DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/17/2025 is being considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson (US 2008/0229887)
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a tool comprising:
a head (Item 10) portion having a cavity (Item 16);
a ratchet gear (Item 24) rotatably disposed in the cavity and having a drive portion and a toothed portion, wherein the drive portion projects outwardly from the cavity and is adapted to transmit torque to a work piece;
a pawl carrier (Item 90) rotatably disposed in the cavity and including a groove (Item 102);
first and second pawls (Item 20 and 22) adapted to selectively engage with the toothed portion for selecting one of either first and second drive directions, wherein each of the first and second pawls includes pawl teeth, a surface opposite the pawl teeth, and a projection (Item 100) extending outwardly from the surface, wherein the projection is adapted to engage the groove when the pawl carrier is rotated to cause one of the first and second pawls to disengage from the toothed portion and the other of the first and second pawls to engage the toothed portion (Figure 6); and
a raised portion (Item 122) disposed on a portion of a perimeter of the cavity and protruding radially inward towards a center point of the cavity, wherein a first side of the raised portion engages with the pawl carrier to arrest rotation of the pawl carrier (is in contact with) in the first drive direction and a second side of the raised portion engages with the pawl carrier to arrest rotation of the pawl carrier in the second drive direction.
Annotated Figure 6
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the first side of the raised portion is disposed opposite the second side (Annotated Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the first and second sides of the raised portion have an arcuate profile (Annotated Figure 6).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 3, wherein the arcuate profile of the first and second sides is the same (Annotated Figure 6).
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 4, wherein the cavity has a first radius and the arcuate profile of the first and second sides is defined by a second radius less than the first radius (Area of item 30 is greater than the radius of Item 120).
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the raised portion further comprises a third side disposed between the first and second sides, wherein the third side forms an angle with the first and second side (Annotated Figure 6).
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 6, wherein the third side has an arcuate profile different than the first and second sides (outside of the diameter of 90).
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 6, wherein the first side and the third side form a first peak and the second side and third side form a second peak (Peaks are the ends of Item 130 at 130a and b respectively).
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 8, wherein the first peak arrests rotation of the pawl carrier in the first drive direction and the second peak arrests rotation of the pawl carrier in the second drive direction (Annotated Figure 6).
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Thompson discloses the tool of claim 9, wherein a ball (Item 112) is partially recessed within the cavity such that the ball is selectively engaged with the pawl carrier (the ball is spring loaded to give the user a click feeling, because of tolerances and the BRI of “selectively engaged” the ball will not always be in contact with a sidewall of 92 thus not always be in contact), and wherein the first peak is on a first side of the ball and the second peak is on a second side of the ball (Annotated Figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Thompson discloses a tool head including a cavity, and a ratchet gear assembly arranged within in the cavity, the tool head comprising:
a pawl carrier (Item 90) arranged in the cavity to cooperate with the ratchet gear assembly;
a first pawl and a second pawl (Item 20 and 22) supported within the pawl carrier and positioned to selectively engage with the ratchet gear assemble, wherein the selectively engagement includes the first pawl engaging the ratchet gear assembly to select a first drive direction, and the second pawl engaging the ratchet gear assembly to select a second drive direction (FIugre 6); and
a raised portion (Item 122) provided on a perimeter of the cavity, wherein the raised portion extends radially inward towards a center point of the cavity, wherein a first side of the raised portion cooperates with the pawl carrier to arrest rotation of the pawl carrier in the first drive direction, and wherein a second side of the raised portion cooperates with the pawl carrier to arrest rotation of the pawl carrier in the second drive direction (Annotated Figure 6).
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723