DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaw et al. (US 6,014,862).
Regarding independent claim 1, Shaw discloses a master cylinder (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising: a cylinder block (12) having a bore of a multi-stage form in a longitudinal direction therein (see FIG. 1); a first master chamber (26) and a second master chamber (23) sequentially arranged in series in the bore (see FIG. 1); a first master piston (25) provided to move in connection with an operation of a brake pedal (10) and to pressurize the first master chamber (see e.g. col. 6, lines 16-18); a second master piston (19) provided to be displaceable by a displacement of the first master piston or a hydraulic pressure in the first master chamber and to pressurize the second master chamber (see FIG. 1); and a pedal simulator (40) interposed between the first master piston and the second master piston to provide a reaction force to the brake pedal (see col. 6, line 49 to col. 7, line 5), wherein a cross-sectional area of the first master piston is provided to be relatively larger than a cross-sectional area of the second master piston (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Shaw discloses that the pedal simulator comprises a rubber member interposed between the first master piston and the second master piston in the first master chamber (see col. 6, lines 33-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw et al. (US 6,014,862), as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 2, Shaw does not disclose that the cross-sectional area of the second master piston is provided to be 50% or more and 80% or less of the cross-sectional area of the first master piston. However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see MPEP 2144.05.II.A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the present case, Shaw recognizes that the relative size of the simulator compared to the chambers (22 and 25) provides the desired pedal force simulator characteristics (see e.g. col. 5, lines 49-60; col. 6, lines 15-37). As such, it would have been a matter of routine experimentation to provide the bore such that an inner diameter of the second master chamber is 50% or more and 80% or less of an inner diameter of the first master chamber.
Regarding claim 3, Shaw does not disclose that the cross-sectional area of the second master piston is provided to be 70% or more and 90% or less of the cross-sectional area of the first master piston. However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see MPEP 2144.05.II.A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the present case, Shaw recognizes that the relative size of the simulator compared to the chambers (22 and 25) provides the desired pedal force simulator characteristics (see e.g. col. 5, lines 49-60; col. 6, lines 15-37). As such, it would have been a matter of routine experimentation to provide the bore such that an inner diameter of the second master chamber is 70% or more and 90% or less of an inner diameter of the first master chamber.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw et al. (US 6,014,862), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Isono (US 2010/0283315).
Regarding claim 5, Shaw does not disclose a simulator spring having one end supported on the cylinder block and the other end supported on the first master piston.
Isono teaches a master cylinder (23), a pedal simulator (24) interposed between a first master piston (13) and a second master piston (14) (see FIG. 1), and a simulator spring (22) having one end supported on the cylinder block and the other end supported on the first master piston (see FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to combine the simulator spring of Isono with the device of Shaw to provide a pedal force reaction that varies with the pedal stroke (see Isono, ¶¶ 0030, 0077), thereby providing a simulator that appropriately absorbs the pedal stroke and provides a stable reaction force (see Isono, ¶ 0077).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,221,089. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each element of claims 1-6 of the present application is recited in claims 1-7 of the ‘089 patent. For instance, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the ‘089 patent. Claim 2 is anticipated by claim 2 of the ‘089 patent. Claim 3 is anticipated by claim 3 of the ‘089 patent. Claim 4 is anticipated by claim 4 of the ‘089 patent. And claim 5 is anticipated by claim 5 of the ‘089 patent.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
August 21, 2026