This in turn allows the microprocessor 804 to navigate the UAV 104 based on the current position of the tag 800 without any external input—for example, instructions or controls from a human operator; paragraph [0087], a plurality of location anchors—for example, location anchors 1010-1020—transmitting GPS signals may provide all of the GPS signals required by the GPS receiver to determine a current location. In other words, a standard GPS receiver may be able to determine a current position without receiving signals for GPS satellites; paragraph [0089], the location tag of the vehicle 1302 is able to accurately determine its current position by only receiving UWB signals from two location anchors).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose generate a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images.
In additional, ZHOU discloses generate a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images (Paragraph [0023], the system and method further includes performing object recognition analysis in order to determine labels associated with objects using image recognition processing based at least on a user command to locate one or more objects of interest and the unique characteristics associated with the bounded physical environment. The system and method yet further includes generating a world map representation with editable object tags associated with the one or more objects of interest and the unique characteristics associated with the bounded physical environment. The system and method further includes providing navigation instructions to guide the user device to the one or more objects of interest based on a distance analysis of a current location of the user device to a destination location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO incorporate the teachings of ZHOU, and applying the system and method associated with expedient determination of location of one or more objects in a bounded 3D environment taught by ZHOU to have the capability for generating a navigational model of the real-world environment using the images and provide navigation instructions to guide the user device to the objects of interest based on a distance analysis of a current location of the user device to a destination location. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO according to the relied-upon teachings of ZHOU to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Claims 6-7, 9, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANGELO (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0329076 A1) in view of ZHOU et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0207974 A1) in view of Ye et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0317235 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the image captured device by the one or more anchor systems, each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals.
In additional, Ye discloses wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the image captured device by the one or more anchor systems (Abstract, aspects of the subject disclosure may include, for example, receiving, from a first antenna and a second antenna of a mobile device, a first wireless signal transmitted by a first anchor of a pair of anchors, receiving, from the first antenna and the second antenna, a second wireless signal that is transmitted by a second anchor of the pair of anchors based upon the second anchor detecting the first wireless signal, determining time difference of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, determining angle of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, and estimating a location of the mobile device based on the time difference of arrival information and the angle of arrival information), each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals (Paragraph [0041], it will be further appreciated that a mobile tag 101, depicted in FIGS. 1, 3, 4A-4C, and 5, can be configured with multiple antennas and phase detectors to calculate an angle of arrival of any wireless signal generated by an anchor and received by the mobile tag 101 based on a phase difference between the antennas determined from the received wireless signal. An angle of arrival calculation can be used to determine an angular orientation between a mobile tag 101 and an anchor. It will be further appreciated that the mobile tags 101 can be configured to determine a speed of travel of the mobile tag 101 by performing multiple location measurements over a time period. With angular orientation and speed of travel, a mobile tag 101 can also determine its trajectory of travel. Alternatively, the mobile tags 101 can be configured with an orientation sensor (e.g., a magnetometer) to determine an angular orientation with an anchor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU incorporate the teachings of Ye, and applying the method and system for determining the location of an object based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) and angle of arrival (AOA) taught by Ye to include location data for determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning data to provide an improved accuracy of the estimated location of the mobile tag provided by employing the above-described combination of TDOA information and AOA information for anchors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU according to the relied-upon teachings of Ye to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU in view of Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein for each anchor system of the one or more anchor systems (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose the angle of arrival is based on a position of a plurality of antennas that receive the positioning signals, each anchor system including a different plurality of antennas in a fixed position relative to each other for thar particular anchor system.
In additional, Ye discloses the angle of arrival is based on a position of a plurality of antennas that receive the positioning signals, each anchor system including a different plurality of antennas (Paragraph [0094], as depicted in FIG. 18A, each of the antennas 101a and 101b can be configured to receive wireless signals transmitted by the anchors 102 and 104 (e.g., a first pair of anchors), such as the first and second wireless signals (s.sub.1, s.sub.2) described above in relation to FIGS. 1 and 2, as well as wireless signals transmitted by one or more other anchors or pairs of anchors, such as third and fourth wireless signals (s3, s4) transmitted by the anchors 106 and 108 (e.g., a second pair of anchors) ...) in a fixed position relative to each other for thar particular anchor system (Abstract, aspects of the subject disclosure may include, for example, receiving, from a first antenna and a second antenna of a mobile device, a first wireless signal transmitted by a first anchor of a pair of anchors, receiving, from the first antenna and the second antenna, a second wireless signal that is transmitted by a second anchor of the pair of anchors based upon the second anchor detecting the first wireless signal, determining time difference of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, determining angle of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, and estimating a location of the mobile device based on the time difference of arrival information and the angle of arrival information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU incorporate the teachings of Ye, and applying the method and system for determining the location of an object based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) and angle of arrival (AOA) taught by Ye to include location data for determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning data to provide an improved accuracy of the estimated location of the mobile tag provided by employing the above-described combination of TDOA information and AOA information for anchors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU according to the relied-upon teachings of Ye to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the anchor systems by the image capture device (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals.
In additional, Ye discloses each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals (Paragraph [0041], it will be further appreciated that a mobile tag 101, depicted in FIGS. 1, 3, 4A-4C, and 5, can be configured with multiple antennas and phase detectors to calculate an angle of arrival of any wireless signal generated by an anchor and received by the mobile tag 101 based on a phase difference between the antennas determined from the received wireless signal. An angle of arrival calculation can be used to determine an angular orientation between a mobile tag 101 and an anchor. It will be further appreciated that the mobile tags 101 can be configured to determine a speed of travel of the mobile tag 101 by performing multiple location measurements over a time period. With angular orientation and speed of travel, a mobile tag 101 can also determine its trajectory of travel. Alternatively, the mobile tags 101 can be configured with an orientation sensor (e.g., a magnetometer) to determine an angular orientation with an anchor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU incorporate the teachings of Ye, and applying the method and system for determining the location of an object based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) and angle of arrival (AOA) taught by Ye to include location data for determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning data to provide an improved accuracy of the estimated location of the mobile tag provided by employing the above-described combination of TDOA information and AOA information for anchors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU according to the relied-upon teachings of Ye to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the image captured device by the one or more anchor systems, each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals.
In additional, Ye discloses wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the image captured device by the one or more anchor systems (Abstract, aspects of the subject disclosure may include, for example, receiving, from a first antenna and a second antenna of a mobile device, a first wireless signal transmitted by a first anchor of a pair of anchors, receiving, from the first antenna and the second antenna, a second wireless signal that is transmitted by a second anchor of the pair of anchors based upon the second anchor detecting the first wireless signal, determining time difference of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, determining angle of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, and estimating a location of the mobile device based on the time difference of arrival information and the angle of arrival information), each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals (Paragraph [0041], it will be further appreciated that a mobile tag 101, depicted in FIGS. 1, 3, 4A-4C, and 5, can be configured with multiple antennas and phase detectors to calculate an angle of arrival of any wireless signal generated by an anchor and received by the mobile tag 101 based on a phase difference between the antennas determined from the received wireless signal. An angle of arrival calculation can be used to determine an angular orientation between a mobile tag 101 and an anchor. It will be further appreciated that the mobile tags 101 can be configured to determine a speed of travel of the mobile tag 101 by performing multiple location measurements over a time period. With angular orientation and speed of travel, a mobile tag 101 can also determine its trajectory of travel. Alternatively, the mobile tags 101 can be configured with an orientation sensor (e.g., a magnetometer) to determine an angular orientation with an anchor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU incorporate the teachings of Ye, and applying the method and system for determining the location of an object based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) and angle of arrival (AOA) taught by Ye to include location data for determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning data to provide an improved accuracy of the estimated location of the mobile tag provided by employing the above-described combination of TDOA information and AOA information for anchors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU according to the relied-upon teachings of Ye to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU in view of Ye discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein for each anchor system of the one or more anchor systems, the angle of arrival is based on a position of a plurality of antennas that receive the positioning signals (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose each anchor system including a different plurality of antennas in a fixed position relative to each other for thar particular anchor system.
In additional, Ye discloses each anchor system including a different plurality of antennas (Paragraph [0094], as depicted in FIG. 18A, each of the antennas 101a and 101b can be configured to receive wireless signals transmitted by the anchors 102 and 104 (e.g., a first pair of anchors), such as the first and second wireless signals (s.sub.1, s.sub.2) described above in relation to FIGS. 1 and 2, as well as wireless signals transmitted by one or more other anchors or pairs of anchors, such as third and fourth wireless signals (s3, s4) transmitted by the anchors 106 and 108 (e.g., a second pair of anchors) ...) in a fixed position relative to each other for thar particular anchor system (Abstract, aspects of the subject disclosure may include, for example, receiving, from a first antenna and a second antenna of a mobile device, a first wireless signal transmitted by a first anchor of a pair of anchors, receiving, from the first antenna and the second antenna, a second wireless signal that is transmitted by a second anchor of the pair of anchors based upon the second anchor detecting the first wireless signal, determining time difference of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, determining angle of arrival information based on the receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, and estimating a location of the mobile device based on the time difference of arrival information and the angle of arrival information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU incorporate the teachings of Ye, and applying the method and system for determining the location of an object based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) and angle of arrival (AOA) taught by Ye to include location data for determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning data to provide an improved accuracy of the estimated location of the mobile tag provided by employing the above-described combination of TDOA information and AOA information for anchors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU according to the relied-upon teachings of Ye to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), and SANTANGELO further disclose wherein the positional measurements are based on positioning signals received from the anchor systems by the image capture device (Paragraph [0007], a terrestrial based positioning system includes a plurality of location anchors configured to transmit and receive ultra-wide band (“UWB”) signals. In another aspect, a location tag configured to transmit and receive UWB signals uses signals transmitted by location anchors to determine its current position).
However, SANTANGELO does not specifically disclose each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals.
In additional, Ye discloses each of the one or more anchor system determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning signals (Paragraph [0041], it will be further appreciated that a mobile tag 101, depicted in FIGS. 1, 3, 4A-4C, and 5, can be configured with multiple antennas and phase detectors to calculate an angle of arrival of any wireless signal generated by an anchor and received by the mobile tag 101 based on a phase difference between the antennas determined from the received wireless signal. An angle of arrival calculation can be used to determine an angular orientation between a mobile tag 101 and an anchor. It will be further appreciated that the mobile tags 101 can be configured to determine a speed of travel of the mobile tag 101 by performing multiple location measurements over a time period. With angular orientation and speed of travel, a mobile tag 101 can also determine its trajectory of travel. Alternatively, the mobile tags 101 can be configured with an orientation sensor (e.g., a magnetometer) to determine an angular orientation with an anchor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the methods of making and using the navigation or imaging system taught by SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU incorporate the teachings of Ye, and applying the method and system for determining the location of an object based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) and angle of arrival (AOA) taught by Ye to include location data for determining an angle of arrival based on the positioning data to provide an improved accuracy of the estimated location of the mobile tag provided by employing the above-described combination of TDOA information and AOA information for anchors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify SANTANGELO in view of ZHOU according to the relied-upon teachings of Ye to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Conclusion
/XILIN GUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616