DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-10, 13, 14, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carlock et al. (US Pat. No. 12,131,586).
Consider claim 1. Carlock et al. discloses a method comprising: obtaining a first video that includes sign language content, the sign language content including one or more video frames of a figure performing sign language (col. 8, lines 16-35 describe a series of video frames containing video frames); obtaining language data that represents the sign language content in the first video (col. 8, lines 54-57 describes capturing video stream comprising sign language); extracting, from the first video, a spatial configuration for each of one or more body parts of the figure (col. 25, lines 8-52 describe extracting relevant features, including body parts); creating a second video including sign language content using the extracted spatial configurations (col. 9, lines 40-43 describes outputting sign language content in a simulated avatar); and training a machine learning model of a translation system configured to translate between sign language and language data using the second video and the language data (col. 8, lines 4-15 describe a translation machine being a learning machine).
Consider claim 4. Carlock et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein creating the second video includes generating a second figure performing sign language using the extracted spatial configurations where the second figure is visibly distinct from the figure (col. 9, lines 40-43 describes outputting sign language content in a simulated avatar).
Consider claim 5. Carlock et al. discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising creating a plurality of second videos that include the second video, each of the plurality of second videos created to include sign language content using the extracted spatial configurations and each of the plurality of second videos including a figure that is visibly distinct from a figure in another of the second videos (col. 9, lines 40-43 describes outputting sign language content in a simulated avatar), wherein the machine learning model is trained using each of the plurality of second videos and the language data (col. 8, lines 4-15 describe a translation machine being a learning machine).
Consider claim 6. Carlock et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the translation system is configured for sign language recognition or sign language generation (col. 25, lines 50-59 describes sign language recognition).
Consider claim 8. Carlock et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained using the first video (col. 8, lines 4-15 describe using the first video for the translation machine).
Consider claim 9. Carlock et al. discloses at least one non-transitory computer-readable media configured to store one or more instructions that, in response to being executed by a system, cause or direct the system to perform the method of claim 1 (col. 21, lines 53-56 describe one or more processors that coordinate the communication between the various devices as well as execute instructions stored in computer-readable media of the memory device).
Consider claim 16. Carlock et al. discloses all claimed limitations as stated above. Carlock et al. further discloses A system comprising: one or more computer readable mediums including instructions; one or more computing systems coupled to the one or more computer readable mediums and configured to execute the instructions to cause or direct the system to perform operations (col. 21, lines 53-56 describe one or more processors that coordinate the communication between the various devices as well as execute instructions stored in computer-readable media of the memory device).
Claims 10, 13, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected using similar reasoning as corresponding claims above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 11, 12, 15, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MISHAWN N. HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484