DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a Continuation of PCT/JP2023/038193 filed on October 23, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted November 25, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: "an auxiliary connecter being installed..." should read "connector.". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recites: "both side end portions": The term "both side end portions" is indefinite and ambiguous. It is unclear whether "side" refers to the longitudinal side edges (e.g., along the length/width border) or the longitudinal terminal ends (opposite axial ends) of the linear flexible printed circuit (FPC).
Antecedent Basis / Functional Boundary ("external connector"): Claim 1 recites "each of the plurality of connectors has a structure of being engaged with an external connector attached to an external electric wire." Reciting functional compatibility with an unclaimed external element creates ambiguity as to whether the "external connector" and "external electric wire" are structural limitations required by Claim 1 or merely intended use/environment.
The term "both side end portions" also lacks is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The examiner will interpret the claim 1 to read “A trunk line of a wire harness, comprising: a flexible printed circuit having a linear shape and two lateral side end portions; and a plurality of connectors, one or more of the plurality of connectors being installed at both lateral side end portions of the flexible printed circuit, wherein each of the plurality of connectors are connected to an external connector that is attached to an external electric wire.”
The examiner will interpret the claim 3 to read “A wire harness, comprising: a trunk line; and a plurality of branch lines being electrically connected to the trunk line, wherein the trunk line includes a flexible printed circuit having a linear shape and two lateral side end portions; and a plurality of connectors, one or more of the plurality of connectors being installed at both lateral side end portions of the flexible printed circuit, wherein each of the plurality of connectors are connected to an external connector that is attached to an external electric wire, and each of the plurality of branch lines is configured by the electric wire including one lateral end portion to which the external connector is engaged with the connector of the trunk line is attached.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terunuma (JP 2003/180018).
In regards to claim 1, Terunuma teaches a trunk line of a wire harness (see figure 7), comprising: a flexible printed circuit (33) having a linear shape (see figure 7) and two lateral side end portions (top and bottom sides of (33) see figure 7); and a plurality of connectors (39, a, b, c), one or more of the plurality of connectors (39, a, b, c) being installed at both lateral side end portions (top and bottom sides of (33) see figure 7) of the flexible printed circuit (33), wherein each of the plurality of connectors (39, a, b, c) are connected to an external connector (20a) that is attached to an external electric wire (30’).
In regards to claim 3, Terunuma a teaches a wire harness (see figure 7), comprising: a trunk line (33); and a plurality of branch lines (34) being electrically connected to the trunk line (33) wherein the trunk line includes a flexible printed circuit (33) having a linear shape and two lateral side end portions (top and bottom sides of (33) see figure 7); and a plurality of connectors (39, a, b, c), one or more of the plurality of connectors (39, a, b, c) being installed at both lateral side end portions (top and bottom sides of (33) see figure 7) of the flexible printed circuit (33), wherein each of the plurality of connectors (39, a, b, c) are connected to an external connector (20a) that is attached to an external electric wire (30’), and each of the plurality of branch lines (34) is configured by the electric wire (30b’) including one lateral end portion (top and bottom sides of (33) see figure 7) to which the external connector (20a) is engaged with the connector of the trunk line (33) is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terunuma (JP 2003/180018).
In regards to claim 2, Terunuma teaches the trunk line of a wire harness according to claim 1.
Terunuma does not teach a length of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 500 mm to 1,500 mm, and a width of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 40 mm to 100 mm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made a length of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 500 mm to 1,500 mm, and a width of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 40 mm to 100 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 6, Terunuma teaches the trunk line of a wire harness according to claim 3.
Terunuma does not teach a length of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 500 mm to 1,500 mm, and a width of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 40 mm to 100 mm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made a length of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 500 mm to 1,500 mm, and a width of the flexible printed circuit falls within a range from 40 mm to 100 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeda (US 5,739,470) teaches an auxiliary wall; Ortiz (US 2023/0269870) teaches a flexible interconnect circuit with a trunk and branch lines; Kondo (US 6,02,607) teaches a wiring harness with a flexible trunk line; Dijkshoorn (US 5,130,99) teaches a flexible circuit with branch lines.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848