DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tico et al. (US 2019/0370948) in view of Cowan (US 2023/0010164), cited in the IDS dated 4/16/25.
Regarding claim 1, Tico discloses a device, comprising:
a memory (see Fig. 4 460);
a user interface (see Fig. 4 415);
an image capture device (see Fig. 4 450; and
one or more processors (Fig. 4 405) operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute instructions causing the one or more processors to:
obtain an incoming image stream from the image capture device (see Fig. 2 and paras 21, 32-34, and 39-41, an image capture device captures an image stream);
receive an image capture request via the user interface (see paras 32-34, an image capture request initiates image capture);
generate, in response to the image capture request, two or more intermediate assets, wherein:
a first intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a first neural network configured to perform a fusion operation on a determined first one or more images from the incoming image stream (see paras 32-34, 37-38, and 46-47, a first set of images are selected from prior to image capture and with a certain EV, such as EV-1, a machine learning model can be used to classify the images); and
a second intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a second neural network configured to perform an image enhancement operation on at least a second image from the incoming image stream (see paras 32-34, 37-38, and 46-47, a second set of images are selected from after image capture and with a certain EV, such as EV+1, a machine learning model can be used to classify the images);
feed the first and second intermediate assets into a third neural network, wherein the third neural network is configured to combine the first and second intermediate assets to generate an output image (see paras 46-48, a fused image is generated based on the selected images); and
generate the output image using the third neural network (see Fig. 2 and paras 34 and 48, a fused image is generated based on the selected images).
Tico does not disclose expressly wherein the first intermediate asset has a first resolution, wherein the second image has a second resolution, wherein the second resolution is greater than the first resolution, and feed the first and second intermediate assets into a third neural network, wherein the third neural network is configured to combine the first and second intermediate assets to generate an output image having a resolution greater than the first resolution.
Cowan discloses a first intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a first neural network configured to perform a fusion operation on a determined first one or more images from the incoming image stream, wherein the first intermediate asset has a first resolution (see Fig. 1 and paras 28 and 35, a low resolution image is obtained); and
a second intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a second neural network configured to perform an image enhancement operation on at least a second image from the incoming image stream, wherein the second image has a second resolution, wherein the second resolution is greater than the first resolution (see Fig. 1 and paras 28 and 35, a high resolution image is obtained);
feed the first and second intermediate assets into a third neural network, wherein the third neural network is configured to combine the first and second intermediate assets to generate an output image having a resolution greater than the first resolution (see Fig. 1 and paras 27, 29, 43, and 77, a synthesized image is generated from the low resolution image 140a and the high resolution image 140b having a resolution greater than the low resolution image 140a); and
generate the output image using the third neural network (see paras 27, 29, and 43, a synthesized image is generated from the low resolution image 140a and the high resolution image 140b).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Tico discloses an image processing method and a non-transitory program storage device comprising instructions stored thereon to cause one or more processors to:
obtain an incoming image stream from the image capture device (see Fig. 2 and paras 21, 32-34, and 39-41, an image capture device captures an image stream);
receive an image capture request via the user interface (see paras 32-34, an image capture request initiates image capture);
generate, in response to the image capture request, two or more intermediate assets, wherein:
a first intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a first neural network configured to perform a fusion operation on a determined first one or more images from the incoming image stream (see paras 32-34, 37-38, and 46-47, a first set of images are selected from prior to image capture and with a certain EV, such as EV-1, a machine learning model can be used to classify the images); and
a second intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a second neural network configured to perform an image enhancement operation on at least a second image from the incoming image stream (see paras 32-34, 37-38, and 46-47, a second set of images are selected from after image capture and with a certain EV, such as EV+1, a machine learning model can be used to classify the images);
feed the first and second intermediate assets into a third neural network, wherein the third neural network is configured to combine the first and second intermediate assets to generate an output image (see paras 46-48, a fused image is generated based on the selected images); and
generate the output image using the third neural network (see Fig. 2 and paras 34 and 48, a fused image is generated based on the selected images).
Tico does not disclose expressly wherein the first intermediate asset has a first resolution, wherein the second image has a second resolution, wherein the second resolution is greater than the first resolution, and feed the first and second intermediate assets into a third neural network, wherein the third neural network is configured to combine the first and second intermediate assets to generate an output image having a resolution greater than the first resolution.
Cowan discloses a first intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a first neural network configured to perform a fusion operation on a determined first one or more images from the incoming image stream, wherein the first intermediate asset has a first resolution (see Fig. 1 and paras 28 and 35, a low resolution image is obtained); and
a second intermediate asset of the generated two or more intermediate assets comprises an image generated by a second neural network configured to perform an image enhancement operation on at least a second image from the incoming image stream, wherein the second image has a second resolution, wherein the second resolution is greater than the first resolution (see Fig. 1 and paras 28 and 35, a high resolution image is obtained);
feed the first and second intermediate assets into a third neural network, wherein the third neural network is configured to combine the first and second intermediate assets to generate an output image having a resolution greater than the first resolution (see Fig. 1 and paras 27, 29, 43, and 77, a synthesized image is generated from the low resolution image 140a and the high resolution image 140b having a resolution greater than the low resolution image 140a); and
generate the output image using the third neural network (see paras 27, 29, and 43, a synthesized image is generated from the low resolution image 140a and the high resolution image 140b).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the synthesizing of low resolution and high resolution images to generate an image with a higher resolution than the low resolution image, as described by Cowan, with the system of Tico.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide better quality high resolution images (para 14 of Cowan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Cowan with Tico to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1, 14, and 20.
Regarding claim 2, Tico further discloses wherein one or more of the first one or more images are captured before the image capture request is received (see Fig. 2 and paras 10 and 46, a first set of images are selected from prior to image capture request).
Regarding claim 3, Tico further discloses wherein at least one of: a) the first one or more images; or b) the second image are captured after the image capture request is received (see Fig. 2 and paras 10 and 46, a second set of images are selected from after image capture request).
Regarding claim 4, Tico further discloses wherein the image enhancement operation comprises at least one of a denoising operation or a demosaicing operation (see para 34, noise reduction can be performed).
Regarding claim 6, Cowan further discloses wherein the second resolution is greater than the first resolution by a factor of n, wherein n is greater than or equal to 2 (see para 30, the high resolution image is at least two times greater than the low resolution image).
Regarding claim 7, Cowan further discloses wherein the output image has an improved detail level compared to the first intermediate asset (see para 78, the synthesized image has greater detail than the low resolution image).
Regarding claim 13, Cowan further discloses wherein the output image has the second resolution (see para 78, the synthesized image is a high resolution image, similar to the reference image 140b, which is also a high resolution image).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tico and Cowan as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2020/0265567), cited in the IDS dated 4/16/25.
Regarding claim 5, Tico and Cowan do not disclose expressly wherein the second neural network is further configured to perform the image enhancement operation on a cropped region from the second image from the incoming image stream.
Hu discloses wherein the second neural network is further configured to perform the image enhancement operation on a cropped region from the second image from the incoming image stream (see paras 80, 104, 113, and 119, image enhancement can be performed on a cropped image).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the cropping of image data and performing image enhancement of the cropped image, as described by Hu, with the system of Tico and Cowan.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a more specific and fine-tuned synthesized image by utilizing a specific portion of image data desired to be processed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu with Tico and Cowan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Claims 8-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tico and Cowan as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2020/0265567), cited in the IDS dated 4/16/25.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Tico and Cowan do not disclose expressly wherein the third neural network is further configured to operate on tiles of the first intermediate asset.
Hu discloses wherein the third neural network is further configured to operate on tiles of the first intermediate asset (see paras 129, 141, and 145-146, image frames can be divided into tiles).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the dividing of image data into tiles, as described by Hu, with the system of Tico and Cowan.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to make the image data easier to manipulate and modify.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hu with Tico and Cowan to obtain the invention as specified in claims 8 and 15.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Hu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute instructions causing the one or more processors to: perform a per-tile homography estimation between tiles of the second intermediate asset and tiles of the first intermediate asset (see paras 129, 141, and 145-146, image frames can be divided into tiles).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Hu further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute instructions causing the one or more processors to: identify a guidance tile in the second intermediate asset for each tile in the first intermediate asset (see paras 129, 141, and 145-146, image frames can be divided into tiles).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Hu further discloses wherein the third neural network is further configured to transfer details to each tile in the first intermediate asset from its corresponding guidance tile in the second intermediate asset (see paras 129, 141, and 145-146, image frames can be divided into tiles).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tico and Cowan as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0161364).
Tico and Cowan do not disclose expressly wherein the third neural network is further configured to generate the output image having a resolution configured to simulate a particular prime lens.
Liu discloses wherein the third neural network is further configured to generate the output image having a resolution configured to simulate a particular prime lens (see Fig. 3A and para 46, the third neural network branch 312 includes a plurality of convolutional neural network layers to upsample the coarse semantic mask 314, additionally, the third neural network branch 312 includes a third combination layer 326 to combine semantic features corresponding to the coarse semantic mask 314 with detail features corresponding to the detail mask 318 at a specific resolution).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the generating image data of a specific resolution, as described by Liu, with the system of Tico and Cowan.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow a user to use the image data for a specific purpose thereby increasing user friendliness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Liu with Tico and Cowan to obtain the invention as specified in claims 12 and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To further show the state of the art please refer to the attached Notice of References Cited.
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681