DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 remain pending in the application and claim 4 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cate et al. US 20200043270 in view of Cate et al. US 20190249481.
Regarding claim 1, Cate et al. US 20200043270 teach An operator for a movable barrier, comprising: an actuator configured to actuate the movable barrier; (Cate et al. US 20200043270 abstract; paragraphs [0018]-[0023];[0032]- [0054]; [0061]-[0062]; [0072]-[0082]; [0085]; [0091]-[0103]; [0109]-[0117];; figures 1-12;)
The movable barrier operator 230 comprises an apparatus configured to actuate a movable barrier. The movable barrier operator 230 includes a processor 231 or logic circuitry, communication circuitry 232, a motor 233, and a memory 234. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator 230 may include one or more other components such as those described with reference to FIG. 1 herein. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator 230 may refer to a combination of a conventional movable barrier operator with a retrofit bridge that provides network capability to the movable barrier operator (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 49).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets a motor as an actuator.
and a processor configured to: receive a user credential, retrieve control device information of a control device associated with the user credential from a remote operator server,
The communication circuitry 212 generally comprises circuitry configured to connect the processor 211 to a network and exchange messages with user devices 220 and movable barrier operators 230. In some embodiments, the server computer 210 may be further configured to use the communication circuitry 212 to exchange access information with servers operated by third-party service providers such as home security services, smart home systems, parking space reservation services, hospitality services, package/parcel delivery services, and the like. In some embodiments, the communication circuitry 212 may comprise one or more of a network adapter, a network port or interface, a network modem, a router, a network security device, and the like (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 42). The user credential for accessing the user's account may take a variety of forms. In one embodiment, the user credential is a username and a password for the account. In another embodiment, the user credential is provided by the user's smartphone 837. For example, the user's smartphone 837 may include a digital token that is passed to the interface system 915 of the vehicle 850. The communication of the user credential from the smartphone 837 to the interface system 915 may be done automatically upon pairing the smartphone 837 and the interface system 915 or the user may be prompted to authorize the communication. In another embodiment, the user credential may be a device ID of the smartphone 837 which the interface system 915 of the vehicle 850 and/or the remote server 835 recognizes to be an authorized device associated with the user's account (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 109).
the control device information including a device ID associated with the control device and a variable ID established via an encryption code
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810 (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
determine, using the encryption code, a range of variable IDs associated with a next anticipated use of the control device, receive, via a signal receiver of the operator, a control signal from the control device, identify the device ID and the variable ID from the received control signal, and control the actuator in response to verifying the control signal by determining that (i) the device ID from the control signal matches the device ID from the remote operator server and (ii) the variable ID from the control signal is within the determined range of variable IDs.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810 (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94). The inputs of the remote controls 812 and the controllable devices 825 can be associated using the interface system 915 in a number of approaches. In one approach, after the user selects an input of a remote control 812 to associate with a controllable device 825, the interface system 915 sends to the remote server 835 the transmitter ID of the remote control 812, the input ID of the selected input, and, optionally, a current changing code (e.g., rolling code) of the remote control 812. The remote server 835 stores this remote control information and sends the remote control information to the controllable device 825. When the user is in proximity to the controllable device 825 and operates the remote control 812, the remote control 812 transmits a signal including the transmitter ID, the input ID, and a changing code. If the transmitter ID and input ID sent from the remote control 812 matches the expected transmitter ID and input ID received at the controllable device 825 from the remote server 835, the controllable device 825 actuates and stores the transmitter ID, input ID, and (optionally) the changing code in a memory of the controllable device 825. The controllable device 825 may also compare the changing code from the remote server and the changing code received from the remote control 812 to confirm the remote control 812 is authorized to operate the controllable device 825. The controllable device 825 reports actuation to the remote server 835, such as for reconciliation of use and fee-charging in a parking garage context. In another embodiment, to ensure the controllable device 825 utilizes the correct changing code algorithm, the controllable device 825 predicts an expected changing code and waits for the remote control 812 to send another signal containing a second changing code. The controllable device 825 will actuate and learn the remote control 812 if the second changing code matches the expected changing code (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 114).
Cate et al. US 20200043270 do not explicitly teach associated with a last recorded use of the control device in communication with an original operator different from the operator.
Cate et al. US 20190249481 teach associated with a last recorded use of the control device in communication with an original operator different from the operator, (Cate et al. US 20190249481 abstract; paragraphs [0035]-[0039]; [0048]-[0057]; [0059]-[0063]; figures 1-13)
Regarding FIG. 2, the system 40 may include one or more proxy devices 44 configured to facilitate the updating of the security protocol utilized by one or more of the movable barrier operator 16 and the remote controls 42. Each proxy device 44 may have a variety of forms such as a laptop computer, a personal computer, a tablet computer, a smartphone, or other computing device. The system 40 further includes a remote resource, such as a network entity 50, that may communicate with one or more of the moveable barrier operator 16, proxy device 44, and remote controls 42 via the network 52 (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 48). For the data structure 120 shown in FIG. 4, the three remote controls 42 each transmit their communication 100 at a frequency of 390 mHz and use the Security+ encryption technique. The data structure 120 also indicates that the movable barrier operator 16 utilizes a frequency of 390 MHz and the Security+ encryption technique to receive and decode the communication 100. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the remote controls 1-3 and movable barrier operator 16 are configured to communicate with each other since a common frequency and encryption technique are used. To this end, it can be appreciated that the data structure 120 facilitates reconciliation of which remote controls are configured to communicate or otherwise operate with which movable barrier operator and vice versa (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 54). The processor 158 of the movable barrier operator 16 may then update the data structure 120 each time the moveable barrier operator 16 receives an acknowledgement from one of the remote controls 42 indicating that the remote control 42 has updated to the second security protocol. As shown in FIG. 5, the moveable barrier operator 16 has received acknowledgment communications from the remote controls 42 and has updated the data structure 120 to reflect that the remote controls 42 now utilize the second security protocol e.g., a 315 MHz frequency and the Security+ 2.0 encryption technique. Once the moveable barrier operator 16 receives the acknowledgement from each one (or substantially all, or a majority, or a critical mass, or a predetermined quantity) of the remote controls 42, the moveable barrier operator 16 may then eliminate the compatibility of the moveable barrier operator 16 with the communications 100 that utilize the first security protocol from the remote control 42. The moveable barrier operator 16 may thereby not operate in response to receiving a communication 100 utilizing the first security protocol from a remote control 42 once the remote control 42 has been updated to the second security protocol (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 61).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the data structure show the last record of the remote control (control device) store the data like frequency and encryption data that actuated the moveable barrier operator. As show in the par. 61, the processor of the moveable barrier operator may update the data structure each time receives an acknowledgement from the remote control (remote device). Examiner interprets each of the new moveable barrier operator are also received the updated data structure 120 to reflect with the remote control (remote device).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Cate et al. US 20200043270 by apply the data structure that include the previous security protocol information and update security protocol information for transmitter (remote control) and movable barrier operator as taught by Cate et al. US 20190249481 reference in order for the data structure may reside in multiple instances (location or entities) including the movable barrier operator, proxy device and network entity (see par. 53-54).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The operator of Claim 1, wherein the device ID is a general device ID associated with control device and included in signals transmitted by the control device in response to any of a plurality of actuation buttons of the control device being activated.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and communication 840 as a signal activate by the button on the transmitter.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The operator of Claim 1, wherein the device ID is a button ID associated with one of a plurality of actuation buttons of the control device and included in signals transmitted by the control device in response to the one of a plurality of actuation buttons being activated.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and communication 840 as a signal activate by the button on the transmitter.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The operator of Claim 1, wherein the variable ID belonging to the control signal transmitted during the last recorded use of the control device and received by the original operator is transmitted by the original operator to the remote operator server.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810 (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device to actuate the moveable barrier operator via the last update data signal like communication 840 that include the device identification and encryption technique.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The operator of Claim 1, wherein the encryption code is a rolling code.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the encryption code is a rolling code because each time the transmitter communicate with the moveable barrier included an encrypted code that changing the rolling code each actuation of the input of the transmitter.
Regarding claim 8, Cate et al. US 20200043270 teach A system for providing access to a designated venue, comprising: a control device associated with an operator account of a user and configured to transmit control signals for actuating movable barriers; (Cate et al. US 20200043270 abstract; paragraphs [0018]-[0023];[0032]- [0054]; [0061]-[0062]; [0072]-[0082]; [0085]; [0087]; [0091]-[0103]; [0105]-[0117];; figures 1-12;)
The movable barrier operator (MBO) database 214 comprises a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing information associated with movable barrier operators 230 managed by the system 200. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may record network addresses and/or access credentials associated with a plurality of unique MBO identifiers. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may include an entry for each unique MBO identifier issued by a manufacturer/supplier. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may further track the operations and status of an MBO over time. In some embodiments, MBOs may be associated with a user account which can configure access authorizations to the MBO. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may store access condition information for one or more user accounts authorized to control the MBO. In some embodiments, access authorization may be conditioned upon location, date, time, etc. In some embodiments, the user account database 213 and the MBO database 214 may be combined as a single database or data structure (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 44). The movable barrier operator 230 comprises an apparatus configured to actuate a movable barrier. The movable barrier operator 230 includes a processor 231 or logic circuitry, communication circuitry 232, a motor 233, and a memory 234. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator 230 may include one or more other components such as those described with reference to FIG. 1 herein. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator 230 may refer to a combination of a conventional movable barrier operator with a retrofit bridge that provides network capability to the movable barrier operator (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 49). In operation 312, the system identifies the movable barrier operator to pair with the transmitter. In some embodiments, the user may enter a code or an identifier associated with a specific movable barrier operator. For example, a vacation home owner may provide a code or a digital file associated with the garage door opener of the property to a renter's user account such that the renter's transmitter may be paired with the garage door opener via the server prior to the renter's arrival. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator may be selected from a list of movable barrier operators previously associated with the user account. For example, when a user purchases a new transmitter, the user may obtain the transmitter unique identifier using the optical scanner 302 of the user device and select the user's garage door opener using the user interface of the user device. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator may comprise a wireless broadcast beacon 303 that transmits a code or identifier of the movable barrier operator. For example, when a renter arrives at a vacation home, the renter's user device may scan for a wireless beacon transmission to obtain an identifier associated with the garage door opener of the vacation home. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator identifier may be provided by a third-party service or application 304. For example, a vacation home or parking space rental website or application may automatically add the movable barrier operator identifier to the user account of the renter and/or communicate the movable barrier operator identifier to the transmitter pairing application running on the renter's user device. In some embodiments, the server may receive the movable barrier operator identifier directly from the third party access brokering service provider and match the movable barrier operator identifier to the user's pairing request based on one or more of a user account, a transaction ID, a transmitter ID, a session ID, and the like (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 61). See figures 1-2.
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets a user account can be pre-stored in the system and the system determine the account is authorize to control the garage opener when the result of comparison is matching with a prestored account. Also, examiner interprets a garage as a designated venue.
and a server associated with the control device and remote from the designated venue, wherein the server is configured to, in response to receiving a user credential and determining that the credential corresponds with the operator account of the user:
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94). s noted previously, the interface system 915 may be a component of the vehicle 850, may be a component of a portable electronic device such as smartphone 837, or may be another device. The account platform 1020 may receive account login information via the human-machine interface 945. The login information includes at least one user credential such as, for example, a username and password, biometric information, etc. Once the remote server 835 verifies the at least one user credential, the remote server 835 provides information to the interface system 915 regarding the controllable devices 825 associated with the user's account that are available to learn the transmitter 810. The interface system 915 also displays the transmitter 810 inputs that are available to be programmed and associated with one or more of the controllable devices 825 associated with the user's account. The platform 1020 allows a user to associate a button of a transmitter 810 with a controllable device 825 (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 109).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and the controllable device 825 as a garage opener.
determine control device information including a control device ID associated with the control device and a variable ID established via an encryption code
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810 (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
receive parking information associated with the user parking at the designated venue, and transmit the parking information and the control device ID information to a venue processor associated with the designated venue for the venue processor to use in operating a barrier system of the designated venue.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94). In one embodiment, the controllable device 825 is configured to delete the remote control information for the transmitter 810 from the whitelist of the controllable device 825 after the transmitter 810 has operated the controllable device 825 using the communication 840. For example, a user may purchase a one-time use of a parking spot of a parking lot/garage using a parking application running on the user's smartphone 837. A parking server 839 (see FIG. 8) associated with the parking application communicates with the remote server 835 and causes the remote server 835 to send the remote control information of the transmitter 810 to a controllable device 825 (e.g. such as a gate operator) of a parking garage that contains the parking spot. The remote server 835 may also communicate a number of entries permitted by the vehicle 850, such as one entry or ten entries, for example. Alternatively or additionally, the remote server 835 may communicate a parking time window/duration after which the user may incur additional charges or fees if the vehicle has not timely exited the parking garage. The gate operator adds the remote control information for the transmitter 810 to the whitelist of the gate operator. When the user pulls up to the gate operator and causes the transmitter 810 to transmit the communication 840, the gate operator recognizes the communication 840 and opens the gate. After the vehicle 850 has pulled into the parking garage, the gate operator erases the transmitter 810 from the whitelist if the number of entries indicated by the remote server 835 is one. If the number of entries is one, the remote control information may include the transmitter ID but not the variable component of the communication 840. This is because the gate operator need only identify the transmitter 810 for the single use and is not concerned with a subsequent roll of the variable component. If the number of entries is greater than one, the gate operator may locally monitor of the number of entries and delete the remote control information for the transmitter 810 upon the number of entries being reached. Alternatively, the remote server 835 and/or the gate operator may monitor the number of entries and the gate operator sends a communication to the gate operator after each time the transmitter 810 has operated the gate operator. In the parking garage or other access-limited applications, the user may program a particular input of the transmitter 810 to be the default input for movable barrier operators the user gains access to using the parking application (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 105).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and the controllable device 825 as a garage opener.
Cate et al. US 20200043270 do not explicitly teach associated with a last recorded use of the control device in communication with an original operator.
Cate et al. US 20190249481 teach associated with a last recorded use of the control device in communication with an original operator, (Cate et al. US 20190249481 abstract; paragraphs [0035]-[0039]; [0048]-[0057]; [0059]-[0063]; figures 1-13)
Regarding FIG. 2, the system 40 may include one or more proxy devices 44 configured to facilitate the updating of the security protocol utilized by one or more of the movable barrier operator 16 and the remote controls 42. Each proxy device 44 may have a variety of forms such as a laptop computer, a personal computer, a tablet computer, a smartphone, or other computing device. The system 40 further includes a remote resource, such as a network entity 50, that may communicate with one or more of the moveable barrier operator 16, proxy device 44, and remote controls 42 via the network 52 (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 48). For the data structure 120 shown in FIG. 4, the three remote controls 42 each transmit their communication 100 at a frequency of 390 mHz and use the Security+ encryption technique. The data structure 120 also indicates that the movable barrier operator 16 utilizes a frequency of 390 MHz and the Security+ encryption technique to receive and decode the communication 100. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the remote controls 1-3 and movable barrier operator 16 are configured to communicate with each other since a common frequency and encryption technique are used. To this end, it can be appreciated that the data structure 120 facilitates reconciliation of which remote controls are configured to communicate or otherwise operate with which movable barrier operator and vice versa (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 54). The processor 158 of the movable barrier operator 16 may then update the data structure 120 each time the moveable barrier operator 16 receives an acknowledgement from one of the remote controls 42 indicating that the remote control 42 has updated to the second security protocol. As shown in FIG. 5, the moveable barrier operator 16 has received acknowledgment communications from the remote controls 42 and has updated the data structure 120 to reflect that the remote controls 42 now utilize the second security protocol e.g., a 315 MHz frequency and the Security+ 2.0 encryption technique. Once the moveable barrier operator 16 receives the acknowledgement from each one (or substantially all, or a majority, or a critical mass, or a predetermined quantity) of the remote controls 42, the moveable barrier operator 16 may then eliminate the compatibility of the moveable barrier operator 16 with the communications 100 that utilize the first security protocol from the remote control 42. The moveable barrier operator 16 may thereby not operate in response to receiving a communication 100 utilizing the first security protocol from a remote control 42 once the remote control 42 has been updated to the second security protocol (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 61).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the data structure show the last record of the remote control (control device) store the data like frequency and encryption data that actuated the moveable barrier operator. As show in the par. 61, the processor of the moveable barrier operator may update the data structure each time receives an acknowledgement from the remote control (remote device). Examiner interprets each of the new moveable barrier operator are also received the updated data structure 120 to reflect with the remote control (remote device).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Cate et al. US 20200043270 by apply the data structure that include the previous security protocol information and update security protocol information for transmitter (remote control) and movable barrier operator as taught by Cate et al. US 20190249481 reference in order for the data structure may reside in multiple instances (location or entities) including the movable barrier operator, proxy device and network entity (see par. 53-54).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 8, wherein the control device ID comprises a temporary wireless protocol ID created by the server.
The operations in FIGS. 3-7 are provided as example processes according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, one or more operations in FIGS. 3-7 may be omitted, combined, or modified without departing from the spirit of the present disclosure. For example, the transmitter identifier and/or the hashed version of a fixed code may be obtained by the server through one or more ways described herein. The operator identifier may also be supplied from various sources including the user device, a movable barrier operator owner, and/or a third-party service. In some embodiments, enforcement of access conditions may be performed by the server, the movable barrier operator, and/or a third-party service communicating with the movable barrier operator. In some embodiments, the systems and methods described herein allow a network-enabled movable barrier operator to be operated by a new transmitter through the use of a hashed version of the transmitter fixed code to avoid transmitting the transmitter fixed code over the network. In some embodiments, the operator includes a learn table and a more temporary hash table (or two learn tables) that separately store codes associated with transmitters with permanent access and conditional access. In some embodiments, the hash table and the learn table may be collectively referred to as a dynamic learn table. In some embodiments, the learn table may be dynamically managed by the movable barrier operator and/or the server to enforce access conditions for a plurality of transmitters. In some embodiments, the user device may be used to program a transmitter to transmit a fixed code supplied by the server. For example, the server may generate a fixed code, send the fixed code to the user device which provides the fixed code to the transmitter, and/or send the fixed code or hashed version of the fixed code to the movable barrier operator such that the movable barrier operator can recognize the transmitter as an authorized transmitter (Cate et al. . US 20200043270 par. 87). The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter as the control device and the code for conditional access as the temporary code or temporary protocol ID generated by the server for temporary access like mention in par. 87, 94 and 105.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 9, wherein: the server is communicatively coupled with the control device; and the server is further configured to transmit the temporary wireless protocol ID to the control device.
In one embodiment, the controllable device 825 is configured to delete the remote control information for the transmitter 810 from the whitelist of the controllable device 825 after the transmitter 810 has operated the controllable device 825 using the communication 840. For example, a user may purchase a one-time use of a parking spot of a parking lot/garage using a parking application running on the user's smartphone 837. A parking server 839 (see FIG. 8) associated with the parking application communicates with the remote server 835 and causes the remote server 835 to send the remote control information of the transmitter 810 to a controllable device 825 (e.g. such as a gate operator) of a parking garage that contains the parking spot. The remote server 835 may also communicate a number of entries permitted by the vehicle 850, such as one entry or ten entries, for example. Alternatively or additionally, the remote server 835 may communicate a parking time window/duration after which the user may incur additional charges or fees if the vehicle has not timely exited the parking garage. The gate operator adds the remote control information for the transmitter 810 to the whitelist of the gate operator. When the user pulls up to the gate operator and causes the transmitter 810 to transmit the communication 840, the gate operator recognizes the communication 840 and opens the gate (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 105).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 8, wherein the control device ID is a general device ID associated with the control device and included in signals transmitted by the control device in response to any of a plurality of actuation buttons of the control device being activated.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and communication 840 as a signal activate by the button on the transmitter.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 8, wherein the control device ID is a button ID associated with one of a plurality of actuation buttons of the control device and included in signals transmitted by the control device in response to the one of a plurality of actuation buttons being activated.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and communication 840 as a signal activate by the button on the transmitter.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 8, wherein the parking information comprises timeframe information associated with the user's expected arrival at the designated venue.
The user account database 213 comprises a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing user account information. Each user account record may comprise a user account identifier, log-in credential (e.g. password), associated movable barrier operator identifier(s), and/or associated transmitter(s). In some embodiments, the user account database may further store other user information such as email, phone number, physical address, associated internet protocol (IP) address, verified user devices, account preferences, linked third-party service (e.g. home security service, smart home system, parking space reservation service) accounts, and the like. In some embodiments, the user accounts database 213 may further store one or more transmitter identifiers including transmitter fixed code(s), hash(es) of the fixed code(s), and transmitter globally unique identifiers (TXGUIDs) associated with the user account. Hashing functions that may be utilized include MD5 and Secure Hashing Algorithms (e.g., SHA-1, SHA-2, SHA-256). As used herein, a transmitter code may refer to, for example, a transmitter fixed code and/or a hashed version of a transmitter fixed code. In some embodiments, user accounts database 213 may further comprise access conditions specifying the conditions (e.g. date, time) that the user or another user (e.g. visitor or guest) may be authorized to actuate a particular movable barrier operator. In some embodiments, the access conditions may be defined by a user account associated with the movable barrier operator and/or by a third-party access brokering service provider (e.g. parking space rental service, home-sharing service, etc.). In some embodiments, access conditions may comprise a number of uses restriction (e.g. singe use, once to enter and once to exit, etc.) and an access time restriction (e.g. next three days, Fridays before 10 am, etc.) (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 43).
Regarding claim 14, Cate et al. US 20200043270 teach A system for providing access to a designated venue, comprising: a venue processor configured to: receive a user credential via a user interface operatively coupled with the venue processor, (Cate et al. US 20200043270 abstract; paragraphs [0018]-[0023];[0032]- [0054]; [0061]-[0062]; [0072]-[0082]; [0085]; [0087]; [0091]-[0103]; [0105]-[0117];; figures 1-12;)
The movable barrier operator (MBO) database 214 comprises a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing information associated with movable barrier operators 230 managed by the system 200. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may record network addresses and/or access credentials associated with a plurality of unique MBO identifiers. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may include an entry for each unique MBO identifier issued by a manufacturer/supplier. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may further track the operations and status of an MBO over time. In some embodiments, MBOs may be associated with a user account which can configure access authorizations to the MBO. In some embodiments, the MBO database 214 may store access condition information for one or more user accounts authorized to control the MBO. In some embodiments, access authorization may be conditioned upon location, date, time, etc. In some embodiments, the user account database 213 and the MBO database 214 may be combined as a single database or data structure (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 44). The movable barrier operator 230 comprises an apparatus configured to actuate a movable barrier. The movable barrier operator 230 includes a processor 231 or logic circuitry, communication circuitry 232, a motor 233, and a memory 234. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator 230 may include one or more other components such as those described with reference to FIG. 1 herein. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator 230 may refer to a combination of a conventional movable barrier operator with a retrofit bridge that provides network capability to the movable barrier operator (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 49). In operation 312, the system identifies the movable barrier operator to pair with the transmitter. In some embodiments, the user may enter a code or an identifier associated with a specific movable barrier operator. For example, a vacation home owner may provide a code or a digital file associated with the garage door opener of the property to a renter's user account such that the renter's transmitter may be paired with the garage door opener via the server prior to the renter's arrival. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator may be selected from a list of movable barrier operators previously associated with the user account. For example, when a user purchases a new transmitter, the user may obtain the transmitter unique identifier using the optical scanner 302 of the user device and select the user's garage door opener using the user interface of the user device. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator may comprise a wireless broadcast beacon 303 that transmits a code or identifier of the movable barrier operator. For example, when a renter arrives at a vacation home, the renter's user device may scan for a wireless beacon transmission to obtain an identifier associated with the garage door opener of the vacation home. In some embodiments, the movable barrier operator identifier may be provided by a third-party service or application 304. For example, a vacation home or parking space rental website or application may automatically add the movable barrier operator identifier to the user account of the renter and/or communicate the movable barrier operator identifier to the transmitter pairing application running on the renter's user device. In some embodiments, the server may receive the movable barrier operator identifier directly from the third party access brokering service provider and match the movable barrier operator identifier to the user's pairing request based on one or more of a user account, a transaction ID, a transmitter ID, a session ID, and the like (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 61). See figures 1-2.
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets a user account can be pre-stored in the system and the system determine the account is authorize to control the garage opener when the result of comparison is matching with a prestored account. Also, examiner interprets a garage as a designated venue and processor 231 in the figure 2 as the venue processor.
control device information including a control device ID associated with a control device registered to the movable barrier operator account and a variable ID established via an encryption code
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810 (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
the user credential associated with a movable barrier operator account of the user, retrieve, from a movable barrier operator server using the user credential, receive a control signal from the control device via a signal receiver coupled to the venue processor, identify the control device ID from the control signal, and actuate a venue movable barrier of the designated venue to grant a user entry to the designated venue in response to determining that the control device ID from the control signal matches the control device ID retrieved from the movable barrier operator server.
If the fixed code is not associated with a known transmitter in the learn table 504, at operation 514, the movable barrier operator calculates a hash of the received fixed code and determines whether the calculated hash of the received fixed code matches a hashed version of a fixed code in the hash table 503. If the hash table 503, the process hashed version the fixed code received from the transmitter does not match any record in the terminates in operation 520 and the operator does not respond to the state change request (Cate et al. par. 75). If the hashed version of the received fixed code matches an entry in the hash table 503 at operation 514, the process 500 proceeds to operations 515 and/or 516. In some embodiments, the operator may also determine whether the access conditions (e.g. time of day, number of entries/exits) associated with the matching hashed version of a fixed code has been met before proceeding to operation 515 and/or operation 516. In some embodiments, the entries in the hash table 503 may be added or deleted by the server to enforce access conditions. In some embodiments, after finding a match in the hash table 503 the movable barrier operator updates the learn table in operation 516 by adding the received fixed code to the learn table to allow the transmitter to control the movable barrier operator in the future (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 76). The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94). s noted previously, the interface system 915 may be a component of the vehicle 850, may be a component of a portable electronic device such as smartphone 837, or may be another device. The account platform 1020 may receive account login information via the human-machine interface 945. The login information includes at least one user credential such as, for example, a username and password, biometric information, etc. Once the remote server 835 verifies the at least one user credential, the remote server 835 provides information to the interface system 915 regarding the controllable devices 825 associated with the user's account that are available to learn the transmitter 810. The interface system 915 also displays the transmitter 810 inputs that are available to be programmed and associated with one or more of the controllable devices 825 associated with the user's account. The platform 1020 allows a user to associate a button of a transmitter 810 with a controllable device 825 (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 109).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and the controllable device 825 as a garage opener. The system authorize the transmitter to control the movable barrier operator or garage opener only when the code is matching like mention above.
Cate et al. US 20200043270 do not explicitly teach associated with a last recorded use of the control device in communication with an original operator.
Cate et al. US 20190249481 teach associated with a last recorded use of the control device in communication with an original operator, (Cate et al. US 20190249481 abstract; paragraphs [0035]-[0039]; [0048]-[0057]; [0059]-[0063]; figures 1-13)
Regarding FIG. 2, the system 40 may include one or more proxy devices 44 configured to facilitate the updating of the security protocol utilized by one or more of the movable barrier operator 16 and the remote controls 42. Each proxy device 44 may have a variety of forms such as a laptop computer, a personal computer, a tablet computer, a smartphone, or other computing device. The system 40 further includes a remote resource, such as a network entity 50, that may communicate with one or more of the moveable barrier operator 16, proxy device 44, and remote controls 42 via the network 52 (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 48). For the data structure 120 shown in FIG. 4, the three remote controls 42 each transmit their communication 100 at a frequency of 390 mHz and use the Security+ encryption technique. The data structure 120 also indicates that the movable barrier operator 16 utilizes a frequency of 390 MHz and the Security+ encryption technique to receive and decode the communication 100. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the remote controls 1-3 and movable barrier operator 16 are configured to communicate with each other since a common frequency and encryption technique are used. To this end, it can be appreciated that the data structure 120 facilitates reconciliation of which remote controls are configured to communicate or otherwise operate with which movable barrier operator and vice versa (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 54). The processor 158 of the movable barrier operator 16 may then update the data structure 120 each time the moveable barrier operator 16 receives an acknowledgement from one of the remote controls 42 indicating that the remote control 42 has updated to the second security protocol. As shown in FIG. 5, the moveable barrier operator 16 has received acknowledgment communications from the remote controls 42 and has updated the data structure 120 to reflect that the remote controls 42 now utilize the second security protocol e.g., a 315 MHz frequency and the Security+ 2.0 encryption technique. Once the moveable barrier operator 16 receives the acknowledgement from each one (or substantially all, or a majority, or a critical mass, or a predetermined quantity) of the remote controls 42, the moveable barrier operator 16 may then eliminate the compatibility of the moveable barrier operator 16 with the communications 100 that utilize the first security protocol from the remote control 42. The moveable barrier operator 16 may thereby not operate in response to receiving a communication 100 utilizing the first security protocol from a remote control 42 once the remote control 42 has been updated to the second security protocol (Cate et al. US 20190249481 par. 61).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the data structure show the last record of the remote control (control device) store the data like frequency and encryption data that actuated the moveable barrier operator. As show in the par. 61, the processor of the moveable barrier operator may update the data structure each time receives an acknowledgement from the remote control (remote device). Examiner interprets each of the new moveable barrier operator are also received the updated data structure 120 to reflect with the remote control (remote device).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Cate et al. US 20200043270 by apply the data structure that include the previous security protocol information and update security protocol information for transmitter (remote control) and movable barrier operator as taught by Cate et al. US 20190249481 reference in order for the data structure may reside in multiple instances (location or entities) including the movable barrier operator, proxy device and network entity (see par. 53-54).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 14, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive timeframe information associated with the user's expected arrival at the designated venue.
The user account database 213 comprises a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing user account information. Each user account record may comprise a user account identifier, log-in credential (e.g. password), associated movable barrier operator identifier(s), and/or associated transmitter(s). In some embodiments, the user account database may further store other user information such as email, phone number, physical address, associated internet protocol (IP) address, verified user devices, account preferences, linked third-party service (e.g. home security service, smart home system, parking space reservation service) accounts, and the like. In some embodiments, the user accounts database 213 may further store one or more transmitter identifiers including transmitter fixed code(s), hash(es) of the fixed code(s), and transmitter globally unique identifiers (TXGUIDs) associated with the user account. Hashing functions that may be utilized include MD5 and Secure Hashing Algorithms (e.g., SHA-1, SHA-2, SHA-256). As used herein, a transmitter code may refer to, for example, a transmitter fixed code and/or a hashed version of a transmitter fixed code. In some embodiments, user accounts database 213 may further comprise access conditions specifying the conditions (e.g. date, time) that the user or another user (e.g. visitor or guest) may be authorized to actuate a particular movable barrier operator. In some embodiments, the access conditions may be defined by a user account associated with the movable barrier operator and/or by a third-party access brokering service provider (e.g. parking space rental service, home-sharing service, etc.). In some embodiments, access conditions may comprise a number of uses restriction (e.g. singe use, once to enter and once to exit, etc.) and an access time restriction (e.g. next three days, Fridays before 10 am, etc.) (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 43).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 15, wherein the venue processor is further configured to: in response to determining that the control device ID from the control signal matches the control device ID retrieved from the movable barrier operator sever and that the control signal is received by the signal receiver within a at a time within the timeframe information, actuate the venue movable barrier to grant the user entry to the venue,
If the hashed version of the received fixed code matches an entry in the hash table 503 at operation 514, the process 500 proceeds to operations 515 and/or 516. In some embodiments, the operator may also determine whether the access conditions (e.g. time of day, number of entries/exits) associated with the matching hashed version of a fixed code has been met before proceeding to operation 515 and/or operation 516. In some embodiments, the entries in the hash table 503 may be added or deleted by the server to enforce access conditions (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 76). For example, a user may purchase a one-time use of a parking spot of a parking lot/garage using a parking application running on the user's smartphone 837. A parking server 839 (see FIG. 8) associated with the parking application communicates with the remote server 835 and causes the remote server 835 to send the remote control information of the transmitter 810 to a controllable device 825 (e.g. such as a gate operator) of a parking garage that contains the parking spot. The remote server 835 may also communicate a number of entries permitted by the vehicle 850, such as one entry or ten entries, for example. Alternatively or additionally, the remote server 835 may communicate a parking time window/duration after which the user may incur additional charges or fees if the vehicle has not timely exited the parking garage. The gate operator adds the remote control information for the transmitter 810 to the whitelist of the gate operator. When the user pulls up to the gate operator and causes the transmitter 810 to transmit the communication 840, the gate operator recognizes the communication 840 and opens the gate (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 105).
and in response to determining that the control signal is received by the signal receiver at a time outside of the timeframe information, ignore the control signal to deny the user entry to the designated venue.
After the vehicle 850 has pulled into the parking garage, the gate operator erases the transmitter 810 from the whitelist if the number of entries indicated by the remote server 835 is one. If the number of entries is one, the remote control information may include the transmitter ID but not the variable component of the communication 840. This is because the gate operator need only identify the transmitter 810 for the single use and is not concerned with a subsequent roll of the variable component. If the number of entries is greater than one, the gate operator may locally monitor of the number of entries and delete the remote control information for the transmitter 810 upon the number of entries being reached (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 105).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the gate operator deny the user to access the parking after the transmitter ID reach outside of the authorization time.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 14, wherein the control device ID comprises a temporary wireless protocol ID created by the movable barrier operator server.
The operations in FIGS. 3-7 are provided as example processes according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, one or more operations in FIGS. 3-7 may be omitted, combined, or modified without departing from the spirit of the present disclosure. For example, the transmitter identifier and/or the hashed version of a fixed code may be obtained by the server through one or more ways described herein. The operator identifier may also be supplied from various sources including the user device, a movable barrier operator owner, and/or a third-party service. In some embodiments, enforcement of access conditions may be performed by the server, the movable barrier operator, and/or a third-party service communicating with the movable barrier operator. In some embodiments, the systems and methods described herein allow a network-enabled movable barrier operator to be operated by a new transmitter through the use of a hashed version of the transmitter fixed code to avoid transmitting the transmitter fixed code over the network. In some embodiments, the operator includes a learn table and a more temporary hash table (or two learn tables) that separately store codes associated with transmitters with permanent access and conditional access. In some embodiments, the hash table and the learn table may be collectively referred to as a dynamic learn table. In some embodiments, the learn table may be dynamically managed by the movable barrier operator and/or the server to enforce access conditions for a plurality of transmitters. In some embodiments, the user device may be used to program a transmitter to transmit a fixed code supplied by the server. For example, the server may generate a fixed code, send the fixed code to the user device which provides the fixed code to the transmitter, and/or send the fixed code or hashed version of the fixed code to the movable barrier operator such that the movable barrier operator can recognize the transmitter as an authorized transmitter (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 87). The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter as the control device and the code for conditional access as the temporary code or temporary protocol ID generated by the server for temporary access like mention in par. 87, 94 and 105.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 17, wherein the temporary wireless protocol ID created by the movable barrier operator sever is transmitted to the control device for the control device to incorporate in the control signal transmitted to the signal receiver coupled with the venue processor.
The operations in FIGS. 3-7 are provided as example processes according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, one or more operations in FIGS. 3-7 may be omitted, combined, or modified without departing from the spirit of the present disclosure. For example, the transmitter identifier and/or the hashed version of a fixed code may be obtained by the server through one or more ways described herein. The operator identifier may also be supplied from various sources including the user device, a movable barrier operator owner, and/or a third-party service. In some embodiments, enforcement of access conditions may be performed by the server, the movable barrier operator, and/or a third-party service communicating with the movable barrier operator. In some embodiments, the systems and methods described herein allow a network-enabled movable barrier operator to be operated by a new transmitter through the use of a hashed version of the transmitter fixed code to avoid transmitting the transmitter fixed code over the network. In some embodiments, the operator includes a learn table and a more temporary hash table (or two learn tables) that separately store codes associated with transmitters with permanent access and conditional access. In some embodiments, the hash table and the learn table may be collectively referred to as a dynamic learn table. In some embodiments, the learn table may be dynamically managed by the movable barrier operator and/or the server to enforce access conditions for a plurality of transmitters. In some embodiments, the user device may be used to program a transmitter to transmit a fixed code supplied by the server. For example, the server may generate a fixed code, send the fixed code to the user device which provides the fixed code to the transmitter, and/or send the fixed code or hashed version of the fixed code to the movable barrier operator such that the movable barrier operator can recognize the transmitter as an authorized transmitter (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 87). The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94). See figure 2
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter as the control device and the code for conditional access as the temporary code or temporary protocol ID generated by the server for temporary access like mention in par. 87, 94 and 105.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 14, wherein the control device ID is a general device ID associated with the control device and included in signals transmitted by the control device in response to any of a plurality of actuation buttons of the control device being activated.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and communication 840 as a signal activate by the button on the transmitter.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 disclose The system of Claim 14, wherein the control device ID is a button ID associated with one of a plurality of actuation buttons of the control device and included in signals transmitted by the control device in response to the one of a plurality of actuation buttons being activated.
The transmitter 810 controls operation of the movable barrier operator 830 by sending a communication 840 to the movable barrier operator 830. The communication 840 may be communicated wirelessly via radio frequency (RF) signals in the 300 MHz to 900 MHz range. The communication 840 may include a fixed portion and a variable or changing (e.g., rolling code) portion. The fixed portion may include information identifying the transmitter 810 such as a unique transmitter identification (ID) and an input ID. If an input ID is used, the input ID may identify which button on the transmitter 810 causes the transmitter to send the particular communication 840. The transmitter IDs are fixed codes that are unique to each transmitter device 810. The variable portion of the communication 840 includes an encrypted code that changes, e.g., rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter 810. As another example, the communication 840 may include a message communicated via cellular, Wi-Fi, WiMax, LoRa WAN, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Near Field Communication (NFC) or other approaches (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 94).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the transmitter 810 as the control device and communication 840 as a signal activate by the button on the transmitter.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cate et al. US 20200043270 in view of Cate et al. US 20190249481 and further in view of Tsui et al. US 20120139698.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 teach The operator of Claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: store the determined range of variable IDs in a memory of the operator for refence in verifying the control signal; in response to determining that the variable ID from the control signal is outside of the range of the variable IDs, provide feedback indicating the variable ID does not meet stored requirements;
In operation 512, the movable barrier operator receives a state change request from a transmitter 502. The state change request may comprise an RF signal comprising a fixed code and/or a rolling code. In operation 513, the operator determines whether the fixed code and/or rolling code transmitted by the transmitter 502 is in the learn table 504. The learn table 504 generally stores the fixed and/or rolling code of a transmitter already paired with the movable barrier operator. If the fixed code and/or the rolling code matches a known transmitter, in operation 515, the operator actuates the movable barrier to cause a state change of the movable barrier (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 74). If the fixed code is not associated with a known transmitter in the learn table 504, at operation 514, the movable barrier operator calculates a hash of the received fixed code and determines whether the calculated hash of the received fixed code matches a hashed version of a fixed code in the hash table 503. If the hashed version the fixed code received from the transmitter does not match any record in the hash table 503, the process terminates in operation 520 and the operator does not respond to the state change request (Cate et al. US 20200043270 par. 75).
The combination of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 do not explicitly teach in response to the variable ID from the control signal being within the range of the variable IDs, create a new range of variable IDs using the variable ID, wherein the new range of variable IDs narrower than the range of variable IDs.
Tsui et al. teach in response to the variable ID from the control signal being within the range of the variable IDs, create a new range of variable IDs using the variable ID, wherein the new range of variable IDs narrower than the range of variable IDs. (Tsui et al. US 20120139698 abstract; paragraphs [0020]-[0032]; figures 1-6;)
When the password mode is enabled, the microprocessor will expect the user to continue to enter a password at step 305. This can be done by entering a password with the function buttons 201, 203, 205 on the remote control. For example, if a password is 4 digits long and is "1231", the user will need to press function buttons 201, 203, 205 consecutively in the following order: button 201 corresponding to digit "1", button 203 corresponding to digit "2", button 205 corresponding to digit "3", and again button 201 corresponding to digit "1". Passwords can be stored in the memory device 213 (FIG. 2). The microprocessor next verifies that the user entered password is correct by comparing it against the password stored in the memory storage device (step 307). If the entered password is correct, the microprocessor proceeds to step 309 so a user can press a function button to send a corresponding signal with predefined function. At step 309, a user presses a function button, which is detected by the microprocessor. In response, the microprocessor causes a corresponding control signal to be sent (step 311) by the signal transmission circuitry 209. After signal transmission, the remote control goes back to sleep mode at step 313, and wait for the next activation. If the entered password is incorrect, the microprocessor will quit immediately and return to sleep mode (Tsui et al. par. 26). As indicated earlier, each function button 201, 203, 205 can be assigned to a digit. The corresponding digit is entered each time a function button is pressed. A password therefore corresponds to a sequence of pressing of these function buttons. A password may be required to meet certain pre-defined criteria. For example, a password can have several digits, usually within a pre-defined range, for instance, maximum 6 digits and minimum 2 digits. If the entered password has more digits than the pre-defined maximum length, such as 6 digits, the microprocessor 207 at step 419 will not accept such entry and it will quit from password programming mode. If the entered password has less than 2 digits, in this case, only one digit, the entered password also will not be saved as a new password. In addition, the microprocessor can be programmed to treat a single digit entry in password programming mode as a command, as will be described in detail below. If the new password meets all requirements, it will be stored in the memory storage device 213 at step 421. Once saved, the new password must be entered correctly by a user next time at step 305 before the remote control device will accept further user input (step 309) as described earlier (Tsui et al. par. 28).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the ID/password range from 2 digits to 6 digits maximum. As show in the par. 28 the system will not save the ID/password when it’s outside the range like greater than 6 digits and smaller than 2 digits. The new ID/password will be save if the range is less than the maximum range is 6 digits.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 by apply password mode as taught by Tsui et al. reference in order for the user to be aware whether the new password is met the requirement to be stored.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that arts of record Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 failed to teach or suggest “a variable ID established via an encryption code and associated with a last recorded user of the control device in communication with an original operator different from the operator” as cited in the independent claims 1, 8 and 14.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagree with applicant and examiner respectfully summit that that arts of record Cate et al. US 20200043270 and Cate et al. US 20190249481 do teach or suggest “a variable ID established via an encryption code and associated with a last recorded user of the control device in communication with an original operator different from the operator” as cited in the independent claims 1, 8 and 14 as follow:
Paragraph 94 of Cate et al. US 20200043270 reference teach the encrypted code that changes, e.g. rolls, with each actuation of the input of the transmitter (control device).
Paragraphs 48, 50, 53-54 and 61 and figures 1-2 and 4-5 of Cate et al. US 20190249481 reference teach the data structure with the remote control information, movable barrier operator information and encryption security information in the figure 4 and 5. Paragraph 50 teach the remote control may implement various encryption techniques like a rolling code technique, where the variable portion changes with each manipulation of the remote control. Therefore, the data structure information can be change and update like mention in the paragraphs 52-56. According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the data structure show the last record of the remote control (control device) store the data like frequency and encryption data that actuated the moveable barrier operator. As show in the par. 61, the processor of the moveable barrier operator may update the data structure each time receives an acknowledgement from the remote control (remote device). Examiner interprets each of the new moveable barrier operator are also received the updated data structure 120 to reflect with the remote control (remote device).
Since arts of record still read on the claim invention, therefore, the rejection is maintained. Please see the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686