DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshigahara (U.S. Patent 6,476,812).
As to claim 1, Yoshigahara discloses an information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out:
a spatial information obtaining process of obtaining spatial information that includes information related to a virtual three-dimensional space and related to an object present in the three-dimensional space (fig. 15; col. 10, line 11-col. 11, line 50; information regarding a virtual 3D space and spatial position of an object within it is obtained and evaluated); and
a position determination process of determining a position of the object present in the three-dimensional space with reference to the spatial information with use of a plurality of planes, the plurality of planes being normal to respective axes that are independent of each other in the three-dimensional space and being defined to traverse an entirety of the three-dimensional space (fig. 10; col. 10, line 11-col. 11, line 50; it is determined where an object is present based on cells defined by positions relative to x, y, and z axes; the cells would be bordered by planes normal to each axis).
As to claim 2, Yoshigahara discloses in the position determination process, the at least one processor determines a positional relationship between the object and a plane of the plurality of planes defined to traverse the entirety of the three-dimensional space, to determine the position of the object with respect to the normal of the plane (fig. 10; col. 10, line 11-col. 11, line 50; it is determined where an object is present based on cells defined by positions relative to x, y, and z axes; as an example, fig. 10 shows a determined position of the object on a plane parallel to the x, y axis, which would thus be perpendicular/normal to the z axis or a plane defined by it).
As to claim 6, Yoshigahara discloses wherein the at least one processor further carries out an output process of outputting the position determined in the position determination process (col. 10, lines 12-32; the map indicating object position is output to a collision detection system).
As to claim 7, Yoshigahara discloses wherein the at least one processor further carries out an assignment process of assigning, to each of a plurality of spaces defined by the plurality of planes, identification information for distinguishing the space from others (col. 12, lines 23-60; cells are identified and labeled 1, 2, 3, etc. up to an integer I).
As to claim 8, Yoshigahara discloses wherein the at least one processor further carries out a conversion process of converting the position of the object to the identification information, with reference to sensor information outputted from a sensor that detects the object in a real space (fig. 19; col. 10, line 49-col. 11, line 26; col. 17, lines 30-64; 3D reference coordinate information for the object from the sensor is quantized/converted to box cell identification numbers).
As to claim 9, see the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 10, see the rejection to claim 1. Further, Yoshigahara discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as an information processing apparatus (col. 20, lines 20-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshigahara in view of Watanabe (U.S. Publication 2022/0207883).
As to claim 3, Yoshigahara does not disclose, but Watanabe discloses, wherein the at least one processor further carries out a thinning process of reducing a frequency of a process of determining the position of the object in the position determination process, with reference to the spatial information (p. 13, sections 0250-0252; depending on spatial change information for an object or objects, frequency of position determinations are reduced/thinned; for example, a number of spatially constant/stationary objects can result in reduced/thinned update frequency). Motivation for this is to not update more than necessary. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshigahara to carry out a thinning process of reducing a frequency of a process of determining the position of the object in the position determination process, with reference to the spatial information in order to not update more than necessary as taught by Watanabe.
As to claim 4, Yoshigahara does not disclose, but Watanabe discloses, wherein in the thinning process, the at least one processor increases a time interval between runs of the process of determining the position in the position determination process so as to make the time interval longer than a predetermined time interval (p. 13, sections 0250-0252; frequency of position determination is lowered to less than a usual frequency, which would be pre-existing/predetermined; lower frequency corresponds to longer time intervals). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 5, Yoshigahara discloses, wherein, with regard to the object the position of which is determined, if the at least one processor determines, in the position determination process, a position of the object again, the at least one processor causes the position of the object to be determined in the position determination process with use of a plane which is included in a predetermined area defined with respect to the previously determined position (fig. 10; col. 7, lines 23-62; col. 9, lines 23-31; col. 10, line 11-col. 11, line 50; it is determined where an object is present based on cells defined by positions relative to x, y, and z axes; the cells would be bordered by planes normal to each axis; the detection can be limited to a particular block area and defined by points a predetermined distance from a previous detection). Yoshigahara does not disclose, but Watanabe discloses after elapse of a predetermined period of time, the at least one processor causes, in the thinning process, the position of the object to be determined in the position determination process (p. 13, sections 0250-0252; frequency of position determination is lowered/thinned to less than a usual frequency, which would be pre-existing/predetermined; after the time interval corresponding to the lowered frequency is met, updated map information including the position of the object in the map is determined). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 3.
Conclusion
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617