DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/15/2025 and 01/20/2026 were filed before the first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "24" and "26" have both been used to designate battery pack, step S830, 0127 of Applicant Specification. Reference characters "4" and "5" have both been used to designate a fourth three-way valve, 0093 and 0145 of Applicant Specification. because reference characters "32" and "33" have both been used to designate second condenser, 0120 and 0123 of Applicant Specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the recitation “a first three-away valve” in the first line should be - - a first three-way valve - - for clarity. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A hydraulic device in claim 1;
Where the hydraulic device 24 may include a working device 241 (for example, a walking mechanism, a hoisting mechanism, a bucket, a boom or a gearbox of loading machine, and the like), 0085 of Applicant Specification
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 7, the recitation “the battery water pump” should be - - battery route water pump - - for clarity.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation “after converting the heat generated by the motor electronic control assembly the heat of the water” should be - - after converting the heat generated by the motor electronic control assembly into the heat of the water - - for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Wang (CN117103944).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a waste heat recovery system [n0001], comprising:
a hydraulic device [actuator 3 in hydraulic oil pipeline, Figure 1];
a first three-way valve [valve 4, Figure 1; n0015], a first valve port of the first three-way valve communicating with an end of the hydraulic device [where the valve 4 communicates with the actuator 3 in the hydraulic oil line, Figure 1; 0032];
a second three-way valve [valve 7, Figure 1; 0036], a second valve port of the second three-way valve communicating with another end of the hydraulic device [where valve 14 and valve 7 are on opposite sides of actuator 3 of the oil line, Figure 1; 0036];
a first heat exchanger [heat exchanger 8], two ends of the first heat exchanger communicating with a third valve port of the first three-way valve [where valve 4 is between actuator 3 and heat exchanger 8, Figure 1;0036] and a first valve port of the second three-way valve, respectively [where valve 7 is between heat exchanger 8 and actuator 3 via valve 5, Figure 1];
an oil radiator [radiator 6, Figure 1], two ends of the oil radiator being connected to a second valve port of the first three-way valve [where radiator 6 is connected to valve 4 via bypass of heat exchanger 8, Figure 1] and a third valve port of the second three-way valve, respectively [where radiator 6 is connected to valve 7, Figure 1];
an oil heat dissipation system water pump [water pump 11, Figure 1], an end of the oil heat dissipation system water pump being connected to the first heat exchanger [where pump 11 is connected to heat exchanger 8 via motor 12 and electronic control 13, Figure 1]; and
a battery pack [battery pack 35, Figure 1], two ends of the battery pack communicating with another end of the oil heat dissipation system water pump [where battery pack 35 connects water pump 11 via valve 16, Figure 1] and the first heat exchanger, respectively [where battery pack 35 connects to heat exchanger 8 via valve 14, Figure 1].
Regarding Claim 8, It is noted that although the preamble of claim 8 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang discloses the invention of claim 1 and further discloses engineering machinery [an engineering vehicle; n0001], comprising: the waste heat recovery system according to claim 1 [refer to the rejection of claim 1 above].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN117103944) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Lee (US20220176773A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses the invention of claim 1 and further discloses a third three-way valve [valve 16, Figure 1; n0015], a first valve port of the third three-way valve communicating with an end of the battery pack [where battery pack 35 communicates with valve 16 via temperature sensor 38, PTC 40 and heater core 36, Figure 1];
a sixth three-way valve [valve 14, Figure 1; n0015], a first valve port of the sixth three-way valve communicating with the other end of the battery pack [where valve 14 communicates with battery pack 35 via pump 34, Figure 1];
a water radiator [radiator 18, Figure 1], two ends of the water radiator communicating with a second valve port of the sixth three-way valve [where radiator 18 connects with valve 14 via heat exchanger 8, Figure 1] and a second valve port of the third three-way valve, respectively [where radiator 18 connects with valve 16, Figure 1]; and a motor electronic control assembly [electronic control 13, Figure 1],
But Wang does not teach a motor electronic control water pump, an end of the motor electronic control water pump communicating with a third valve port of the third three-way valve;
a fourth three-way valve, a first valve port of the fourth three-way valve communicating with another end of the motor electronic control water pump;
a seventh three-way valve a first valve port of the seventh three-way valve communicating with a third valve port of the sixth three-way valve; and
two ends of the motor electronic control assembly communicating with a second valve port of the fourth three-way valve and a second valve port of the seventh three-way valve , respectively.
However, Lee teaches an integrated thermal management system for a vehicle [0002] including a motor electronic control water pump [pump P2, where electronic driving part E communicates with pump P2, Figure 1; 0041], an end of the motor electronic control water pump communicating with a third valve port of the third three-way valve [valve V6, where valve V6 communicates with battery B and radiator 301, Figure 1];
a fourth three-way valve [valve V4, Figure 2], a first valve port of the fourth three-way valve communicating with another end of the motor electronic control water pump [where P2 is provided on the electronic driving part E branch of line 200, Figure 1; 0040;0041];
a seventh three-way valve [valve V5, Figure 1], a first valve port of the seventh three-way valve communicating with a third valve port of the sixth three-way valve [valve V3, where valve V3 communicates with battery B via valve V2 opposite the side of valve V5, Figure 9, communicates with radiator 301, Figure 5]; and
two ends of the motor electronic control assembly [electronic driving part E, Figure 1] communicating with a second valve port of the fourth three-way valve [where electronic driving part E is between valve V4 on branch of line 200] and a second valve port of the seventh three-way valve, respectively [where electronic driving part E connects to valve V6 where line 200 connects to line 300, Figure 1], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, two valves and a water pump, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have where a motor electronic control water pump, an end of the motor electronic control water pump communicating with a third valve port of the third three-way valve;
a fourth three-way valve, a first valve port of the fourth three-way valve communicating with another end of the motor electronic control water pump;
a seventh three-way valve a first valve port of the seventh three-way valve communicating with a third valve port of the sixth three-way valve; and
two ends of the motor electronic control assembly communicating with a second valve port of the fourth three-way valve and a second valve port of the seventh three-way valve , respectively, in view of the teachings of Lee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042].
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses the invention of claim 8 and further discloses a third three-way valve [valve 16, Figure 1; n0015], a first valve port of the third three-way valve communicating with an end of the battery pack [where battery pack 35 communicates with valve 16 via temperature sensor 38, PTC 40 and heater core 36, Figure 1]; a sixth three-way valve [valve 14, Figure 1; n0015], a first valve port of the sixth three-way valve communicating with the other end of the battery pack [where valve 14 communicates with battery pack 35 via pump 34, Figure 1]; a water radiator [radiator 18, Figure 1], two ends of the water radiator communicating with a second valve port of the sixth three-way valve [where radiator 18 connects with valve 14 via heat exchanger 8, Figure 1] and a second valve port of the third three-way valve, respectively [where radiator 18 communicates with valve 16, Figure 1]; and a motor electronic control assembly [electronic control 13, Figure 1],
but does not teach a motor electronic control water pump, an end of the motor electronic control water pump communicating with a third valve port of the third three-way valve;
a fourth three-way valve, a first valve port of the fourth three-way valve communicating with another end of the motor electronic control water pump;
a seventh three-way valve, a first valve port of the seventh three-way valve communicating with a third valve port of the sixth three-way valve;
where two ends of the motor electronic control assembly communicating with a second valve port of the fourth three-way valve and a second valve port of the seventh three-way valve, respectively;
However, Lee teaches an integrated thermal management system for a vehicle [0002] including a motor electronic control water pump [pump P2, where electronic driving part E communicates with pump P2, Figure 1; 0041], an end of the motor electronic control water pump communicating with a third valve port of the third three-way valve [valve V6, where valve V6 communicates with battery B and radiator 301, Figure 1];
a fourth three-way valve [valve V4, Figure 2], a first valve port of the fourth three-way valve communicating with another end of the motor electronic control water pump [where P2 is provided on the electronic driving part E branch of line 200, Figure 1; 0040;0041];
a seventh three-way valve [valve V5, Figure 1], a first valve port of the seventh three-way valve communicating with a third valve port of the sixth three-way valve [valve V3, where valve V3 communicates with battery B via valve V2 opposite the side of valve V5, Figure 9, communicates with radiator 301, Figure 5]; and
two ends of the motor electronic control assembly [electronic driving part E, Figure 1] communicating with a second valve port of the fourth three-way valve [where electronic driving part E is between valve V4 on branch of line 200] and a second valve port of the seventh three-way valve, respectively [where electronic driving part E connects to valve V6 where line 200 connects to line 300, Figure 1], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, two valves and a water pump, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have where a motor electronic control water pump, an end of the motor electronic control water pump communicating with a third valve port of the third three-way valve;
a fourth three-way valve, a first valve port of the fourth three-way valve communicating with another end of the motor electronic control water pump;
a seventh three-way valve a first valve port of the seventh three-way valve communicating with a third valve port of the sixth three-way valve; and
two ends of the motor electronic control assembly communicating with a second valve port of the fourth three-way valve and a second valve port of the seventh three-way valve , respectively, in view of the teachings of Lee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042].
It is noted that although the preamble of claim 9 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claims 3-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN117103944) in view of Lee (US20220176773A1) as applied to claim 2 and 9 above and in further view of Xu (CN110525168B)
Regarding Claim 3, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches an evaporator assembly [evaporator 15, Figure 1]; but does not teach
a first cut-off valve, two ends of the first cut-off valve communicating with the first heat exchanger and the evaporator assembly, respectively; and
a second cut-off valve, an end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the evaporator assembly, and another end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the oil heat dissipation system water pump.
However, Xu teaches a secondary circuit passenger compartment and battery motor electronic control thermal management system for new energy vehicles [0002] including a first cut-off valve [valve 1110, Figure 1], two ends of the first cut-off valve communicating with the first heat exchanger [heat exchanger 202, Figure 6] and the evaporator assembly, respectively [heat exchanger 205, Figure 6]; and
a second cut-off valve [valve 1113, Figure 6], an end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the evaporator assembly [heat exchanger 205, Figure 6], and another end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the oil heat dissipation system water pump [pump 502, Figure 6], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, valves, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements of the application mode [Xu; n00025;n00026]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have a first cut-off valve, two ends of the first cut-off valve communicating with the first heat exchanger and the evaporator assembly, respectively; and a second cut-off valve, an end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the evaporator assembly, and another end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the oil heat dissipation system water pump in view of the teachings of Xu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements of the application mode [Xu; n00025;n00026]
Regarding Claim 4, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and The waste heat recovery system according to claim 3, and does not teach
a passenger compartment heating water pump [pump 34, Figure 1], an end of the passenger compartment heating water pump communicating with an end of the evaporator assembly [where pump 34 connects to evaporator 15 via valve 14, Figure 1], and does not teach where another end of the passenger compartment heating water pump communicating with a third valve port of the fourth three-way valve, and another end of the evaporator assembly communicating with a third valve port of the seventh three-way valve.
However, Lee teaches an integrated thermal management system for a vehicle [0002] where another end of the passenger compartment heating water pump [pump P4, where the system indirectly performs air conditioning through low temperature core 404, Figure 1; 0034] communicating with the third valve port of the fourth three-way valve [via line 200, Figure 12], and another end of the evaporator assembly [cooling core 202, Figure 1; 0034] communicating with the third valve port of the seventh three-way valve [valve V5, Figure 6]; where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, two valves and a water pump, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where another end of the passenger compartment heating water pump communicating with the third valve port of the fourth three-way valve, and another end of the evaporator assembly communicating with the third valve port of the seventh three-way valve in view of the teachings of Lee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042].
Regarding Claim 5, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and further teaches a first expansion valve [expansion valve 28, Figure 1], an end of the first expansion valve communicating with the evaporator assembly [expansion valve 28 communicates with evaporator 15, Figure 1];
a first condenser [indoor heat exchanger 21, Figure 1], an end of the first condenser communicating with another end of the first expansion valve [where condenser 21 communicates with expansion valve 28, Figure 1]; and
a passenger compartment refrigeration compressor [compressor 19, Figure 1], two ends of the passenger compartment refrigeration compressor communicating with the evaporator assembly and the first condenser, respectively [where compressor 19 forms circulation pipeline including evaporator 15 and indoor heat exchanger 21, Figure 1; 0027].
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses the invention of claim 1 and does not teach a third cut-off valve, two ends of the third cut-off valve communicating with the battery pack and the first heat exchanger, respectively; and
a fourth cut-off valve, two ends of the fourth cut-off valve communicating with the battery pack and the oil heat dissipation system water pump, respectively.
However, Xu teaches a secondary circuit passenger compartment and battery motor electronic control thermal management system for new energy vehicles [0002] including a third cut-off valve [valve 1111, Figure 1], two ends of the third cut-off valve communicating with the battery pack [at battery liquid cooling plate 301, Figure 6] and the first heat exchanger [heat exchanger 202, Figure 6], respectively; and
a fourth cut-off valve [valve 1105, Figure 1], two ends of the fourth cut-off valve communicating with the battery pack [at battery liquid cooling plate 301, Figure 6] and the oil heat dissipation system water pump, respectively [pump 502, Figure 6] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, valves, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements of the application mode [Xu; n00025;n00026]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have a a third cut-off valve, two ends of the third cut-off valve communicating with the battery pack and the first heat exchanger, respectively; and a fourth cut-off valve, two ends of the fourth cut-off valve communicating with the battery pack and the oil heat dissipation system water pump, respectively in view of the teachings of Xu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements
Regarding Claim 7, Wang discloses the invention of claim 1 and further discloses a battery route water pump [pump 34, Figure 1], an end of the battery route water pump communicating with the battery pack [where pump 34 communicates with battery pack 35, Figure 1];
a second heat exchanger [evaporator 15, Figure 1], an end of the second heat exchanger communicating with another end of the battery water pump [where pump 34 communicates with evaporator 13 via valve 16, Figure 1];
a battery cooling compressor [compressor 19, Figure 1], an end of the battery cooling compressor communicating with the second heat exchanger [where compressor 19 communicates with evaporator 15 via valve 30 and valve 20, Figure 1];
a second condenser [indoor heat exchanger 21, Figure 1], an end of the second condenser communicating with another end of the battery cooling compressor [where indoor heat exchanger 21 connects to compressor 19 via valve 20, Figure 1]; and
a second expansion valve [expansion valve 28 and expansion], two ends of the second expansion valve communicating with the second condenser and the second heat exchanger, respectively [where expansion valve 28 is between indoor heat exchanger 21 and heat exchanger 15, Figure 1].
There is a lack of criticality for the numbering of the condenser, heat exchanger, and expansion valve and the numbering appears to be for identification purposes without limiting the scope of the invention.
Wang does not teach a fifth cut-off valve, two ends of the fifth cut-off valve communicating with the second heat exchanger and the battery pack, respectively.
However, Xu teaches a secondary circuit passenger compartment and battery motor electronic control thermal management system for new energy vehicles [0002] including a fifth cut-off valve [valve 1103, Figure 7], two ends of the fifth cut-off valve communicating with the second heat exchanger [heat exchanger 204,Figure 7] and the battery pack [at battery liquid cooling plate 301, Figure 7], respectively where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, valves, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements of the application mode [Xu; n00025;n00026]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have a a fifth cut-off valve, two ends of the fifth cut-off valve communicating with the second heat exchanger and the battery pack, respectively in view of the teachings of Xu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements
Regarding Claim 10, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 9 and further teaches an evaporator assembly [evaporator 15, Figure 1]; but
Wang does not teach a first cut-off valve, two ends of the first cut-off valve communicating with the first heat exchanger and the evaporator assembly, respectively; and a second cut-off valve, an end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the evaporator assembly, and another end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the oil heat dissipation system water pump;
However, Xu teaches a secondary circuit passenger compartment and battery motor electronic control thermal management system for new energy vehicles [0002] including a first cut-off valve [valve 1110, Figure 1], two ends of the first cut-off valve communicating with the first heat exchanger [heat exchanger 202, Figure 6] and the evaporator assembly, respectively [heat exchanger 205, Figure 6]; and
a second cut-off valve [valve 1113, Figure 6], an end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the evaporator assembly [heat exchanger 205, Figure 6], and another end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the oil heat dissipation system water pump [pump 502, Figure 6], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, valves, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements of the application mode [Xu; n00025;n00026]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have a first cut-off valve, two ends of the first cut-off valve communicating with the first heat exchanger and the evaporator assembly, respectively; and a second cut-off valve, an end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the evaporator assembly, and another end of the second cut-off valve communicating with the oil heat dissipation system water pump in view of the teachings of Xu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing numerous modes of operation by directing fluid according to the requirements of the application mode [Xu; n00025;n00026]
It is noted that although the preamble of claim 10 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 and further teaches a passenger compartment heating water pump [pump 34, Figure 1], an end of the passenger compartment heating water pump communicating with an end of the evaporator assembly [where pump 34 connects to evaporator 15 via valve 14, Figure 1], but Wang does not teach where another end of the passenger compartment heating water pump communicating with the third valve port of the fourth three-way valve, and another end of the evaporator assembly communicating with the third valve port of the seventh three-way valve;
However, Lee teaches an integrated thermal management system for a vehicle [0002] where another end of the passenger compartment heating water pump [pump P4, where the system indirectly performs air conditioning through low temperature core 404, Figure 1; 0034] communicating with the third valve port of the fourth three-way valve [via line 200, Figure 12], and another end of the evaporator assembly [cooling core 202, Figure 1; 0034] communicating with the third valve port of the seventh three-way valve [valve V5, Figure 6]; where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements, two valves and a water pump, as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have where another end of the passenger compartment heating water pump communicating with the third valve port of the fourth three-way valve, and another end of the evaporator assembly communicating with the third valve port of the seventh three-way valve in view of the teachings of Lee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving energy efficiency by independently and selectively cooling of the electronic control assembly by providing the electronic control branch a dedicated cooling branch [Lee; 0042].
It is noted that although the preamble of claim 11 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Conclusion
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763