DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 22 November 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANAMURA et al. (US 2012/0218338 A1) in view of TANAKA et al. (US 2023/0173836 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, KANAMURA et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory that is in communication with the at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-8 and Figure 3, shown below) to: acquire first information, and second information indicating a predetermined standard relating to a three-dimensional shape to be formed [i.e. braille characters] on the recording medium (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12); and generate print data for forming the three-dimensional shape based on the first information and the second information (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 12).
Continuing with claim 1, KANAMURA et al. does not specifically teach the first information indicating a type of recording medium. However, TANAKA et al. teaches an apparatus and method of generating print data for forming a three-dimensional shape based on information (TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-4) and specifically teaches the first information indicates a type of recording medium (TANAKA et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 30 & 33-34) and second information indicating a predetermined standard relating to a three-dimensional shape to be formed [i.e. braille characters] (TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the first information of KANAMURA et al. to include the type of recording medium as taught by TANAKA et al. in an effort to provide a method of producing a recorded three-dimensional stereoscopic image with excellent uniformity on a preferred recording media (TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 6 & 8).
As related to independent claim 14, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains for the reasons indicated above and also teaches a printing apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory that is in communication with the at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-8 and Figure 3, shown above and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-4) to: receive, from a user, designation of a type of a recording medium (TANAKA et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 30 & 33-34) and a predetermined standard relating to a three-dimensional shape to be formed on the recording medium; and form the three-dimensional shape on the recording medium based on the type of the recording medium and the predetermined standard (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12 and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-4 & Page 3, Paragraphs 30-34).
As related to independent claims 15 & 16, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains for the reasons indicated above and also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method [claim 16] (KANAMURA et al. – Figure 3, shown above), the method [claim 15] comprising: acquiring first information indicating a type of a recording medium (TANAKA et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 30 & 33-34), and second information indicating a predetermined standard relating to a three-dimensional shape to be formed on the recording medium; and generating print data for forming the three-dimensional shape based on the first information and the second information (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12 and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-4 & Page 3, Paragraphs 30-34).
As related to dependent claim 2, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to generate data, as the print data, indicating an amount of ink to be applied for forming the three-dimensional shape (TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 8 and Page 2, Paragraphs 14-16).
As related to further dependent claim 3, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the ink for forming the three-dimensional shape is foaming promotion ink, and wherein the recording medium includes a foaming layer (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 8 and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4 & 8; Page 2, Paragraphs 13-14; and Page 3, Paragraphs 33-34).
As related to further dependent claim 4, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the ink for forming the three-dimensional shape is ultraviolet curable ink (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 3 and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 2).
As related to dependent claim 5, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the predetermined standard is a standard of characters for visually impaired persons [i.e. Braille] (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 3 and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 2).
As related to further dependent claim 6, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the standard of characters for visually impaired persons indicates a height of a raised dot [inherent characteristic of Braille characters] (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 3 and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 2).
As related to further dependent claim 7, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to generate the print data based on a relationship between an amount of ink applied and a height of a formed three-dimensional shape on the recording medium [i.e. layering], and the height of the raised dot (KANAMURA eta l. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12 and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 8 and Page 2, Paragraphs 14-16).
As related to further dependent claim 8, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to generate the print data with a lookup table indicating the relationship between the amount of ink applied and the height of the formed three-dimensional shape by the recording medium (KANAMURA eta l. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12; & Figure 3, shown above, and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 8 and Page 2, Paragraphs 14-16).
As related to further dependent claim 9, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the standard of characters for visually impaired persons indicates a diameter of the raised dot [inherent characteristic of Braille characters], and wherein the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to: correct the diameter of the raised dot based on the recording medium; and generate raised-dot image data based on the corrected diameter of the raised dot and print resolution KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12; & Figure 3, shown above, and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-4 & Page 3, Paragraphs 30-34.
As related to further dependent claim 10, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to thin ink dots printed in a predetermined region at a center of the raised dot having the corrected diameter (KANAMURA eta l. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12; & Figure 3, shown above, and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 8 and Page 2, Paragraphs 14-16).
As related to dependent claim 11, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to acquire the second information indicating the predetermined standard selected by a user (KANAMURA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 12; & Figure 3, shown above, and TANAKA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-4 & Page 3, Paragraphs 30-34)
As related to dependent claim 12, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a printing unit configured to print the three-dimensional shape using an inkjet method (KANAMURA et al. - Page 1, Paragraph 3 & 6; Page 4, Paragraphs 53-56; & Figure 3, shown above and TANAKA et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 43).
As related to dependent claim 13, the combination of KANAMURA et al. and TANAKA et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one memory further stores instructions for causing the at least one processor and the at least one memory to generate data, as the print data, for controlling heating to the recording medium to which ink is applied (KANAMURA et al. – Page 3, Paragraph 47 – Page 4, Paragraph 50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. NARIYAMA (US 2018/0326769 A1) teaches an inkjet printing apparatus using photocurable ink to print a three-dimensional shape for braille printing. Yamada et al. (US 2022/0105665 A1) teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional product using a foamable medium and foam control ink. SHIBA et al. (US 2023/0271357 A1) teaches an apparatus and method for forming a three-dimensional image on a medium having a foaming layer. HERLAMBANG et al. (US 2023/0294129 A1) teaches an apparatus and method for forming a three-dimensional image on a medium having a foaming layer.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853