Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Regarding Fig. 2, the drawing contains the reference number “301”, which is not covered in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzioba (US20230346616A1) in view of Jones (US20100235997A1) in further view of Solana (US20230079597A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Dzioba teaches A mattress system comprising: one or more inflatable air chambers (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0077] two inflatable compartments 108 110); and a control unit operatively connected to said air chambers and said movable units (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0107] support surface overlay 100 can be included in a system 400 further including a pneumatic control system (PCS) 402 configured to control the inflation and deflation of first and second inflatable compartments 108, 110), wherein said control unit is configured to independently inflate and deflate said air chambers to adjust pressure distribution across a surface supporting a human body (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0107] pneumatic control system (PCS) 402 configured to control the inflation and deflation of first and second inflatable compartments 108, 110).
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach one or more movable units disposed within said air chambers, said movable units equipped with sensors and actuators; and to control movement and operation of said movable units based on data from said sensors.
Jones teaches one or more movable units disposed within said air chambers (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26), said movable units equipped with sensors and actuators (Jones: FIG. 5 [0031] Massage actuators 24 are received in mattress slits 16);
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Dzioba in view of Jones does not teach and to control movement and operation of said movable units based on data from said sensors.
Solana teaches and to control movement and operation of said movable units based on data from said sensors (Solana: FIG. 5 [0082] the chair includes one or more sensors, actuators, or devices configured to sense and/or capture biometric data of the user).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include sensors and actuators for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to capture biometric data of the user and better provide comfort to a user (Solana: [0082]).
Regarding claim 2,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 1,
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach wherein said sensors include at least one of a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a position sensor, or a radar-based sensor.
Solana teaches wherein said sensors include at least one of a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a position sensor, or a radar-based sensor (Solana: FIG. 5 [0082] the chair includes one or more sensors, actuators, or devices configured to sense and/or capture biometric data of the user).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include sensors and actuators for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to capture biometric data of the user and better provide comfort to a user (Solana: [0082]).
Regarding claim 3,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 1.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach wherein said actuators include at least one of a heating element, a cooling element, a massaging roller, or a mechanical arm configured to manipulate localized pressure on the human body.
Jones teaches wherein said actuators include at least one of a heating element, a cooling element, a massaging roller (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26), or a mechanical arm configured to manipulate localized pressure on the human body (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 4,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 1, wherein said movable units are configured to traverse predefined tracks within said air chambers (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0006] two alternately inflatable compartments 110 108, each defining a plurality of relatively large, generally circular air cells), said tracks facilitating precise positioning of the movable units relative to the human body for localized monitoring and treatment (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0061] support surface overlay 100).
Regarding claim 5,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 1.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach a pulling mechanism operatively connecting said movable units to a base station, said pulling mechanism comprising a cable that supplies at least one of electrical power, communication signals, or air for operation or cooling/heating of the movable units, their cooling/heating element or its vicinity.
Jones teaches a pulling mechanism operatively connecting said movable units to a base station (Jones: FIG. 1 [0033] actuation power to drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26), said pulling mechanism comprising a cable that supplies at least one of electrical power (Jones: FIG. 1 [0033] elastic cable system allows the massaging assembly to follow the counter the user's body), communication signals (Jones: FIG. 1 [Col. 10 8-11] connector lug 110 is fixed on the frame rear cover 109 by screw thread, and is used as a connector of the cable), or air for operation or cooling/heating of the movable units, their cooling/heating element or its vicinity (Jones: FIG. 1 [0033] air controlled actuators may be alternatively utilized in place of mechanical actuator 24).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 7,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 1, wherein said air chambers are configured to operate in an overlapping manner when partially deflated (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0077] two inflatable compartments 108 110), creating overlapping zones between adjacent chambers to provide enhanced monitoring and treatment coverage of the human body (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0061] support surface overlay 100 could have a generally elongated shape. In such an embodiment, rows 114, 118 could extend in a direction corresponding to the longer (length) or shorter (width) dimension of support surface overlay 100).
Regarding claim 8,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 1.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach wherein said movable units are wireless and powered by onboard rechargeable batteries, said batteries configured to recharge when the movable units are docked at a charging station.
Solana teaches wherein said movable units are wireless and powered by onboard rechargeable batteries, said batteries configured to recharge when the movable units are docked at a charging station (Solana: FIG. 5 [0029] massage device may also comprise a battery, a motor positioned in the housing, wherein the motor includes a rotatable motor shaft that defines a motor axis).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include a battery for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order power the massage actuators (Solana: [0024]).
Regarding claim 9,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 8.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach wherein said wireless movable units further comprise motorized wheels and a gimbal mechanism, said gimbal mechanism operable to adjust orientation of the sensors and actuators to optimize their positioning relative to the human body.
Jones teaches wherein said wireless movable units further comprise motorized wheels and a gimbal mechanism (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Jones does not teach said gimbal mechanism operable to adjust orientation of the sensors and actuators to optimize their positioning relative to the human body.
Solana teaches said gimbal mechanism operable to adjust orientation of the sensors and actuators to optimize their positioning relative to the human body (Solana: FIG. 2 [0066] percussive massage head 3 or assembly includes a percussive or reciprocating shaft 33 with variable speed and uses a pressure sensor to adjust the intensity of the massage).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include sensors and actuators for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to capture biometric data of the user and better provide comfort to a user (Solana: [0082]).
Regarding claim 10,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 1.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach wherein said movable units include hooks that engage corresponding hooks located in the air chambers, enabling localized pressure reduction by allowing the movable units to pull down the mattress around the engaging hooks.
Jones teaches wherein said movable units include hooks that engage corresponding hooks located in the air chambers (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26), enabling localized pressure reduction by allowing the movable units to pull down the mattress around the engaging hooks (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 11,
Dzioba teaches A method of preventing and treating pressure ulcers, comprising: providing a mattress system having one or more inflatable air chambers (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0077] two inflatable compartments 108 110); continuously or intermittently inflating and deflating said air chambers to vary pressure distribution across a body (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0107] pneumatic control system (PCS) 402 configured to control the inflation and deflation of first and second inflatable compartments 108, 110).
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach and one or more movable units disposed within said chambers; monitoring physiological conditions of the body using sensors disposed within said movable units; adjusting positions of said movable units based on sensor data; and activating actuators within said movable units to provide localized treatment.
Jones teaches and one or more movable units disposed within said chambers (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26); and activating actuators within said movable units to provide localized treatment (Jones: FIG. 5 [0031] Massage actuators 24 are received in mattress slits 16).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Jones does not teach monitoring physiological conditions of the body using sensors disposed within said movable units; adjusting positions of said movable units based on sensor data.
Solana teaches monitoring physiological conditions of the body using sensors disposed within said movable units (Solana: FIG. 5 [0082] the chair includes one or more sensors, actuators, or devices configured to sense and/or capture biometric data of the user); adjusting positions of said movable units based on sensor data (Solana: FIG. 5 [0082] the chair includes one or more sensors, actuators, or devices configured to sense and/or capture biometric data of the user).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include sensors and actuators for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to capture biometric data of the user and better provide comfort to a user (Solana: [0082]).
Regarding claim 12,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 11.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach teaches wherein the sensors include at least one of a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a position sensor, or a radar-based sensor.
Solana teaches wherein the sensors include at least one of a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a position sensor, or a radar-based sensor (Solana: FIG. 5 [0082] the chair includes one or more sensors, actuators, or devices configured to sense and/or capture biometric data of the user).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include sensors and actuators for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to capture biometric data of the user and better provide comfort to a user (Solana: [0082]).
Regarding claim 13,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 11.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach wherein the actuators include at least one of a heating element, a cooling element, a massaging roller, or a mechanical arm configured to manipulate localized pressure on the body.
Jones teaches wherein the actuators include at least one of a heating element, a cooling element, a massaging roller, or a mechanical arm configured to manipulate localized pressure on the body (Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 14,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 11, further comprising traversing the movable units along predefined tracks within the air chambers to facilitate precise positioning relative to the body for localized monitoring and treatment (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0006] two alternately inflatable compartments 110 108, each defining a plurality of relatively large, generally circular air cells).
Regarding claim 15,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 11, further comprising or air for operation or cooling/heating of the movable units (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0009] fluid flow can be used to control or condition the temperature and/or humidity at the interface between the support surface overlay and a user disposed thereon), their cooling/heating element or its vicinity (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0009] fluid flow can be used to control or condition the temperature and/or humidity at the interface between the support surface overlay and a user disposed thereon).
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach supplying at least one of electrical power, communication signals, or a pulling mechanism operatively connecting the movable units to a base station.
Jones teaches supplying at least one of electrical power (Jones: FIG. 1 [0033] elastic cable system allows the massaging assembly to follow the counter the user's body), communication signals (Jones: FIG. 1 [0033] actuation power to drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26), or a pulling mechanism operatively connecting the movable units to a base station (Jones: FIG. 1 [0033] actuation power to drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 17,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 11, further comprising operating the air chambers in an overlapping manner when partially deflated to create overlapping zones between adjacent chambers, thereby providing enhanced monitoring and treatment coverage of the body (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0061] support surface overlay 100 could have a generally elongated shape. In such an embodiment, rows 114, 118 could extend in a direction corresponding to the longer (length) or shorter (width) dimension of support surface overlay 100).
Regarding claim 18,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 11.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach further comprising wirelessly powering the movable units using onboard rechargeable batteries and recharging the batteries when the movable units are docked at a charging station.
Solana teaches wherein said movable units are wireless and powered by onboard rechargeable batteries, said batteries configured to recharge when the movable units are docked at a charging station (Solana: FIG. 5 [0029] massage device may also comprise a battery, a motor positioned in the housing, wherein the motor includes a rotatable motor shaft that defines a motor axis).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include a battery for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order power the massage actuators (Solana: [0024]).
Regarding claim 19,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 18.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach further comprising adjusting orientation of the sensors and actuators using a gimbal mechanism on the movable units to optimize their positioning relative to the body.
Solana teaches further comprising adjusting orientation of the sensors and actuators using a gimbal mechanism on the movable units to optimize their positioning relative to the body (Solana: FIG. 2 [0066] percussive massage head 3 or assembly includes a percussive or reciprocating shaft 33 with variable speed and uses a pressure sensor to adjust the intensity of the massage).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include sensors and actuators for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to capture biometric data of the user and better provide comfort to a user (Solana: [0082]).
Regarding claim 20,
Dzioba teaches A pressure ulcer prevention and treatment system comprising: a mattress having at least two independently inflatable air chambers (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0077] two inflatable compartments 108 110); said control unit configured to: control inflation and deflation of said air chambers (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0107] support surface overlay 100 can be included in a system 400 further including a pneumatic control system (PCS) 402 configured to control the inflation and deflation of first and second inflatable compartments 108, 110), direct movement of said movable units within said air chambers (Dzioba: FIG. 1 [0107] support surface overlay 100 can be included in a system 400 further including a pneumatic control system (PCS) 402 configured to control the inflation and deflation of first and second inflatable compartments 108, 110).
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach at least one movable unit disposed within each of said air chambers, each movable unit comprising sensors and actuators; and a control unit operatively connected to said air chambers and said movable units, process data from said sensors, and activate said actuators based on said processed data.
Jones teaches at least one movable unit disposed within each of said air chambers, each movable unit comprising sensors and actuators ((Jones: FIG. 3 [0033] drive shaft 28 which provides longitudinal positioning for massage actuators 24 and massager 26); and a control unit operatively connected to said air chambers and said movable units (Jones: FIG. 1 [0033] air controlled actuators may be alternatively utilized in place of mechanical actuator 24).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones directed to including massage actuators and massagers for a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide adjustable firmness of a mattress for a user’s zone (Jones: [Abs.]).
Dzioba in view of Jones, does not teach, process data from said sensors, and activate said actuators based on said processed data.
Solana teaches process data from said sensors (Solana: FIG. 5 [0082] the chair includes one or more sensors, actuators, or devices configured to sense and/or capture biometric data of the user), and activate said actuators based on said processed data (Solana: FIG. 5 [0082] the chair includes one or more sensors, actuators, or devices configured to sense and/or capture biometric data of the user).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba in view of Jones in further view of Solana directed to include sensors and actuators for the massage actuators in a sleeping mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to capture biometric data of the user and better provide comfort to a user (Solana: [0082]).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzioba (US20230346616A1) in view of Jones (US20100235997A1) in further view of Solana (US20230079597A1) in further view of Kahn (US6752772B2).
Regarding claim 6,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The mattress system of claim 5.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach wherein said pulling mechanism further comprises an encoder configured to monitor the position of the movable units within the air chambers.
Kahn teaches wherein said pulling mechanism further comprises an encoder configured to monitor the position of the movable units within the air chambers (Kahn: FIG. 15 [Col. 15 2-5] end-of-travel switches and rotational encoders mounted on each motor 170, 172, 174, 822 provide position feedback to the controller 116).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba, as modified, in view of Kahn directed to including a massager with an encoder. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide position feedback to a controller (Kahn: [Col. 15 2-5]).
Regarding claim 16,
Dzioba, as modified, teaches The method of claim 15.
Dzioba, as modified, does not teach further comprising monitoring positions of the movable units within the air chambers using an encoder associated with the pulling mechanism.
Jones teaches further comprising monitoring positions of the movable units within the air chambers using an encoder associated with the pulling mechanism (Kahn: FIG. 15 [Col. 15 2-5] end-of-travel switches and rotational encoders mounted on each motor 170, 172, 174, 822 provide position feedback to the controller 116).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dzioba, as modified, in view of Kahn directed to including a massager with an encoder. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide position feedback to a controller (Kahn: [Col. 15 2-5]).
Conclusion
/JOSEANE E. TEJADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/DAVID R HARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
1/29/2026