Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DEVICE TERMINAL PAIRING USING FIRST AND SECOND COMMUNICATION SCHEMES BASED ON DISTANCE BETWEEN THEM.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 2, 4 - 10, 12 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (US 20220279616 A1; which has been provided in the IDS 6/15/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi discloses an information processing device comprising a processor (Fig. 2( c ), communication management server 40; [0061]) configured to:
acquire a pair of a first device and a first terminal (Fig. 2(a), 1st device is vehicle 200, 1st terminal is vehicle 201; Fig. 3 discloses same; Fig. 4, step 404 discloses connection request and permission between two vehicles, hence pairing of the first device and the first terminal is done) predicted to move closer to the first device at a distance shorter than a first distance at which communication is possible using a first communication scheme (Note: Applicant’s 1st communication scheme corresponds to Takeuchi’s 2nd communication scheme and Applicant’s 2nd communication scheme corresponds to Takeuchi’s 1st communication scheme;
Fig. 3 shows vehicles 201 and 200 moving towards each other; 1st distance shown in Fig. 3 as dotted line distance r; [0068] discloses: within r, the near field 2nd communication is used; outside r, the 1st communication method is used; [0006] discloses “… position/movement information is exchanged, ….. are estimated from the position/movement information of the own device and position/movement information of the other device.’; Fig. 14, step 301; [0198] discloses “In step 301, a relative distance between both of the devices is calculated from an estimated position of the other communication terminal device that is estimated from the position information and is after the elapse of a predetermined period of time, and an estimated position of the communication terminal device 30 that is estimated from the position information and is after the elapse of the predetermined period of time, and whether the distance is equal to or shorter than a predetermined threshold is verified. That is, the possibility of the connection for the communication via the second communication method is determined”; hence moving closer would be determined by the distance being less than “r” in Fig. 3);
and transmit, to at least either of the first device and the first terminal, an instruction to execute a second process that is an advance preparation process for a first process to be executed by the communication using the first communication scheme when the first device and the first terminal are closer to each other at the distance shorter than the first distance (Fig. 2 discloses 2nd process that is an advance preparation process using Applicant’s 2nd communication scheme. Here, the vehicles are not close enough to communicate directly with each other, so they communicate via the base stations and server; Fig. 3 shows Applicant’s 1st communication scheme where the vehicles are close enough to communicate directly with each other i.e. the distance is shorter than the first distance r in Fig. 3).
Takeuchi discloses all of the above but they may not necessarily be in a single embodiment. However, combining all the above disclosures into a single embodiment is Obvious to Try (Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationale E)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the disclosures as above, because this would allow the near method of communication to be activated when the two vehicles are within a certain distance.
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi discloses the processor is configured to:
acquire information on movement of a plurality of terminals including the first terminal (as in claim 1: [0006] discloses “… position/movement information is exchanged, ….. are estimated from the position/movement information of the own device and position/movement information of the other device.’);
and acquire the pair of the first device and the first terminal when a distance between the first device and the first terminal is shorter than a second distance longer than the first distance based on the information on the movement of the plurality of terminals (claim 2 discloses “a communication distance by the first communication method is longer than a communication distance by the second communication method.”; wherein the 2nd distance is longer than “r” shown in Fig. 3; [0011], Fig. 4 discloses communication when distance is greater than “r” in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, step 404 discloses connection request and permission between two vehicles, hence pairing of the first device and the first terminal is done; Fig. 16 also discloses pairing; [0212]+).
Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi discloses the processor is configured to:
acquire information on a communication demand from at least the first terminal ([0019]; [0082]; [0083]; [0104] discloses “When it is necessary to exchange data as much as possible without interrupting the exchange of desired content information, it is preferable to minimize overhead caused until the start of data communication such as the exchange of connection information and the connection information process”;
[0178] discloses “The connection necessity verification unit 345 compares the content information of the vehicle 200 with the content information acquired by the other vehicles 201, 207, and 208 illustrated in FIG. 12 to identify a vehicle holding contents required by the vehicle 200. That is, whether it is necessary to connect to each of the vehicles for communication via the second communication method, that is, the need for the connection is verified.”;
[0179] discloses “For example, information acquired when the time required for downloading exceeds a period of time when communication is possible”;
wherein communication demand is interpreted as the content information that may have to be downloaded);
and identify the pair of the first device and the first terminal based on information on movement of at least the first terminal and the information on the communication demand (painting disclosed a sin claims 1, 2 ; [0178] discloses “That is, whether it is necessary to connect to each of the vehicles for communication via the second communication method, that is, the need for the connection is verified.”; i.e terminal may also be selected based on content).
Regarding claim 5, Takeuchi discloses the authentication is done in Fig, 4, which is when the terminal is beyond the distance “r” in Fig. 3 and before it is near to the device; [0011]; i.e. Takeuchi discloses:
the second process is a process in which the first device and the first terminal each acquire and cache the predetermined authentication key (Fig. 4, step 403; [0093] – [0094]; wherein caching the key is inherent).
Takeuchi does not disclose the first process is a process in which the first device and the first terminal authenticate, with a predetermined authentication key, connection using the first communication scheme.
Takeuchi discloses authentication is done in Applicant’s 2nd process using Applicant’s 2nd communication scheme.
However, having this done after the terminal is close to the device (i.e using Applicant’s 1st process and 1st communication scheme) is obvious to try and an obvious variation of what Takeuchi discloses (Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationales E & F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to do the authentication after the terminal is close to the device, because this would then be done when the device and terminal are certain to be nearby rather than doing it when they are still far away (i.e. outside “r” in Takeuchi Fig. 3). When far away, it could be possible that the terminal never gets close to the device, so an unnecessary authentication step would be performed.
Regarding claim 6, Takeuchi discloses the data transfer is done in Fig, 4, which is when the terminal is beyond the distance “r” in Fig. 3 and before it is near to the device; [0011]; i.e. Takeuchi discloses:
and the second process is an advance preparation process for transmission of the predetermined data by the one of the first device and the first terminal (Fig. 4, step (6); [0101] – [0102]; wherein preparation of data is inherent ).
Takeuchi does not disclose the first process is a process in which one of the first device and the first terminal transmits predetermined data to another.
Takeuchi discloses data transfer is done in Applicant’s 2nd process using Applicant’s 2nd communication scheme (Fig. 4, step (6); [0101] – [0102]).
However, having this done after the terminal is close to the device (i.e using Applicant’s 1st process and 1st communication scheme) is obvious to try and an obvious variation of what Takeuchi discloses (Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationales E & F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to do the authentication after the terminal is close to the device, because this would then be done when the device and terminal are certain to be nearby rather than doing it when they are still far away (i.e. outside “r” in Takeuchi Fig. 3). When far away, it could be possible that the terminal never gets close to the device, so an unnecessary data transfer step would be performed.
Regarding claim 7, Takeuchi discloses the processor is configured to (Fig. 2c; Fig. 15 – 16):
transmit a first request for acquisition of the pair to a network data analytics function of a core network of a mobile communication system (Fig. 2c; Fig. 4 step 404 made in Fig. 2c i.e. via server; also, request is inherent in Fig. 16; wherein core network is interpreted as the server with analytics capability);
and receive the pair from the network data analytics function (Fig. 4, step 404; [0095]; Fig. 16, last block).
Claim 8 is similarly analyzed as claims 7 and 2, 1st limitation. A 2nd request is performed similarly to a 1st request and would be needed as the device and terminals are constantly in motion. Hence, Takeuchi’s Figs. 4 and 16 could be run continuously.
Claim 9 is similarly analyzed as claim 1, with claim 9 reciting equivalent method limitations. Computer in claim 9 corresponds to the server in claim 1.
Claim 10 is similarly analyzed as claim 2.
Claim 12 is similarly analyzed as claim 4.
Claim 13 is similarly analyzed as claim 5.
Claim 14 is similarly analyzed as claim 6.
Claim 15 is similarly analyzed as claim 7. Takeuchi further discloses: and the first computer is configured to transmit the instruction to execute the second process to the at least either of the first device and the first terminal (Fig. 4, 403, (6); wherein Fig. 4 is performed when the device and terminal are greater than distance “r” in Fig. 3).
Claim 16 is similarly analyzed as claims 8 and 15 (last limitation).
Claim 17 is similarly analyzed as claims 1 and 7 (transmit/receive request and pair).
Claim 18 is similarly analyzed as claims 1 and 2. Predetermined period is disclosed in claim 1 rejection [0198].
Claim 19 is similarly analyzed as claims 1, 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
The following patents/publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to communication between a device and terminal using multiple communication schemes:
Hamada (US 9723650 B2) discloses Communication Apparatus that Disconnects a Wireless Connection after a Service Provided on The Wireless Connection Is Completed.
Jung et al. (US 10805287 B2) discloses Apparatus and Method For Providing And Managing Security Information In Communication System.
Contact Information
/ADOLF DSOUZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632