DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “converting, by the computing system, ...” in claims 1 and 2.
The computing system is defined, in para. [0022, 0046], as an AI algorithm or any computation or communications device that is capable of communicating with a network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 4 recites that “the computing device is artificial intelligence (AI)”. However, the specification does not provide details as to which kinds of artificial intelligence is used. Para. [0022-0023, 0028, 0031, 0036] of the specification recites that the AI model may make determinations using graph neural networks (GNNs), machine learning techniques and machine learning classification. However, these paragraphs are not clear as to whether or not any specific kind of artificial intelligence is used and do not have support for all kinds of artificial intelligence models. Furthermore, it is unclear how the AI models are used to convert the olfactory information to auditory information. Although, para. [0022-0023, 0028, 0031, 0036] of the specification mention the use of AI models along with analyzing chemical structures of each fragrance note, the specification does not provide details as to what the AI models are, how the AI models are trained, and how the AI models perform the analysis.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 lines 2 & 3 and claim 4 line 1 recites the limitation "the computing device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is suggested to recite “the computing system”.
Claim 4 line 1 recites the limitation “wherein the computing device is artificial intelligence (AI)”. It is unclear how the computing device is artificial intelligence (AI) because artificial intelligence (AI) is not a structural component. The limitation is suggested to recite “wherein the computing system comprises artificial intelligence (AI)” or is suggested to recite “wherein the computing system includes artificial intelligence (AI)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 1 follows.
STEP 1
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a series of steps or acts. Thus, the claim is directed to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A, PRONG ONE
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The steps of:
converting, by the computing system, the olfactory information to auditory information
set forth a judicial exception. These steps describe a concept performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea.
STEP 2A, PRONG TWO
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim fails to recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. Claim 1 recites receiving, by a computing system, olfactory information, which is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The receiving of olfactory information does not provide an improvement to the technological field, the method does not effect a particular treatment or effect a particular change based on the received olfactory information, nor does the method use a particular machine to perform the Abstract Idea.
Regarding claim 1, the computing system recited in the claim is a generic device comprising generic components configured to perform the abstract idea. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application.
STEP 2B
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception. Besides the Abstract Idea, the claim recites additional steps of:
receiving, by a computing system, olfactory information
The receiving step and computing system are well-understood, routine and conventional activities for those in the field of medical diagnostics. Further, the receiving step is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity, e.g., mere data gathering step necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional step that distinguishes it from well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering and comparing activity engaged in by medical professionals prior to Applicant's invention. Furthermore, it is well established that the mere physical or tangible nature of additional elements such as the obtaining and comparing steps do not automatically confer eligibility on a claim directed to an abstract idea (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S.Ct. 2347, 2358-59 (2014)).
Consideration of the additional elements as a combination also adds no other meaningful limitations to the exception not already present when the elements are considered separately. Unlike the eligible claim in Diehr in which the elements limiting the exception are individually conventional, but taken together act in concert to improve a technical field, the claim here does not provide an improvement to the technical field. Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The claim is therefore drawn to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 1, the computing system recited in the claim is a generic device comprising generic components configured to perform the abstract idea. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application.
The dependent claims also fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims. Claims 2-4 are directed to more abstract ideas, which does not add anything significantly more. The steps recited in the independent claims maintain a high level of generality even when considered in combination with the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maggioni (GB 2600214 A).
Regarding claim 1, Maggioni discloses a method (“method”, page 1 lines 4-10) comprising: receiving, by a computing system (computing device 106, page 67 lines 10-31, Abstract), olfactory information (“smell sensing device 102 ... sensor information 114 to the computing device 106”, page 66 line 29 -page 67 line 15, Abstract); and converting, by the computing system (“computing device 106, page 68 line 15 – page 69 line 25), the olfactory information to auditory information (“identification comprises a representation of the smell ... select an identification of the olfactory output ... identification may comprise an audio clip associated with the smell, music”; “computing device 106 has identified the smell ... representation of the olfactory output 110”, page 14 line 23 – page 16 line 31 & page 69 lines 18-25, Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Maggioni discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the converting the olfactory information to the auditory information includes: analyzing the olfactory information based on a database of fragrance-sound mappings (“identify the smell ... database storing ... representations of the smell ... audio clip associated with the smell”, page 15 line 1 – page 16 line 24).
Regarding claim 4, Maggioni discloses wherein the computing device is artificial intelligence (AI) (“processor ... artificial intelligence platforms ... employed”; “neural networks”, page 15 lines 1-13 & page 68 line 30 – page 69 line 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggioni (GB 2600214 A) in view of Park (US 10551050 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Maggioni discloses the method of claim 1. Maggioni further discloses that the smell aiding system can be used for an immersive experience, such as in virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (VR) entertainment (page 16 lines 4-10).
Maggioni does not disclose the method further comprising: receiving, by the computing device, additional auditory information; converting, by the computing device, the additional auditory information to other olfactory information.
However, Park directed to providing a virtual augmented reality using a scent projector discloses receiving, by the computing device (“processor”, col. 7 lines 43-56), additional auditory information (“input sound”, col. 10 line 25 - col. 11 line 11, fig. 4); converting, by the computing device (“processor”, col. 7 lines 43-56), the additional auditory information to other olfactory information (“analysis of ... magnitude of the sound, is converted into an odor concentration”, col. 10 line 25 - col. 11 line 11, fig. 4). Park further discloses a multimodal virtual augmented reality apparatus that increases the sensibility of the user by generating an odor output control signal according to the frequency and amplitude of a sound by maximizing the influence by a cross-modal effect of a sound and an odor (col. 9 line 65 – col. 10 line 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maggioni such that the method comprises receiving, by the computing device, additional auditory information; converting, by the computing device, the additional auditory information to other olfactory information, in view of the teachings of Park, as this would aid in increasing the sensibility of the user in an immersive experience/multimodal virtual augmented reality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Maggioni (US 20240000368 A1) directed to a smell sensing system; Chang (US 20190019033 A1) directed to an apparatus for generating olfactory information related to multimedia content; Ando (US 20090104072 A1) directed to an aroma dispensing method and generating a sound when a smell is generated to thereby enjoy cooperation between the smell and the sound (para. [0097, 0128]); Kim (US 20190087425 A1) directed to apparatus for recognizing olfactory information related to multimedia content, see also para. [0037, 0113-0115].
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/AURELIE H TU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791