DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: Application filed on Nov. 24,2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for Examination. Claims 1, 15 and 18 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “persistent sensor units,” “intermittent sensor units,” and a “Thermal Runaway Propagation (TRP) condition” without defining objective boundaries for these terms where “persistent” requires continuously powered, continuously sensing, continuously reporting, or some other operational characteristic.These limitations are unclear what degree, frequency, or duration of operation makes a sensor “intermittent.”, and what measurable criteria constitute a “TRP condition,” as distinguished from a thermal-runaway event, a precursor, or another battery-fault condition. So, the claim 1 is indefinite.
Claim 2 recites “determining a state of charge (SoC) for each node.” A state of charge ordinarily pertains to a battery cell, module, pack, or other energy-storage unit, rather than an electrical “node.” The claim does not clarify whether “node” refers to a cell, cell stack, electrical connection point, battery segment, or another structure. Therefore, the scope of “node having a lowest SoC” is unclear.
Claims 7–10 are rejected because multiple limitations are lack reasonably clear
boundaries:
Claim 7: “a map of the intermittent sensors” does not state what information constitutes the map, such as sensor locations, types, electrical connections, node assignments, or activation information.
Claim 8: “identifying an unnecessary intermittent sensor” is subjective and provides no standard for determining when a sensor is “unnecessary.”
Claim 9: “nodes qualified to power” and “sensor load optimization” are indefinite because no electrical, operational, or optimization criteria are recited for determining qualification or optimization.
Claim 10: “current” is unclear. The claim does not identify whether this refers to sensor current draw, node current, battery current, charging current, or another current.
Claim 13 recites “when thermal runaway conditions exist,” whereas claim 1 recites determining whether “Thermal Runaway Propagation (TRP) conditions exist.” It is unclear whether “thermal runaway conditions” and “TRP conditions” are the same, overlapping, or distinct conditions. The scope is therefore uncertain.
Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected under § 112(b).
Claim 15 recites intermittent sensors, but then states “wherein each temperature sensor monitors the respective cell stack” in the intermittent-sensor clause. This language appears internally inconsistent or erroneous because it does not state what the intermittent sensors monitor. It is unclear whether the intended limitation is that:
1. each intermittent sensor monitors its respective cell stack;
2. each temperature sensor monitors a respective cell stack; or
3. both sensor types monitor the respective cell stack.
Thus, claim 15 is indefinite.
Claims 16 and 17 depend from claim 18 and are likewise rejected under § 112(b).
Claim 18 contains an incomplete limitation: “temperature sensors, wherein each temperature sensor is electrically connected to and temperature of the respective battery cell.” The claim omits language after “connected to and” and before “temperature.” Consequently, the nature of the electrical connection, any power relationship, and the monitoring function cannot be determined. Claim 18 is therefore indefinite.Claims 19 and 20 depend from claim 18 and are likewise rejected under § 112(b).
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2021/0234209 A1) in view of Baughman (US 2022/0069376 A1) and further in view of Cronin (US 2023/0211667 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1,Wang teaches that a method for using a sensor arrangement to evaluate an energy storage device( ¶¶ [0009]–[0010], [0037]–[0038])) , comprising the step of :
arranging persistent sensor units and intermittent sensor units at nodes in the energy storage device (Wang teaches CMUs electrically connected to respective battery-cell groups (nodes) and thermal-runaway sensors positioned on the CMUs and/or BCM (Wang, ¶¶ [0009]–[0012], [0034]–[0037], [0044] and Fig.2-3). Cronin teaches sensors including thermocouples, thermistors, pressure gauges, and chemical sensors associated with individual power packs (Cronin, ¶ 0035))
wherein the persistent sensor units and the intermittent sensor units are electrically connected to be powered by respective nodes of the energy storage device (Wang teaches CMUs electrically connected to respective cell groups (Wang, ¶¶ [0009], [0034]–[0035] Fig.2-3). Baughman teaches each CMU electrically connected to a respective battery module (Baughman, ¶¶ [0028]–[0029]))
powering the persistent sensor units with the energy storage device. ( Wang teaches ongoing, low-power Level-1 monitoring by CMUs during an OFF mode (Wang, ¶¶ [0007], [0036]–[0038])
receiving persistent sensor readings from the persistent sensor units with a controller(Wang teaches the BCM receiving cell voltage, temperature, and thermal-runaway-sensor data (Wang, ¶¶ [0037]–[0038], [0041], [0049]–[0050])
selectively activating at least two intermittent sensor units while at least one intermittent sensor unit is not activated (Baughman teaches selectively interrogating voltage sensors associated with a particular CMU based on operating conditions (Baughman, ¶¶ [0006]–[0008], [0031]–[0034]))
receiving intermittent sensor readings from the selectively activated intermittent sensor units with the controller(Baughman teaches an electronic controller communicating with CMUs and interrogating sensors corresponding to a selected CMU (Baughman, ¶¶ [0006]–[0009], [0030]–[0034]))
evaluating, with the controller, the persistent sensor readings and the intermittent sensor readings to determine whether TRP conditions exist in the energy storage device( Wang teaches evaluating cell voltage, temperature, and dedicated thermal-propagation-sensor data to determine whether a thermal-runaway condition is active (Wang, ¶¶ [0037], [0044]–[0046], [0059], [0064]–[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wang’s thermal-runaway monitoring system by incorporating Baughman’s teaching of selectively interrogating particular sensors based on operating conditions, in order to reduce power consumption while maintaining monitoring coverage. It would have been further obvious to incorporate Cronin’s teaching of PWM-modulated sensor operation and SoC-based power management to further optimize sensor operation in a battery-monitoring system. The combination of these references yields the claimed method for evaluating an energy storage device using persistent and intermittent sensor units, wherein the intermittent sensors are selectively activated based on operating conditions and SoC profiles.
Regarding claim 2, Wang fails to teach but Cronin teaches that
determining a state of charge (SoC) for each node; and
identifying a node having a lowest SOC, wherein the at least one intermittent sensor unit that is not activated is electrically connected to the node having the lowest SOC (Cronin teaches a charge/discharge module that optimizes charging and discharging of individual power packs based on their state of charge (SoC) profile stored in a database (Cronin, ¶¶ [0048], [0070]). Cronin further teaches a dynamic module that determines the charging and discharging status of power packs in real-time and governs power delivery based on the individual state of the power packs (Cronin, ¶¶ [0050]–[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cronin’s SoC-based power management into Wang’s thermal-runaway monitoring system to selectively activate sensors based on SoC, thereby optimizing sensor operation and reducing unnecessary sensor activation.
Regarding claim 3, Wang fails to teach but Cronin teaches that operating the selectively activated intermittent sensor units according to a programmable pulse width modulation (PWM) duty cycle(Cronin teaches that power delivered to or from energy storage units may be modulated using pulse-width modulation (PWM) to reduce the average power delivered by an electrical signal (Cronin, ¶ 0039). Cronin further teaches a PWM controller for solar regulators that regulates current from solar panels (Cronin, ¶ 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cronin’s PWM power modulation into Baughman’s selective sensor interrogation to operate selectively activated sensors according to a programmable PWM duty cycle, thereby reducing average power consumption while maintaining sensor functionality.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches that wherein: the persistent sensor units comprise temperature sensors and/or voltage sensors; and the intermittent sensor units comprise pressure sensors and/or gas sensors(CMUs that obtain cell-voltage and temperature readings (Wang, ¶¶ [0037], [0049]–[0050], [0054]). Wang further teaches thermal-runaway sensors including pressure sensors and gas detectors (Wang, ¶¶ [0046], [0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches that wherein: the persistent sensor units comprise low power draw sensors; and the intermittent sensor units comprise high power draw sensors (Level-1 logic executing continuously in a low-power mode using available cell-voltage and temperature readings, while Level-2 logic activates upon detection of a potential thermal-runaway condition and processes additional thermal-runaway-sensor data (Wang, ¶¶ [0007]–[0010], [0036]–[0038], [0063]–[0065]).
It would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that sensors operating continuously in a low-power mode would inherently draw less power than sensors selectively activated for additional processing).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches that wherein: during an off power mode, the controller receives persistent sensor readings; and during an on power mode, the controller receives persistent sensor readings and intermittent sensor readings (Wang teaches Level-1 logic executing continuously during a low-power/OFF operating mode using available cell-voltage and temperature readings (Wang, ¶¶ [0007], [0036]–[0038]). Wang further teaches Level-2 logic during an ON mode using data from CMUs and thermal-runaway sensors (Wang, ¶¶ [0008]–[0010], [0063]–[0065]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang fails to teach but Cronin teaches that wherein the intermittent sensor units include at least two types of the intermittent sensor units, wherein the two types of the intermittent sensor units monitor different properties from one another, and wherein the method further comprises: reading and storing in the controller a map of the intermittent sensors; and storing in the controller a pulse width modulation (PWM) duty cycle for each type of intermittent sensor. (Cronin, ¶¶ [0070]–[0071]). Cronin further teaches PWM power modulation (Cronin, ¶ 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cronin’s database storage of sensor and power-pack information together with PWM modulation teaching to store a map of sensors and their associated PWM duty cycles.
Regarding claim 8, Wang and Cronin fail to teach but Baughman teaches that identifying an unnecessary intermittent sensor based on a design of the energy storage device and based on operating conditions(Baughman, ¶¶ [0006]–[0008], [0031]–[0034]). Cronin teaches a dynamic module that determines charging and discharging status of power packs in real-time and governs power delivery based on current operating conditions (Cronin, ¶¶ [0050]–[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Baughman’s and Cronin’s teachings to identify sensors that are unnecessary under current operating conditions and design parameters.
Regarding claim 9, Wang fails to teach but Cronin teaches that further comprising: comparing node voltages across the energy storage device to determine two nodes qualified to power the at least two intermittent sensor units to enable sensor load optimization. (Cronin, ¶¶ [0012], [0066]). Cronin further teaches comparing voltage and current measurements to optimize power delivery (Cronin, ¶¶ [0032], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cronin’s voltage comparison and power-source selection teaching into the claimed system to determine which nodes are qualified to power sensors.
Regarding claim 10, Wang fails to teach but Cronin teaches that further comprising: setting the pulse width modulation (PWM) duty cycle for the at least two intermittent sensor units based on sensor type, current, and sampling rate. (Cronin, ¶ 0039). Cronin further teaches measuring current and power draw and using this information for energy management (Cronin, ¶¶ [0032], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust PWM duty cycle based on sensor characteristics including sensor type, current draw, and required sampling rate.
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches that wherein evaluating, with the controller, the persistent sensor readings and the intermittent sensor readings to determine whether thermal runaway conditions exist in the energy storage device comprises evaluating persistent temperature readings, persistent node voltage readings, and intermittent pressure and/or gas readings (Fig.2 and Wang, ¶¶ [0037] ).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches that further comprising: identifying conditions for entering an off power mode; and disabling the selectively activated at least two intermittent sensor units when entering the off power mode(Wang, ¶¶ [0065]–[0071]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches that when thermal runaway conditions exist in the energy storage device, determining that a mitigation action is required to avoid thermal runaway( Wang teaches determining that a thermal-runaway condition is active and opening contactors to disconnect the RESS and/or transmitting a fault signal (Wang, ¶¶ [0065]–[0071]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang and Cronin fail to teach but Baughman teaches that performing the mitigation action including cooling the energy storage device and/or discharging the energy storage device or by communicating an alert via a horn, light, or communication device(Baughman teaches directing coolant to a battery module in response to a detected temperature change (Baughman, ¶¶ [0034], [0040]). Wang teaches opening contactors to disconnect the RESS and transmitting a fault signal or triggering an alarm (Wang, ¶¶ [0013]–[0014], [0069], [0071]).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Claim 15 is an independent apparatus claim directed to a high-voltage rechargeable battery system. Wang teaches a multi-cell RESS with battery cells arranged in cell groups and CMUs electrically connected to respective cell groups (Wang, ¶¶ [0009], [0030], [0034]–[0035] and Fig.2-3). Wang further teaches temperature sensors and thermal-runaway sensors including pressure and gas sensors (Wang, ¶¶ [0037], [0044]–[0046], [0049]–[0050]). Baughman teaches temperature sensors positioned on CMUs to detect temperatures of associated cell groups (Baughman, ¶¶ [0009], [0033]–[0034]). Baughman teaches controller-based selection and interrogation of sensor groups corresponding to particular CMUs (Baughman, ¶¶ [0006]–[0008], [0031]–[0034]). Cronin teaches a processor that controls selective connection of power sources and uses PWM modulation (Cronin, ¶¶ [0039], [0047]). The combination of these references renders claim 15 obvious for the reasons stated above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Wang and Baughman fail to teach but Cronin teaches that wherein the controller is configured to select a respective pulse width modulation (PWM) duty cycle for each intermittent sensor and to operate each intermittent sensor selected for activation according to the respective pulse width modulation (PWM) duty cycle (Baughman teaches controller-based selection and interrogation of sensor groups corresponding to particular CMUs (¶¶ [0092])).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches that wherein the intermittent sensors comprise pressure sensors and/or gas sensors ( thermal-runaway sensors including gas detectors and pressure sensors (Wang, ¶¶ [0046], [0059]).
Regarding Independent Claim 18, Claim 18 is an independent claim directed to a vehicle comprising an electric motor and a battery system. Wang teaches an electric powertrain having an electric machine that provides torque for propulsion of a motor vehicle and a RESS connected through a power inverter module to the electric machine (Wang, ¶¶ [0002]–[0004], [0018]–[0019], [0031]–[0032] and Fig.2-3). The remaining limitations of claim 18 are taught by the combination of Wang, Baughman, and Cronin as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 15.
Regarding claim 19,Wang fails to teach but Cronin teaches wherein the controller is configured to select a respective pulse width modulation (PWM) duty cycle for each intermittent sensor and to operate each intermittent sensor selected for activation according to the respective pulse width modulation (PWM) duty cycle. Cronin teaches PWM power modulation (Cronin, ¶ 0039).
Regarding claim 20,Wang teaches wherein the intermittent sensors comprise pressure sensors and/or gas sensors. (Wang teaches gas detectors and pressure sensors for thermal-runaway monitoring (Wang, ¶¶ [0046], [0059]).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837