DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending in this application and have been examined in response to application filed on 11/23/2024.
CONTINUING DATA:
This application is a CON of 16/897,403 06/10/2020 ABN
16/897,403 is a CON of 14/675,879 04/01/2015 ABN
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS:
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2014-0038449 04/01/2014
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kim (KR 20120119133 A).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: a memory configured to store content; and a processor (fig.1; pg.2, par.7; a display apparatus is disclosed) configured to: detect whether an event relating to an output of a first content occurs, the event being at least one of: an event relating to a function execution requesting the output of the first content; or a change in display direction of the first content from a vertical state to a horizontal state or from a horizontal state to a vertical state (pg.6, par. 3, 5; a content selection user input is detected and outputted);
detect an output characteristic of the first content, the characteristic being at least one of a size of a margin area associated with the first content, a display size of the first content, a location at which the first content is outputted, a color of the first content, or a count of objects included in the first content (fig.13; the size of the first content is determined);
check whether the output characteristic of the first content satisfies a specified condition; and when the output characteristic satisfies the specified condition (fig.11A-fig.12B; pg.16, par.1, par.3; a second content is displayable based on the margin space to the sides of the first content), to output the first content and a second content, the second content being one of content generated based on at least part of the first content, related content collected in relation to the first content, or related content relating to an output situation of the first content (fig.12B; output settings of the first content “1230” is configurable),
wherein the specified condition is at least one of: a size of a margin area associated with the first content exceeding a specified size, a display size of the first content being less than a specified output size, a location at which the first content is outputted being limited to a specified location, a color of the first content matching a specified color, or a count of objects included in the first content being a specified number (fig.11A-fig.12B; pg.16, par.1, par.3; the second content is displayable when there is enough margin space).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses wherein, when the second content is content generated based on at least part of the first content, the processor is further configured to generate the second content, the generating including at least one of: extracting at least a portion of the first content; modifying at least a portion of the first content; or graphically overlaying an object extracted from the first content over another content, the other content being content stored together in a folder of the memory within which the first content is stored or content stored with a category shared by the first content (fig.12B; aspect ratio of the first content “1230” is adjustable).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the processor is further configured to generate the second content, the generating including at least one of an enlarging or downsizing the first content, or applying an extension of a display ratio to at least a portion of the first content (fig.12B; aspect ratio of the first content “1230” is adjustable).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the second content includes at least one of: content that matches the first content, matching content being content associated with at least one of property information, analysis information, and situation information that corresponds to the property information, analysis information, and/or situation information of the first content respectively, content including at least a portion of the first content, and content obtained based on situation information associated with the electronic device, wherein analysis information is information generated by analyzing content; and wherein situation information is one of: time information for outputting the first content; location information or region information of the electronic device when the first content is outputted; weather information when the first content is outputted; a sensor signal that a sensor module collects when the first content is outputted; function management state information of the electronic device when the first content is outputted; season information of a region where the electronic device is located; and advertisement information provided from a region where the electronic device is located while the first content is outputted (fig.11A; pg.2, par.9; matching secondary contents are location based on RF broadcast signals).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the second content comprises at least one of: a map of at least one of: (i) a location the electronic device when the first content is output, or (ii) a location of the electronic device when output of the first content is requested, and location-based content associated with at least one of (i) a location of the electronic device when the first content is output or (ii) a location of the electronic device when output of the first content is requested (fig.11A; pg.2, par.9; location based secondary contents such as RF broadcast signals are received).
As to claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the processor is configured to detect an input event; and execute a function for generating the second content in response to the input event (fig.13; the second content is generated based on the availability of the empty margin space).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 -7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Takaoka et al. (US 2011/0022982 A1).
As to claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the processor is further configured to identify the second content (fig.11A; secondary contents are identified and display on the margins). Kim does not expressly disclose the identifying including at least one of performing a search of a storage module for content that matches the first content, matching content being content associated with at least one of property information, analysis information, and situation information that corresponds to the property information, analysis information, and/or situation information of the first content respectively; and transmitting, to an external device, a search query and receiving the second content from the external device in response to the search query, wherein analysis information is information generated by analyzing content; wherein situation information is one of: time information for outputting the first content; location information or region information of the electronic device when the first content is outputted; weather information when the first content is outputted; a sensor signal that a sensor module collects when the first content is outputted; function management state information of the electronic device when the first content is outputted; season information of a region where the electronic device is located; and advertisement information provided from a region where the electronic device is located while the first content is outputted.
In the same field of endeavor, Takaoka discloses the identifying including at least one of performing a search of a storage module for content that matches the first content, matching content being content associated with at least one of property information, analysis information, and situation information that corresponds to the property information, analysis information, and/or situation information of the first content respectively; and transmitting, to an external device, a search query and receiving the second content from the external device in response to the search query, wherein analysis information is information generated by analyzing content; wherein situation information is one of: time information for outputting the first content; location information or region information of the electronic device when the first content is outputted; weather information when the first content is outputted; a sensor signal that a sensor module collects when the first content is outputted; function management state information of the electronic device when the first content is outputted; season information of a region where the electronic device is located; and advertisement information provided from a region where the electronic device is located while the first content is outputted (fig.1, “135”, fig.11; [0131], [0295]; the first content is analyzed, and the analyzed result from the first content is searched to find similar contents).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Kim and Takaoka before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the secondary content display interface taught by Kim to include the above limitation taught by Takaoka with the motivation being to enhance usability by displaying search results from the first content.
As to claim 7, the prior art as combined discloses wherein the search query is based on at least one of property information relating to the first content, analysis information obtained by analyzing the first content, and situation information of the electronic device (Takaoka, [0131]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HAOSHIAN SHIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179